We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeded our expectations”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
119 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Gocek, Mugla Province, Turkish Aegean Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 119 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Turkish first
Any
English first
Rob B
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at The Escape for 5 nights at the end of our 2 week holiday to Turkey. We wanted a nice place to relax, after having walked on the Lycian Way for 8 days. We had read the reviews prior to booking and were suitably impressed. Our expectations were high. We did think that possibly the reviews were too good to be true, we needn't have worried.
The Escape is more than we had expected from the photos and reviews. The owners Susan and Chris are excellent hosts; their attention to detail, and enthusiasm for what they do is remarkable. We stayed in the suite which was very well equipped and spacious. The location of the property is lovely and quiet.
In an evening there was the option to either dine in with the other guests and experience Susan's excellent cuisine and the couples hospitality, or Chris was more than happy to offer guests return travel to Gocek so that you can enjoy the evenings out.
We are already looking forward to arranging our next stay.

Value Rooms
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveller...
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent says it all”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for two nights in a superior pool side room which was worth the splurge. It was the perfect place to wind down after a busy week in Istanbul. Chris and Susan are the perfect hosts and made our stay very special. Highlights include Susan's gourmet cooking, a music night and the beautiful pool. I am not surprised by the consistently high ratings and fulsome comments of the previous guests.

Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor S
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Secluded Gourmet Hideaway”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our preference for hotels is the Small and Boutique category and "The Escape" suited us from the first instance. The location is set in a small hamlet in the hills above Gocek and offers peace and tranquility
The personal attention, the style and cleanliness of the rooms, pool and facilities are second to none.
We must also comment on the exquisite meals - they got the "WOW" factor. Using local produce we were treated to a series of gourmets delights, these were complimented with great local wines.
Susan and Chris made the extra effort to ensure we had an excellent holiday because nothing was too much trouble and for that we would like to thank you

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra E
Sheerness
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were taken here last night to meet Susan and Chris by friends who had stayed earlier in the year.
What a wonderful experience for our 'taster' visit. Great welcome and the whole place took our breath away.

Peace, beauty, great food and company, we will be booking for next year.!

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
100 Club breaking news…

Treasured Guests!

What can we possibly say?

With 100 of you expressing an incredible 100 on-line “LIKE”s for what Chris and I have made available at the escape here in our beloved Turkey, we thought it was time to reciprocate our appreciation for you all taking the precious time not only to find us but also to write some heart-warming reviews that inspire us to work even harder to eradicate those things that none of us ‘LIKE’ about some hotels and their lack of true personal service or lack of added value.
A not-so-sceptical guest said recently about our high number of 5-Star ‘excellent’ reviews that “surely they can’t have nearly a hundred friends??”
Well, yes – we do now!!

You have helped us not only to live our dream on the stunning mountainside above Gocek, but to consider pushing that dream further into a bright new chapter.

We thank you all from the top of our mountain and the bottom of our hearts.

Susan and Chris

100 Club …
P.S. Those of you who have contributed to the 100 Club reviews are invited to a €100 discount on your next 7 days room booking (or Pro-Rata for less or more days) from 2016 so that we can share a little of our success with you. Just use ‘Code Club 100’ when booking direct through email. Susan.
enquiries@theescapegocek.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Relax, relax and more relax”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I was greeted by the owners and immediately made to feel at home, my room had been upgraded to a poolside room, spotlessly clean, light and cool. I ate there and really enjoyed Susan's cooking, she works with local ingredients and every meal I had was delicious. Chris also keeps some good Biological wines in his canteen that are well worth tasting.
My only complaint is that I had to leave! It will be hard to find somewhere else as nice. Thank you

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon R
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Another fabulous stay!”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We decided to book a second stay after an unforgettable holiday at The Escape in 2013. My partner and I fell in love with Gocek on our first trip to Turkey and after very little deliberation we decided to return for this years vacation. We arrived after a very long delay both feeling a tad weary and looking rather dishevelled. Due to the time of night we both expected to be briefly greeted and shown to our room, it seems they do not do this at The Escape. After a warm greeting and a hand up with our bags we we're offered a beautifully chilled and well needed glass of wine, Susan then kindly asked if we would like something to eat and quickly prepared a gorgeous and again well needed meze. I make point of this as the owners Susan and Chris had both stayed up to welcome us, I thought this to be extremely kind as it was now 2am. The next day we woke up to a morning like any other at The Escape, greeted by a beautiful warm sun and the sound of...well nothing. The hotel is situated on a private plot nestled onto the foot of the mountain, leaving noise, people and any sense of reality in the town below. Just as we had remembered the breakfast was a beautiful spread of fresh fruit, cereal, breads and eggs, this accompanied by a gorgeous view of the valley from the dining terrace made for the perfect way to start a day. Unlike our last visit we did very little site seeing and only once even ventured out of Gocek. I found it quite easy to spend my days laying on the sunbeds listening to the sound of the water trickling off the edge of the infinity pool. The town itself is a lovely secluded town that although has some very modern facilities - i.e. the mega yacht marina, shops and arcade - still has a traditional and untouched feel. We only managed to eat out one night at the Lotus restaurant situated just off the water front, the Staff were lovely and the Spaghetti Bolognese was really tasty, not the cheapest restaurant in town but really does have a lovely setting and atmosphere. One of the contributing factors for us returning to The Escape was Susan's cooking, hence why we ate at the hotel the remaining six nights. All of the meals we had were absolutely delicious but the Lamb shanks we had on the Thursday were genuinely outstanding. If you have a sweet tooth Susan also does an array of amazing deserts, needless to say we had one each night, our favourite being the banoffee cupcake which is absolutely gorgeous. I really cannot fault this place, the rooms are beautifully decorated and kept spotless at all times, the service is outstanding from the moment you arrive to the second you leave, and Chris and Susan are simply just an amazing couple, you can tell they have worked very hard to create this place and both take great pride in having you there. It's our second time visiting and it really does feel like a (warm) home away from home. One word of advice, be careful how long you plan to stay, you may very well find yourself debating whether to return home at all.

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki H
Marlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“So relaxing”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My husband and I needed a break from work and a stay at The Escape was just perfect for achieving immediate relaxation. The pool area was so peaceful and the pool so refreshing. When we needed something Chris and Susan were available and always went the extra mile to make our stay as comfortable and as special as possible. A relaxing stay at a wonderful venue in a fantastic location. Thanks

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;