We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing sunset, some gorgeous restaurants, fab views and breeze”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Calis Beach

Ranked #7 of 73 things to do in Fethiye
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing sunset, some gorgeous restaurants, fab views and breeze”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Calis beach is a beach resort along the very long Calis beach. This has breathtaking view of Fethiye bay and the 12 island on it. There is a water taxi to Fethiye every 30 mins in season, or you can go by bus. The beach is pebbly and at Surf Beach, far end of Calis Beach there is sand.

Lots of restaurants along the front, Bella mamas, Sat Beach are the best. It is quiet and relaxing, a great promenade for cycling or walking along.

People are very friendly and there are trips go go on from here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    699
    415
    241
    67
    32
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
108 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Love it or Hate it.”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

For some people Calis Beach is the Bees Knees, for others it a case of never again. I come some place in the middle, I do love the area, but the beach is dirty, lots of cigarette ends & used tissues, & it is very pebblerly, which can be hard on the feet. But I take beach shoes to walk into the sea wearing them, so thats a big help, stops you stubbing your toes.
I like it at the far end, more or less in front of the Yucel Hotel, I try an get a bed as near to the sea as possible, & I can stay there all day reading my book & sun bathing. I buy a drink & some times food from the restaurant there, but a lot of the time, they never bother to ask you if you want any thing. Unlike some other restaurants, bars along that bit of the beach.
I like to stroll the long promenade, it easy to walk & check out the restaurants, but more times I eat away from the sea front, the prices are more reasonable, & the food better.
Its easy to get into Fethiye, either by the local Dolmus or the water taxi, & there the selection of Restaurants & cafes are fantastic in all price ranges.
Staying in Calis, gives you the best of both worlds, the Beach & the Sun, & the ease of getting into Fethiye & the attractions it has to offer.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank lulabellsheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poole
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“not for us”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We travelled here in May 2013 and would not return. Our hotel, The Oykun, was fine but we didn't rate the area at all. Too many English breakfasts and Sky sports for our liking! Fethiye was ok and we enjoyed the day we went horse riding. We also visited OluDeniz and again, wouldn't go back. Nor Hisaranu (Blackpool!!)
If you want that sort of thing, go for it...if not, visit Kalkan or a small village elsewhere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank stigred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“calis”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Like Blackpool only hotter. Terrible small beach, with restaurants all along that try to make you go in, not clean. Packed, only good thing is view out to sea.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mcintoshTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Tim's Tours boat trips - great experience!”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

As we can see from the various reviews, there can be many different reactions to the services provided by Tim's Tours in Calis Beach. We had nothing but a great experience dealing with Timur, and booked among other things 2 separate boat trips with his company.

Timur is a great and knowledgable local that runs his company in a very saturated tourist environment, where it is difficult to give preference to anyone at first. What sets Tim apart from other vendors on the long Calis Beach promenade is that he is not an aggressive salesperson, has a very amicable and quirky personality and, in the end, delivers what he promises. Remembering that we were guests in his country and that things run differently in Turkey, we went with the flow and were happy. Depending on one's mentality, we could imagine that some can totally be put off, or perhaps just have another lovely local experience!

The four of us bought two trips, one of the 12 islands of the Fethiye Bay as well as the popular Oludeniz tour. The boats were clean and safe, the crew hospitable and caring, and the food, drinks and Magnum ice cream made us all happy :-)

We would, without reservation, recommend stopping by his booth and giving him your business.

Thank you, Timur, and we hope to see you again!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DuoCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calis Beach also viewed

Fethiye, Mugla Province
 
Fethiye, Mugla Province
Fethiye, Mugla Province
 

Been to Calis Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing