We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Little Hotel right on Calis Beach”
Review of Gunes Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fethiye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gunes Hotel
Ranked #34 of 101 Hotels in Fethiye
Certificate of Excellence
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Brilliant Little Hotel right on Calis Beach”
Reviewed 7 September 2010

This is not the hotel we had booked, at the last minute our tour operator changed our hotel. We were very wary as it wasnt out 1st choice. However, we were pleasantly surprised. I would definately recommend for couples wanting a peaceful holiday base.
Room was basic, but more than accommodating. £4 a day for Air Con, but believe me, money well worth spent in August and September in Calis Beach. Full use of fridge which was needed to house bottles of water. A must on hot days in Calis! No tea or coffee factilites in room, but if you take travel kettle and t-bags./coffee then this isnt a problem. I dont know of many 3* hotels that even do offer tea and coffee facilties. The hotel has a shop right on the beach which was convenient for milk and water at very reasonable prices.
If I had to make a comment on something not nice about this hotel it would be that the shower is too small, and the bedroom area is carpeted (in my opinion not very hygenic). Our room was cleaned everyday and fresh new towels placed in the bathroom everyday. Bed linen changed every other day. I have stayed in 5* hotels where this has not been standard. All in all for a little hotel, this is a great base.
The beds were so comfy we missed breakfast every morning. The best night sleep we have ever had. Breakfast was offered in every single cafe or bar along the beach at very good prices. Full english on offer together with contiential.
On occasion the hotel had entertainment, however it was never advertised. We would just turn up back at the hotel of an evening to be greated with Belly Dancing, fire eating etc., very entertaining. We had a fantastic view from our balconly so could see all the entertainment.
Calis Beach is generally a quiet area and the hotel also had the same feel. Music was played most nights, but was very relaxing not obtrusive. Not loud disco music, just background noise, however once balconly door was closed you couldnt hear anything, not even people in next room. Very quiet, we had the best night sleep ever!
Having never heard of this hotel, until our tour operator moved us, we have now decided it was the best move possible, Having seen the hotel we should have stayed in, I can only say we got off lightly! Terrible reviews of the Hotel Ceren. We are glad we were moved to the Gunes Hotel. We shall definately return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachel_shepherd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    37
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
24
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Get a sea view - amazing
Hotel room comfortable and clean. - with use of fridge. did'nt spot a kettle
Shower room plenty of hot water
B&B buffet choice met all palates.
Staff courteous, helpful & friendly
Other guests were very pleasant and polite
The resort of Calis Beach will appeal to those wanting a quieter break, however plenty of bars & restaurants to satisfy all.
Dolmus service to Fethiye is regular and you can use water taxis alternatively, From Fethiye you can visit lots of places, try to get a map of the area before you go as some of those you are given don't have a lot of information, but don't worry as it is difficult to get lost there!
12 island cruise is great book it independantly and share with the locals they had loads of fun!
Jeep safari is great wear older clothes, take water-pistols and lots of sweets.
try a trip on a dolmus.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_timmies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

I have been to Calis Beach a number of times however I have always stayed in apartments. This year I stayed in a Bed and Breakfast called Gunes Hotel. The title 'B&B' however, is slightly misleading. By breakfast, there was bread, tomatoes, cheese and salami. Also there was no mug of tea and had to pay 4 TL for toast. The hotel was also described to have air conditioning and a laundry service. Air conditioning was £4 a day... which soon adds up after 2 weeks. The laundry service also came at a charge.

Although the room itself was cleaned everyday; it was very basic. The beds, although not the worst I've ever slept in, were not comfortable. However, it was not the beds that caused my boyfriend and me to have sleepless nights. The hotel next to us played extremely loud music until at least 1 am. I am 18 and enjoy going out as much as anyone, but when I feel like it. The music was so loud that it was impossible to have a nice night staying in and we felt forced out of the hotel at night to get away from the music. Even when the music had been turned off we found it impossible to sleep through being aggravated.

The hotel seemed to be mostly full of Germans. Not that being German is a problem. However, it was a problem that the evening menu was only written in German, as well as descriptions of the evening entertainment. The amount of people the hotel slept did not reflect on how many sun loungers there were. Not to be stereotypical but of course, the German's did get up stupidly early to put their towels down and then go out all day leaving them taken up so others had to sun bathe on the floor.

The staff, although friendly, definitely used the language barrier to their advantage. It was surprising that when we complained about the noise level and being given the wrong room they didn't understand. However, they understood very clearly when being told by our rep.

Overall, I had a good holiday but the hotel did ruin it for me. Calis beach is amazing.. but next year i won’t be staying at Gunes hotel; or any other year for that matter.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aj311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We booked this hotel on a last minute deal and we are really glad we did! The hotel was really nice and the staff fantastic!

When we arrived in the early hours of the morning we were not pleased with our room, it seemed very dirty and smelt of cigarettes. We were so tired we just lumped it and went to sleep. First thing in the morning we went downstairs and our room was dealt with straight away. The rooms are comfortable but don't expect any luxuary! They are very basic but suited us fine. Couple of negatives, carpet on floor which we don't think was ever cleaned, we didn't see any hoovers, and the shower is TINY! The pool and bar area is lovely and more than comfortable to spend the whole day outside. Breakfast is traditional Turkish and nothing special but does the trick.

There is no entertainment at the hotel but the beach is literally a 2 second walk and the front has loads of really good restaurants etc and is great to spend an evening. Serkul 1 is great if you want a nice meal. General location of the hotel was great as well with a dolmus a minutes walk where you could get into Fethye for 1.5 lira.

The staff were amazing and couldn't do more to help you. Special shout out to Hakan who was great and so polite! Ice screm, you scream! :-)

We enjoyed our holiday so much that I intend to go back again next year with a friend.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rousekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2009

We were so lucky to find a room for one night, mid September, in this hotel, usually full of german turists! We had a nice beach-view room, one of the best, with balcony, shower bathroom-well, they need remodeling, because apliances look outdated and worn.
But it was clean, had tv satellite, air conditioner, mini-bar.... The pleasant sound of the sea, of the tide waves, was so relaxing....I wouldn't want to leave the next day.
The open buffet for dinner and breakfast had plentifull of good food. Drinks are on pay.
Staff are very polite, helpful, check-in was quick, the young man at the reception desk helped us with the luggage, we are absolutely gracious to this kind, well-spoken person whom our son booked through.
Very good location on Calis beach, nice beach by the way, entrance direct onto the promenada, the rear is very close to the main street and the dolmus stop. The promenada between the seaside and the hotels is full of restaurants-in a chain, shops and people, lively atmosphere.
We were happy to stay in Gunes hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owlVIRGIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fethiye hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mutlu
Hotel Mutlu
#16 of 101 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosary Beach Hotel
Rosary Beach Hotel
#44 of 101 in Fethiye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahar
Bahar
#30 of 101 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oykun Hotel
Oykun Hotel
#7 of 101 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Remer Hotel
Remer Hotel
#28 of 101 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mendos
Hotel Mendos
#63 of 101 in Fethiye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunes Hotel

Property: Gunes Hotel
Address: Calis Plaji 1080 Sok., Fethiye, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Fethiye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Gunes Hotel Turkey/Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing