We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic Holiday To Marmaris”
Review of Hotel Kivilcim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Kivilcim
Ranked #71 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A fantastic Holiday To Marmaris”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel from the 8th of September for 1 week on a half board basis, on arriving mid afternoon we were greeted by a happy smiling chap on reception, we paid extra for air con and a safe deposit box which worked out at £55.00 for them both, you do need the air con as was so so hot still between 26/28 on an evening, we were given a room on the first floor with a pool view, the room was spacious with a single and a double bed, the wardrobe is a good size, the only thing it lacked really was a set of drawers but wasn't a great problem,the rooms are very brightly decorated the furniture is yellow and pink you even get a TV but we never bothered with this at all.the bathrooms are good,but could do with a shelf so you can put ya toiletries on,you can get the od thing on the sink though, The shower is good, the bathroom floor does get wet though as the shower curtains are just not long enough, I can say the rooms are very very clean, always clean sheets and towels,this accommodation is rated a 2* I feel this should be upgraded to a 3*,
The food well, plenty there to be had but not much choice what is there is good, but we ate out most days.
The coffee and tea served with breakfast is horrid as is the orange juice so for us it was water
the bread they serve is fab, but again the butter is so so yak, but bread is nice to dip in ya soup at dinner time, the chef will make you a plain omelette for breakfast, but on the 2nd occasion we had one it was swimming in oil, I think out of 8 days we ate breakfast twice and the same for dinner, rest of the time we ate out, its a great shame as eating round the pool area was so peaceful and relaxing, the 2 guys that are round the pool and serve you at dinner time are pretty miserable,on my first day I ordered a drink and gave the money over he then held his hand out for a tip, bit cheeky I thought.the same guy had love bites all over his neck which is not nice to look at,they seemed to be more friendly with the people that spent there days round the pool spending money, we went to the beach each day and came back for a dip in the pool bout 5ish, the pool is only open 10am till 6pm, and as we like to be round the pool really early the beach was the best option for us,this hotel is at the quiet end of Marmaris towards Icemeler,still plenty around, the beach is across the road and 2 mins walk to the sand, the perfect location for me..although the hotel had a few down sides it also had lots of pluses, so would I stay there again..YES..but not on half board basis.
The receptionists day and night were great also the manager and his wife were around all week and seem to be hands on, the chef was a pleasent little man,
Over all we had a fantastic week...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonkachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    51
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
56
72
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We booked this hotel having been impressed with other reviews. I must say to others that this hotel is not at all friendly. The two waiters andbar man are miserable and only talk or pester those with young kids. On many occasions they would carry babies around and even teach them swear words or put unlit cigarettes in their mouth tryin to be funny! Never felt welcome. Breakfast is disgusting and always the same Turkish style. Dinner one night was chicken nuggets! Rubbish food . As a young couple who booked half board we ate out every night as food was worse then expected. Location is good and the pool area is nice but staff and rudeness let it down. Rooms are with carpet and get so hot. Air con is 5 pounds extra per night which is a con . Next year we would definitely go elsewhere as felt unwelcome here. Cleaners however did a lovely job and everything is clean. .if you just want self catering this hotel would be ok. My advice don't waste money on half board. Can get a 5 course meal for 6 quid in restaurants local.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abbie1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Thus is the second year that my family have stayed at the Kivilcim, we would not stay anywhere else.
The staff are great , the pool is very clean and well shaded , as great place to be.
The food is mainly Turkish but that adds to the appeal. Really enjoyed the pancakes and omlettes for breakfast and the soup and fresh bread is lovely.
It is in the quieter part of Marmaris but still plenty to do.
The Caprice pub at the front of the hotel had a pint of draught beer for 3 lira( less than a £1) and the cocktails are only 10 lira(less than £4). Have a milkshake they do it in a pint glass with Ice and cream Mmmm.The peanuts they give are really good.
Visit Alex on the Blue Paradise for a relaxing boat trip,great food included for 20Lira( about £8 for the day). His brother has the watersport right next to the boat.
Mario at Eskol( right by the Dora Hotel Complex) he is the person to book all your trips with he will give you great deals on all your trips( tell him Amber recommemded you).
He also changes money for a higher rate than the exchanges.
For a family nightout go to the Magic Gardens, the food is good and plenty of family entertainment. There is free internet ,ps3 and pool the keep kids amused.Swim with the dolphins about 10mins walk it is awsome approx £65 per person for 15mins . well worth the money. Catch the Dolmi bus into Marmaris or Icmelar it only costs 1.75 lira( about 80p). Make sure you haggle at the markets and always have English £10 in your wallet or purse as you can get most things for it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank brewboy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Stayed with the family (husband and 10yr old) for 7 nights HB at the Kivilcim . We arrived in the early hrs of the morning to be greeted by a pleasant Receptionist who promptly sorted us out so we could get some well deserved sleep. The room was a decent size, very bright and airy with lovely views , a balcony overlooking the sea and beautiful mountains which can be seen the width and bredth of the resort and beyond. The staff were very friendly, welcoming and accommodating.

The room was cleaned daily with towels and bedding changed regularly. We paid for air conditioning at 5 Liras a night, which you will need as it was extremely hot 40+.

The food, however, was greatly disappointing. Whilst there was always a lot of it, there was little variety and became very repetitive. There were usually lots of salads, vegetable dishes, but no meat varieties and we didnt see any fish choices, so ended up eating out a lot of the time. The soup was good. The Chef sometimes prepared freshly made pancakes or omelettes for breakfast, which was nice !

The pool was a decent size with a seperate paddling pool which was clened regularly.

The location was ideal, 5 min walk to (pebbly beach) and a 1/2 hr walk along promenade or 10 min bus ride into Marmaris town for some lively nights entertainment (Bar St) or a pleasant stroll along the shopping arcades or harbour.

To conclude then, we would stay at this hotel again however, not on a hb basis. Very warm and friendly staff. Thanks again to all!

Neil, Andrea & Timar

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Spent one week end of May beginning of June at Hotel and cannot fault it, rooms clean, bedding and sheets changed daily, staff very helpful and friendly. The food delicous and traditional turkish dishes. EFES beer served here and lovely cocktails at around £2.00 per pint of beer, cocktails £3.00.

Pool was cleaned everyday, on the small side but adequate for us. No need to reserve sunbeds as these were available all day. Bus Marmaris to Icmeler was only 2.50 TL, reasonable.

We enjoyed it so much that we have already booked 2 weeks to return in September.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wilf15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Second time at this hotel, this year was better than last year. Can't fault any of the staff they are fantastic, especially Ahmed, Samir & sausage love you all. There was 10 of us in total and we also met a family of four from last year. Planning to go back same time next year. Chef Ali Baba great pancakes! Lovely clean hotel. Just returned yesterday 21st August 2011, can't wait to go back. Miss you all already. Love you all at Kivilcim!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Marsyorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The hotel ıs very clean and the staff are very frıendly they made our stay very enjoyable. The kıds have thouroughly enjoyed theır hoılday wıth all of the staff payıng them alot of attentıon. WE WILL BE BACK.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keiron p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marmaris
0.5 mi away
Seler Hotel
Seler Hotel
#78 of 234 in Marmaris
519 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melodi Hotel
Melodi Hotel
#52 of 234 in Marmaris
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banana Apart
Banana Apart
#57 of 234 in Marmaris
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banu Hotel Luxury
Banu Hotel Luxury
#24 of 234 in Marmaris
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adonis Hotel Marmaris
Adonis Hotel Marmaris
#68 of 234 in Marmaris
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Family Apartments
Family Apartments
#16 of 27 in Armutalan
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kivilcim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kivilcim

Property: Hotel Kivilcim
Address: Cumhuriyet Bulv. No:84 Marmaris, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kivilcim 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kivilcim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing