We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A well kept secret”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
119 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Gocek, Mugla Province, Turkish Aegean Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 119 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Turkish first
Any
English first
Lawrie_Oz
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A well kept secret”
Reviewed 13 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Susan and Chris are wonderful hosts.

We booked online, and had no idea what to really expect. Arrived, after a transfer from the airport also arranged by Susan, at the top of a lane with a slightly confused driver. What had we done? Finally drove down to The Escape and an amazing surprise with a palace in the middle of the wilderness.

We were intending to stay only one night before taking a bareboat charter from Gocek. After indicating we would be arriving late asked Susan (via email) if she could supply dinner for 6. Nothing was too much trouble and the meal was absolutely wonderful. If time had permitted, would have been very happy to stay several more days.

There is the ability to store some luggage - so if you are doing the sailing thing from Gocek, The Escape makes a wonderful place to start and finish your bareboat holiday. Cheapest washing service of any hotel - and for a bunch of Aussies, very welcome.

Highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg N
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A True Escape”
Reviewed 7 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Your hosts at the Escape, Susan and Chris Salmon are a special couple dedicated to making your stay as the name implies, " a truly relaxing, memorable escape". We arrived at Escape following a 3 plus hour drive from the Kusadasi area and with Susan's earlier encouragement I had agreed that we would do dinner there, she promised we would not be disappointed. We the sun setting, our view off the beautiful balcony over looking the mountains we had a wonderful gourment dinner featuring roasted leg of lamb cooked to perfection. This set the tone for the resf of our visit with the high standards of service and quality accomodations. As we say in the US, this is a "be back".

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
efith
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Short but very sweet”
Reviewed 5 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed here in May for a night.
Having spent some time travelling around Turkey it was a welcome relief to walk into Chris and Susan's home from home. They have spent huge amounts of time and thought designing and decorating the Escape to cater for the tastes of the discerning traveller. Susan cooks the most amazing food.....you wouldn't want to make the mistake of asking her for her award winning, world famous, critically acclaimed lemon drizzle cake....oh no you wouldn't want to ask her for that for dessert!!
We sat on their beautiful terrace as the sun set watching swallows swoop low and catch a mouthful of pool water and for the first time whilst in Turkey drank a fabulous drop of red and shared stories. The night was comfortable and cool and our room had everything we could want. Attention to detail is king at the Escape and it really made a difference.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Business
Travelling group: Business
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveAliv...
Pinner, London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great late booking”
Reviewed 15 December 2011 for a stay in October 2011
4
people found this review helpful

I am new to Trip Advisor but as I am looking for a New Year break I thought I would write about my last one. We wanted a quiet and relaxing sunny break in the Med. Fancied Turkey - never been before, so started trawling through the web. Eventually found The Escape and it appeared to have everything we wanted. We weren't disappointed. We enjoy walking so the mountains and forest (we were able to walk some trails from the hotel) offerred us every opportunity to indulge. The view from the escarpment above the village is breathtaking - we could see the 12 islands and miles out to sea with Rhodes in the distance. The pool area was great and it was lovely to sit reading with the stunning setting completely surrounding us. There is absolutely no other building anywhere near this hotel. Our room was probably the best hotel room we have experienced in the Aegean/Med region. It was immaculate, well stocked for all our needs and the ceiling fans were amazing ... we don't like air conditioning and a lot of fans are noisy - these ones were the quietest we have ever experienced. The food was just great ... very substantial breakfast with fresh fruits and choice of breads plus everything else that goes with it. We ate most of our lunches and dinners at the hotel and the food was as good as a lot of top end restaurants in the UK. Good packed lunches were also available which were ideal for our walking trips. The owners were just great, and nothing was too much trouble. We would definately go back there for another holiday and recommend this hotel to friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 65+
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wed1nes2d...
Fethiye, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Great Escape”
Reviewed 8 November 2011 for a stay in September 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We were treated to a short break here by our friends as a thank you for their holiday with us in Turkey. We had heard about The Escape localy and suggested to ourfriends we give it a try. We have lived in Turkey for thirteen years and know it well, but what a find, the Great Escape indeed. WONDERFUL. Peaceful and idyllic in beautiful surroundings. Excellent breakfast and evening meals with organic wines produced in Turkey. The Escape was spotlessly clean and the decor and facillity's were of a unusually very high standard for Turkey. Best of luck for the future Susan and thanks for all your hard work during our stay. Hope to see you again sometime.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hedbun
chelmsford
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 1 November 2011 for a stay in September 2011
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Escape Hotel in September while attending the wedding of some friends. We found the hotel while surfing the web one night and thought it looked amazing which it was.

In the run up to our visit the owners couldn't have been more helpful. On hearing we were coming for a wedding they offered to book hair appointments, recommended car hire companies etc.

On arrival we were shown to a beautiful, spotless room next to the pool with a choice of pillows, plenty of towels, bath-robes and tea and coffee making facilities which were the best I've ever seen. The fridge contained a really good selection of full-sized drinks which were charged for at about the same prices as you'd pay in a corner shop here - definitely very reasonable.

The hotel is built into the side of a hill and the views are amazing. It was peaceful and felt very close to nature and Turkey. We saw the goat-herd and his goats wander by in the morning and evenings, there were eagles and dragon-flies and olive trees - idyllic.
Despite being out of Gocek it only took 5 minutes in a car to get there. Susan, the owner was wonderful and dropped us into the town when we needed to go and a taxi back was only the equivalent of a few pounds. That said we were some of the first guests and out of the peak time so when this gem of a hotel is running at full steam it will be difficult for the owners to do as much running around for guests. It is probably best to have a car which is what we will do next time.

The food was great and again very reasonably priced. Breakfast is included and we were offered: cereals, fresh fruit, local cheeses, fresh bread, honey, jams, cold meats, yoghurts and omelettes. We had light lunches and two freshly prepared evening meals all to a very high standard and very reasonably priced. There is an honesty bar with a good choice and fair prices.

On our last night we took fresh coffee out and watched shooting stars, the perfect end to a perfect break in a perfect hotel. I really do hope that this hotel is the success it deserves to be. Thank you for making our time so special.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael h
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Short Break”
Reviewed 25 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011
3
people found this review helpful

My wife Sandra and I were staying with friends in Turkey and decided to thank them for their hospitality by treating them and ourselves to a short break at The Escape. The hotel was magnificent standing at the head of a beautiful valley with stunning views. We found the peace of the place very relaxing. The accomodation and the food were excellent and the hospitality from Sue was second to none. We departed feeling refreshed and would certainly recommend The Escape for a quiet relaxing holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing