We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“budget,easy to find and a great location.”
Review of Maltepe Pension

Maltepe Pension
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marmaris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maltepe Pension
Rakiura, Stewart Island
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“budget,easy to find and a great location.”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This pension is close to the dolmus route from the otogar and to the centre of the city: it was great to be able to walk everywhere, including to the beach for a swim, less 10minutes away. Another plus is the massive signage and can't be missed.The morbidly obese cat on the path is another indication that you have found the right place
Maltepe does not provide breakfasts (so it probably shouldn't call itself a pension) but the room prices are pretty much the same of other places that do. Guests are offered free use of the kitchen so that you can prepare your own food - not much of a compensation.
The rooms are smallish. Ours had an ensuite, but others don't, so it may pay to check this out first. The decor is rather bland but everything was neat and tidy. If you enjoy hanging round the hostels you are staying at, then there is an shady terrace with tables.
The family who own and run the place are friendly and approachable. We were made lots of cups of refreshing tea, delivered to the room. The owner, Mehmet, did ask/expect us (and other guests too we later found out) to acquire him duty free Ouzo when we took the day ferry to Rhodes.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    13
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
4
10
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Family owned and run, you feel like youve arrived at grandmas house. Budget accommodation. Hand held shower. Helpful when needed. You're paying for what you get. Good location to the beach. Gorgeous fat cat.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug2011aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Family run joint. The owner, Memo, was really nice and helpful with just about everything. But the place itself was pretty old and kinda run down, not exactly value for money considering how much we paid. I would rather spend a couple of bucks more and stay in a nicer place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanjivKapur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Decent location, about 10 mins walk from the Central square and the nightspots along the beach. I think the place was pricey for what was on offer. It was clean but everything looked really old and the WiFi was not accessible throughout the entire hostel. The owner was a really nice guy though.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ka0001ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We are a couple from New Zealand aged 25-28 and really enjoyed our stay at Maltepe. The rooms are basıc but clean, but the real drawcard here ıs the owner and hıs famıly. Memo helped us to plan a trıp around the Bozburun penınsula (probably my favourıte spot thus far on our 5 week adventure ın Turkey). He provıded us wıth a map, put us ın contact wıth a good rental company and advısed us on all the best kept secrets of the area. Some of the beaches are out of thıs world!

A perfect place to stay for any backpackers or ındependent travellers. Good value for money- hıghly reccommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PabloNZ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2012

this is a family run hostel, therefore really take pride and care about your stay.memo the owner organized a nice place for us to ea the first evening arrived walked us right to door making sure we didn't get lost along the way!

the next day organized scooters for us to rent, had them dropped of. we crashed his scooters but both memo and his friend that hire scooters were not fussed about it at all making sure we were alright providing us with bandages and creams. this was a huge relief especially when your in a foreign country and English is limited!!!


the hostel is in a great location close to beach and shopping and eating districts

i cant put into words how thankful i am to memo such a great person haven't came across anyone else as happy and friendly as he is!!

like to thank memo and his parents for everything great stay would defiantly recommend this to anyone traveling to marmaris great cheap hostel!
don't forget to get a picture with Europe's fattest cat

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex307009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Myself and 3 friends stayed at this place. It was the best value for money. It is in a great location, very clean and the owner is fantastic. Th service was incredible. He was very helpful with anything we needed. Would recommend anyone visiting marmaris to stay at tis place.

Room Tip: All rooms were fairly standard, unsure if all rooms have aircon but ours certainly did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Center Hotel
Sea Center Hotel
#125 of 234 in Marmaris
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Candan Beach Hotel
Candan Beach Hotel
#87 of 234 in Marmaris
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amos
Amos
#114 of 234 in Marmaris
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Balim Hotel
Balim Hotel
#112 of 234 in Marmaris
66 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apart Green Park
Apart Green Park
#39 of 234 in Marmaris
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liman Apart Hotel
Liman Apart Hotel
#15 of 96 in Marmaris
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maltepe Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maltepe Pension

Property: Maltepe Pension
Address: Kemeralti Mah. 66 Sk. No: 9 Marmaris Merkez, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maltepe Pension is located 5 minutes walk from the Old town, 150 meters from the beach & 10-minute walk to the nightlife area of Marmaris. All rooms are very clean and offer private shower and toilet, some with air conditioning. We offer a superb shady garden for relaxation and meeting fellow travelers. Free Internet access is available and full use of all kitchen facilities including a barbeque. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing