We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel provides old fashioned customer service and value for money”
Review of Oykun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oykun Hotel
Ranked #9 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hotel provides old fashioned customer service and value for money”
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Just returned from a week in this hotel. We had visited previously 4 years ago and the service and hotel experience remains as good today as it wa then. We booked the holiday through On the Beach. Rather than taking OTB airport transport, we contacted the hotel who were happy to provide a minibus to collect and return us to airport for £70 (£20 less than OTB). When we arrived at hotel, our bags were taken to our room. We stayed in the old block, which is a good standard but could do with a little updating in the bathroom but this was still cleaned every day. The sheets and towels were changed every 2 days and the rooms were spotless each day. Breakfast was buffet, always serving hot eggs or scrambled eggs or pancakes depending on the day. Lots of different breads and meats, cereals etc. The hotel had two large pools which were not busy when we went in May. The hotel had jsut started to do their own turkish night - food excellent, but sketches afterwards still at the learning stage. Nice belly dancing with audience participation. The evening meals were always good value, we ate twice in hotel and there are some nice restaurants within 5 mins of Hotel - we ate at The meeting Place several times on the main road - steak recommended. All in all, a very pleaant stay at the hotel. The staff were very friendly especially Goldie on Reception, Oykum the owner and his son and Freddie behind the bar with his able assistants

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daz001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    147
    29
    6
    5
See reviews for
145
341
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2010

I stayed at the Oykun last September and fell in love with the hotel and friendly staff, as soon as I returned from that holiday I booked to return in May!
I returned home on Sunday following a week at the Oykun and I cant believe that it managed to get better, but it did. the staff are still as lovely as ever and the Turkish bath is still as therapeutic. This year they are doing a Sunday roast and a quiz night, something that Freddy was very keen on doing. the staff night is still as hilarious and fun as ever. Even I got up and had a go at belly dancing.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, it really is a fantastic place to go, with great food, staff and just a genuinely great environment. That much so I'm going back the end of September for 2 weeks.

Thank you all at the Oykun!!

Stayed May 2010
Helpful?
Thank Kinks26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We spent a week at the end of October right at the end of the season in this little hotel. It well run, one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in.It was quiet when we stayed but in season I expect it would be busier and noisier

It is a family run budget hotel. Rooms are basic and you pay extras for a fridge and safe key but everything else, including air-conditioning and a substantial breakfast are included. The big tour operators use the hotel but we booked direct with their web site and it was very reasonable. The staff are very friendly and work very hard to maintain and keep the guests happy. The hotel has 2 good sized pools, a Turkish Bath and a Crown Bowling Green.

Calis beach is a small town near to Fethiye. It is very "British" in every respect. Most people speak English fluently and goods can be paid in Sterling, Euros and Turkish Lira (Although they actually prefer Stirling)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon_upnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel234
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

Overall this hotel was a great find - great price, 2 pools, clean rooms, beach close by. The staff was friendly and helpful, I enjoyed nearly all aspects of staying here.

The one warning I would give to any female travelers was that I had the night reception staff come onto me my second night. After a friendly conversation R began kissing me and then told me he had kissed 3-4 other women on that couch in the lobby. It was quite uncomfortable to have to avoid him every day and know that he had access to my room. By the end of the trip I found out that he was married, with a baby on the way. Had I known that he was married, it would have been a lot easier to avoid him and his bad kissing... and would have been much more enjoyable to be at ease at the hotel during my holiday.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travel234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oykunfethiye, owner at Oykun Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2009
Dear Travel234,
thanks for your writing about our hotel service,facilities and staffs.
we are a family run hotel and there is lots of reviews that wrotes our hotel is very safe for alone holiday makers.
but it is very interesting that you wrote for one of our staff.we have not got any problem like this before.our day time reception staff is a women, her name is goldy.she is my cousin.the night reception staffs are working with us for 5 year and we have not got any problem like this before.and nobody have any complain like this to us.
if you had a problem like this why you did not come to hotel managment or contact with your holiday rep. at that time. if your ideas are true we will watch him and we will stop his work at that time.ı think your problem is not very reliable.but ı will speak with this staff, we need to look from both ways.and we will think and we will do what should we do.
regards
oykun ocek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Second time we stayed at the Oykun.this time it is getting tired we stayed in room 2314 which had a crack in the sink hole in the shower screen dressing table handle broken and at times we had holes in the linen.We stayed B&B which had a good selection at breakfast(except 2nd week when the raisins were not available even after asking).The outside area pools and surrounding clean sunbed cushions some are getting very fraid & worn,the grass area last time was covered in grass this time it had mostly clover and muddy patches.Overall the hotel was very clean our room was well worn (we never asked to be moved because of the view)and it seemed because the season is about to end that some things were not available,would we go back yes but earlier in season.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinxsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oykunfethiye, owner at Oykun Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2009
Dear Jinxsy,
thanks for your review
firstly ı want to said that to readers,we had gold medal in 2007 and 2008 season.and yesterday we had a very good news.we had the gold medal again 2009 Tui Thomson from our hotel guesth over 2000 persons questionnaire result .Thanks for all our family staff.And a big THANK YOU to our guest,they choose our hotel one of the best hotel Turquoise Coast of the Turkey.

we think that you review is injustice. but when we read your last sentence we are
happy ,becouse you wrote that you will come back our hotel again.it means we did the most of things good for you and you will visit us again.

if you said your small problems when you are on holiday we will help you much more.if there was any rooms defects like you wrote we will repair quickly.if you are not happy we will change your room.but you wrote that you like your room.we are thinking that our rooms are not worn.we think we have good standarts room for a 3 star hotel.and our awards prove that.

we are in last week of the season,hotel and area is become quiet BUT till this time everything and all services are available in our hotel. it is same like middle of the season.
ı do not understand which is not available.

and end of october all the grasses are little bit damage becouse of the weather.sorry for that.

next time we wish you will tell your problems and will try to do much better for you.
thanks again

oykun ocek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

This hotel is excellent. Very clean, towels and bedding changed every other day. Staff always polite and very helpful. This hotel has two swimming pools and a poolside bar, all areas are kept exceptionally clean. The food is very nice. Being our first time in Turkey we just booked bed and breakfast. There are variety of restaurants nearby which cater for everyone no matter what your taste. The resort itself if very laid back and has a pleasant breeze.
We are definitely going back and would highly recommend this hotel.
Many thanks to the staff for a lovely holiday

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landroverLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 6 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Arriving at Dalaman, our flight was 20 minutes earlier than originally stated - late at night, coaches finished, with no sign of our driver - panic! However, Oykun (also the bosses' name) appeared running towards us, apologising as someone forgot to tell the driver our flight was earlier - so Oykun himself came to collect us in a large luxury car with big padded seats - this was heaven after 10 hours on coach/airport/plane seats! They charge £60 for 2 return airport transfer which is about average.

The Oykun is wheel-chair friendly.

There are 4 floors at the Oykun - no lift, so ask for a ground floor room if you cant do stairs. We were in the new block - we had a big room with small balcony, small settee, nice shower-room with power shower & hot water whenever we needed it. Toilet paper was always replaced.There was a hairdryer, and liquid soap available. Clean towels and bed linen every 1 or 2 days. The bed cover was a thick cotton one, smaller than ours, so if you want a large sheet - just ask Goldie on reception & it will be delivered unto you!

The bed was firm, but people say comfortable. However, beds are always a problem for me, as I have a cronky hip-joint, so asked Goldie on reception and she arranged for 3 more pillows to be sent to my room to sleep on - and the pillows are puffy!

There are 2 large pools with sunbeds & huge cushions - get up early to bag a big cushion! Also children's pool. The sunbeds & pool areas are hosed down every night.

The outside area is very large & I usually could find a fairly quiet corner - try Boots orange memory-foam ear-plugs, they help to muffle any noise. There was a little traffic noise at nights, our room faced a pool next to the road, but it was tolerable. If you need quiet, ask for a room with sea-view.
Air-conditioning is included in the price! Ours was a bit cold, but if you ask for it to be adjusted I'm sure that would be arranged.
Our room had large wardrobe space with loads of coat hangers, good cupboard & drawer space in lovely traditional wood furniture & was kept spotlessly clean. We complimented the maid via her husband, & the next day our sheet was sculptured & decorated with fresh flowers.

The old block - check out the website "www.oykunhotel.co.uk" Some people say the old block is a little old-fashioned - but hey old-fashioned can be charming. However, the old block has baths if you are a bath-lover.

Breakfast is traditional open-buffet with plenty of choice - you'll find some Turkish favourites there along with tomatoes & cucumber but also cereals, bread, toaster, 6 types of preserve, boiled eggs, cold meat and every day either ommeletts, pancakes, fried eggs. Coffee & squash machines - you help yourself, as much as you can eat.

Dinner was also open buffet - soup, & 22 Turkish mezzes but with hot meats such as sometimes chicken or lamb, spicey vegetable dishes, rice dishes, & salad vegetables such as grated carrot. Dessert was varied - sometimes blancmange, or sweet rice-pudding, with pastries.

Half-board is only £6 extra per day for a 3-course meal - we thought excellent value. Its best to book direct via the website.

For B & B people, there is an extensive English menu to chose from daily.

The outside area comprises the pools, lovely open-sided restaurant - complete with handsome waiters who are all real gentlemen - very helpful. Incidentally, it is the custom in Turkey never to leave a person with an empty plate so the waiters constantly patrol whisking away empties & catering for your every need. A big MERHABA to Vesel, Oykun, Kes, Mehmet, Freddie & Teddy, Goldie & the chefs & maids & all staff whose names I cant remember - including the flirty fella who sometimes works on reception who made my day! Thankyou for looking after us so well.

The bar area is good with comfy seating - Teddy & Freddy are great barmen, very curteous & friendly. The reception/tv area also has comfy chairs, so theres plenty of choice of where to sit.

Oh & the Aromatherapy full body massage there is excellent - only £13.50!

Internet available - only 10 mins. at a time allowed.

Overall I would not hesitate to book this hotel again - there is also a great social atmosphere there.

Dahne-Cool

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dahne-Cool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fethiye hotels
2.9 mi away
Yacht Classic Hotel
Yacht Classic Hotel
#2 of 102 in Fethiye
783 reviews
2.8 mi away
Infinity Boutique Hotel
Infinity Boutique Hotel
#12 of 102 in Fethiye
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harman Hotel
Harman Hotel
#11 of 102 in Fethiye
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Lykia Botanika Beach & Fun Club
4.1 mi away
Club Tuana Fethiye
Club Tuana Fethiye
#8 of 102 in Fethiye
3,255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mutlu
Hotel Mutlu
#19 of 102 in Fethiye
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oykun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oykun Hotel

Property: Oykun Hotel
Address: Calic Mah. Bin Sok., Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fethiye
#3 Best Value Hotel in Fethiye
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fethiye
#7 Spa Hotel in Fethiye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oykun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Oykun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oykun Hotel Fethiye
Oykun Hotel Turkey/Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing