We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Hotel, Big Heart.....”
Review of Oykun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oykun Hotel
Ranked #9 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed at the Okyun Hotel in Calis Beach, near Fethiye for one week in August. Travelling with my family we booked through Thomas Cook. As usual, I did a lot of reseach of TripAdvisor prior to booking. My criteria (specified by family) were: close to the beach, close to shops and the town, great food and good pools. Not too busy but not quiet (not easy!).

Well....the Oykun was a superb choice.

The best thing about the hotel is the service. It is a family hotel and you get the feeling that the staff really care, nothing is too much trouble. Whether it be reception, the guys in the restaurant (working from dawn till dusk and still smiling) or the cleaners, everyone is great.

The rooms are fairly basic but comfortable. Three of us stayed in one room with comfort. We paid a little extra to hire a fridge (25 Lira for the week - about £13). Air conditioning was included in the price. We had a little balcony overlooking a garden and could just about see the sea through the buildings.

The food was included (al-la-carte) with the exception of the breakfast buffet each morning and Turkish night, where an amazing selection of food was served. Each night we dined outside on the patio by the pool. It was great.

The bar is close to one of the pools, with friendly staff and reasonable prices. Food is served throughout the day for a reasonable price, good for snacks.

There are two great pools at the Oykun along with a bowling green, pool table and ping pong table.

Outside the hotel is a small convenience store where you can buy whatever you need (the guy that runs this is also great!). The main town is less than a five minute walk with tourist-type shops; a pharmacy; restaurants; mini markets and everything else you need. There is also the water taxi port to Fethiye or the mini bus also running every few minutes to Fethiye. The beach at Calis is a little future on (maximum 10 minutes at a leisurely pace) across the river bridge where you can see fish swimming below.

Restaurants, bars and cafe's line the beach front, with the travel agencies and a great Turkish Bar (where you sit on the floor, with cushions, listening to Turkish music. To find this walk left along the beach front towards the neon red sign). The atmosphere is very relaxed and suitable for families.

Although we booked through Thompson's, we could have booked directly with the hotel for a whole lot less. They could have also arranged a taxi for us at a very reasonable price. If/when I go back, that is exactly what I will do, saving myself a fortune on Thompson's prices!!

To summarise, this is a great hotel, with great staff, great facilities and food in a super location. Thanks to everyone who posted a review of this place before I went. They were really useful and helped us to have a great holiday in Calis.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darrenbayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2010

Travelled to the Oykun with "On the Beach" holidays. It cost us about £650 each for a fortnight half board, and what fantastic value. The only downside was that we booked the transfer from the airport to the hotel with the "On the Beach" recommended transfer company because it was cheap, about £35 in total both ways. It was very unreliable, leaving us waiting an hour and a half when we arrived at the airport and waiting an hour on departure before they arrived. Drivers were pretty dodgy as well, driving far too fast , inappropriate dangerous overtaking and constant use of mobiles while driving.
Anyway, on arrival at the hotel we had room 2202, overlooked the front pool and the road which is about 40 yards in front of the hotel. Not a noisy road and didn't cause us any sleepless nights. Room basic but clean, tidy and comfortable. All rooms have a small balcony and the air conditioning was very effective (and required at night especially).
breakfast was very good and filling, not traditional English, but this can be bought separately if you wish. There was always plenty of choice for me and I filled up so I didn't require a later lunch. Evening meal was chosen each morning from the A la Carte menu, 3 courses nightly. If you arrive as B and B, you can upgrade to half board for £67 pp pw, well worth doing. Loads of choice. Not much that was Turkish but very good all the same. We did search for traditional Turkish food in the resort but didn't find any, so just stuck with the hotel food.
The pools and surrounds were regularly cleaned and tidied. No rubbish, no rowdiness, nice bar area and a generally calm family atmosphere. Stff very helpful during the day and night. Some great characters.
The resort itself is a bit on the scruffy side, beach could be cleaner , it is shingle and not gently shelving as some describe. But it is lovely and warm and nice to have a dip in. There are a lot of vacant lots in the resort where hotels will no doubt be built in time. Rubbish on these lots and poor people emptying bins of metal etc, leaving rubbish on the ground in some areas. Bars in resort were friendly and there was no trouble seen anywhere, nice and calm.
Trips were very cheap, don't go with resort reps as they charge 2 or 3 times as much. We went with a couple of companies but the best were Focus (down on the front) where the rep, Speedy charged us £14 each for an all day trip to Sakklikent and Tlos with lunch, also a similar amount for the all day Dalyan trip inc lunch (mud baths, a brilliant day out). However don't believe what any of the reps say, virtually all the trips go to either a Carpet factory or Gold Jewellery factory tour, even if they deny they will be going.
we had a great time and are very likely to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnyGoHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We had not been to Turkey before and went with an open mind,we had researched the Oykun and hoped it was as good as the reviews,it certainly was. We arrived early hours of the morning and the night staff showed us to our spotless room,we went down to the bar for a nightcap and some other guests made us so welcome,chatting and telling us about the area.
The next day we found the pools were also really clean,plenty of sunbeds and we stayed half board and booked our 3 course evening meal at breakfast and it was always ready at the booked time.The food was excellent,the only complaint for us was we would have liked more Turkish food but on the whole great.
The staff could not have made us feel more welcome,nothing was too much trouble,just what you want on holiday,they made you feel special.
Could not fault it and would recommend the area,the trips to the mud baths and Saklikent made our holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryEastYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

This hotel is one of the best. There is a high standard met at all times and the staff are always able to help if needed. The food is great and good value for money. The rooms are very clean and spacious and offer all you need. The facilities are good including 2 large swimming pools, children's pool, play are for little ones, bowling green, bar, restaurant to name but a few! There is good entertainment at the hotel if you want to stay in but the location is excellent to explore with the centre of Calis only 5 minutes away from hotel. There is also taxi and bus stop nearby to take you eleswhere with Fethiye only 10 minutes away. We have stayed 3times already and booked again!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubyemmajuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

had a great, holiday, made all the better, my the staff and management, at the Oyken, tried to rebook this year 2010, but was fully booked........ and i can understand why....... wonderful place to stay, ...... going to book early next year so not to miss out,

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveMiller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

we have stayed at oykun hotel many times and from our very first stay we were welcomed as if we were regular guests every one of the staff are so freindly you feel youve known them for years which we have now because we keep going back this hotel and its staff are hard to beat and the hotel is well run comfortable and clean and is set in a great position near to the shops bars restraunts and beach but still nice and quiet and relaxed brilliant

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessemma_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

June 2011 can't come soon enough. We have stayed in this hotel for the past 5 years,sometimes more that once a year. It's friendly staff and guest atmospher just make it. A large selection of breakfast including omlette, fried eggs and pancakes, all cooked whilst you wait. We do bed and breakfast only, but you can upgrade if you wish to include an evening meal. It's a family run hotel and the family and staff are very happy to have you there and nothing is too much trouble. Another fantastic stay at the Oykun!!!
Thank you all so much!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alyson8308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fethiye
0.4 mi away
Harman Hotel
Harman Hotel
#6 of 102 in Fethiye
517 reviews
6.4 mi away
Flora Palm Resort
Flora Palm Resort
#18 of 102 in Fethiye
661 reviews
2.9 mi away
Yacht Classic Hotel
Yacht Classic Hotel
#1 of 102 in Fethiye
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Delta Hotel
Delta Hotel
#14 of 102 in Fethiye
252 reviews
8.0 mi away
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
#11 of 102 in Oludeniz
2,079 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Letoon
Hotel Letoon
#24 of 102 in Fethiye
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oykun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oykun Hotel

Address: Foca Mahallesi, 1314. Sk. | Calis Plaji, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fethiye
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fethiye
#7 Spa Hotel in Fethiye
#10 Best Value Hotel in Fethiye
Price Range: £22 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oykun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Oykun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oykun Hotel Fethiye
Oykun Hotel Turkey/Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing