We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Good Resort”
Review of Oykun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oykun Hotel
Ranked #6 of 103 Hotels in Fethiye
Certificate of Excellence
Kelso
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a Good Resort”
Reviewed 29 June 2011

This was the third year in a row that my wife and I had stayed in the Hotel Oykun. As with previous years the accommodation was excellent, with spotless rooms, pool area and restaurant. The staff are always friendly and can't do enough to help, especially Goldie on Reception.

This is the perfect hotel if you want a restful holiday in great surroundings. There's occasional evening entertainment but you can sit around the bar and have a quiet drink if you wish.

Calis Beach is not the largest resort in the area but it has a great choice of restaurants with a selection of menus from all around the world at amazingly low prices. Apart from the odd occasion the staff in the restaurants are friendly and aim to please. Don't be afraid to join in the banter as you walk along the sea front as it's all carried out with a sense of humour. Our favourite one again this year was Cas del Mama's which specialises in Italian and Mexican food but also serves a wide selection of other dishes so don't be put off. Their lemon cheescake should not be missed. Other restaurants worth a mention are Er-Oz and the Meeting Point with Bella Mama's serving great pasta dishes. Our favorite bar was Joseph's on the main street where you were always greeted with a smile and made to feel welcome.

The only thing that lets Calis down is its beach. It consists of gravel/stones and the sun beds and parasols are quite expensive. There's always a nice breeze on the sea front so if it gets too hot it's the place to go for a walk to cool down or have a cold drink of whatever yoy prefer.

If you get too hot, you can visit the Water Taxi station and choose from a selection of boat trips, predominantly on small boats (holding approx 10 people) or head for Fethyie where there's a wider range of trips on larger ships.

All in all, another great holiday and we are definitely considering visiting the Hotel Oykun again next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    148
    29
    6
    5
See reviews for
148
344
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

This was our second stay at the Oykun and we are planning on returning within a few months. The hotel is clean, staff are friendly, and the pools are lovely. There is an in-house Turkish bath and spa, and the location is perfect for the local town and beach. The only negative comments I would make are that the buffet breakfast is a little boring, being almost always omelette or fried or boiled eggs in the morning with a choice of salads and peculiar cakes. Occasionally, there will be pancakes, but overall, the choice is quite repetitive. Also, there is only one very slow toaster, which causes a bottle-neck. However this is an extremely minor gripe, when overall the hotel is excellent. We will be more than happy to go back there every year, we love theh place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolMurphy2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

First & foremost this place is incredibly cheap & unlike other similar places the prices for food & drink were also cheap. It is not on the beach but is a very short walk & the pools are quite nice. We were given an apartment room & it was very quiet & clean. The décor was a little dated but that is unimportant. The windows were very disappointing as they were so amazingly small & high you could barely see out of them, quite strange as they spoiled what otherwise would have been a lovely place. The guests are mainly middle aged (plus) English people looking for a cheap holiday in the sun, Fethiye really reminded us of Goa - & not in a good way! Be ready for some sights by the pool!
The staff were lovely and the late check out a bonus.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Wow, where to begin ? Recommended by friends who visit every year we took the plunge. From the moment we arrived we new we were at a hotel where we, as customers, mattered. On arriving ( at 12.30 am ) we were met not, by the receptionist, by the owner himself. He proceeded to carry our bags into the hotel and gave us a warm welcome. Reception staff were excellent and we were soon booked in.
The rooms were cosy and adaquate and very very clean. Maid service was excellent. The pool area and resturant were also excellent and nothing was to much trouble. All the staff went out of their way to help and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food in the hotel was of a very good standard and at a reasonable cost. Every morning you would find staff , and the owners wife, cleaning the sun beds. The owner himself could be found cleaning up or even cutting the grass. An amazing honesty flowed through the hotel. Bar and resturant bills could be paid ' later ' and the odd short of cash prdicament was brushed aside with ' pay me later '. Which it always was. Having travelled for many years for work and pleasure i have never found a hotel like it. Yes there are ' posher ' hotels but i've never come across one with staff like it or with an ethos like it. Will we go back, YES, next year. On leaving the hotel The owner, his wife and son were there to wave us off. They again carried our bags to he coach.
In these times it is very rare to find a business which puts its customers first in this manner, whatever market it is in.
A nice change from big hotel chains who are more interested in your money rather than your wellbeing.
Peter & Sharon

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boro01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

My partner and I checked in here last week for a weeks holiday. The resort Calis beach, is basic and the beach is far from picturesqu(though there are some amazing views at sunset). However this hotel caters for a range of different groups and the staff do go out of there way to help everyone. I'd say the main age range was from 60-70, which (given that we are both in our early twenties) was actually rather nice, as the most guests are frequent holiday makers to this hote and very friendly. For what we payed, we both felt we recieved good value for money and would visit the hotel had it been in a better resort. With regards to cleanliness, the rooms were cleaned everyday and the maid went out of her way to decorate the bed sheets with flowers and various other decorations. The pool area is splendid and we were lucky enough to encounter no screaming children! My best advice would be to travel to Olu- deniz for the beach experience, but if you prefer staying by the pool then this hotel is perfect! Overall very nice!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mometcalffisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Oykun where we arranged to meet up with friends we met in Turkey 6 years ago. The room we had was in the newer part of the hotel and was spacious and bright. Our towels/bedding was changed every other day and the cleaner would fold the towels into different shapes and put petals on the bed which was a nice touch. The staff were friendy and Goldie on reception very helpful. The only thing I didn't like was the people who put their towels out very early in the morning and then not using them till lunch time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sowerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

just returned from the Oykun for the second year running. this time we booked directly with the hotel and upgraded to one of the top-floor apartments. the accommodation was excellent and we were both extremely pleased with the facilities on offer. the apartment was spacious and very bright with lots of windows and skylights. the view from the large balcony was fabulous and we could see many of the islands in Fethiye bay. all the staff in this wonderful hotel, from the owners right through to the cleaners, work tirelessly to make you feel welcome and comfortable. nothing is too much trouble and the cleanliness of every part of the complex is top-notch. i'd just like to say a very big thank-you to everyone at the Oykun......"see you again next year" !!! (Martin + Carol).

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mupdook1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fethiye hotels
2.9 mi away
Yacht Classic Hotel
Yacht Classic Hotel
#2 of 103 in Fethiye
810 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harman Hotel
Harman Hotel
#8 of 103 in Fethiye
482 reviews
2.8 mi away
Infinity Boutique Hotel
Infinity Boutique Hotel
#12 of 103 in Fethiye
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Delta Hotel
Delta Hotel
#19 of 103 in Fethiye
241 reviews
4.1 mi away
Club Tuana Fethiye
Club Tuana Fethiye
#9 of 103 in Fethiye
3,301 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jiva Beach Resort
Jiva Beach Resort
#5 of 103 in Fethiye
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oykun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oykun Hotel

Property: Oykun Hotel
Address: Calic Mah. Bin Sok., Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fethiye
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fethiye
#4 Best Value Hotel in Fethiye
#5 Spa Hotel in Fethiye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oykun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Oykun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oykun Hotel Fethiye
Oykun Hotel Turkey/Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing