We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely but not 5 star.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ece Saray Marina & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ece Saray Marina & Resort
Ranked #11 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely but not 5 star.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2007

Stayed at this hotel last year and loved the location and setting, but service had a lot to be desired. I was not to be let down as it was just as bad this year. We had a suite and had requested a high floor, put on level1 (ground floor). Complained and moved instantly to level 2. Informed that they put the Brits on low levels as we don't complain as much as other guests. Rooms are lovely by Turkey standard but you are paying for it and it is 5*. Our maid sevice was very good and found the receptionist very helpful too. My one huge gripe about this hotel is the service from staff. You wait on them, they do not wait on you. There can be nobody else at bar but most times you will wait 10 mins for your drinks. Just so you know they charge 20 lira (£8) for gordons gin and tonic. Local is ONLY £4. You could drink in the savoy cheaper. The exception of the staff has to be the pool bar. Unfortunately I don't know his name but he worked there last year too and is lovely. The only bad, slow service we had in Fethiye was in Ece Saray Hotel. I did complain and got dirty looks for the rest of week. Other guests felt the same way we did about poor service and prices but did not complain to management. I think everybody who goes to this hotel if they feel as we did they should inform them and they will soon get the message. I intend to write to higher Management of this hotel as I got nowhere with management working in the hotel. After all you are being charged prices much higher than our 5* hotels without the service. I would go back again to this hotel but not until they get the service dealt with.

Last but not least. You have to eat in MOD Restaurant in marina around the corner from hotel. Food amazing, staff very friendly and not even close to hotel prices.

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AC_18A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    112
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
57
235
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2007

It's a large but friendly hotel at the centre of a marina complex. It has terrific views over the boats and the bay and the rooms are clean and tidy. The food at breakfast was really good with a large buffet and even the option of an additional full fry up!

We took the advice of an earlier poster on this site and requested a 3rd floor room which we got and gave great views.

The staff were, in the main, very friendly.

Rather unusually for us, we booked via a travel agent with Anatolian Sky. It was a little on the pricey side but we had no complaints and the rep, Alison, was good; helpful without being pushy. She sold us a "Lazy Day Boat Trip" for £15 which was good value and great fun.

The hotel has a great pool which when we visited was fine, however over-run on 2 mornings by kids clubs - absolutely not what you would expect at a hotel where most of the guests seemed to be in the 40+ age bracket. You can also buy a ticket to use the pool if not staying at the hotel. The owner might make a few extra lira doing this but he risks disappointing the real paying / staying customers.

Turkish plumbing is on a par with Portugal! Toilet paper is not supposed to be flushed down the loo but placed in the bin. That said, we risked it and got away with it!

Food and drink at the hotel are also expensive but a 10 minute stroll into town takes you to dozens of restaurants all of good quality. The best, in our opinion, is Pasa Kebap on the edge of the old town. It's great quality, cheap as chips and a great favourite with locals. 3 of us had a great meal and drinks for under a tenner each. Other good places included The Arena and The Address restaurants. The fish market is also worth a visit as an unusual dining experience. You buy the fish and then take it to an adjacent restaurant to be cooked!

There's a big colourful market on Tuesdays which is worth a visit and on Sundays much the same at Calis Beach (but not as good).

We visited end of July and the locals were beginning to panic because the Brits had not arrived. There were signs of things getting busier but certainly not overcrowded. Late July is really hot - most days over 40C / 100+ F. Air con is a must and this hotel was up to the job! Is it 5* ? Not in my book, more like a comfortable 3*.

  • Liked — Good rooms and air con
  • Disliked — noisy kids at the pool
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldo_Bonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2007

This hotel is not necessarily what you'd expect. The location is absolutely fantastic looking out over the marina in Fethiye - however the hotel itself is very simple and clean. I don't mean simple as in minimalistic - i just mean simple.

Location was great (make sure you get a room facing out on to the Marina

Double room = two single beds pushed together (a pet hate of mine/ours)

Was slightly on the pricey side but you can get a good discount if you say you've seen the price cheaper elsewhere

Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful

Breakfast on the roof terrace over looking the marina is worth it just for the view (although the food was not spectacular)

Didn't get to try the pool but it looked big

All in all a nice friendly, clean hotel (lacking any character inside but great views of the harbour).

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — Lack of character
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank benjackthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHORLEYWOOD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2007

This was our first visit to Turkey and this hotel and resort were booked on recommendation. The tour company (Olympic) provided a private luxury mini-bus for our transfer to the hotel and a taxi for our return to the airport. This hotel is marketed as a five star property but on arrival there was no one to take our suitcases from the mini-bus to the reception, as one would normally expect from this type of hotel and it was left to us. However, the staff were very friendly and our cases were very quickly taken to our room. The room allocated to us was on the third floor with really magnificent sea views (all rooms have this view). However, the carpets from the lift to the room were stained and other smaller carpets had been put on top which was a little disconcerting as it could have caused an accident. The room was adequate but the balconies had cracks in the side walls and plaster falling off which wasn't cleaned up the entire week we were there. The toiletries could have been more in keeping with a 5 star hotel too. Our tea/coffee room tray was not always replenished on a daily basis. Breakfast was served on the roof of the hotel and was more than sufficient - fairly good choice but you did have to pay extra for your orange juice! We ate in the Hotel restaurant on just one night simply because in the resort of Fethiyie there were so many other superb restaurants to try - recommend The Duck Pond & The Arena. Be aware that if you leave the hotel in the morning there are not always sunbeds available in the afternoon. All in all we loved Turkey and would return. The location of this hotel could not be faulted and with a little attention to detail and a little t.l.c. it would be perfect and would bring it up to a 5 star standard.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — not up to 5 star standard
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TERRYKEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
220 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2007

We loved this place and chose it by a combination of coming across it and the Lonely Planet recommendation, which describes it as one of the best on the south coast. They’re not wrong. The location is perfect being right on the harbour and it was great to sit with a drink and watch the yachting fraternity go about their business. Rooms are large and comfortable with charming views over the bay and harbour. The pool is large and is also a good place to relax. The only meal we had was breakfast and this was OK but not great – they make you pay extra for orange juice! The hotel is also in the centre of town so convenient for restaurants and nightlife.

  • Liked — Beautiful location
  • Disliked — Breakfast could have been better
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Spineynorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2007

My partner & I stayed here in Sep, 2005. It was arranged by Heritage Tours (NY) and we stayed there for 1 night before our one week chartered cruise from Fethiye to Bodrum.

Thanks to Heritage Tours, we didn't have to wait for check-in. Everything was pre-arranged.

Locationwise, it was off to the left side of Fethiye, so it's away from all the traffic and bustle near the main streets.

We got the executive suite - hugh livingroom, hugh bedroom & hugh marbled bathroom with tub & shower separated. It's just like the Marriott I stayed in Beverly Hills.

The marina area was very nice, almost picturesque. Unfortunately we overslept and missed the breakfast...

In the afternoon, we directly boarded the Nikolas gullet (Neyzen Tour) from the marina with other friends and enjoyed our splendid 7 days private cruise heading to Bodrum. We highly recommend the cruise if you are thinking about it. It's definitely worth it!

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank Emeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2006

Well... my lovely girlfriend and I stayed at Ece Saray right at the beginning of September for a week! This was our first trip to Turkey... and our first holiday together at that!

Anyway, enough about our life story and on to the hotel! After a transfer from the airport that lasted about an hour we pulled into the big grand gates of the hotel and were greeted with a small collection of staff who took our luggage and delivered it near enough straight away to our rooms, leaving us to check in with no problems!

Having been shown to our room, we proceded to check out the amazing view that waited for us outside the window. We noticed previous reviews moaning about being on the ground floor, but we thought the view from there was great!

The room was lovely and clean as was the bathroom, and was cleaned at probably 14.00 every day, but we didn't care beacuse by then we were in full tan mode sitting around the amazing pool!

The pool is brilliant, its big and clean and the atmosphere around the pool was calm and relaxed with subtle music in the background.

Every member of staff was discreet and very friendly once you got talking to them, although their english sometimes left a lot to be desired... although we should have made the effort to learn even the slightest bit of Turkish, we were in their country after all! So I can hardly complain about that!!

The food in the hotel was great but we decided to eat out in the surrounding areas of an evening as we enjoyed the slightly more lively, friendly atmosphere. The restaurant and shop owners in Fethiye are all absolutely lovely and they speak english fluently! Our favorite was a restaurant named 'Address' the food was great but the owner/waiter/everybodies best friend was the highlight of the nights we ate there.

One day we went on a boat trip around 12 islands, it was run by an English woman and a Turkish man and it was called 'Carol & Tayfun's Boat Cruises', its quite a walk around the marina to find the boat but it is only £9 for the day and it is well worth it!

Well I think that's about it for this hotel, haven't got a bad word to say about it really.

Oh yeah... try the Turkish Bath in the hotel...it's...fun!

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Not a great selection of food to choose from
  • Tips/Secrets — Explore the local restaurants outside the hotel
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank cool_couple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fethiye hotels
0.1 mi away
Yacht Classic Hotel
Yacht Classic Hotel
#1 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Unique
Hotel Unique
#5 of 102 in Fethiye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ece Boutique Hotel
Ece Boutique Hotel
#18 of 102 in Fethiye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Club Tuana Fethiye
Club Tuana Fethiye
#8 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Infinity Boutique Hotel
Infinity Boutique Hotel
#12 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.9 mi away
Letoonia Club & Hotel
Letoonia Club & Hotel
#6 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ece Saray Marina & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ece Saray Marina & Resort

Property: Ece Saray Marina & Resort
Address: 1. Karagozler Mevki No:1 Fethiye Merkez, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fethiye
#9 Luxury Hotel in Fethiye
#12 Family Hotel in Fethiye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ece Saray Marina & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ece Saray Marina & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ece Saray Marina And Resort
Ece Saray Marina Hotel Fethiye
Ece Saray Marina Fethiye
Ece Saray Marina & Resort Turkey/Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing