We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel forced to write this review”
Review of Harman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harman Hotel
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I have just returned from our second visit to Harman Hotel (see review June 2010) I was not going to bother writting this time as our visit was as good as before, but having read a recent review I feel I had to write a reply We were greeted by the very efficient reception staff and given a room with a new bathroom (I know they are in the process of renewing all of them so I may understand some of the review although we had the older bathroom last year and it was fine)
As for the staff we found them polite helpful and cheerful and nothing was too much trouble all you had to do was ask
The lady on reception is wonderful if you engage her in conversation and she even remembered conversations we had had 16 months previously
This hotel is good value for money no it is not 5 star but is well kept with attractive pool area
and a nice layout
The breakfast has a better selection than several we have been to in Turkey but it is Turkish! If you have booked do not change go and enjoy accepting that you are in a different country with lovely people who basically only want to please you
The only complaint we had was the weather we had 2 days of heavy rain which obviously put a damper on it a bit but then it was October!!!
The hotel is well situated a 5 mins walk from the main street and a couple more to the beach with its bars and restaurants we did not have a bad meal but you will find your own favorites based on personal taste
Although there are enough places to eat in Calis it is only a short dolmus or water taxi ride into Fethiye where there are plenty more to try The resort is winding down now for the end of season but I would have no concerns in booking The Harman Hotel again and it does deserve its place in small and friendly because that is what you get !!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank boleynmagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

Arrived at Harman met by very hostile female receptionist who was equally unfriendly all the way through our stay not just to us but to other guests as well not a good first impression at all.

The room was very sub standard accomodation and was not clean, mould in bathroom chipped tiles floor not clean still remnants of previous guest even found a tablet on the floor from last occupant.Bed was just one pillow bottom and a rough bedspread for cover none of the bed linen was very pleasant.

First night we were there the generator went on at 12.30 am which shook the whole room we were in, this went on for 2 hours until the night receptionist found the button to sort it out.Saw the rep for Jewel in the Crown the next morning and she said we could request a room change but she was to wary of the receptionist to ask and said it was down to us.I has by this time talked to other guest and they told me their rooms were just as bad so there was no point in asking.

The breakfast was mediocre the coffee undrinkable although hotel were quite capable of making a good cup but only if you paid 6tl for it.

I am amazed that this sub standard accomodation is now advertised in Thompson small and friendly brochure and would implore the company to send a rep as soon as possible before they send many more guests here.

I did not meet one guest who enjoyed the stay at the Harman and all were upset with the treatment of the receptionist and likened the Harman to being in a boot camp.

Another bug bear was we were not allowed to bring in any food and drink even a bottle of water and were told by the former mentioned female receptionst that water had to be bought from them for 4 times the price that you could buy it at supermarket this I thought was exceptionally mean.

There are 4 cats who live at the Harman and most of the guest had no problem with this but there was one member of staff who hated the cats and would chase them or turn the water hose on them if he could along with him and the rude receptionist who could only grunt at you the Harman needs to overhaul their staff training as a matter of urgency.

If you have therefore booked at the Harman please contact your travel agent and see if you can get them to send you somewhere else I have already given my feedback to mine.

Room Tip: Dont book is my tip go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DianaMcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We had a wonderful stay in this hotel. We wanted to lie around and relax and were able to do just that. It is very quiet, spacious and beautifully well kept. The food is good and we were pleased with everything but the waiters have such poor English that they find it difficult to do their job properly. We aren't.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sallyewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We were so looking forward to our holiday after a very stressful housemove. On arriving at the Harman at11.15pm, first impressions of the hotel were good except for very loud music playing around the pool and bar area. Got to our room and the door handle fell off so we had to make our way back to Reception for help. Room was small and bathroom shower curtain unclean and grouting around bath very poor and in need of attention. Towels and linen were regularly replaced and the room maid kept the room clean. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The chief barman bullied the young lad who was being trained. Noise around the bar carried on sometimes till 4am and it was difficult to sleep because of a group of girls and others who didn't seem to consider others who were also on holiday as well as them. The management received many complaints and did try to get the music lowered at midnight but not always successfully. Towels were regularly put on sunbeds at 7am despite a notice by the hotel requesting sunbeds not to be reserved (one morning a british person put a towel over the sign)!. Air conditioning and safe were each £4 per day and the hotel gave a discount when settling bill. Hotel breakfast was adequate. Calis is a lovely resort and good food at most restaurants although we did have one very bad experience. We would not return to the Harman simply because of the other inconsiderate people on holiday.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the swimming pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BarbaraJ2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

thankyou to all the staff at the harman hotel,had a great holiday with our family,staff at the harman hotel very good,and very good with children,pool great,very friendly place,breakfast turkish,but lots of food as muchas you want to eat,lunch time food off a menu great, evenings down the front great especially bella mammas,italian,lovely food,and alies bar very good also kerris hotel for good food,also not forgetting obens restaurant ,walk along the front to the end and obens is there very good food mamma cooks anything you want to eat,we shall be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank crossword45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The hotel is a three star and does not pretend to be anything else. Value for money (£485 pp 2 weeks B&B incl. flights) was excellent. The hotel was clean and we found the service provided by staff very good. Breakfast was the typical continental buffet and provided a good variety. Rooms were fairly small but quite adequate. The hotel is quite small and consequently has a nice friendly feel to it.

The only real downside was the ever present music from the bar, often at an unreasonable level. On occasions this went on into the early hours. After a complaint from a guest the situation did improve but bar staff shouldn't really have to be reminded as the place really styles itself as a family hotel.

Location - wise the hotel is a good 10 minute walk to the beach (not a particularly pretty walk) but nothing they can do about that. A new park is being built right opposite the hotel - should be nice.

Calis Beach is a good place for a family holiday. Prices are good, constant breeze on the beach a real plus as is the proximity to Fethiye.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SevenoaksNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Just returned from spending 2 weeks at the Harman and already booked our return holiday for next summer. We arrived around 4am and the staff were more than helpful even at that unruly hour lugging all of our cases up to the top floor of the hotel. Throughout the holiday all the staff at the Harman were more than happy to help with absolutely anything they could and the bar staff we're fantastic! We miss them already! The food at the hotel isn't it's best feature however the food menu served throughout the day is possibly the best lunch in Calis, (it was just the breakfast and buffet that we weren't keen on). The pool and overall cleanliness of the hotel was of the highest standard and we were lucky enough to have a wet-room instead of one of the baths with showers. The food and drink prices were brilliant and great value for money. And the hotels location is perfect - just far away enough from the beach to give us some peace and quiet but close enough to stroll down for dinner. Definitely advise eating at Bella Mamas and Casa De Mama in Calis and the small cake shop in Fethiye near the amphitheatre. For excursions and things to do the cheapest company we found was Carole and Tayfun (http://www.caroletayfun.com) where for the both of us and 4 trips it was £50 altogether (book online for discounts). We also did the Dalyan checkout with Thompson - I don't recommend this as although the trip was good the time we got to enjoy it wasn't the best (only spending 1 hour at the mud-baths and 1 hour at the beach meant everything felt rushed), and the hotel they set up for us closer to the airport was an absolute dump with the worst staff we encountered during our entire stay in Turkey.

Room Tip: Stay in the hotel above reception for the rooms with wet-rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatherineMinard89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fethiye hotels
2.7 mi away
Yacht Classic Hotel
Yacht Classic Hotel
#1 of 102 in Fethiye
859 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Unique
Hotel Unique
#2 of 102 in Fethiye
288 reviews
2.4 mi away
Orka Boutique Hotel
Orka Boutique Hotel
#23 of 102 in Fethiye
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Infinity Boutique Hotel
Infinity Boutique Hotel
#15 of 102 in Fethiye
221 reviews
6.1 mi away
Flora Palm Resort
Flora Palm Resort
#18 of 102 in Fethiye
661 reviews
3 mi away
Villa Daffodil
Villa Daffodil
#25 of 102 in Fethiye
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harman Hotel

Address: Foca Mah. Calis Mevki Mehmet Akif Ersoy Cad. No:28 Fethiye Merkez, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fethiye
#5 Family Hotel in Fethiye
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fethiye
Price Range: £19 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Harman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harman Hotel Fethiye
Harman Hotel Turkey/Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing