We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near beach and shops”
Review of Orkide Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Orkide Hotel
Ranked #33 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel near beach and shops”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Our second time in Marmaris and the first at Orkide. We went as a family (2 adults, 4 kids) for one week. The rooms were on the same floor but not next to eachother, there were 3 beds in each. Rooms are basic but very clean and spacious.
The bathrooms have shower, basin and toilet and are a bit on the small side but also nice and clean. Towels are provided and changed when required (any left on the floor were changed). Shower spray not always very strong but always had hot water. Liquid soap in dispensers so buy bars of soap (lovely natural olive oil soap is available and cheap in nearby shops) if you prefer using them. All toiletries etc can be bought nearby.
Not sure if the tap water is drinkable, we bought bottled, but nobody got ill from using tap for brushing teeth.
Balcony was very useful for drying wet costumes and towels.
Aircon costs £35 / room / week extra but highly recommended and worked well (we met people who were in a 4 star hotel with ineffective aircon).
Hotel itself is relaxed and quiet but nearby 5-star hotel had late-night noisy shows so take earplugs if you want to sleep before 12.
Staff are reserved but helpful and friendly.
Pool area clean, neat and we always managed to find somewhere to sit (unlike other hotels where patrons spend all day hogging the loungers).
Breakfast was a disappointment. Two types of 'el cheapo' cereal (we ended up buying own cereal and just using their milk). Turkish breakfast - boiled egg, cucumber, feta-type cheese and tomato (healthy but gets a bit much day after day). Fruit juice mixed too strong. Tiny cups of tea or coffee (you help yourself but cups too small to dilute the strength and add milk properly). Lovely fresh bread though - with jam and cheese spread.
Restaurant highly recommended. Food is delicious and portions are decent (we had 3 hungry teenagers to fill). Prices very reasonable. We didn't eat there much (too busy going out on fun excursions) but compared well to other nice eateries in Marmaris. The mussel starter was exceptional - even better than I've had in France.
Drinks at the poolside bar reasonably priced with plenty of choice.
All in all, it was a pleasant stay. Very different experience to the 4-star, all-inclusive hotel we went to last time but also a lot cheaper.

Room Tip: Our rooms overlooked the pool - convenient for checking on kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerT45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    57
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
77
137
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Me & my fiancee booked to stay at the orkide after reading all the great reviews on trip advisor and we must say it lived up to our expectations and more this was our second time staying in marmaris previously we stayed at the flamingo.. the hotel staff are brilliant no miver and nothing is too much trouble for them, we even emailed KK before we stayed and requested a seeview room which was granted at no extra cost.. we was leaving early hours in the morning and was expecting to have to pay extra to keep the room on until at least 6pm however, you get to keep your room until the moment you leave at no extra cost.. Breakfast its Turkish breakfast (nice) we only ate at the pool during the day but the meals were nice food / drinks at the hotel are cheap.. great location 5/10 minutes in to Marmaris centre 2 minutes to the beach.. its in a quiter area which is good and you can a short distance to all the bars/restaurants etc.. Its a family run hotel with a family atmosphere.. we made some lovely friends at the hotel who have been staying at the orkide for serveral years and we will definetly be coming back and planning to in September !! the rooms are cleaned every day bedding etc changed we asked for extra sheets / pillows and that wasnt a problem Great hotel and would definetly recommend a visit

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _Marie_Paul_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Very impressed with the hotel and its location, the staff are very friendly & nothing is too much trouble. Pool very clean, room cleaned every day with fresh towels. Pool side bar very good for drinks & meals very close to beach with near by shop. Hotel is perfect it caters for all & will be recommending this hotel to friends.
If you are takin young children you will need to pay for air conditioning altho we managed without

Room Tip: Poolside is best but all the rooms come with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bennaberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Excellent hotel! The service is fantastic, the rooms are great, pool is big, food is lovely and cheap, drinks are cheap!
The bar staff, (in particular ardel) were amazing!! So friendly, and helpful. We really felt like we were looked after.
We met families there that go back year after year and I think I will be joining them in that. I'm expecting my first child at the end of this year and will definitely be taking him for a family holiday there next year. Very trustworthy, great with kids!
We were never hassled to eat there, which I have been in other hotels. We ate there every day but ate out at nights. But they had the cheapest prices and the nicest food. We only wanted to eat out as we liked going to different places. Would definitely recommend to everyone. If you stay here you will NOT be disappointed!! Wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loubistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Me my husband and sister have been going to Orkide Hotel for over 3 years now and its just like coming home.. one big happy family..The rooms are basic but very clean.. linen and towels changed every other day...its in a great location 50 metres to the beach.The turkish breakfast is very good..fresh eggs and bread every day "YUMMY" The owners son Korkut is a treasure he will do anything for you....my husband contacted a virus in his eye and Kokut took him to the hospital twice and stayed with him.... and we would like to thank him. The pool and garden area are beautiful the gardener does a very good job.The pool bar is managed by Erdal and his 2 young helpers Oktay and Salih .. who by the way never stops smiling.. And Vidad who does all the maintenance work... All the staff are so friendly. Well done every one

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarlett038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

i stay in Marmaris often on my holidays and i give honest genuine reviews.
on arrival the first thing i do is check the bathroom. it was immaculate. 10/10. the hotel was very clean throughout. the rooms were very spacious. we had 3 beds in our room as i went with my daughter and her friend. again 10/10 the maid service was excellent. the breakfast was turkish so average. i;m not into turkish breakfasts. the drinks were very reasonable. the cans of fanta coke etc were 3 lira. 5 lira plus in other places. the beer 4.50 for a large beer. mainly 5 lira every where else. the chicken sandwich was to die for at 7 lira. chips 5 lira. we ate here in the day time as the pool was very good. ardel the waiter, put our towels out for the morning, as some people were saving beds and not using them. he was the nicest turkish man we have ever met. so kind and friendly. the staff at this hotel did not in any way hassel you when youi wanted to explore other places to eat or drink, as most of the other hotels do. we ate out at different places through choice each evening, its what we like to do on our hols. the hotel is one minute away from the beach. about ten minutes walk to the night life. its ideal for families. they play music, but no entertainment. the bar stays open til last man standing. i will go to this hotel again. i can see why families go back year after year. plus free wifi aircon £35 per week safe £10 per week

do not stay at the rima hotel or green beach hotel they are the worst ever and hassel you all the time. food and drink is very expensive. the sun gezgin or sun beach as known now is too small. the rooms are pokey andso is the pool

when changing your money anywhere please check in front of the cashier. they always try to rip you off. once you leave the shop you can not rectify it.

i change my money where i book my trips as he gives the best rate, his trips are cheaper and they are very nice people. its situated on the road net to point centre other known as the gima. 2nd one down next to the phone box

amore is a fantastic place to eat. good fun excellent food

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doodoosManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Hotel is amazing staff cant do enough for you erdel behind bar works non stop and always with smile on his face drinks and food spot on great location would only stay at this hotel when return back very soon had a great holiday at a great price many thanks to evryone involved at this family run hotel thanks from tosh& jane middlesbrough

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tosh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.6 mi away
Club Amaris
Club Amaris
#32 of 234 in Marmaris
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poseidon Hotel
Poseidon Hotel
#28 of 234 in Marmaris
362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adonis Hotel Marmaris
Adonis Hotel Marmaris
#69 of 234 in Marmaris
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rosy Apart Hotel
Rosy Apart Hotel
#82 of 234 in Marmaris
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Palace Apartments
Blue Palace Apartments
#34 of 234 in Marmaris
362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Club Aida
Club Aida
#2 of 234 in Marmaris
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orkide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orkide Hotel

Property: Orkide Hotel
Address: Kemal Elgin Bulv. 248 Sok. No 7, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Orkide Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel located 30m from the beach and less than 5 minutes walk from the main Marmaris - Icmeler road. We provide accommodation on a bed and breakfast basis in twin and triple/family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Orkide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing