We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice breaker?”
Review of Hotel Era

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Era
Ranked #48 of 101 Hotels in Fethiye
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Recently spent a couple of weeks with Friedship Travel at the Era. Rooms basic and clean, all you could really wish for. Food and atmosphere excellent, pool even better. Thoroughly reccomend as a venue for singles, will go again. Only down side being the 4.50am call to prayer, and that bloody dog barking!! However, both can be overcome by enjoying another couple of G&Ts or more wine - enjoy, I did.

Room Tip: Find one with a double bed, it may help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tut1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

I stayed at the Era Hotel with Friendship Travel from May 14th - 21st. The look of the hotel and pool area is lovely, but to say the rooms are basic is an understatement! I had 2 single beds in my room and the mattress on the one nearest the bathroom (I have to go frequently during the night) was so hard I had to have it changed over as it was rock hard, the other one wasn't that much better so my arthritic spine suffered greatly, also the bed sheets were rough and didn't fit the bed. In the bathroom there was no hot water in the morning due to it all being used the night before because water is heated by solar panels plus, I had to buy a plug as there wasn't one in the sink. I gather the Turkish wash in running water but as the hotel was full of English people, that excuse didn't hold water, pardon the pun!
My main gripe was that I paid £658 for a week, but quite a few of the group had paid that for two weeks because they'd booked in advance, but as I had other arrangements I couldn't stay for two weeks but never in this world is the Era hotel worth £658 for a week. It's such a pity as the location is lovely and with a few minor improvements which wouldn't cost the earth, it would be so much better value for money. If you decide to go, my advice is to take a travel kettle so you can have some hot water to wash in in the morning, and an international travel sink plug and if you have room in your case, a decent sheet for the bed!
Ergan the owner, Ibu the hotel rep and the staff are lovely, very kind and helpful and the food was good too so if you like very basic then go for it but if you don't, then stay away. The majority of the group there were fine, but there had been some friction before I got there which was obvious, and some more during my time there but that's the chance you take with any group of people. On the plus side, Turkey is a beautiful country with spectacular scenery, friendly people, lovely food and a great climate.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank travelqueenYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

The Era deserves a excellent review for offering to all its Solo Travellers and Friendship Travel for offering a great holiday, this is my second Solo holiday experience and by far the best. The Staff cannot do enough to help, great location and just wonderful trips available. A big thumbs up from me, I will be back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I stayed at the Era with Friendship Travel for a week in early July. We got lucky with an excellent group and loads of laughs which is what it is all about in many ways, I had an excellent time. Ergun, the owner, his wife and the team that run this small hotel are very good and very polite. The rooms are basic but clean and you have the option of aircon. The pool is large for a hotel of this type and plenty of sun beds and unbrellas. Food is very good, I particulalry loved the choice of freshly made salads as starter each evening. The breakfast is also very pleasant with a choice of local produce plus cereal. Even a choice of sandwiches, salads and a special each day at lunch. The all inclusive until 10pm each day works very well and the bar staff are very friendly amd smile, some 5* hotels could learn a lesson from this. Recommend a visit to Buzz Bar in Olu D one evening as you can sit outside watching the sunset/paragliders coming doen over a very good meal and cocktails. Yes, even I tried paragliding this time!
The local FT team are also very good and deserve a mention, Ibo, Mel and Jean. Overall, this delivers on what FT says and possibly more as hotel so well run for a 3*.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Rioja2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

If you've never been on a singles/solo holiday, then this is the place to go for the first time!
There have been changes since my visit last summer (yes, I've been before and I'll go again lol), the hotel is now run by Ergun and Raiza (spelling ??) who are the loveliest couple you would ever meet; Sev, Soluman and Ali are the bar staff and chef - superb!!! The staff of the tour operator (Friendship Travel) are two gorgeous English Ladies and one lovely Turk (Jean, Mel & Ibo) - these lovely people ensure that you're collected from the airport and deposited at the hotel; ensuring that you're fed and watered before they depart.
The food is fantastic! If you don't like something, you need mention it only once and Ali remembers it.
The staff are funny and willing to learn English, (if you have the patience to help them of course!) and very attentive.
Cheers to Ergun and Hotel Era, watch out 'cos I'll be back for more xx

Room Tip: Some rooms have double beds others twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank TeresaMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

I stayed recently for the second time, and enjoyed it immensely. The peaceful location away from the relatively busy centre of hisaronu is a plus point, and the hotel setting and size makes you easily feel like you are staying in a private villa, where you can lie around the pool or sit and chill and chat. Ergun the owner is very welcoming, friendly and accommodating, and he and the staff, will do anything possible to ensure you enjoy your stay. The hotel is simple but perfectly adequate, and set in a lovely part of Ovacik. I would certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank hollytina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Recently returned from Hotel Era having travelled with Friendship Travel who have struck a 'deal' with the hotel to make it exclusive to them for the last 2 years. Set in a tranquil area in Ovacik, a 10 minute walk from the bright lights and bars of Hisaronu. ( Watch out ,as previous reviewer stated, you can be ripped off in certain bars!) I had a bright room with small balcony, constant hot water in shower and views of mountains. A great sized pool with more than enough new sunbeds as only 20 guest capacity. Ergun (owner) Ali (chef) and Melahat (cleaner) were the mainstay staff, with different helpers. I read many reviews about the Era on Trip advisor and Holiday watchdog before I booked and the comments were so positive about the hotel and friendliness of the staff that I was surprised to find that the Friendship Travel reps constantly told guests from day one that they were in dispute with the management. They painted the hotel in a bad light which was very unprofessional and made some first time solo guests feel uncomfortable. The MD of Friendship travel came to visit and one FT rep has been moved to other duties and a new Turkish rep, Ebo, is in place. With FT, the Era is an all inclusive hotel until 10pm, with very reasonable bar prices after this. In fact, I know of 3 guests ( including myself) who's bar bills were reduced or rounded down by the owner!! Breakfast was Turkish 'continental' served buffet style and dinner was cooked and served by the ever present Ali. Lunch was a choice of various sandwiches or salads and had a daily chef special. Rooms were spotless, pool was cleaned daily and plentiful towels supplied. Books and magazines are available in a chilled out shaded area at the side of the pool. Air-con and safety deposit boxes are charged for. Rooms with terraces are down steps in basement area, consequently, these are cooler in the heat of the day. All in all it was a great little hotel and I'd recommend it to anyone looking to stay in an area close to the bars and night life, but far enough away to just chill and relax.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank fairplayforall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fethiye
6.9 mi away
Bahar
Bahar
#33 of 101 in Fethiye
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antas Deluxe Aparts
Antas Deluxe Aparts
#56 of 101 in Fethiye
121 reviews
4.3 mi away
Infinity Boutique Hotel
Infinity Boutique Hotel
#13 of 101 in Fethiye
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Green Anatolia Hotel
Green Anatolia Hotel
#64 of 102 in Oludeniz
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forever Hotel
Forever Hotel
#1 of 7 in Ovacik
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oludeniz Suite Hotel
Oludeniz Suite Hotel
#4 of 9 in Ovacik
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Era? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Era

Address: Ovacik Mah. 121.sok No:8 | Oludeniz, Fethiye 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 101 Hotels in Fethiye
Price Range: £27 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive three-star Hotel Era in Hisaronu Turkey is a small, family-run hotel exclusively for single travellers. It has just 20 en suite rooms and guests enjoy sole occupancy of a double room. It has a relaxed and friendly atmosphere and the focus of the hotel is the super swimming pool, surrounded by good-sized terraces with sun-beds for everyone. Authentic Turkish touches include the wood panelling in the bar, the hubble bubble pipe and the hammocks hanging in the gardens. A short stroll leads to small shops, bars and restaurants and a short dolmus ride leads to the Blue Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Era reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Era Hotel Ovacik
Hotel Era Turkey/Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing