We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Could do better"”
Review of Gunes Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fethiye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gunes Hotel
Ranked #28 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Just returned (26th August for 2 weeks) Previous reviews had mentioined music wars between hotels! This had stopped. I know this is one of Thomsons"Just" hotels! Maybe because it needs some tlc! The hotel is clean and the staff friendly. Typical continental breakfast but ok. Our room was 105 facing the sea on the first floor- more like a studio appartment size - kitchen area but sink was propped up with piece of wood from inside cupboard! Shower good but leaked onto floor which left marks on floor. This was only cleaned twice , only bin emptied daily. Beds very hard and seen better days holes/frayed etc.Wardrobes, skirtingboards and cupboards, pieces missing. Our room wasn't cleaned daily or towels/bedlinen changed as frequently as stated in brochure. Good position on beach front . Clean pool. Could be a really nice if things were fixed.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view but not one in the inside corners (eg 105 small balcony and restricted vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank BeanyBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

Just returned Friday night and missing Calis already.
We had a wonderful time; our fifth in Calis. This hotel is good value but you can do better. We stayed B&B but the Mendos next door is about £100 cheaper with HB, free air con, free safe, entertainment and 3 star. The rooms at Gunes are adequate, no frills but clean enough.
The biggest thing to let the hotel down is the very grumpy receptionist. (He always worked the day shift) We got friendly with many guests English and German during our stay and everyone agreed he was difficult to say the least!
Air con is £4 a day and the safe hire £10 a week. Breakfast was ok not really worth rushing to get up for it you like a lie in, but ok to start the day. No problems with finding a sunbed round the pool; which was very clean and a lovely temperature. The beach directly outside was lovely.
Would I return to this hotel? - not if I could get the Mendos cheaper.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Totally agree with annoz! What a lovely surprise this hotel was. We had 2 weeks of bliss which was made possible by a wonderful group of people who take pride in this small and friendly hotel which is located as near to the beach as you can get. Mustafa and his team made us very welcome and were very helpful with every aspect of the holiday. The hotel is located in the quieter part of the promenade but near enough to have a good selection of places to eat each evening. The optional air con was fab and at £4 a night a good investment when the temperatures reached the late 20s when we were there. We were lucky enough to see the newly hatched turtles make their initial trek to the sea. It is an experience we will never forget. We recommend a couple of early morning (6.30) visits to the beach outside the hotel to try to see this wonderful sight. The hotel was clean, the breakfasts had something for everyone and the two occasions we ate in the hotel in the evening were very good too. The pool was never busy and on the whole sunbeds weren;t a problem. If this is a budget hotel then we will always travel on a budget. There was also free computer access.What is the point of paying over the odds for a fancy reception area, a gym and sauna and other things you will never use on a holiday when you can get this personal, family friendly run hotel on a budget. We loved it and would go back again.

Room Tip: We had a pool view which was quieter than the sea view. We also had an additional window as we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DevonBods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 weeks peak season this year 2011 . Our children are 12 and 15 . we are 50/52 . The hotel was friendly and fairly quiet. the pool was lovely and never really busy. There were always enough sunbeds although there was a little towel wars going on in the second week but easily overcome. Uor rooms were lovely - very clean and towels changed every day. beds made and decorated in different ways - towels with a heart shape , flowers etc. Air con and fridges were extra but we were on the top floor and could manage without air con . TV included BBc word news . Staff very nice and polite and helpful. We could see the pool from our rooms but also the beach which was 2 seconds away. breakfast - simple Turkish style but bread eggs jams cheese meats tomatoes cucumber yoghurts fruit etc juice and coffee (nescafe machine) We loved it there and met very nice people there - English, German and Poles when we were there. We'd love to return .

Room Tip: 210 310 410 have an extra window making them lighter . 409 410 good rooms -top floor fresher
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Great hotel. Clean, tidy, friendly staff, good food, bedding and towels changed regularly. BUT.....WARNING.....be prepared for the LOUD, LOUD, music from next door [the Mendos] which seemed to provoke the staff in our hotel to enter some kind of competition with them in the volume department..!! This ,on a couple of occasions, went on ALL day and until 3.00A.M. ! Not for those with children or those who want to relax or sleep occasionaly !! This would happen even if there were no customers at the bar! One of the bar staff ,although an "adult",acted in a very childish way..! Location couldnt be better for the beach.

Room Tip: any room is good as long as the music isnt blaring
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaneald308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We have been to this hotel at least twice a year, for a month or more at a time, the last 5/6 years and always found it one of the best in Calis.
The hotel cannot be faulted in the staff, the value for money etc.
However this year the management has used a German tour company to bring out many Polish, 18 - 24 years of age, people who were the rudest people we have ever met.
They continually run up and down the stairs, screaming and shouting at all hours of the day and night, constantly slamming doors and knocking on other guests doors, taking numerous bottles of drinks to their rooms and drunkenly shouting to their friends on the beach at uptil 3am and 4 am in the mornings.
They also "invaded " the breakfast layout, taking the rolls and meats/cheeses in bulk up to their rooms.
This completely spoilt our and many other guests, German and English, holidays.
Many of them complained to the management.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jarpa8864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

The room was clean and comfortable and the shower was outstanding, a corner unit with plenty of hot water and good pressure. Lovely warm pool. Friendly staff although they didn't speak a lot of English as most of the guests were German. Bar stayed open as long as you wanted. Located right on the seafront in the middle of the resort, which catered for a more middle aged clientele. Lots of good restaurants with authentic Turkish dishes as well as burger and chips. No nightlife in resort.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank geoffk10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fethiye hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Mendos
Hotel Mendos
#58 of 102 in Fethiye
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mutlu
Hotel Mutlu
#21 of 102 in Fethiye
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahar
Bahar
#34 of 102 in Fethiye
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rosary Beach Hotel
Rosary Beach Hotel
#81 of 102 in Fethiye
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oykun Hotel
Oykun Hotel
#10 of 102 in Fethiye
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ceren Hotel
Ceren Hotel
#53 of 102 in Fethiye
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunes Hotel

Address: Calis Plaji 1080 Sok., Fethiye, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Price Range: £17 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Gunes Hotel Turkey/Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing