We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace, Relaxation and Stunning Surroundings”
Review of Ece Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ece Boutique Hotel
Ranked #18 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We enjoyed our Honeymoon this month at Ece on Sovalye.

Much has been written about the peaceful surroundings, the incredible sunsets and the ambience. I just wanted to say all the positive things that have been said are certainly true.

As for those who wrote negative comments, I think they have missed the point of Ece. Ece is not a holiday resort, nor is it designed to cater to those who love their nightlife or rowdy atmosphere, if you want that then go to Bodrum or Ibiza. Ece is for relaxation. Having said that, we had plenty of physical activities to tire us out, we took the kayak out twice round the island during our stay (a good way to impress the new Mrs) which is very scenic, there are small rip currents on the sea-facing side of the island but nothing that someone of reasonable fitness can't handle. I swam around part of the island which was nice to do, but it is wise to wear the wetsuit shoes provided by the Hotel as it is very rocky and shallow in parts...I found this out at the expense of my foot...and then thought of a scene in Jaws...but thankfully the Great Whites didn't seem as if they were present...

There are boats that pass occasionally but they are not an ear ache, it is all part of being close to the sea trading town of Fethiye where lots of tourists join gulet cruises as well as the odd fishing boat, the one-man kind, not the trawlers.

The only thing we would comment on is that although the cuisine is good, it is a little repetitive and it would be helpful if they controlled the portion sizes as it is a little hard to know what you are getting (the spring rolls are jumbo size and more than enough for lunchtime yet appear as a starter) but in the grand scheme of things, that is us being picky to be honest. The calamari is exceptional as is the Sea Bream on the Fish BBQ night. The vanilla ice cream is very refreshing especially when it is over 22C at night.

Fethiye seems a lot nicer at night, the fish market is a must. Go to the Hilmi restaurant which is very close to the market itself. They prepare the bread to order and the Meze selection is very impressive. The market on a Tuesday is worth a gander, it is more commercialised than we were expecting, but the turkish delight and spices are worth a look at, as is the Old Town, the Hamman is a good way to get your skin accustomed to the weather!

The Museum is small but quaint and pretty interesting with lots of local artefacts. Unfortunately there are some bits of graffiti at the amphitheatre, and not the artistic kind...

The Gulet day trip has been written about a lot already, but let's just say it is well worth it. The sea is wonderfully warm, the snorkelling amazing and even at the hotel, there are lots of small fish, sheltering under the numerous piers and jetties.

Insects - the Mrs doesn't like them, but the wasps, despite being present and fearful in size, do not seem bothered by us nor interested in humans. Probably best to get 'proper' sun tan lotion and insect repellent, but there are repellents provided by the Hotel at the Bar.

Ozman makes a great cocktail and it doesn't get much better than watching the sunset from the Bar with a good Pina Colada!

We stayed in the Twilight Suite on the Ground floor, the air con is a little moody at times, but I guess that is to be expected. The walk-in shower was lovely and the housemaids do their job very well.

Exclusive Escapes make your holiday very enjoyable, not having to worry about Transfers and the like means that you can stay in the pool up to the very last minute when you come to leave.

This was our first trip with Exclusive Escapes, it will not be our last and we will certainly be back to Ece in the future...hopefully even for a reunion with those we met, good people, good times. If you are wondering about it....just go...you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Plenty of room in the Twilight Suite Look out for the complimentary olive oil at the end of your st...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Luke_Trusselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Ece Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

On arrival at this hotel we were taken aback with the views and beautiful gardens. Our room was better than shown on the website, pool area very stylish and perfectly formed. The beach area was lovely with it's constant breeze. We are still here on holiday but wanted to let future travellers know what a delightful oasis this is. Yes it will not suit those wishing to be active, unless you count the kayaking around the island as sedentary, but you will definitely unwind and go with the natural rhythmn of the day.
The food is very good and something for everyone, like all Turkey very generous portions. Breakfast an absolute feast!
The only downside is the tired air conditioning, it is adequate but we have had a lovely breeze to cool us.
The owner and staff are very helpful and accommodating, nothing is too much trouble.
Thank you Ece for a perfect fist week!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank HillyP83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The island lies a 5 minute boat ride from the mainland. The staff were very helpful and friendly for the duration of our stay. If you are after action and adventure then this is not the holiday for you, but if you want peace and relaxation then this destination is a must! Part of the package was a day aboard a gulet - there were only 4 other guests aboard that day and it was just idyllic. The food served in the resataurant was good - but expect to have some explaining to do if you can't manage to finish your dish - the poor chef looks devastated to think it might not be up to standard!

We got engaged whilst on the holiday, and the hotel and holiday company both treated us to a bottle of wine, which was a lovely touch.

We weren't keen on the mainland - too hot and full of people selling knock-off handbags for us!

I would recommend a kayak around the island if you can - I'm not terribly fit and I managed it - we saw dolphins the second time we did it!

Gorgeous sunsets every night, a nice cocktail menu and just tranquility - the man that comes twcie a week to give massages may feel like he is breaking your neck at the time, but I can thouroughy recommend it!

Room Tip: The Twilight suite is gorgeous. Don't feel you need to request a high floor to get a good view...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lieselkirkpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We have just returned from a blissful week at Ece and we are already planning our next visit, we rarely visit the same place twice which says a lot about the hotel and location.

First of all a little to say about Exclusive Escapes, I believe they are what a travel company should be, professional, helpful and above all no hard sell. Our representative Jasmine was a charming lady with lots of local knowledge, she was there when needed, but also respected the fact that we just wanted a quiet holiday. The new flight from Stansted, was excellent, the private jet terminal is quite an experience and for us living close to the airport an absolute pleasure only having to leave home just over an hour before departure. Again the return flight was handled very well with no long queues at check in.

In our opinion Sovalye is a beautiful island, we would describe it as rustic and in no way scruffy as others have found it, true there are no made up roads, just dusty tracks, but to us this was part it's charm, we walked the length of the island and loved it and yes we did see lots of wild life including tortoises, birds and the loudest cicadas we have ever heard, maybe July is the mating season!! My advise would be pack some sensible shoes for walking and keep your high heels for evening. I was a little unsure when I booked the holiday if I would be fit enough to manage the steep climb to the hotel, but I needn't have worried, just take your time and stop and enjoy the view on the way, you are on holiday and no need to rush.

Ece is a lovely boutique hotel, made all the more special by the friendly staff and in our case a great group of fellow guests, there may not have been any night life on the island, but there were many late night sessions in the bar. The rooms are very spacious, spotlessly clean with great showers, the air conditioning did struggle at times, but it was 40c +. Also with Exclusive Escapes you get to choose your room before you travel so no nasty surprises. There are plenty of areas to sunbathe or just chill out, with comfy beds and loungers all on different levels of the hotel, so if you want to be alone you will always find a place. The sea is lovely and good for snorkelling with a good variety of fish and we saw turtles most days.

The food in the hotel was super, very extensive breakfast buffet with eggs, omelettes etc cooked to order if you wish, lots of fresh seasonal fruit , a great cup of coffee and the best orange juice ever. Lunch was also very good with plenty of options. Dinner every night is a real treat, the setting is very romantic with spectacular views of the setting sun and good freshly prepared food. We enjoyed the daily menu with Turkish food although there were plenty of al la carte options too. There is a very good wine list and we found some great Turkish wines at very reasonable prices. Also please try some of Osman's superb cocktails, he takes great pride in making them and it is a joy to watch him. We dined one evening at the fish market in Fethiye with a couple of our lovely fellow guests, which was a great experience and the hotel provides a boat service to the mainland several times a day.

Every day when we sat down to breakfast in glorious hot sunshine my husband would look at the view and say "it doesn't get much better than this" which pretty much says it all.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EssexBluebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I am afraid I cannot agree totally with the previous reviewers. The week we spent here in mid June was moderate at best. The tour operators, Exclusive Escapes, lead me to believe this small island was some sort of "Eden", but I am afraid this was far from the truth. In fact it was a scruffy place at best. They made much of the "hundred of birds" which inhabited the island, but in fact we saw only the birds of a typical English garden! They led us to expect the heady sound of hundreds of cicadas . None were heard or seen, only the crackle of the power cables.
Enough of the island. The hotel was certainly clean and well kept, but very limited in many ways, lacking the facilities that would make the week more bearable. If you can spend a week doing very little, then this may be for you, but I would prefer the option to vary the entertainment.
Please bear in mind these are my opinions, and my fellow guests seemed to enjoy themselves, but believe me, it won`t suit everyone. I went there because of the great reviews, but I am pleased to record my views to help others.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views, but first floor rooms are bigger.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kamanoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We have just returned from our second visit to Ece, the last having been three years ago, and little has changed. This is not a criticism for it is difficult to imagine where improvement could be made.

As usual with Exclusive Escapes, the room ‘Turna’ was spacious and well-appointed with a spectacular view of the sea looking westwards. The flight, under the new carrier Titan, left from Stanstead and was pleasant with attentive crew, to the extent even of the captain introducing himself in the departure lounge. We were sorry to see the demise of the Heathrow flight because of its useful proximity, but this did its best in the circumstances.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the proprietress Handan and the indomitable and probably irreplaceable Osman. The former was almost always on site and available to guests. The latter was probably never off site and was definitely the kind, amusing, jocular and ever-helpful face of Ece. You really can’t buy people like him; you’re either fortunate that he is available to you or you’re getting second-best.

Given the small kitchen, the quality and variety of food was remarkable and plentiful both at breakfast and dinner. Lunch was almost to guest choice and was equally good. The dining area was suited equally to intimacy or the joining of tables for a social experience.

There is a new pool overlooking the sea and the old sea platform is now equipped with a shower (stepping stones provided by my guest-contemporaries) and is equipped with ample loungers and cushions. There are several terraces with loungers and so on; thus there is plenty of apparatus for all who require it.

Ece comprises twelve rooms and so evokes an intimacy in which most guests socialise to varying degrees with one another. People meet at departure, in-flight, upon arrival or shortly thereafter, whether it be on the complimentary gulet or otherwise. By the end of the week it’s a bit of a wrench to say goodbye to people with whom one has become so close. That said, Ece is sufficiently large, encompassing many different relaxation areas, that one can be alone if that is the preference.
It’s that kind of holiday – really.




Special points:

Well there’s Efe the dog who really owns the place. He meanders around causing no offence and provides a good deal of enchantment.
He is a dog that knows how to live- slowly and happily.

Osman – the indispensable face of Ece.

Gulet trip – good as ever; awesome lunch.

Friday barbecue – have it, even if you’re a vegetarian you can feast well by asking for fish

Canoes and sea canoes – just do it. You’ll rediscover yourself and may be surprised by the sea life near you if you’re lucky.

Finally, we sat filling in the EE feedback form just before we left. There was nothing that we thought could be bettered at Ece unless one was the sort of person who really shouldn’t go there in the first place. We can say, without fear of serious contradiction, that this is one place that you should visit at least once.

Room Tip: Beware the otherwise wonderful room at the top. It has a sloping ceiling and I managed to collide wi...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mettraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We have just returned from a week at this wonderful hotel. Our holiday was made special by the people we met during our stay here. Our room was Kartal, which is on the top floor and is featured on the exclusive escapes website. A word of warning, if you are tall you will have to perfect a type of limbo dance movement in some areas of the room as it has been built into the
eves of the building. We had a spectacular view from our balcony and enjoyed the sunsets, the passing gulets, speedboats with water skiers attached and one evening we witnessed a helicopter lunging a container in the water in front of us to speed over to extinguish a forest fire.
We loved the island and its tranquility. No, it isnt manicured but it was the rustic nature of it that appealed to us. On our walks we discovered tortoises,lizards,mosaics,around 20 archaelogical pits and even the remains of a crusader castle. The island is visited by others, very few, but we saw the enjoyment of a group of adults and children all dressed as pirates arriving on the island complete with picnic.
The staff at this hotel are wonderful, from Handan,the owner to the housekeeping staff, kitchen staff, gardener and boat-man.
Much has been written on this site about Usman....he is a STAR! He is so interested in people and goes the extra mile to make sure you have the perfect holiday. Pity he supports Everton!
We left the island to go over to Fethiye only once. It was so hot we decided to give the Tuesday market a miss.
We went to the fishmarket and bought langoustines which were cooked for us in one of the many restaurants skirting the stalls. To be honest this was a bit of a disappointment due to the lack of people eating there. The restaurant owner told us that there busy time is in the evenings when there is also music and the place then springs to life.
We had great fun with our fellow guests, a super bunch of people who we got to know even better the day of the gulet cruise.
This is a truly great day out,stopping at small coves for swimming or just staying onboard chatting, reading or sunbathing. The lunch served on the gulet is really good.
Food:
All delicious! Breakfast has lots of choice....fruits, cheeses, meats, pancakes, potatoes, breads, cakes, olives. This can be followed by eggs cooked to order and the omelettes and scrambled eggs are wonderful.
Lunches are all freshly cooked and inexpensive, for example a burger £2.50 salad nicoise (enough for 2) £6.50
Dinners...we only ate the 3 course menu on the barbeque nights as one course from the a la carte menu was enough for us.
Meat main course dishes were around £10. We ordered the second least expensive bottle of wine most nights and it was around £12. Other drink prices.. Small beer £1.75. Large £2.30 We were pleasantly surprised with our final bill.
Watersports:
Aplenty. Kayaks, 2 man canoe, swimming off the platform into warm seawater, snorkelling. There is also a fishing rod which we didnt see until the day we left. There seemed to be a knack to kayaking, which sadly my husband didnt seem to aquire. Whilst others circumnavigated the island in respectable times my husband,after stopping 3 times to empty the water in his kayak, was a contender for the Guiness Book of Records for taking the longest time ever!
Mosquitoes:
If you suffer from these you will need to make sure you are well equipped to deal with them. I was bitten badly the first evening even though I had sprays, antihistamine, creams etc and the room had mosquito screens and machines. As the bites turned nasty Handan kindly supplied me, via her Dr husband, stronger tablets, creams and sprays. This helped but it took the whole week for them to subside.
Wifi:
Worked best in the restaurant and bar areas. I took my ipad and could only access emails, people with iphones could also
access the internet.
So is this holiday for everyone? If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and can spend time relaxing, reading, swimming and doing very little then yes it is. If you want activities, nightlife, lots of buzz then, no it isnt
Those of you who have this holiday to look forward to this summer then you are in for a real treat. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
10  Thank jenNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fethiye hotels
2.2 mi away
Yacht Classic Hotel
Yacht Classic Hotel
#1 of 102 in Fethiye
824 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lykia Botanika Beach & Fun Club
2.1 mi away
Orka Boutique Hotel
Orka Boutique Hotel
#22 of 102 in Fethiye
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Club Tuana Fethiye
Club Tuana Fethiye
#9 of 102 in Fethiye
3,336 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Unique
Hotel Unique
#2 of 102 in Fethiye
264 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jiva Beach Resort
Jiva Beach Resort
#5 of 102 in Fethiye
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ece Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ece Boutique Hotel

Address: 1. Sokak No : 57 | Sovalye Island, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fethiye
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fethiye
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fethiye
Price Range: £91 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ece Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ece Boutique Hotel on the island of Sovalye enjoys the most spectacular location on the water's edge, with 12 spacious rooms with wonderful sea views. The 11 spacious rooms (and one two-bedroom suite) are divided between two buildings and each open-plan room has a double or twin bed, a sitting area, fabulous picture windows to maximize the view, and a large balcony or terrace with, of course, more superb views out to sea. The Terrace Restaurant and pool area are the focal point of the hotel. Guests are requested to book at breakfast for the special dinner that is prepared each evening with the freshest of ingredients. Steps lead down from the restaurant past terraced gardens dotted with secret hideaways - to the Private Waterfront. Here guests can relax by the water's edge enjoying the wonderful views. An 'honesty bar' is located and a waiter service is provided on the terraces to ensure guests don't have to climb up the hill too often! The active are well catered for with the complimentary water sports and will enjoy the challenge of paddling around the island, or swimming - which is a little harder! At the tip of the island, a ten-minute walk from Ece, is the simple sand and shingle Sunset Beach - home to the Ada Beach Club & Restaurant. This magical setting provides the perfect vantage point from which to watch the sun dip below the horizon. Having tasted the unique atmosphere of Sovalye, we find that Guests rarely elect to venture from the island. However, on the occasions they do it is a simple hop across the water to the harbour town of Fethiye where its Turkish and cosmopolitan delights await your exploration as does the Lycian coastline beyond. A complimentary water-taxi operates three times throughout the day and evening from the hotel approximately 20-minutes to Fethiye and 7-minutes to Calis Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ece Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ece Boutique Fethiye
Ece Boutique Hotel Turkey/Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing