We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value For Money”
Review of Hotel Destan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Destan
Ranked #84 of 101 Hotels in Fethiye
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I have just returned from the Destan Hotel after a two week stay with another couple. Overall, I was very happy with the hotel.
Our room (which was classed as a suite) was refurbished to a high standard. It was of a good size with a large bathroom. It was clean and we also had a jacuzzi and a fridge (which as far as I am aware we did not pay extra for). There was ample cupboard space and an LCD TV. We were on the bottom floor so we had a large terrace which was shared with the other rooms. Although the bar was quite close there was not too much noise but we mainly came back after it had closed anyway!
The only down points to the rooms was that; we had an adjoining door which could be opened if you are a large family. We were quite lucky becuase nobody stayed in the room next door for a long time but when they did you could literally hear everything. Also, although the shower was always warm it was not very powerful.
The hotel is in a perfect location and if you know Hisaronu it is a one minute walk to AZDA. There are two pools - the guitar shaped one and the smaller one. The smaller one was usually quieter with water polo in the larger pool. There was always sunbeds/umbrellas free and there was a good atmosphere around both pools and the hotel in general.
The staff were very helpful, Hero, Danny and, the receptionist were always friendly and ready to squirt you with water at the pool. We had an issue with one of our excursions and the receptionist rang the company off his own mobile and sorted out the problem for us straight away! Our dealings with the manager were always amacable and when we spoke to him he was always polite and friendly.
We had some snacks at the hotel and one night we arranged to have our evening meal there. It was lovely and great value for money. The breakfast was typically Turkish with eggs/bread/jam and cereal etc.
This was our third time in Hisaronu and we were not disappointed. Some of my restaurant/bar recommendations are; Pizza Pepino's, Piano bar, Costello's, Leaves, Peking Chinese was also lovely! Alfresco bar has great music and Tropical has two for one cocktails. Tango bar was also great too. Talk of the Town is a must and also try out the excursions! We have tried quad and jeep safari now and they are all amazing.
Also, try Calis beach it is so much quieter than Olu Deniz beach and it is just as lovely. There is also an Aqua Park at Calis (same price as Ovacik water park but not as good). If you pay to go to the Aqua Park you can visit the beach on the same day otherwise it is 50ytl in a taxi. Exchange rate over there at the moment is 2.72 for the £ but you may as well take English money over with you becuase we seemed to get a better deal with English money!
We booked through Travel Republic on a B&B basis which we found was cheaper than contacting the hotel directly or booking through an operator. I would stay at the Destan again if we could get the same deal.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stacey_l_groom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

me amd my bf stayed her sep for 10night when we arrived n took to our room we was very impressed it was big and moderm and the shower was really good.the pools wer clean and u have a choice off 2. hero the bar man was very helpful and topped our drinks up. i have been to hisaranou 7 timea amd the hotel was in a perfect place close to

the main strip so not far to stagger home.the only downfall we had was therooms hardly got clean we got told to leave our key at reception but after being out for the day it still hadent been cleaned we had to ask for towels and toilet roll... there is a tv in the room which is great and a fridge which u have to pay for but u cant bring your own food or.drink in from outside which we didnt c the point. also.u have to pay &35 for aircon a week and 20for the safe. overall we had a good stay here n would come again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hargrevess18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

This Hotel is NOT a 4star it would not even attract a 1star in the UK. This is without doubt the worst hotel that we have ever stayed in and we have travelled extensively.You arrive down a rough road just off the strip,it is next to an abandoned bar and right opposite a half demolished hotel that has also been abandoned,all that is left is the remains of the pool so that what you face every morning,Great start.The pools are very small but adequate as is the reception and thats ALL the good news!The room we stayed in the 1st night room 405 was small,dirty the shower didnt work and was cold,it leaked all over the floor as did the air con and then outside on the weed filled terrace(1 chair)there was water running constantly from above.Every wall and ceiling had squashed mosquitos on them and all squashed with different footwear from the tread marks so I would think they had been there some time,.The room had orange/yellow artex walls and curtains from the dark ages that didnt meet.There was a constant stench of sewerage.We moved rooms to 407 and although this was slightly bigger same problems,same decor,slightly more mosquito carcasses!We stayed 7 days and our room was cleaned twice and we had to ask constantly for fresh towels.We had breakfast the 1st day from the fly infested "buffet" and never eat again for fear of disease,the bar is a garden shed(Barman very pleasant).The bins were left overflowing in the garden for days and the very young staff spoke excellent English until you challenged them or complained and then strangely it deserted them.I have never seen anything so badly run.
The guest book was filled with positive comments but there were pages ripped out!!!
Please do not take your family or children to this dreadful Hotel,if you have booked and cannot cancel do not accept a room in the older left block. The good folks who have left possitive reviews must have stayed in the new block or a different hotel to me!!

Room Tip: Do not accept rooms in the older block on the left,especially the lower gound the stink!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

stayed here august 2011 hotel and staff were lovely but manager disgusting our daughter has severe ecxma and he wanted to charge us 16 pound a day 2 clean the bed sheets as there were a few blood stains where she had scratched her skin we refused and he told us to get out of his hotel which we would have done gladly had he refunded our money we had booked 3 rooms 2 accomodate our family in the end we stayed but bought our own sheets and did our own cleaning so if u have a illness or disabilaty do not stay here !! we got no sleep as cockerals started everynight we have been to hisaranou for seven years and this is one hotel we would not return to .

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Despite having read some quite poor reviews we went along on our holiday prepared to give the Hotel Destan a chance and were more than happy with what we got. The rooms are well sized and have a good standard of decor, one or two squashed mossies which could have been cleaned off the walls but this is not exclusive to the Destan. The breakfast is typical continental breakfast but everything is extremely fresh and well presented with no restrictions on how much you eat, it is however cleared away promptly at 10.00. Both pools are excellent, well maintained and with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas there is no need to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve a bed. The pool by reception is the quieter of the two and so if peace is what you are looking for this is the place to be. Bar snacks are a good price and of a good standard. This Hotel is let down though by the service of some, not all, of the staff. The receptionist is particularly poor he is unhelpful curt and appears to not give a damn. Some of the bar staff appear to think that they are doing you a favour by serving you and as they do not wear uniform, and there appear to be a lot of hangers on, it's difficult to know who is supposed to be serving you.
So my advice to the owner is to invest in a customer training package and a uniform for your bar staff, look for a new receptionist and hire an animation team ready for next season. The "entertainment manager" Chris is a really likeable bloke but has no support and therefore there is very little in the way of entertainment.
My advice to potential customers is book a stay at the Destan it is a lovely hote, well situated for all of the resorts amenities but don't expect much in the way of service from most of the staff

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glynis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

stayed here in august for 11 nights harf board,recepetion not very helpful,very young staff,a little wet behind the ears,be aware YOU PAY FOR YOUR SAFE,FRIDGE,AIR CON,A RIP OFF,FRIDGE ONLY WORKS WHEN YOU ARE IN THE ROOM,rooms very basic,showerhead kept falling off rail,rooms were clean,fresh towels ,clean bedding evey two days,food was beef stew&chicken every night,rice salad,chips,not much choice,but eatable,no entertaiment at all,they got is a mad up shed as a bar,the poor bar lad called HERO is trying his best,lunch snacks are good ,breakfast is coffee juice ceral cheese,bread jam,melon,not much choice,pool at the back is the best,small pool in the front,you dont need to fight for sun beds,hotel is still getting revamped,the hotel is in good location for all bars /cafes/shops/be warned their are cameras every where,and signs telling you not to bring food/drink in from outside or you will be charge to your room bill,nothing going on around pool.bad smell off drains at night.

Room Tip: suite rooms in in the basement,/
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STEVE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

What a great holiday we both had, Very clean rooms, Basic yes but very clean. Some of these comments on here are so not true. We went B&B which i thought was the right choice. Plenty of shops and restaurants only 2 min walk. Great Location. Only gripe we had was the other guests "British" when after downing plenty of alcohol coming back to their rooms @ 03.45 and slamming there doors. We had no problem closing our doors. Good pool activities "Chris" very funny but the water polo goals need new nets! Defininately going back next year. 51 weeks and counting... You can't bring food or drink back to your rooms??? yes but there are ways around this, nudge nudge wink wink if you know what i mean. These people are trying to make a living. Take sterling, the Turks love our British pound. Haggle with your trips. We wanted to go on four trips so got the best deal with "Magical Tours" who not only knocked £50 of the price they gave us a free Turkish bath voucher and gave us a FREE lift for the duration of our holiday "when needed" to the blue lagoon Sugar Beach great. Please go on the 6 and 12 islands tour. Outstanding. So much more to say but got the holiday blue's now. 51 weeks and counting.

Room Tip: Pool faceing if you can, if faceing inland there is a neighbouring hotel which can be noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank respond999Shropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fethiye
0.4 mi away
Telmessos Hotel
Telmessos Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hisaronu
1,072 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
0.4 mi away
St Nicholas Grove Hotel
St Nicholas Grove Hotel
#92 of 102 in Oludeniz
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yalcin Hotel
Yalcin Hotel
#19 of 102 in Oludeniz
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Telmessos Select
Telmessos Select
#95 of 102 in Oludeniz
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Destan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Destan

Address: Hisaronu, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 101 Hotels in Fethiye
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Destan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Destan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destan Hotel Fethiye
Hotel Destan Turkey/Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing