We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viva Jiva”
Review of Jiva Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jiva Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This review is based on the experience of a family of five (44, 36, 17, 16, 5) over the best part of two weeks in mid-late July. We are experienced travellers and have been lucky to visit many good quality hotels and destinations around the world. The first thing to say therefore is that this is a lovely hotel offering a great all-round experience. Not to everybody's taste no doubt but very much to ours'. As All-inclusive guests we had good value for money, excellent service, and a good impression of the hotel at point of departure. Here are a few points of note:

FOOD - The standard of food was very high and the restaurant well presented. For
those that prefer to eat outdoors- and we do - there was a lovely terrace attaching to the main body of the restaurant and a nice atmosphere created both at lunch and at dinner. The staff were
all charming and keen to impress. We enjoyed a fantastic array of meats, fish, salads and breads, with good variation from one day to the next. The only limits here relate to the slow clearance of plates and the poor quality fruit juices at breakfast. 9/10.

DRINK - Whilst the range of drinks on the AI package was quite limited (e.g. no rum or whisky), the quality of wine and beer was quite acceptable. I would even go so far as to say that the red wine was pleasant. Various liqueurs and soft drinks complete a list that is quite limited but which offers up some nice quality options. There are no restrictions whatsoever on water, coffee or other soft drinks which can never be taken for granted. More importantly the bars are lovely and
the lagoon bar offers quite an exceptional environment for evening drinking and conversation. 8/10.

POOLSIDE - This is a beach club and read into this a lively pool scene, contemporary music, and a busy animation programme. If you've still got it (or think you have) you will enjoy it. If you want peace and tranquility go elsewhere or accept that the beach is your better bet. On the upside, the pool is clean and is beautifully positioned against the idyllic lagoon. the poolside beds are comfortable and the whole area is surrounded by pretty gardens. The slide pool is separate (and not always active) and the toddlers have a lovely set up with a little splash pool well in sight of many of the sun beds. On the flip side, beds can be in short supply and the pattern of the day
rather repetitive. The dependence on the one pool will disappoint those used to larger resort hotels in Turkey and Egypt but it is the compact and intimate nature of the hotel that is it's real charm. You can't have it both ways! 7/10.

ROOMS+FACILITIES - Great rooms with contemporary decor, fantastic air conditioning and a
super rainfall shower. Cleaning standards are high and all public spaces are well presented and tasteful. There is a lovely spa and a private stretch of beach (see below). There are no a la carte restaurants and the hotel shop and money exchange desk do not offer good rates or prices. 8/10

STAFF- First class and the defining quality of this hotel. I would also add that the guests are of a pleasant type, appreciative of what they have and what they get. Lots of different nationalities and a good mix of ages. 9/10.

CALIS- Its a short dolmus ride to Calis and when you get there there is nothing remarkably distinctive or attractive about it. The sea-front promenade is pleasant enough but the evening mix
of bars and shops is on the tacky-side. The real bonus is the long open bay which tends to deliver a stronger than expected breeze and the proximity to Dalaman which is only 45 minutes
by cab. Calis is also a water taxi point for Fetiyhe and a starting point for multiple boat trips. The beach is natural and the light at dusk is a real treat. Please note that the main beach is stone giving way to sand once in the water. 6/10.

Overall, this is a lovely hotel with a bit of a boutique feel. Modern and contemporary, but without the pretentiousness that sometimes follows. It lacks the full array of facilities of a five star hotel but is a very good option and would rank as 4*+ in most people's eyes. Calis doesn't offer much
in support but for a hotel based break you should give this one serious consideration.

Room Tip: stay poolside. Ground floor with private plunge pools, first floor (200s) with nice balconies for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RamaEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIVABEACHRESORT, Guest Relations Manager at Jiva Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Hello,

It makes us very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Jiva Beach Resort.

Thank you for your review, the compliments that you give us and the points that we can improve.
Hopefully we can welcome you again one time..

Kind regards,
Fleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

953 - 959 of 1,930 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have just got back from a weeks vacation from 26th July to 2nd Aug 2013. This hotel is not deserving of its 5 star rating. However; the restaurant is 5 star as the food was just amazing. I loved the fresh fish on offer every day. The Chef's deserve all the credit. Just awesome.
We had room 301 to begin with but made a complaint as this room has single twin beds. We did not come all this way to be given separate beds. This room would have been great if I hated my wife LOL But I love my wife. They did change the room after a couple of days. The shower screen is less then six feet so I kept on banging my head for the first few days as I'm over six feet. We were given room 306 which had a double bed. The showers are fitted very poorly as the fitters tent to use silicone for gaping gaps . The deco is not 5 star. There were bleach stains on the hall carpets and all the marble on the stairs were stained also. The beds have just a single pillar case and just a single blanket. With the air conditioning on ; I was freezing at night and had to use towels for warmth. Turning off the air conditioning is not an option as you just bake. The third floor is in the roof of the building so it was impossible to have a good nights sleep. The Hotel should be called Jiva Pebble beach resort as the beach is made up of large pebbles. There is some imported sand at the back of the beach but you cant walk into the sea without foot ware.
There are NO bars onside the hotel so you have to drink outside in the blistering heat.

I also made a complaint about the gym as this was in the basement. I had to do my workouts in almost pitch darkness as there was only 3 of 11 lights working. The gym is nothing to rave about. .The sauna and steam room was great and also the Turkish bath. The staff in the gym are very miserable and you don't feel welcomed on entry.

Over all; a nice hotel but I would certainly not rate this hotel 5 star. I would go back to this hotel for the food only as it was just awesome. The sun set on the beach is amazing also.
The staff around the bars and restaurant and pool area were very friendly. Animation team were great also.

Glad to be home to be honest even though we flew back into a rainy Birmingham .

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a bouble bed as you will be most likely given twin singles.Rooms 301 AND 306 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don-Chelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIVABEACHRESORT, Guest Relations Manager at Jiva Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Hello,

First of all thank you for your review and we will of course take your points and improve what needs to be improved.

Upon arrival we try to give everybody the room that they feel most comfortable in, but we cannot know before who wants a French bed and who wants two singles.. We try to help everybody as fast as we can.

Kind regards,
Fleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Had our family summer holiday at the Jiva hotel. It's very clean with friendly staff and good facilities although the main pool is a simple rectangle, approx 15 meter pool which can get crowded. They do tend to run out of sun loungers if you don't get one early but there are always plenty on the beach. The photos you see on the website of pools next to apartments are private and it costs an extra 50 euros per night to upgrade although I'm glad we didn't as they are quite antisocial and don't get the sun in the afternoon. The beach is very pebbly and rough with a steep drop into it so not family friendly for small children. The rooms are small but adequate with air con, tv and a safe. The bathrooms are nice with an excellent shower and clean towels daily plus shower gels etc. If you want anything in the minibar you have to pay extra to get it stocked which is unusual for all inclusive. The rooms are a little noises in the main hotel and we got woken by the maids at 08:00 most mornings as they were preparing their carts and generally chatting outside our room. the curtains are also quite thin and light starts to flood in at sunrise time. Some blackout curtains would be good as we've experienced in other turkish hotels. The food is buffet style in the one and only restaurant but it varies and is well prepared. The hotel does miss not having some specialist restaurants or a pool side snack bar as many other all inclusive hotels in turkey have just to break the monotony of the buffet meals. The hotel spa is good and I would recommend the exfoliating rub down and the massages as we all had one and enjoyed them. There is nothing near the hotel and its a 30 minute walk to the nearest bars in calis and a good 40 minute dolmas (bus) ride into Fethiye centre. I can highly recommend doing a jeep safari if you get the chance but be prepared to get wet as they encourage water fights all day.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the upgrade to a poolside room as you miss out on the social aspect and people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank muffin1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIVABEACHRESORT, Guest Relations Manager at Jiva Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your compliments and the points that we could improve.
We will try to change what is possible and improve for next season.

Hopefully you will come back one day..

Kind regards,
Fleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed for 11nights in May - This is a really good holiday resort with lots of facilities and lots of things to do.

Restaurant
The guy who does the omelettes in the morning was really friendly and on occasions in the evening a chef would give out small lollies to the kids. The food choice was brilliant (especially kebab night). Being in Turkey I wanted another kebab and the chef in the bread area happily made me my own flatbread to wrap with salad for lunch, excellent service. Very clean and superb table service from nearly all the waiters.

Hotel
Facilites were amazing, their is a sauna and steam room with plunge pool. There are all sorts of massages and bubble scrubs. They also do the Turkish shave for the man that needs a trim. The hotel was very clean. The rooms are pretty new and all were well furnished and spacious. Air conditioning worked really well and the power shower washed the salt and suncream off in the evening before dinner. Pool area was fantastic with the most amazing slide so kids and adults had great big smiles on their faces when it was open (opens twice a day for a few hours each time). Oh a quick mention re the shop in the hotel - the people that run it were really helpful and would get a product if it wasn't in their shop at that said time - thanks!

Entertainment
We had four kids with us (two families) and although 'Mr Turkey' was a superb guy their needed to be a bit more of a childs disco at a more convenient time pre the main entertainment. Shows were very good, again a little bit limited (maybe we were spoilt the year before at a Riu hotel). Still you can see the potential that the place has. In the day there are various activities that a few took part in, water polo, mini golf, kids club etc etc p.s. DJ was miserable on both beach party nights and wouldn't play anything other than his play list! Lighten up, kids like music as well and he refused to play Gangham Style (four disgruntled kids)

Drinks
Good selection of drinks, bit gutted they didn't offer a local rum on the all inclusive but hey ho you cant have everything. No rush to get me back for a glass of Raki :/

Location
The hotel is a 10/15min walk to Calis beach. Not a major issue as the hotel has everything you would need. The Dolmus (excuse spelling) cabs go past every five or ten mins and will take you anywhere you want on their routes for 2 Turkish Lira per passenger. Highly recommend a trip to Fethiye for a day and i would highly recommend a boat trip (if i can find the name of the one we did i will review it) The first one we did was average, the second was brilliant! Cashpoint is in Calis.

Negative
None really, i felt the quality (printer to paper) and price of the photographs were very high, in this day and age with digital cameras you could provide the digital shots for a far better price and have far more people take advantage of the hotel photographer. Lack of rum (small price to pay for a great holiday)

Room Tip: There is a steep bridge to cross to get to the rooms on the opposite side of the lake... dont compla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drunkenskunken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIVABEACHRESORT, Guest Relations Manager at Jiva Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Hello,

It makes us very happy that you had a good time at Jiva Beach Resort.
Thank you for your review and compliments and we hope to see you again soon..

Kind regards,
Fleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had a great holiday at Jiva Beach. The hotel is new and contemporary, our room on the third floor was a little small but the balcony was very private. The double bed was huge but there was only a throw which just covered us at night, a sheet would be better to stop the chill from the excellent air conditioning.
The pool is very clean, the slides were good and enough sunbeds without having to rush to reserve them. The beach is sandy at the top and pebbled down to the water, once you are in the sea there is sand under foot but it gets deeps quite quickly. Not really suitable for toddlers.
The food at the hotel is excellent and we have been to several All Inclusive Hotels. The drinks were good (but no White Rum for those of you who drink Bacardi). The bar closest to the beach is beautiful, lots of rattan furniture, glass and decking suspended over the lagoon. It's very relaxing to sit with a drink listening to the wildlife. Have a look for the turtles under the bridge.
The evening entertainment is ok, the staff try to involve the crowd and there are acts brought in. The beach party was the best night, a fire juggling act then a disco.
The staff are very polite and friendly and were brilliant when my husband collapsed in the restaurant. They called a doctor, an ambulance and the chef drove my mother and daughter to the hospital with one of the staff to interpret for us. Thank you so much for your help.
The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the start of the promenade which runs the length of Calis Beach. The Dolmus buses run every 5 minutes and cost 2tl per person as far as Fethiye Centre. Markets are Tuesday in Fethiye and Sunday in Calis Beach. We booked a trip on Sugar's Boat, well worth a try, excellent value and a beautiful lunch.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face the pool and bar areas. The private pool rooms looked good although we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank meeshrichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIVABEACHRESORT, Guest Relations Manager at Jiva Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Hello,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Jiva Beach Resort.
I thank you for your compliments and we will try to improve what we can.

Hopefully we will meet again in the near future..
Kind regards,
Fleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We are a family of 5 that travelled to the hotel on 19th July for 10 nights.
We arrived at 10.30pm and the hotel were at the airport to pick us up. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who was very helpful and offered us food.
Our room was 2 rooms together in the attic overlooking the main entrance. It was an adequeate room although not enough space to put our clothes away for 5 of us.
The hotel was very modern and we were really pleased with it,food was of good choice and always something everyone enjoyed. The chef Mile was particulary kind and friendly to us, making excellent omlettes and pancakes for breakfast.
The evening waiter Hakan was extremely obliging and always tried to get us a table as it was often too busy to seat 5 straight away.
The pool however sometimes too noisy with loud music was idealic and the setting beautiful, howver the pool seating area is a little small and often by 9am no beds are available. However the hotel did put us extra beds out on the grass one day as there was no where to sit.
The animation team bonas and Jingle were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Shamazing!!! The evening entertainment was very good most nights but only lasted for about 40 minutes.
The beach is just accross the road and is shale but the hotel have put sand on it as well. The sea is quite rough as there is alway a really cool breeze coming off it into the hotel, so was very welcome.
We all had a Haman spa even my 10 year old which we all really enjoyed. There were so many staff contstanly cleaning and keeping the place looking immaculate.
All in all we all enjoyed our holiday very much and was sad to come home and would recommend this hotel to any age.
Please be aware if you are going to buy Mcdonalds at Dalaman airport get ready for 3xmeals and 1 chips and drink £50.00!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I think the rooms with own pools looked the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Zoelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIVABEACHRESORT, Guest Relations Manager at Jiva Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your review and your compliments.
We are very happy that you had a good time here and hope to see you again soon..

Kind regards,
Fleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 18 days June/July. We have been to Turkey many times before and stay in 4*/5* hotels, this is a little gem.

Rooms: very clean, modern, a shower to die for, spacious, free safety deposit box, fridge and very cool air con. We had a road/beach view which was fine for us as we don't spend that much time in the room.
Food: varied, well cooked, massive salad bar, themed nights. We are not fussy eaters and there was something different every day/night. We did eat out for 3 nights in Calais (10 minutes walk) as we went for nearly 3 weeks but we could quite happily have ate in the restaurant every day. The tables were cleared immediately and the staff were very attentive. There is a lot of show cooking and everything is fresh and hot. We ate outside most nights and didn't have any problem getting a table.

Pool/beach: We had a sunbed on the beach everyday as there was a constant breeze, there is ample sunbeds and plenty space around them. You can get drinks from the bar (in plastic glasses - which is a must) to take onto the beach. The rooms with the pools look fantastic especially if you have kids with you, we did think about booking one of these but we like to go to the beach (thats the only reason we didn't), the main pool consists of quite a large pool, a pool for slides and a little pool for toddlers, there was plenty of sunbeds and the area was very clean.

Bars: the bar staff are fantastic especially Ozcan (Bar Manager) before we had finished our drink there was another one on the table. They were definitely not slow, they had to make cocktails which took a little more time then pouring a beer but hey you are on holiday - chill out and you like your drinks to be right. We used both the pool bar and the beach bar and they were always cleaning, there was never a mark on any of the tables or the bar. Congratulations for all your effort!!!

Sunset: Whatever you do don't miss the sunset - go to the beach approx. 7.15 - 8.15.
Overall: Would we go back - try stopping us!!!!!

Just a note: Hand sanitizer would be a nice touch as you go into the restaurant .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank okmaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JIVABEACHRESORT, Guest Relations Manager at Jiva Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear,

Thank you for your good review and all your nice compliments.
It makes us very happy that you enjoyed your holiday and we expect you back soon..

Kind regards,
Fleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fethiye hotels
3.6 mi away
Yacht Classic Hotel
Yacht Classic Hotel
#1 of 102 in Fethiye
858 reviews
1.6 mi away
TUI Sensatori Resort Fethiye by Barut Hotels
3.1 mi away
Lykia Botanika Beach & Fun Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Club Tuana Fethiye
Club Tuana Fethiye
#10 of 102 in Fethiye
3,397 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ece Boutique Hotel
Ece Boutique Hotel
#16 of 102 in Fethiye
134 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Unique
Hotel Unique
#2 of 102 in Fethiye
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jiva Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jiva Beach Resort

Address: Karagedik Mah. 1104, Sok. No: 14, Calis, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fethiye
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fethiye
#3 Spa Hotel in Fethiye
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fethiye
Price Range: £59 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jiva Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An all inclusive 5 star beach resort located on Fethiye Calis Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jiva Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jiva Beach Resort Turkey/Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing