We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless Budget Hotel, warm and friendly”
Review of Oykun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oykun Hotel
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We spent a week at the end of October right at the end of the season in this little hotel. It well run, one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in.It was quiet when we stayed but in season I expect it would be busier and noisier

It is a family run budget hotel. Rooms are basic and you pay extras for a fridge and safe key but everything else, including air-conditioning and a substantial breakfast are included. The big tour operators use the hotel but we booked direct with their web site and it was very reasonable. The staff are very friendly and work very hard to maintain and keep the guests happy. The hotel has 2 good sized pools, a Turkish Bath and a Crown Bowling Green.

Calis beach is a small town near to Fethiye. It is very "British" in every respect. Most people speak English fluently and goods can be paid in Sterling, Euros and Turkish Lira (Although they actually prefer Stirling)

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon_upnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2009

Overall this hotel was a great find - great price, 2 pools, clean rooms, beach close by. The staff was friendly and helpful, I enjoyed nearly all aspects of staying here.

The one warning I would give to any female travelers was that I had the night reception staff come onto me my second night. After a friendly conversation R began kissing me and then told me he had kissed 3-4 other women on that couch in the lobby. It was quite uncomfortable to have to avoid him every day and know that he had access to my room. By the end of the trip I found out that he was married, with a baby on the way. Had I known that he was married, it would have been a lot easier to avoid him and his bad kissing... and would have been much more enjoyable to be at ease at the hotel during my holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travel234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oykunfethiye, owner at Oykun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2009

Dear Travel234,
thanks for your writing about our hotel service,facilities and staffs.
we are a family run hotel and there is lots of reviews that wrotes our hotel is very safe for alone holiday makers.
but it is very interesting that you wrote for one of our staff.we have not got any problem like this before.our day time reception staff is a women, her name is goldy.she is my cousin.the night reception staffs are working with us for 5 year and we have not got any problem like this before.and nobody have any complain like this to us.
if you had a problem like this why you did not come to hotel managment or contact with your holiday rep. at that time. if your ideas are true we will watch him and we will stop his work at that time.ı think your problem is not very reliable.but ı will speak with this staff, we need to look from both ways.and we will think and we will do what should we do.
regards
oykun ocek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Second time we stayed at the Oykun.this time it is getting tired we stayed in room 2314 which had a crack in the sink hole in the shower screen dressing table handle broken and at times we had holes in the linen.We stayed B&B which had a good selection at breakfast(except 2nd week when the raisins were not available even after asking).The outside area pools and surrounding clean sunbed cushions some are getting very fraid & worn,the grass area last time was covered in grass this time it had mostly clover and muddy patches.Overall the hotel was very clean our room was well worn (we never asked to be moved because of the view)and it seemed because the season is about to end that some things were not available,would we go back yes but earlier in season.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jinxsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oykunfethiye, owner at Oykun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2009

Dear Jinxsy,
thanks for your review
firstly ı want to said that to readers,we had gold medal in 2007 and 2008 season.and yesterday we had a very good news.we had the gold medal again 2009 Tui Thomson from our hotel guesth over 2000 persons questionnaire result .Thanks for all our family staff.And a big THANK YOU to our guest,they choose our hotel one of the best hotel Turquoise Coast of the Turkey.

we think that you review is injustice. but when we read your last sentence we are
happy ,becouse you wrote that you will come back our hotel again.it means we did the most of things good for you and you will visit us again.

if you said your small problems when you are on holiday we will help you much more.if there was any rooms defects like you wrote we will repair quickly.if you are not happy we will change your room.but you wrote that you like your room.we are thinking that our rooms are not worn.we think we have good standarts room for a 3 star hotel.and our awards prove that.

we are in last week of the season,hotel and area is become quiet BUT till this time everything and all services are available in our hotel. it is same like middle of the season.
ı do not understand which is not available.

and end of october all the grasses are little bit damage becouse of the weather.sorry for that.

next time we wish you will tell your problems and will try to do much better for you.
thanks again

oykun ocek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

This hotel is excellent. Very clean, towels and bedding changed every other day. Staff always polite and very helpful. This hotel has two swimming pools and a poolside bar, all areas are kept exceptionally clean. The food is very nice. Being our first time in Turkey we just booked bed and breakfast. There are variety of restaurants nearby which cater for everyone no matter what your taste. The resort itself if very laid back and has a pleasant breeze.
We are definitely going back and would highly recommend this hotel.
Many thanks to the staff for a lovely holiday

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landroverLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Arriving at Dalaman, our flight was 20 minutes earlier than originally stated - late at night, coaches finished, with no sign of our driver - panic! However, Oykun (also the bosses' name) appeared running towards us, apologising as someone forgot to tell the driver our flight was earlier - so Oykun himself came to collect us in a large luxury car with big padded seats - this was heaven after 10 hours on coach/airport/plane seats! They charge £60 for 2 return airport transfer which is about average.

The Oykun is wheel-chair friendly.

There are 4 floors at the Oykun - no lift, so ask for a ground floor room if you cant do stairs. We were in the new block - we had a big room with small balcony, small settee, nice shower-room with power shower & hot water whenever we needed it. Toilet paper was always replaced.There was a hairdryer, and liquid soap available. Clean towels and bed linen every 1 or 2 days. The bed cover was a thick cotton one, smaller than ours, so if you want a large sheet - just ask Goldie on reception & it will be delivered unto you!

The bed was firm, but people say comfortable. However, beds are always a problem for me, as I have a cronky hip-joint, so asked Goldie on reception and she arranged for 3 more pillows to be sent to my room to sleep on - and the pillows are puffy!

There are 2 large pools with sunbeds & huge cushions - get up early to bag a big cushion! Also children's pool. The sunbeds & pool areas are hosed down every night.

The outside area is very large & I usually could find a fairly quiet corner - try Boots orange memory-foam ear-plugs, they help to muffle any noise. There was a little traffic noise at nights, our room faced a pool next to the road, but it was tolerable. If you need quiet, ask for a room with sea-view.
Air-conditioning is included in the price! Ours was a bit cold, but if you ask for it to be adjusted I'm sure that would be arranged.
Our room had large wardrobe space with loads of coat hangers, good cupboard & drawer space in lovely traditional wood furniture & was kept spotlessly clean. We complimented the maid via her husband, & the next day our sheet was sculptured & decorated with fresh flowers.

The old block - check out the website "www.oykunhotel.co.uk" Some people say the old block is a little old-fashioned - but hey old-fashioned can be charming. However, the old block has baths if you are a bath-lover.

Breakfast is traditional open-buffet with plenty of choice - you'll find some Turkish favourites there along with tomatoes & cucumber but also cereals, bread, toaster, 6 types of preserve, boiled eggs, cold meat and every day either ommeletts, pancakes, fried eggs. Coffee & squash machines - you help yourself, as much as you can eat.

Dinner was also open buffet - soup, & 22 Turkish mezzes but with hot meats such as sometimes chicken or lamb, spicey vegetable dishes, rice dishes, & salad vegetables such as grated carrot. Dessert was varied - sometimes blancmange, or sweet rice-pudding, with pastries.

Half-board is only £6 extra per day for a 3-course meal - we thought excellent value. Its best to book direct via the website.

For B & B people, there is an extensive English menu to chose from daily.

The outside area comprises the pools, lovely open-sided restaurant - complete with handsome waiters who are all real gentlemen - very helpful. Incidentally, it is the custom in Turkey never to leave a person with an empty plate so the waiters constantly patrol whisking away empties & catering for your every need. A big MERHABA to Vesel, Oykun, Kes, Mehmet, Freddie & Teddy, Goldie & the chefs & maids & all staff whose names I cant remember - including the flirty fella who sometimes works on reception who made my day! Thankyou for looking after us so well.

The bar area is good with comfy seating - Teddy & Freddy are great barmen, very curteous & friendly. The reception/tv area also has comfy chairs, so theres plenty of choice of where to sit.

Oh & the Aromatherapy full body massage there is excellent - only £13.50!

Internet available - only 10 mins. at a time allowed.

Overall I would not hesitate to book this hotel again - there is also a great social atmosphere there.

Dahne-Cool

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dahne-Cool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Just returned from the Oykun Hotel and i promised myself to write a balanced review away from all the holiday emotions wether this be good or bad it will be an honest. assessment.
Collected from airport and greeted upon arrival by Oykun and his team.luggage taken to our ground floor room as requested.in block 2.
Next day went for a 1st breakfast and found this to excellent as reviews have previously stated.
After breakfast we went and to relax on a sun bed by the block 2 pool sunbeds with an all day sunny position were targetted by the towel placers ,
However if we stayed at the pool we had no problem findind a bed to suit our needs though its location would vary.
During various times during the day we would use the bar facilities and found them to be very competative.
We were only bed and breakfast so did not have a regular evening meal however we did go to the turkish buffet evening and found the open turkish buffet food to be fine , (probably wouldnt suit the burger and chips brigade)
Rooms were spotless and cleaned daily , they were simlar layout to a travelodge .As the season ends the enevitable wear and tear occurs but nothing an odd lick of paint would not cure.
The staff were brillant and in my view the hotels greatest asset nothing was too much trouble.
The dual carriage road noise can be irritating at times but not to the extent that it spoilt my holiday it didnt but as i live main road at home i probably noticed more than others would.
During my stay 21/09/09 till 02/10/09 the majority of people staying here and in calis tended to be in the 50 to 70 age range.
Overall this place was brilliant the best 3 star hotel that i have ever stayed in with a manage-ment team and staff exceptional.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheshire54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

We stayed at the Oykun hotel in July 2009 and had a fantastic time, we were a party of 5 my wife, 3 year old son and I in 1 room and my parents staying in the adjoining room.

Both of our rooms were well kept, with both bathrooms refurbished since the hotel opened, we had 3 in our room which was fine and had plenty of space for our needs, the rooms were nicely decorated and were cleaned daily to a very high standard .

The breakfast at Oykun is very good with eggs freshly cooked daily, the quality and choice were excellent and much better that would usually be expected for a typical Turkish breakfast, seeing the owner and his family eating the same breakfast as the guest’s each day, is always a good sign.

The hotel is kept very clean and well maintained, all communal areas were kept spotless, the pools and areas around the pool were cleaned daily and the grass kept manicured throughout our stay.

During the 2nd week of our stay the hotel was full, but never felt overcrowded and the service provided by the hotel staff remained excellent.

The lunch offered at the hotel was very reasonable in price and included a daily special so you always had a good choice of food of excellent food, to tempt you.

The owners and hotel staff are very proud of their number 1 status with a couple of the large UK tour operators and put in a huge amount of hard work to maintain and improve the holiday experience for each guest.

The hotel has 2 adult and 2 children’s pools which we found perfect, always clean and the water was emptied a few feet every few days to keep the water nice and refreshing.

Worthy of special a special mention is Goldie, who heads up the reception team, she and the team work so hard making each stay perfect, always smiling and happy to help with any question or query you may have.

We booked our holiday directly with the hotel and used the hotel airport transfer, it was very easy to book direct and the transfer was so much better than being piled onto a coach.

The hotel is very friendly with many of the guests returning year after year, we enjoyed mixing with the other guests and nobody had a bad work to say about the Oykun during our stay.

This really is a very special hotel, with fantastic staff, good accommodation, spotlessly clean with a great location, just 300 yards from the beach

Those yet to experience Turkish hospitality will be amazed by the family friendly nature of the Turkish people, absolutely epitomised by the staff at the Oykun. On our departure we were waved off by the owner, his son and the reception team.

We absolutely love hotel Oykun so much so we have decided that we are returning next year, this will be the 1st time we have every returned to the same resort, which says it all.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slhslh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fethiye
0.4 mi away
Harman Hotel
Harman Hotel
#6 of 102 in Fethiye
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mutlu
Hotel Mutlu
#17 of 102 in Fethiye
355 reviews
8 mi away
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
#11 of 102 in Oludeniz
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Yacht Classic Hotel
Yacht Classic Hotel
#1 of 102 in Fethiye
859 reviews
6.4 mi away
Flora Palm Resort
Flora Palm Resort
#21 of 102 in Fethiye
661 reviews
7.9 mi away
Montebello Deluxe Hotel
Montebello Deluxe Hotel
#54 of 102 in Oludeniz
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oykun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oykun Hotel

Address: Foca Mahallesi, 1314. Sk. | Calis Plaji, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fethiye
#7 Best Value Hotel in Fethiye
#8 Spa Hotel in Fethiye
Price Range: £22 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oykun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oykun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oykun Hotel Fethiye
Oykun Hotel Turkey/Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing