We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute bargain”
Review of Hotel Destan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Destan
Ranked #82 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute bargain”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My family (2 adults 2 children 4 & 9) stayed here Aug 2011 can't fault it, Clean room, clean pools, plenty of sun beds, friendly staff, fantastic location and an absolute bargain to boot (£340 for 2 weeks B & B)

Looking for a cheap holiday in Hisaronu stay here you won't be disappointed.

Improvement in the variety at breakfast wouldn't go a miss but plenty of cheap restaurants right on your doorstep.

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor room adjacent to the bar not a great view but nice and cool and no probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runningdog160568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    55
    34
    17
    34
See reviews for
43
78
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2011

The hotel Destan is absolutely fine, clean and well maintained.
We didn't have a problem with the room at all. However we were on our honeymoon and probably should have done our research a bit better as it is a bit of a party hotel in a purpose built party resort, and we were looking for somewhere a bit quieter. That's not the fault of the hotel though and the staff were really friendly, Hero (the bartender) was particularly helpful. It's just that his bar was not far from our room and the music did go on into the night a couple of times...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east england
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My partner and I booked a holiday through right holidays (had crap service from this company) we booked the 3* saray hotel but when the documentation arrived the accomodation was listed as the destan hotel we queried this and were told the saray was overbooked and that we had been UPGRADED for free to the 4* destan, no way was this a 4* it was 2* at best and a bad 2* at that. The Hotel has two blocks one that has been upgraded and could be classed as a 3/4* with suites and whirlpool baths and one that is neglected and run down we were put in the bad section. The lighting in the corridor to our room was downright dangerous, the key always stuck in the lock there was black mould all over the bathroom, the furnature had seen better days, the skirting tiles were coming away from the walls and the walls were marked, the standard of cleaning was very poor although the bedsheets were clean as were the towels. we were given no information on the breakfast times or anything on arrival and had to find out of other guests, breakfast was a typical turkish bread, meat and jams affair the coffee was disgusting tasting dishwater and I witnessed them mixing the soft diluted drinks for breakfast with tap water not bottled, the resident cats used the sand under the swings for a toilet. one week to the day from the start of our stay a notice appeared in our room with the hotel rules and stating that the rooms were cleaned daily this was not the case our room was not cleaned for the first 3 days and took complaints to reception to get it done after that it was every other day if you were lucky.most of the resident guests in our block were british and other nationalities in the posher end I beleive this is because the brits are less likely to complain than other nationalities.I also phoned right holidays to state our displeasure and got an indifferent responce from them they promised to send a rep to the hotel we are still waiting for them to arrive. If you read the reviews they are mixed and most of the good reviews are from people who have stayed in the newly refurbished block and the bad from the neglected end. the staff do not speak very good english and the management could not give a monkeys about what you have to say. we spent as little time as possible at the hotel an only slept there. do not go to this hotel unless you are sure that you are going to be in the new block.

Room Tip: get a suite that way you would be in the new refurbished end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockypi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fethiye hotels

Coventry
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I can not even begin to express how bad this hotel is. The rooms are dirty and were not cleaned once during our stay. The air conditioning is very expensive and below standard. There was an ajoining door to the room next door which was unlocked. The staff were extremely rude and unhelpful and we were treated appallingly. The supposed childrens area was actually 2 broken bucket swings surrounded by sand that was used by several occupying cats as a toilet. We did not attempt to visit the breakfast buffett again after the first attempt it was that bad. Thank god we found alternative accommodation and only had to endure this for a few nights. This hotel is as far away from a true experience of Turkey than you could possibly get.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa15Coventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I have just returned from the Destan Hotel after a two week stay with another couple. Overall, I was very happy with the hotel.
Our room (which was classed as a suite) was refurbished to a high standard. It was of a good size with a large bathroom. It was clean and we also had a jacuzzi and a fridge (which as far as I am aware we did not pay extra for). There was ample cupboard space and an LCD TV. We were on the bottom floor so we had a large terrace which was shared with the other rooms. Although the bar was quite close there was not too much noise but we mainly came back after it had closed anyway!
The only down points to the rooms was that; we had an adjoining door which could be opened if you are a large family. We were quite lucky becuase nobody stayed in the room next door for a long time but when they did you could literally hear everything. Also, although the shower was always warm it was not very powerful.
The hotel is in a perfect location and if you know Hisaronu it is a one minute walk to AZDA. There are two pools - the guitar shaped one and the smaller one. The smaller one was usually quieter with water polo in the larger pool. There was always sunbeds/umbrellas free and there was a good atmosphere around both pools and the hotel in general.
The staff were very helpful, Hero, Danny and, the receptionist were always friendly and ready to squirt you with water at the pool. We had an issue with one of our excursions and the receptionist rang the company off his own mobile and sorted out the problem for us straight away! Our dealings with the manager were always amacable and when we spoke to him he was always polite and friendly.
We had some snacks at the hotel and one night we arranged to have our evening meal there. It was lovely and great value for money. The breakfast was typically Turkish with eggs/bread/jam and cereal etc.
This was our third time in Hisaronu and we were not disappointed. Some of my restaurant/bar recommendations are; Pizza Pepino's, Piano bar, Costello's, Leaves, Peking Chinese was also lovely! Alfresco bar has great music and Tropical has two for one cocktails. Tango bar was also great too. Talk of the Town is a must and also try out the excursions! We have tried quad and jeep safari now and they are all amazing.
Also, try Calis beach it is so much quieter than Olu Deniz beach and it is just as lovely. There is also an Aqua Park at Calis (same price as Ovacik water park but not as good). If you pay to go to the Aqua Park you can visit the beach on the same day otherwise it is 50ytl in a taxi. Exchange rate over there at the moment is 2.72 for the £ but you may as well take English money over with you becuase we seemed to get a better deal with English money!
We booked through Travel Republic on a B&B basis which we found was cheaper than contacting the hotel directly or booking through an operator. I would stay at the Destan again if we could get the same deal.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacey_l_groom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

me amd my bf stayed her sep for 10night when we arrived n took to our room we was very impressed it was big and moderm and the shower was really good.the pools wer clean and u have a choice off 2. hero the bar man was very helpful and topped our drinks up. i have been to hisaranou 7 timea amd the hotel was in a perfect place close to

the main strip so not far to stagger home.the only downfall we had was therooms hardly got clean we got told to leave our key at reception but after being out for the day it still hadent been cleaned we had to ask for towels and toilet roll... there is a tv in the room which is great and a fridge which u have to pay for but u cant bring your own food or.drink in from outside which we didnt c the point. also.u have to pay &35 for aircon a week and 20for the safe. overall we had a good stay here n would come again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hargrevess18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2011

This Hotel is NOT a 4star it would not even attract a 1star in the UK. This is without doubt the worst hotel that we have ever stayed in and we have travelled extensively.You arrive down a rough road just off the strip,it is next to an abandoned bar and right opposite a half demolished hotel that has also been abandoned,all that is left is the remains of the pool so that what you face every morning,Great start.The pools are very small but adequate as is the reception and thats ALL the good news!The room we stayed in the 1st night room 405 was small,dirty the shower didnt work and was cold,it leaked all over the floor as did the air con and then outside on the weed filled terrace(1 chair)there was water running constantly from above.Every wall and ceiling had squashed mosquitos on them and all squashed with different footwear from the tread marks so I would think they had been there some time,.The room had orange/yellow artex walls and curtains from the dark ages that didnt meet.There was a constant stench of sewerage.We moved rooms to 407 and although this was slightly bigger same problems,same decor,slightly more mosquito carcasses!We stayed 7 days and our room was cleaned twice and we had to ask constantly for fresh towels.We had breakfast the 1st day from the fly infested "buffet" and never eat again for fear of disease,the bar is a garden shed(Barman very pleasant).The bins were left overflowing in the garden for days and the very young staff spoke excellent English until you challenged them or complained and then strangely it deserted them.I have never seen anything so badly run.
The guest book was filled with positive comments but there were pages ripped out!!!
Please do not take your family or children to this dreadful Hotel,if you have booked and cannot cancel do not accept a room in the older left block. The good folks who have left possitive reviews must have stayed in the new block or a different hotel to me!!

Room Tip: Do not accept rooms in the older block on the left,especially the lower gound the stink!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fethiye
0.1 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
#10 of 103 in Oludeniz
578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yalcin Hotel
Yalcin Hotel
#36 of 103 in Oludeniz
274 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Telmessos Select
Telmessos Select
#87 of 103 in Oludeniz
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flora Palm Resort
Flora Palm Resort
#16 of 102 in Fethiye
637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tolay Hotel
Tolay Hotel
#53 of 103 in Oludeniz
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Destan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Destan

Property: Hotel Destan
Address: Hisaronu, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Destan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Destan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destan Hotel Fethiye
Hotel Destan Turkey/Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing