We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but a few draw backs to be aware of”
Review of Jiva Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jiva Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Fethiye
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good hotel but a few draw backs to be aware of”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Had our family summer holiday at the Jiva hotel. It's very clean with friendly staff and good facilities although the main pool is a simple rectangle, approx 15 meter pool which can get crowded. They do tend to run out of sun loungers if you don't get one early but there are always plenty on the beach. The photos you see on the website of pools next to apartments are private and it costs an extra 50 euros per night to upgrade although I'm glad we didn't as they are quite antisocial and don't get the sun in the afternoon. The beach is very pebbly and rough with a steep drop into it so not family friendly for small children. The rooms are small but adequate with air con, tv and a safe. The bathrooms are nice with an excellent shower and clean towels daily plus shower gels etc. If you want anything in the minibar you have to pay extra to get it stocked which is unusual for all inclusive. The rooms are a little noises in the main hotel and we got woken by the maids at 08:00 most mornings as they were preparing their carts and generally chatting outside our room. the curtains are also quite thin and light starts to flood in at sunrise time. Some blackout curtains would be good as we've experienced in other turkish hotels. The food is buffet style in the one and only restaurant but it varies and is well prepared. The hotel does miss not having some specialist restaurants or a pool side snack bar as many other all inclusive hotels in turkey have just to break the monotony of the buffet meals. The hotel spa is good and I would recommend the exfoliating rub down and the massages as we all had one and enjoyed them. There is nothing near the hotel and its a 30 minute walk to the nearest bars in calis and a good 40 minute dolmas (bus) ride into Fethiye centre. I can highly recommend doing a jeep safari if you get the chance but be prepared to get wet as they encourage water fights all day.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the upgrade to a poolside room as you miss out on the social aspect and people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank muffin1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIVABEACHRESORT, Guest Relations Manager at Jiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your compliments and the points that we could improve.
We will try to change what is possible and improve for next season.

Hopefully you will come back one day..

Kind regards,
Fleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,280
    306
    68
    30
    23
See reviews for
693
650
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed for 11nights in May - This is a really good holiday resort with lots of facilities and lots of things to do.

Restaurant
The guy who does the omelettes in the morning was really friendly and on occasions in the evening a chef would give out small lollies to the kids. The food choice was brilliant (especially kebab night). Being in Turkey I wanted another kebab and the chef in the bread area happily made me my own flatbread to wrap with salad for lunch, excellent service. Very clean and superb table service from nearly all the waiters.

Hotel
Facilites were amazing, their is a sauna and steam room with plunge pool. There are all sorts of massages and bubble scrubs. They also do the Turkish shave for the man that needs a trim. The hotel was very clean. The rooms are pretty new and all were well furnished and spacious. Air conditioning worked really well and the power shower washed the salt and suncream off in the evening before dinner. Pool area was fantastic with the most amazing slide so kids and adults had great big smiles on their faces when it was open (opens twice a day for a few hours each time). Oh a quick mention re the shop in the hotel - the people that run it were really helpful and would get a product if it wasn't in their shop at that said time - thanks!

Entertainment
We had four kids with us (two families) and although 'Mr Turkey' was a superb guy their needed to be a bit more of a childs disco at a more convenient time pre the main entertainment. Shows were very good, again a little bit limited (maybe we were spoilt the year before at a Riu hotel). Still you can see the potential that the place has. In the day there are various activities that a few took part in, water polo, mini golf, kids club etc etc p.s. DJ was miserable on both beach party nights and wouldn't play anything other than his play list! Lighten up, kids like music as well and he refused to play Gangham Style (four disgruntled kids)

Drinks
Good selection of drinks, bit gutted they didn't offer a local rum on the all inclusive but hey ho you cant have everything. No rush to get me back for a glass of Raki :/

Location
The hotel is a 10/15min walk to Calis beach. Not a major issue as the hotel has everything you would need. The Dolmus (excuse spelling) cabs go past every five or ten mins and will take you anywhere you want on their routes for 2 Turkish Lira per passenger. Highly recommend a trip to Fethiye for a day and i would highly recommend a boat trip (if i can find the name of the one we did i will review it) The first one we did was average, the second was brilliant! Cashpoint is in Calis.

Negative
None really, i felt the quality (printer to paper) and price of the photographs were very high, in this day and age with digital cameras you could provide the digital shots for a far better price and have far more people take advantage of the hotel photographer. Lack of rum (small price to pay for a great holiday)

Room Tip: There is a steep bridge to cross to get to the rooms on the opposite side of the lake... dont compla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drunkenskunken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIVABEACHRESORT, Guest Relations Manager at Jiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Hello,

It makes us very happy that you had a good time at Jiva Beach Resort.
Thank you for your review and compliments and we hope to see you again soon..

Kind regards,
Fleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had a great holiday at Jiva Beach. The hotel is new and contemporary, our room on the third floor was a little small but the balcony was very private. The double bed was huge but there was only a throw which just covered us at night, a sheet would be better to stop the chill from the excellent air conditioning.
The pool is very clean, the slides were good and enough sunbeds without having to rush to reserve them. The beach is sandy at the top and pebbled down to the water, once you are in the sea there is sand under foot but it gets deeps quite quickly. Not really suitable for toddlers.
The food at the hotel is excellent and we have been to several All Inclusive Hotels. The drinks were good (but no White Rum for those of you who drink Bacardi). The bar closest to the beach is beautiful, lots of rattan furniture, glass and decking suspended over the lagoon. It's very relaxing to sit with a drink listening to the wildlife. Have a look for the turtles under the bridge.
The evening entertainment is ok, the staff try to involve the crowd and there are acts brought in. The beach party was the best night, a fire juggling act then a disco.
The staff are very polite and friendly and were brilliant when my husband collapsed in the restaurant. They called a doctor, an ambulance and the chef drove my mother and daughter to the hospital with one of the staff to interpret for us. Thank you so much for your help.
The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the start of the promenade which runs the length of Calis Beach. The Dolmus buses run every 5 minutes and cost 2tl per person as far as Fethiye Centre. Markets are Tuesday in Fethiye and Sunday in Calis Beach. We booked a trip on Sugar's Boat, well worth a try, excellent value and a beautiful lunch.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face the pool and bar areas. The private pool rooms looked good although we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meeshrichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIVABEACHRESORT, Guest Relations Manager at Jiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Hello,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Jiva Beach Resort.
I thank you for your compliments and we will try to improve what we can.

Hopefully we will meet again in the near future..
Kind regards,
Fleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We are a family of 5 that travelled to the hotel on 19th July for 10 nights.
We arrived at 10.30pm and the hotel were at the airport to pick us up. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who was very helpful and offered us food.
Our room was 2 rooms together in the attic overlooking the main entrance. It was an adequeate room although not enough space to put our clothes away for 5 of us.
The hotel was very modern and we were really pleased with it,food was of good choice and always something everyone enjoyed. The chef Mile was particulary kind and friendly to us, making excellent omlettes and pancakes for breakfast.
The evening waiter Hakan was extremely obliging and always tried to get us a table as it was often too busy to seat 5 straight away.
The pool however sometimes too noisy with loud music was idealic and the setting beautiful, howver the pool seating area is a little small and often by 9am no beds are available. However the hotel did put us extra beds out on the grass one day as there was no where to sit.
The animation team bonas and Jingle were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Shamazing!!! The evening entertainment was very good most nights but only lasted for about 40 minutes.
The beach is just accross the road and is shale but the hotel have put sand on it as well. The sea is quite rough as there is alway a really cool breeze coming off it into the hotel, so was very welcome.
We all had a Haman spa even my 10 year old which we all really enjoyed. There were so many staff contstanly cleaning and keeping the place looking immaculate.
All in all we all enjoyed our holiday very much and was sad to come home and would recommend this hotel to any age.
Please be aware if you are going to buy Mcdonalds at Dalaman airport get ready for 3xmeals and 1 chips and drink £50.00!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I think the rooms with own pools looked the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zoelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIVABEACHRESORT, Guest Relations Manager at Jiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review and your compliments.
We are very happy that you had a good time here and hope to see you again soon..

Kind regards,
Fleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 18 days June/July. We have been to Turkey many times before and stay in 4*/5* hotels, this is a little gem.

Rooms: very clean, modern, a shower to die for, spacious, free safety deposit box, fridge and very cool air con. We had a road/beach view which was fine for us as we don't spend that much time in the room.
Food: varied, well cooked, massive salad bar, themed nights. We are not fussy eaters and there was something different every day/night. We did eat out for 3 nights in Calais (10 minutes walk) as we went for nearly 3 weeks but we could quite happily have ate in the restaurant every day. The tables were cleared immediately and the staff were very attentive. There is a lot of show cooking and everything is fresh and hot. We ate outside most nights and didn't have any problem getting a table.

Pool/beach: We had a sunbed on the beach everyday as there was a constant breeze, there is ample sunbeds and plenty space around them. You can get drinks from the bar (in plastic glasses - which is a must) to take onto the beach. The rooms with the pools look fantastic especially if you have kids with you, we did think about booking one of these but we like to go to the beach (thats the only reason we didn't), the main pool consists of quite a large pool, a pool for slides and a little pool for toddlers, there was plenty of sunbeds and the area was very clean.

Bars: the bar staff are fantastic especially Ozcan (Bar Manager) before we had finished our drink there was another one on the table. They were definitely not slow, they had to make cocktails which took a little more time then pouring a beer but hey you are on holiday - chill out and you like your drinks to be right. We used both the pool bar and the beach bar and they were always cleaning, there was never a mark on any of the tables or the bar. Congratulations for all your effort!!!

Sunset: Whatever you do don't miss the sunset - go to the beach approx. 7.15 - 8.15.
Overall: Would we go back - try stopping us!!!!!

Just a note: Hand sanitizer would be a nice touch as you go into the restaurant .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank okmaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIVABEACHRESORT, Guest Relations Manager at Jiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Dear,

Thank you for your good review and all your nice compliments.
It makes us very happy that you enjoyed your holiday and we expect you back soon..

Kind regards,
Fleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I travelled to the Jiva Beach Resort for the first week in July with my friend. (We are both in our late twenties). We booked it through Secret Escapes in Mid-June. It was our first holiday together and we could not have been happier on arrival. Although 3am we were greeted with smiles. We had a room on the second floor. Although disappointed at first not to have a pool side view we quickly realised we had more privacy our side and could enjoy the afternoon/evening sun from our balcony which had pretty views of the beach.

ROOMS: Very clean and modern. The air conditioning worked very well we actually had to ask for more blankets which arrived within 10 minutes. Overall the room was very comfortable and was cleaned daily including new towels. Room included a small fridge, hairdryer, flat screen TV and a safe.

SECURITY: The hotel felt very secure as there were night staff on reception and a security guard on the back entrance (exit to the beach) 24 hours a day.

FOOD: There is a large buffet style restaurant with a lovely outside terrace. There was lots of choice for everyone. The chefs prepared the food in front of you which was a nice touch. The restaurant staff were very attentive and quick to seat you. Drinks were topped up continually. We had a different choice every day and we definitely didn’t go hungry.

SPA: We booked a Turkish Spa (housed downstairs at the hotel) for the first day and we really enjoyed it. We would definitely recommend the Bubble Massage for a unique experience. The Spa was very relaxing and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. There is also a small hairdressers and gym.

BEACH: The beach is only a minute’s walk just across a small road. It’s a pretty stony beach with fantastic views. There are hotel sun loungers which didn’t seem to get too busy.

The hotel has a pool and slides for the kids which open twice a day I believe. The grounds of the hotels are absolutely beautiful. We could not fault them. Lots of seats and cushions to relax on. There is a pretty river which runs through the hotel grounds which is home to turtles and toads. We spent a lot of time enjoying the bar at the far end towards to beach. They did amazing cocktails and flavoured shisha and we could enjoy lovely views. We were never left thirsty and we could not fault the bar staff.

The hotel is in a good location. Just a 15 minute Dolmus ride to Fethiye. (The Dolmus pick and drop off from right outside the hotel every few minutes) Fethiye has a large market on every Tuesdays – Highly recommend this for holiday bargain!

We had a slight problem with another guest (which could have happened anywhere and nothing that the hotel or staff did) and all the staff were incredible kind and helpful. We spent some time with Fleur (Guest Relations) who went out of her way to help us. She was always at hand to help with any problems which was very reassuring. Thanks Fleur you were a great help to us.

This was our first visit to Turkey and after having such a lovely time and a hotel which was second to none we can’t wait to return soon. We would definitely recommend this resort for couples or anyone wanting a relaxing holiday. Well done to all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIVABEACHRESORT, Guest Relations Manager at Jiva Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for your compliments and your review..

We all were happy to help you and for me it was no trouble at all.
I am happy you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to see you both soon!

Kind regards and see you next time :)
Fleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ufa, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My review is therefore in the context of my experience and expectations of a property at this class hotels, if I payed and stayed in 3* hotel it would be the best I think in that range.
This hotel was a big disappointment, it is far from five star although they have 5* on the official web site. It is a 3 star resort.
We stayed in so called Presidential Villa. Only rooms' size and private pool could be associated with Presidential villa. That's the first 5* hotel, even in Turkey, where we weren't provided with slippers and bathrobe, shower accessories were renewed only twice during 11 days staying - days of arrival and departure. Villa is equiped with kitchen accessories - cooking appliance, which didn't work, although there were frying pans and saucepans; forks, spoons, tea spoons, teacup. No glasses - if you want to drink water or whisky you're welcome for using teacups. Only onse tea&coffee tray was reneiwed with coffe. We had to boil the kettle on the floor as the nearest socket was there. As a remark about convenience - there're no hooks for towels, when you go for shower you have to put a towel either to wash stand or simply on a floor. I saw several times sand on a floor in different rooms after house keeping ladies left.

The food was ok. It is recommended to drink potable water which could be taken from a bar by yourself (usually it is delivered by house keeping during cleaning), but the problem was that fridge had a mix of sealed and opened 1.5 l bottles (I wonder were the water in openned ones comes from).

-The gym is terrible - it is small and dark, floorcloth is wavy.
-There's no privacy - villa itself is separated from footpath by a wall which has curtain at entrance and the house door is glass made. Only a bone-lazy didn't come through that entrance curtain and watched incide through a glass.
- Every time you get out side to a balcony the AC system stops, what is generally ok, but to restart the AC you have to go outside re stick your card, go back to the room and try to start AC (while check in you're given a plastic card to enable a power system but the socket for this card is outside). It also turns off in the middle of the night and becomes hot and stuffy. More over the AC in our room didn't work properly during the whole staying in hotel (although I pointed that problem 3 times)
- Once we found a dead duckling on our balcony. We asked a frontdesk manager to take it away during our breakfast to cover our kids from stress. In an our after our request duckling was still there. Only after they saw our indignation the balcony was cleaned from dead body.
- Although the beach was only 1 minute rich from our place - you have to cross a road with traffic heavy enough for resort beach. By the way as I understood it is not hotel beach but public as local kids were swiming and playing with their dogs during day time. In the evening a lot of locals come to the beach (actually they do not cross an invisible boundary and stay 10 - 15 meters aside but you can enjoy nice orient music coming out from cars subwoofer till deep night. No waiter service for beach and pool area
- The main pool is quite small.
- Cordial instead of juice served at breakfast and instant coffee. If you want a real coffee, you have to walk 50 metres to the pool bar, order and pay for it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OlKu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fethiye hotels
3.1 mi away
Lykia Botanika Beach & Fun Club
3.4 mi away
Club Tuana Fethiye
Club Tuana Fethiye
#9 of 103 in Fethiye
3,301 reviews
3.6 mi away
Yacht Classic Hotel
Yacht Classic Hotel
#2 of 103 in Fethiye
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ece Boutique Hotel
Ece Boutique Hotel
#20 of 103 in Fethiye
128 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Unique
Hotel Unique
#1 of 103 in Fethiye
250 reviews
3.5 mi away
Orka Boutique Hotel
Orka Boutique Hotel
#23 of 103 in Fethiye
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jiva Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jiva Beach Resort

Property: Jiva Beach Resort
Address: Karagedik Mah. 1104, Sok. No: 14, Calis, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Fethiye
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fethiye
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fethiye
#4 Spa Hotel in Fethiye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jiva Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An all inclusive 5 star beach resort located on Fethiye Calis Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jiva Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jiva Beach Resort Turkey/Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing