We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oykun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oykun Hotel
Ranked #7 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

just come back from two weeks at the oykun, what an excellent hotel it is, just as the reviews say, everything we asked for we got with no hesitation. The situation of the hotel is very good, near to the beach and main street but far enough away so as not to be disturbed by the noise. All around the hotel is everything you need, shops, taxis, cash points and the water taxis even the hotel taxi is very reasonable and l would recommend anyone to order their transfer taxi from the hotel as it was brilliant, no waiting around at the airport. The only gripe l have is the bar area, it needs an overall. The food is very good, no doubts about that but it lacks any form of entertainment and atmosphere, there is no music playing in the background, Freddy the barman seemed to have his favourites when it came to service, which sometimes was vert slow even when there was no one in, which was quite often. The only other downside is the towels on sunbeds from a ridiculous time of 6am, apart from that we had a fabulous time, would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngnanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    142
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
140
337
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed at the Oykun for 11nights from the 9th May 2013!
Never have l felt so welcomed to a hotel as l did when we arrived! Goldie on the reception was very friendly & helpful!
Our room was lovely & contained everything we needed! A safe & fridge can be hired for a very reasonable price!
The hotel & the rooms were kept immaculate at all times!
Freddy the barman is a credit to the hotel, always able to entertain & very friendly!
I recommend that you have a Turkish bath the first day you arrive as it really does help the tan along! Although l was a bit dubious but was talked into it by friends l really enjoyed it! This was had at the hotel & their prices are very reasonable for massages, facials etc!
We were bed & breakfast so ate out every night! The restaurants were all really good & again reasonable prices! I love Calis Beach, all the locals are very friendly & do take no for an answer straight away so no hassling!
Will definitely be returning to this resort & hotel next year!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

My wife and I have stayed in Calis many times over many years. We have always enjoyed our stays in many hotels in Calis but the Oykun tops them all in all respects. Staff are friendly and efficient, rooms are well equipped and clean, there are two pools, food is excellent in quality and in range of options. The bar is staffed by Freddy and his team who are a very sociable crew. Especially welcome was the discovery that the Oykun does not overcharge its residents. I have generally observed that hotels tend to charge residents rather more than the going rate for drinks and offer significantly less than the going rate for exchanging money. Not so at the Oykun - everything at the bar, from a bottle of water to a pint of beer was on a par with typical prices in the resort as was the rate of exchange on offer.

Whenever we stay in Calis we always include a one day trip to Saklikent, a huge limestone gorge, claimed to be the second largest in Europe which would be true if Turkey wasn't only 2% in Europe and 98% in Asia! Nonetheless it is a remarkable geological feature and is an excellent day trip incorporating a visit to the ruins at Tlos and lunch at a beautifully laid out trout farm. The trout farm and the gorge itself offer a welcome cool environment, especially in the hotter parts of the year and are an excellent day out for about £16 (plus about £2 for the fee to enter the gorge). We went this time with an organization called Pioneer Travel with an excellent guide called "Atti" who was very erudite and well informed in a addition to being quite a character.

The restaurants in Calis are generally very competitive so tend to offer a generally good standard but we particularly enjoyed the Vojo restaurant, run by Joanne and Volcan and located fairly centrally on the front.

For something different on an evening track down the Gitarci Bar, family run in a lovely natural coutyard off the main street in Calis offering traditional Turkish music played live by two very competent musicians.

We will be back - and at the Oykun if we can get in - fellow holidaymakers there were talking of booking for next year immediately they got home!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PatrickCooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We have just returned from two weeks at Oykun Hotel, which is very well-run. Booking in was simple and our cases were taken immediately to our room. We booked a standard twin-bedded room, which was small [but had ample storage space] and an en-suite shower room and small balcony. Everywhere is spotlessly clean. It is a very friendly hotel and Goldie, on Reception, who speaks excellent English, is particularly helpful and knowledgeable. Nothing is too much trouble. We had Turkish breakfast and lunch regularly at the hotel, food is good. They have recently introduced a very full menu and everyone is catered for. There is a shop two minutes away, two taxi ranks nearby and also a water taxi to Fethiye within a few minutes walk. As Calis is on the flat it is popular with the older generation [of which I am one]. There are two swimming pools, one has ladders into the pool and the other one has steps, it would be nice if there was a handrail by the steps to help any non-swimmers or guests with walking difficulties. There is a Turkish bath at the hotel and various treatments are available, very good professional staff and good value. Please note this hotel does not currently accept credit/debit cards, they like you to settle your bill daily, it would have been nice to have known this before leaving the UK, as it is normal practice for us to settle our bill at the end of the holiday by credit card. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EssexSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirebrook
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We have just got back from our 5th visit to Oykun and it was as brilliant as ever! the staff were every bit as helpful and welcoming as ever.
I would recomend this hotel to any family or couple looking for a relaxed stay in a Hotel you will be made to feel at home and if you have never been to Calis it is a stunning resort.
If you were considering trying the Oykun, do it, if you are like the rest of us you will want to come back every year.....Absolute gem!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnny h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

I've previously written a review of this hotel. We go there every year, and we do love it. But when I read the review from Tony in the Midlands, I had to agree with his comments about the bingo nights and the Sunday roast with Bisto gravy (mmmmm). I know it's actually a lovely thing that the staff at the hotel think they're embracing British culture by providing British food, and British traditions etc, but not everyone goes abroad to eat English food! Everywhere you go in Calis it's chips with everything, it's fish and chips or egg and chips or whatever, and then, at the hotel, it's Sunday roast with Bisto gravy. No thanks! I'd like to try traditional, local food. Evenings at the hotel could incorporate some local live music, for instance. Just something a bit different from the usual routine. I suppose, when you've visited a place on many occasions, you do notice these routines, and we don't spend our evenings in the hotel for this reason. The prices for the evening meals are very good, but we never stay for them, because it's fish and chips or steak and chips, or Sunday roast. We go out in search of more interesting options. I think this is the only thing I could criticise this hotel for (well, apart from the breakfast buffet which I've mentioned previously, also gets a little boring after a while). Aside from this, the hotel is brilliant, the staff are friendly and can't do enough for you, and it's a home from home for us now. The evening entertainment just needs a bit of a revamp. We're lucky that we can go out in the evening, but if we had mobility problems, and had to stay there, I think I'd be sat in my room watching films on a tablet rather than sitting at the bar playing bingo.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolMurphy2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

If you have ever been in doubt about going to Turkey, then book the Oykun Hotel.
You will experience Turkish hospitality at its best. This family run hotel is a hit, from the time you pull up (by the way they will even arrange Airport pick-up, so you don't waste time dropping into a number of hotels on the way.
You will be greeted by some of the family and staff, who are immaculate. A warm welcome and transfer of your luggage makes a smooth arrival.
The friendliness of the staff gives a great atmosphere and you will find you will soon be talking with other guests.
If you need any help or have any queries then Goldie at reception will always be on hand to assist.
The rooms bedding and towels are clean, restaurant gives a multitude of choices for meals. Two pools and two kiddies pools, which are kept spotless.
The area has lots to offer day and night, walking around at night has never been a problem.
The area is flat so anyone a bit unsteady will find it easy.
There are six of us returning for our fourth time, so we highly recommend Oykun to you.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TCSChandlery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fethiye hotels
2.9 mi away
Yacht Classic Hotel
Yacht Classic Hotel
#1 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Unique
Hotel Unique
#5 of 102 in Fethiye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mutlu
Hotel Mutlu
#16 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Club Tuana Fethiye
Club Tuana Fethiye
#8 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
2.8 mi away
Infinity Boutique Hotel
Infinity Boutique Hotel
#13 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harman Hotel
Harman Hotel
#18 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oykun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oykun Hotel

Property: Oykun Hotel
Address: Calic Mah. Bin Sok., Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fethiye
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fethiye
#5 Best Value Hotel in Fethiye
#5 Spa Hotel in Fethiye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oykun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Oykun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oykun Hotel Fethiye
Oykun Hotel Turkey/Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing