We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing ! ! !”
Review of Marmaris

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marmaris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marmaris
Ranked #99 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Before i start i'm not a snob i have been dragged up all my life and from a council estate in wigan so that says it all lol.

Me and my partner paid £1700 for this holiday and looking at the reviews before we went it all seemed good and was really looking forward to it when in the travel agents they promised us the earth oh sure sir you can have a sea view with a big sun balcony ha yeah right.

On arrival we got put into a room next to the maids main room and next to the elevator over looking both pools and the entertainment part, so the maid woke us up every morning at 5 o'clock banging around in her room then people going up and down in the lift and cause it was an end room everyone had to walk past us to get to there rooms on certain days it sounded like a heard of elephants going past when i enquired about the sea view i got told its an extra £200 to have a sea view even tho it stated it on all my paperwork that i would have one.

So far off to a bad start and then it got worse the sink leaked and the bath stunk when i told the reception i got a bucket under the sink and my balcony window open to take the smell away really did not please me.

The food is the same at breakfast and dinner there is only so much potato wedges rice and chicken nuggets you can eat before going elsewhere even tho we had paid for all inclusive and it did not get any better at tea time really if you're into eating the same food on a 2-3 day routine all i can say is your easily pleased.

The drinks from the bar are ok if you're a child and like soft drinks, granted there is a selection of alcohol drinks included but all seemed to be watered down as one day to prove a point i drunk 18 vodka and lemonades and was not drunk not even getting to the tipsy point as if i had drunk this amount back home id be in A+E having my stomach pumped.

The entertainment what a joke killer darts and water polo in the afternoon by a woman who's laugh is so annoying its unreal and a selection at night of Bingo, Music and Movie Quiz, Karaoke (when people can get up and sing as it got called of one night as only one person sang) then they some times hire people in like the michael jackson act don't get me wrong hes good but only lasts 15 mins then thats it your entertainment is over for the night so then off to the bar it is with your watered down beers and music no one can here its that low all you can here is the Three Brothers Bar next door (witch is a fantastic night i must say excellent food with excellent entertainment)

The not so helpful receptionist would not let me book my room on as we was only being picked up at 9.30 at night and had to be out the room by 12 so that left 9 and a half hours with no were to go after having a bad two weeks and a full blown argument between me and the receptionist and me nearly swinging for him the manager then decided to let us book a late check out witch cost me another 100tl what a joke.

Never again will we be booking into this hotel we said we would go back to turkey but obviously a different hotel we was actually glad to get on the plane back home.

Room Tip: Don't waste you're money and find some were else.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Marmaris
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

 We are very unhappy. We were at this hotel in August 2012.Hotel poorly maintained, dirty, messy, reception staff rude, unprofessional and arrogant. Rooms are poorly cleaned, but we changed the sheets twice. Food repetitive, low quality. Particularly lacking a wider choice of meat. Wider choice in the beginning, if you come back later and half the stuff does not make any se.TV channels, mostly Turkish. Inzernet charge, 6 euros for 1 hour. We are very disappointed.

Room Tip: I've told you, you should avoid hotel
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vladaradovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Great boat and crew,accomadation on board very roomy with twin beds and plenty of stowage for cloths bags etc.excellent bathroom(limited hot water) food wholesome good and tasty all prepared on board good size portions. Sadly felt rather trapped on board hijacked by pirates as we were not given the chance to venture ashore in this beautiful country! Drinks package was rather expensive, saved quite a bit by buying when we wanted rather than drinking what we had paid for up front. We would go again if we could be given more chance to walk on shore now and again.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
6  Thank NigelEdwards31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Just returned from an amazing holiday on board the gulet SEYHAN. The holiday was booked well in advance as we wanted the whole boat to ourselves there are seven cabins sleeping 14, but there were only 10 of us.
It was a totally different experience with only four opportunities to go ashore for a few hours at a time the rest of the holiday is spent anchored in bays and swimming. In the sea, accessed from steps.
I loved it, no hair driers for a week.......glad to be with friends and family, would have been difficult I feel with strangers in such close proximity ...
Food filling and basic, not much red meat as v expensive in turkey......fresh whole fish, salads for dinner with, veg stews for lunch, we took the drinks package for convenience ....so no bar bill at the end, which I would recommend.
Cabins 3/4 beds...... Glad I was alone! But u can sleep on deck which is much better, on the comfy loungers under the stars!
Cabins not cleaned or linens changed for the week.......well we were on a boat
Loved it and would do it again tomorrow xx

Room Tip: All the same except for one very grand cabin
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Scousetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

this is my second time to marmaris.stayed for a week at the club dena. when arrived at the hotel in the early hours we were greated by the recetpiton staff who didnot look happy.had to pay for safety box and air condition straight way (45 pound for a week) was taken to our room on the 3rd floor .room looked ouver the main bar, it was very basic. curtains were dirty telephone in bedroom broken , large crack in shower cubical. clean towels every 2 days sometimes only one towel for two people, pool area was ok but was never cleaned staff only spoke to you if you were spending money, was asked if we wanted to upgrade to H/B when we said no the wairer was not happy. the location is perfect, near the main road, beach. There is plenty of bars resturants supermarkers and shops close by The staff in the supermarket in the hotet are rude. going back to marmaris next year but will stay in a another hotel.would try the white lion bar, sail bar sweet corner, piccadilys club kibele, always, andys bar and natailies (on the beach frount,Would recomend day trip to rhodes(35 pounds each) turkish bath boat trip and horse riding

Room Tip: ask for room overlooking the pool area.The rooms on the frount are shaded by trees and it can be qui...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Have now been to Marmaris 2 Years in a row and now looking to buy a holiday home in this fabulous place.

So here is what i have learnt from spending about 6 weeks in Marmaris.

DALAMAN AIRPORT TO MARMARIS

Various options from Buses, Taxi and Private Care hire.

Taxi will cost around 160 TL
Private Vehicle approx 50 Euro (Booked through Marmaris Info). Air Conditioned Mercedes Van (Would recommend). Most other firms charging between 65 to 75 Euro

Trip by Private Transfer approx 80 minutes travel in km's around 90kms

WEATHER

Been in both Aug & Sept, both times was hot, temperature between 33 degrees up to 41 degrees. 2012 in Aug was very hot even locals saying hotter then previous year. 4 days at 40 degrees. One day in the sun temperature shown as 51 degrees.

Virtually no humidity, which is a plus. Coming from a country with high humidity this was a change.

Temperature does cool down a little bit overnight to low 20 to mid 20. Basically just be prepared to be warm. Recommend hat, sunglasses and sun screen

Swimming

Have swum at Marmaris, Icmeler, Turunc & Marmaris/Hisaronu. Favourite place is Icmeler. All safe for swimming, given Marmaris is in a bay no waves or rips, very safe for swimming and water is clear and clean.

If you are looking for white sand beaches, this is not the place, most places you swim you will need to walk over little rocks.

Water is warm at 24 degrees.

Transport

Taxi prices compared to Istanbul are more expensive, catch the Dolmus, this is a very cheap alternative and safe. I know the Marmaris to Siteker fare is 2 TL.

Food

Is in abundance the only thing i would say is that try to cater for everyone, so every place seems to sell Pizza,chicken, steaks, Turkish Food, Italian etc, seem to be scared to specialise in Turkish Food.

Food is reasonably priced with strong focus on competition. Great value down around the Marina area and the rest of Marmaris and Icmeler.

Full English Breakfast cost 5 TL or 2.5 Euro

Other Costs

Water 0.50 TL
Efes 500ml Beer (Supermarket 3.50 T/L), Most restaurants 5 to 6 TL
Ice Cream - Cheaper then Aust
Bread - Approx 2TL

Peak period is June to Sept, with visitors from the UK, Netherlands, Norway, Russia, Ukraine & Poland, great mix of cultures.

Hotels

Numerous options from 3 to 5 stars, do your research as you can pick up good deals. Just be careful there 4 and 5 stars may not be what you may consider to be 4 and 5 star. Can recommend the Casa De Mara in Siteler. Most of the upmarket hotels and in this area. Have a great boardwalk area into the heart of Marmaris with lots of restaurants and bars.

One good thing with a lot of the hotels is price is all inclusive, this includes breakfast,lunch and dinner along with drinks including soft drink, beer, wine and spirits.

Casa De Mara drinks commences at 10am and finishes at midnight.

Marmaris

Is not just suited to one group of people, something for everyone, including singles, couples, families with young kids (Few water parks for the young nippers).

Most Turkish people have a reasonable understanding of English, but be patient as this is not their first language.

Turkish people are lovely and go out of their way to please.

Room Tip: Go to Marmaris and enjoy
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lloydy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

June 2102, Caunus Cruise Marmaris to Fethyie. Name of gulet "First Choice", not the travel company.
8 cabins our party took 6 of them, 6 couples ages late 40`s to late 50`s. 2 other couples didnt know what they were letting themselveves in for.
Gulet showing a little age but having a re-fit this winter. cabins small, with en-siute, storage limited , no matter use the bed, we slept on deck evey night , thats 10-12 of us, (in June). Bar well stocked under large canopy on rear of boat with huge table we could all sit round and comfortable loungeing seated area at back. Up fron comfortable sun beds (which we used at night) on two levels plus seasting area. Gulet is right size for 16 people.
Crew, 4no all male, captain who spoke the least English, chef a top bloke, two general lads (one 17, one 25) who served, cleaned and ran the bar, they all joined in at night when invited to do so, which we did every night, they had English music but loved it when we requested Turkish coupled with them showing us their dance moves. Food, nothing fancy but plent of it (you are out on a boat) but fresh, even fresh fish caught daily by the captain. Breakfast, dinner, afternoon tea and evening meal.
Drinks, all cold soft and alcholic are charged. The bill for the 16 of us for 1 week was £3040.00, ( average per person per day £27.00, come on your on holiday, that isnt as shocking as first seems) ranging from £250.00-£520.00 per couple, ours was £304.00, you are on holiday so enjoy dont scrimp,( the spirit measures are generous) its put on a tab to your room, you can check your tab on a daily basis if you wish to avoid any shocks, there is a price list at the bar. If you really get into the swing and end up on double Metaxas you too could have a £500.00 + tab, but he enjoyed every bit of it. After all theres nothing else to spend your money on. The 2 unsuspecting couples, one late 40's, one mid 20,s. They bloody loved it and we all got on fabulously (one couple had done it the year before and said it was easier to get into the swing of with with a gang that already knew each other than getting to know 8 different couples).
Most relaxing holiday (and possibly most enjoyable) we`ve ever had (that was all 16 of us opinion) and we will be doing again but i think we will fill the boat this time without any unsuspectings.
Crew fabulous, guests, food, weather, boat, Turkey, ditto.
.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank src-silverfoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.6 mi away
Hawaii Hotel
Hawaii Hotel
#92 of 234 in Marmaris
202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marsyas Hotel
Marsyas Hotel
#152 of 234 in Marmaris
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosy Apart Hotel
Rosy Apart Hotel
#91 of 234 in Marmaris
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rosy Hotel
Rosy Hotel
#94 of 234 in Marmaris
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Club Ako Apartments
Club Ako Apartments
#42 of 234 in Marmaris
336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Mar Apart
Park Mar Apart
#157 of 234 in Marmaris
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmaris

Address: Yalancii Bogaz, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are four individually designed stone built houses,set in pine woodland on a hill above the small village of Ataköy, not far from the ancient settlement of Idyma-now Gökova village Peace and tranquility are assured for our guests, apart from the occasional visit from silver foxes, badgers, red squirrels, tortoises, wild boars, crickets and birdlife.Each villa has its own pool for the summer use and private access and parking. They are also equipped with a washing machine, dishwasher, satellite TV, DVD, radio and CD player. safe, open fire places, air conditioning/heating and hot water.The villas are centrally placed to provide access to Marmaris, Bozburun and Datça peninsula as well as to Dalyan and Fethiye,Muğla and the local resort of Akyaka with its famous fish restaurants. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing