We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't stay here if it was free of charge!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Destan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Destan
Ranked #79 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Crawshaw Booth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay here if it was free of charge!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2009

I booked with Hotels4u.com, and was a 45 woman travelling alone. I have been to Turkey many times, and normally stay in Calis, nice and quiet. Won't go into details, but they moved me from lovely 1st hotel after a day, as it had been overbooked? (NOT!) I kept an open mind, re packed and paid for a taxi to Destan in Hisaronu. I checked in, got took to my room by a dirty looking ignorant man. And sat and cried!! I had come from a beautiful hotel to a dirty, smelly pit! My room was in a basement, when I opened balcony door, it opened onto a wall! The curtains were hanging off the rails, the bed was damp and stunk, the bathroom was full of black mould, exactly like the pics on here. There was no way I could stay here even for 1 night. I took my room card out of slot, the room went pitch black, I opened the door, it was totally black in the corridor until I moved a few yards and the dim sensor light came on, very frightening! I went to call my rep, I explained the situation, he said there were no empty hotels he could put me in, in Oct?? I ended up checking in another hotel at my own expense for the rest of the week. The man on reception was quite nasty, and didn't want to return my passport! I am still pursuing my claim for this holiday, I would never book with hotels4u again! Incidentally, somebody I know went to my original hotel and asked to book 4 rooms-and was told that was fine-so the hotel wasn't full at all, I think my rep and the guy from Destan were in cahoots with one another!!! Complete holiday disaster!!

  • Liked — Nothing whatsoever!
  • Disliked — Hated everything!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CreamCake38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    55
    34
    17
    34
See reviews for
43
78
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2008

We got to the Hotel Destan @ 05.30am to find the Hotel manager drunk and passed out on a sun bed there was also another guest on the floor face down in his own vomit, the staff did not care and found this amusing.
We were then taken to room 101 on the ground floor, which had two single beds, the ceiling leaked all night in the bathroom and the smell of mould was just over powering, we complained and got moved to room 102 again with single beds, which was just as bad, the air con leaked all over me @01.30am, when using the bathroom @ 2.00am I shut the door behind me and it locked itself, we then called the manger who tried to blame us for locking the door, he then broke the door down and realized the door had a faulty lock, we complained again and got moved to room 104 this is where it got really bad, there where 28 mosquito marks on the bedroom ceiling and walls, there was brown stains on the bedroom floor, the bathroom was disgusting the shower doors were falling off, The hair dryer blow up on me, the hair dryer was also a worry as there was no way of turning off the electric and were the shower doors would not close the water was spraying out at it, the mould was unbelievable which you will see from the photo’s I have attached, the toilet was cracked and also leaked, we had dirty bed sheets which had holes in, the bathroom towels were disgusting they were wet most of the time with brown stains on them (I think this is because we complained), the cleaner did not clean anything the whole time we were there, We complained again to our Rep who came with us to have a look at the room before we could change hotel’s which she did and agreed we should not be staying in a room that was so thick with mould, scum and dirty, as we all went to complain @ the bar (where the manager was sat all of the time) our Rep nearly fell into a hatch that had been opened in the ground (No warning signs), they were checking for leaks in a pipe the man doing this set fire to a bit of paper and threw it in the whole (Healthy and Safety at its best)….
The staff were also intimidating and gave you dirty looks if you went some where else to drink. They were really rude I lost my bracelet at the hotel and asked the bar manager if anyone had handed it in, he walked over to me right in my face and shouted I hadn’t even been drinking there that was all I got, I walked off crying I was so upset that I had lost my bracelet and the way they made us feel.
We also meet another couple there who were staying in one of the rooms we had, they also complained to the Bar manager who was so drunk at the time he started a fight with the lad, it got out of hand to the point the Bar manager grabbed the poor lad around this chest and smashed him into the wall, this was only stopped because of the other guest’s, when going to the police they did nothing, the staff at the Destan found out about this and threatened to kill the couple.
I have nothing good to say about this Hotel at all.
Please for your own safety and the others you are travelling with do not stay at this hotel….You will not enjoy it, we were moved to the Hotel Saray which was fantastic.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
33 Thank KatieMorton2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fethiye hotels

Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2008

We booked the Destan as a last minute deal but not until I had checked traveller reviews on both Tripadvisor and other similar websites. Having been to Turkey before I wasn't expecting luxury so when we arrived I was really impressed to see such a lovely pool with comfortable looking sunbeds and plenty available.

We were shown to our room which was on the ground floor and it looked OK - like I said, I wasn't expecting luxury and it looked fine. A double bed, a single bed, TV and an armchair. The bathroom however was very damp with mould and mildew everywhere (see photos). We unpacked, showered and went out for a meal. When we returned that night and went into the room the smell was foul. Imagine the smell of the dirtiest urinal you've ever been in and you're about half way there! We literally had to hold our breath when we went into the bathroom and the smell made us wretch.

We mentioned it to the manager in the morning and he said he would deal with it and indeed when we returned, the room smelled much fresher. However, as soon as we used the shower again the smell returned - and worse than before.

The Destan seems to have a major design fault as for some bizarre reason they've put the bathrooms on the inside of the building and there are no extractor fans in them so I fail to see how this smell and dam problem can be fixed.

The despicable stench in the bathroom, coupled with the fact that the beds were as hard as concrete, the bedding as soft as sandpaper and a group of youngsters coming in at 4.30 in the morning shouting, swearing and vomiting, we decided after 3 days to move somewhere else.

The Destan has a lot going for it if they can just sort out the bathrooms. The breakfast is so-so but no worse than anywhere else, the pool is lovely and the lunchtime food is as good as you'll get anywhere and very reasonable priced. There's also a really good bar just opposite called Alfresco where you can relax on a beanbag and listen to live music a couple of times a week.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — The smell
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank MizzTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2008

We arrived at 3.30pm, and after seeing the entrance, I wondered what i was letting myself in for! You have to pass through the bar & the pool area to get to reception. We were greeted by what seemed a helpful girl who took us to our room. After walking four flights of stairs we were shown to the attic, which had a double bed and 2 single beds - there was only myself and my partner. The window was no bigger that A5 peice of paper, and the girl advised us if we had any problems to ring reception. Being 6 and half months pregnant I just wanted to relax for 5 mins before doing anything. Once I was ready to move, I noticed that we do not have any electricity in our room, so I went to phone reception and the phone wire had been cut from the wall! Having sent my partner down to complain they advised him there was nothing they could do -this was to be our room for the week. I was upset by this so I went downstairs and demended to speak with the manager. After explaining that the problem we were told to pay an extra 30 lira to up grade to a room, and told to come back in 30mins. We did what they requested, and after having entered our new room which was in the main block (on the lower ground!) the room itself did not seem that bad, 2 beds and a sofa bed. It wasnt until the evening when entering the bathroom we noticed that there was meldrew all in the shower, on the shower head, the toliet seat was broken and the sink was literally about to fall off the wall. You could not even have the back door open due to smell - it was like rotten eggs.
I read a few reviews before going, and was surprised to see what had been written so I chose this hotel. I have been to turkey many times, and this trip was the worse trip i have had due to the hotel.
I noticed on this page other guests hav also written that after complaining staff were rude to them - this was also the case for us too. Seriously for the price of this hotel it really is not worth staying here - try Meriment - lot cleaner & people are friendly

  • Liked — Handing key in at the end of the holiday
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank chelle83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2008

This is our second time at DESTAN two years on the run and will deffo be going next yr for a cheap break !!!!! Rooms cleaned at least every other day pool and bar area are kept spotless bar snacks and meals we ate at hotel were beautiful and reasonably priced . Staff were fantastic with two 18 yr olds with us son and his mate and remembered us from last yr. Please dont hesitate going to this hotel as for turkey it is well above average for 3 star if you want 5 star then pay for 5 star. Looking at reviews further down some people must be really hard to please!!!!!! As myself and my family also holiday in 4 and 5 star hotels but we pay for the privlage!!!!! Hotel location is brill and as ive said in last yrs review leave your nails till you get there also try the turkish bath and would recommend Hamish Mcturk to book trips with very reasonable and well run If you fancy a day at the beach get dolmus to Billys Beach Its the only sandy beach and is next to blue lagoon which is all pebble.Billys has reasonable priced snack bar is free to get on(others charge to go on and for the beds also)2 beds and a brolly 10lira on Billys and he has free showers and free buses back to your hotel doorstep!!!!

  • Liked — Staff and Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nette1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2008

Where do i start? Arrived about 5am in morning manager didnt seem to even know we were coming. No help with luggage except from another guest whom we thought worked there. Had requested upper level, got room down in what can only be described as the cellar, pitch black corridor, with double bed filthy, complained. Second room still in cellar 3 beds filthy could see feet marks on sheet, floor filthy. toilet seat on the floor curtain hanging on by one screw etc, look outside only see a brick wall. Went back and found manager asleep in the bar refused to stay in room, took a long time to get another room he kept saying he had other guest arriving they had to come first, found out why. Seems if your a regular vistor saves the best rooms for you, go out of their way to make you welcome as i noticed while i was there, even though you all pay for the same service
Another room at last, 3rd floor much better. Breakfast basic, main pool nice, plenty sunbeds, thought things looking up, how wrong could we be.
From the moment we complained the manager, the men and most of the boys that worked there had the worst attitude towards us that i have ever experienced on holiday. Rude, arrogant, unhelpful, aggresive to the extent that they could be quite intimidating because we were women on our own. By the middle of the week avoided staying in the hotel as much as possible, no longer used the bar in the evenings which was a shame because we got on well with alot of the other guests.
There were other guest that come after us that we spoke to that had the same problem with the rooms plus their bad attitude.
I went there on i what i would call a budget holiday, and after reading the reviews on this site it seemed ok, I am far from snobby, i did not expect the ritz but i treat people with respect and expect to be treated the same.
This bad experience has made me decide that i will never visit turkey again which is a same because the the trips outside of the hotel we went on jeep safari, oulo deniz boat trip, were great and the people we meet were lovely
Would i reccomend the destan to anyone ? not even my worst enemy!

  • Liked — Near to most amenities.
  • Disliked — Treatment from staff.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank londoneastenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co. kerry
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2008

my boyfriend and I arrived at destan hotel in the middle of june 2008 it was about 4 in the morn! when i walked into the small reception area the staff were more than helpful with our bags, there is loads of steps leading from reception down to bar and pool and more leading up to your appartments, the rooms are very basic no fridge or tea making facilities and you have to pick a quite time of the to shower or you'll have no water! but despite that the pool absolutly fantastic the staff are so nice and more than helful. the food at destan is lovely and really cheap. destan is about a 10 min walk from bar street.on walking out of destan turn left and walk for about 3mins there is a lovely little cafe called sandys thats just brill for b/fast and its cheap too. oasis shoping centre is loads of fun( bowling and pool) Well i would def advise anyone to stay at destan i loved it and will be returning next year. GO and have a brill hol(",)

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank xxxGUMBETxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fethiye
0.1 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
0.2 mi away
Yalcin Hotel
Yalcin Hotel
#37 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramos Hotel
Ramos Hotel
#55 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sea Breeze Apart Hotel
Sea Breeze Apart Hotel
#44 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Telmessos Select
Telmessos Select
#94 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
9.4 mi away
Club Tuana Fethiye
Club Tuana Fethiye
#8 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Destan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Destan

Property: Hotel Destan
Address: Hisaronu, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Destan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Destan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destan Hotel Fethiye
Hotel Destan Turkey/Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing