We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,769)
Filter reviews
2,769 results
Traveller rating
1,549
728
287
127
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,549
728
287
127
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews moonlight restaurant dolphin beach lykia restaurant agora bar bungalow room champagne beach visited letoonia marina pool the main hotel turkey shuttle boat kebab restaurant motorised water sports large resort a la carte restaurants animation team mobility problems
Filter
Updating list...
1,335 - 1,340 of 2,769 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Before booking we'd seen some negative comments but by the time we went everything was wonderful at Letoonia. Here are just a few specific observations (from a family perspective - 2 adults, 4 kids aged 2-16) ...

Accommodation - lovely villas/apartments. Maids cleaned/changed towels/bedding every day. Yes, some steps to get to them but not unbearable and there are several lifts, which are modern. Was originally concerned about distance/steps to rooms but turned out not to be an issue.

Food & drink - all totally inclusive except some brand drinks (e.g. smirnoff) but you don't need the brands. The local drinks are fine and there's great choice, including cocktails for adults and special ones for kids. If you have a baby you can stock up on milk in the restaurants in the morning and keep it in the fridge in your room. Food has a wide choice and plenty of it - you'd be hard pushed to find fussy eaters not catered for.

Money - unless you're going on trips etc. you really won't need any. Even then, many places take pounds and euros. The all-inclusive deals are fantastic value and I'd expect Letoonia to be raising their prices over the years (which is justified).

Scenery - absolutely fantastic - really beautiful, both natural and the resort facilities. Pictures don't do it justice.

Travelling - about 1.5 hours from Dalaman airport, quite windy - take sick bags if needed! Boats travel from Letoonia into Fethiye (about 30 mins - cost us 12 lira per person return).

Entertainment - the entertainment staff are always hyper, getting many people involved in games etc. and the shows at night are pretty good (start at 10pm). Shows mostly suitable for kids (a bit of innuendo here and there but nothing too significant). All in the ampitheatre outside.

Peace vs activity - if getting sunbeds around the main pools area then don't expect to get much peace as there's music (from the DJ) and activities (e.g. water polo) going on. However, the resort has beach areas and jetties + other areas you can pull sunbeds onto for complete peace. So everyone is catered for.

Pool safety - main pool depth is too deep for non swimmers but adults/older kids can stand in it. Baby pool nearby is small but ideal for little ones.

Bar staff - bit of a negative here - doesn't seem to be much concept of knowing who is next to serve. Women get served faster by the male turk bar staff. Some are ok and others are surly (same applies to restaurant staff). Teenage girls seem to get a lot of attention from the male staff.

Water - bottles of water are put into the room fridges and are freely available from various bars. Also, water machines are on the bars for self-serve. Don't know whether tap water was ok - never needed to use it.

Beaches - minimal tidal flow so quite consistent/safe. Sand is horribly gritty though. The bay area is protected by nets to stop anything getting in (apart from normal fish).

Russians - sorry, got to say it - incredibly rude! Not a huge problem but in restaurants they cut across people and at the bar they demand service before anyone else. Definitely think they rule the world. Didn't have any issues but just something to be aware of.

Photographers - they want to sell photos so will sometimes take general pictures (all viewable on screens easily) and also offer specific photoshoots (all free). Pricing was about £8 per photo (decent size) and haggling will be needed. I think we paid too much (£285 for 34 photos in an album), however, as part of that we got all our photos (250+) taken during the week, included on a CD, which seemed worth it. Probably best to research what other people have done to get good photo pricing - before you go there. We ended up with a guy (Carlos) who did most of our photos but found him a bit arrogant. Another guy we did some with (Jan) seemed a friendlier type (in hindsight).

Weather - about 30 degrees in early June 2012. Quite hot sometimes but bearable especially when a bit of a breeze.

Towels/sunbeds - yes, you need someone to put them out by about 8am to get decent spots in the main pool areas. Tip - get someone to lay out all towels (they're supplied so you don't need to take towels) and wait with them while others breakfast, then swap (otherwise the Russians will just throw your towels off the seats while unattended).

Things to do - apart from sunbathing in the day there are numerous other things to do (all free), including water aerobics, Zumba, darts, pedaloes, canoes, plus organised events. Definitely something to please everyone.

Market - if you go to Fethiye market (Tuesday) for copy designer goods etc. then expect to haggle. Really annoying if you don't like that sort of things. We drifted towards the more quiet/sedate stall owners instead of the 'cheap as chips' shouting brigade. Definitely not good to take small kids as they'll get bored/hot quickly, which will spoil it for you. Travel to market is either by boat from Letoonia or taxi. Boat is fine but get there early as it's first come, first on (several trips a day).

Insects - minimal. They clearly allow for that - the only cockroaches seen were dead ones (seemingly poisoned as part of their upkeep of the resort) and apart from a few flying bugs there was nothing of significance at all. We certainly didn't need the insect spray!

Hope our experiences of what was a wonderful holiday, helps people in some way. We saw the 2012 Tripadvisor award plaque up in reception so can vouch it's genuine. Overall view - well worth the money but I can see it becoming more expensive to book as the years go by.

Room tip: Rooms nearer the hotel are better for families (some steps, but there are lifts). We stayed in block 'K' and the higher the block number, the further away you are from main reception, although everything centres around the main pool/bar/entertainment area anyway.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank AndyH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I am going to try to write this review to help people decide whether this is the holiday destination for them, as I can understand why some people wouldnt return. For us, Letoonia is the most beautiful place we have ever stayed at...we first stayed in May 2011 and within a week of returned had rebooked for this year. There are plenty of activities to keep the whole family busy...indeed this is a brilliant Hotel for families but I would not consider this Hotel if my children were under 4...as advertised the Hotel is on a steep verdant peninsular, and whilst it has had 3 funicular lifts installed, they often break down (mended quickly) but you would then face alot of steps with a buggy! The Food and Drink quality is excellent...some brands like Jameson Whisky and Malibu included in the 'AL' package and the local brews are not bad. The children have all the usual choices, plus Slush Puppies, Cold Chocolate Milk and various Non- alco Cocktails! There is also a vitamin bar which serves different freshly squeezed juices during the day. The restaurants serve excellent food, and the choice each day is extensive...the fresh Pizza is better than I have ever tasted. We did not have any health issues during either of our stays...the staff wear hats and gloves whilst serving and everything appears very hygenic. There are 3 pools, the Marina being the quietest. If you hate the sound of children enjoying themselves then the pool areas should be avoided....there are plenty of quiet places around the resort to hide away but if children bother you ...dont come here!! The sea quality was not as good this year. The entertainment team work tirelessly here...they are a wonderful bunch of people, highly talented...the shows are unmissable. The shows do not start until 10pm...another reason for travelling with older children...as the entertainment in the main part of the resort does not quieten until midnight...so if you retire to your room before this time, you will be kept awake if you are situated in the middle of the resort. There is still one bar open and the Moonlight Disco after midnight...but we did not experience any noise after this time! The shows were all great, but the following are really superb....Michael Jackson Show, The Adamms Family, The Lord of the Dance, Circus Show and the Bollywood Show. As other people mention, the rooms are slightly dated, but traditional....most importantly is that they are kept spotlessly clean, the beds are comfortable, the aircon is quiet, and you spend little time in them for it to be an issue with us. There is a fridge...so we took a box of wine with us to enjoy a drink whilst getting ready in the evening! If you like to walk out of a Hotel and stroll through a local town...this hotel is not for you. It is a 10 minute taxi ride into Fethiye or a short boat trip (12TL) per person. Be warned that the locals are extremely pushy in the markets...they give you tea so you feel obliged to buy from them....haggling is a must. TIP...you will get more Lira to the pound if you take sterling and change it in Fethiye...plenty of places and commission free too. Day Trips are a must....we found www.caroleandtayfun.com a brilliant place to book....very cheap and the Jeep Safari and Dalyan Day trips were the highlights of our holiday! There are plenty of other operators in Fethiye harbour also selling trips - they will be much cheaper than the tour operators! One othr small tip...take coathangers, some rooms have plenty but some don't!! I also pack a pair of secateurs in the case to trim excess foliage away from the balcony....come on Letoonia, you need to start pruning back your trees!!! Finally a warning about Dalaman Airport....its hot (limited air con) and its VERY expensive....£32 for a macdonalds for 4...£4 for a bottle of water, £8 for a pint of beer!!! The duty free booze and cigs are very good though! Chatting to people at Letoonia, most people return year after year....and I can see why....we seem to be heading that way ourselves. The scenery and setting is unbeatable....but if you are after luxury rooms, and no children...go elsewhere. Lastly, if you are reading Letoonia...you need some self serve wine, beer and soft drink pumps in the main square for after show time....the queues at the bar are not acceptable...our only gripe on what was another superb holiday....thank you! See you again soon!!

Room tip: You can email the hotel with your preference...careful though, the rooms on the peninsular have no balconies or terraces!!!
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank minijudithfromleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We recently visited Letoonia for a weeks family holiday and had a fantastic time. The place is breathtaking and the service by all of the staff was excellent. We have stayed in the Fethiye area before and this is far superior than other hotels that we have stayed in that have had a similar rating. The only thing that was slightly disappointing was the rooms but they were fully functional and clean and everything else was so good that it doesn't really matter. The quality of food was good as was the selection. The animation team were extremely professional and put on superb shows in the evening. We will definitely return and have already recommended the hotel to several others.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rosswp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Prior to visiting this resort I had read all sorts of uncomfortable remarks about the condition of the rooms and food; Within half and hour of being on the resort we resolved to return again. It was in a beautiful setting comprising of an outrock which had been cleverly turned into a very relaxing but exciting all inclusive holiday resort; The people were lovely, the food was excellent and very varied - the entertainment was first class. The rooms were slightly dated (80's90's) however very well equipped with plenty of storage and every facility including fridge, dressing gown slippers - and above all were clean. One of our friends was concerned about the mattress and spoke to reception - they arranged to have it changed immediately.
You cant go far wrong choosing this resort for a holiday.

Room tip: A lot of the rooms are located high in the hills and sometime there maybe lots of stairs to climb - but there is always a fenicular nearby
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rosemarie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This is our second holiday at Letoonia, this time our friends came with us. 9 in total (4 adults, 5 kids, ranging from 2 to 16) and every single one of us had a fantastic time. The only disappointment was the fact that we only booked for 7 nights, next time we will make it 10.

The food is excellent, and the choice is vast. Whether your a pizza and chips merchant, or a fish and salad guru they have it covered. Theres even a diet food section!

Everything is so clean. Never been ill at this place unlike previous holidays in Turkey at other hotels.

The staff are very friendly, especially the entertainment staff. They really make you feel like you're one of the family.
We a had some photos taken here last year, taken by their photographers on site. They were so good, they were better than our wedding photos.

The shows at the amphitheatre are very good, and very professional. They always get the audience involved.

I spoke to so many other people at the resort that have come back time and time again. That speaks volumes as far as I am concerned.

The only negative is that the rooms are a bit dated, but we spent very little time in there anyway (only to sleep and get changed for dinner).
There is something for everyone at Letoonia, you can lay on a hammock reading a book, do a spot of fishing, take a windsurfer out, have tennis lessons, play archery, or lay by the pool.
Im already looking at deals for next year and I won't go anywhere else.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews