We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just excellent from start to finish”

Restaurant Jan de Wit
Ranked #32 of 492 Restaurants in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“just excellent from start to finish”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

a lovely night out was had here, service was top notch and the food and wine (Turkish wine) exceptional. freed flat bread and real butter to start with which was really tasty then went with the waiters recommendation. mother In law and daughter got fresh sea bass which was deboned and plated up at the table kids loved the theatre of it and was lovely and fresh. I got the plank steak which was one of the best things I've ever eaten. my partner got the pepper steak and lastly my son just got a plain steak as he is a bit fussy not a bite was left on any plate. we sat on the top level and had a wonderful view of the harbour (the waiters even brought us over blankets to wrap round us in case we got cold).. And finally we got free fruit, coffee and hot chocolate when we finished our meal. The best night out of our holiday and would recommend to anyone

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank floydontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    59
    13
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good service”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We went into this restaurant on the Marina at Marmaris because this along with only 1 other restaurant was where we were not hassled about going in. Good selection on the menu and reasonable price, I had bbq chicken which was delicious despite lacking in any sauce. My partner had chicken skewers which he said were also lovely. Attentive and extremely polite staff whom were attentive but not overly intrusive. We had mains, were given free fresh bread with garlic butter, and had desserts but got complimentary fruit and also offered coffees. The bill came to £84 TL which is approx £28 for two! Excellent value for money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daisychain27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
907 reviews
561 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Excellent Outlook, Food and Staff”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Randomly selected this restaurant, overlooking the marina in Marmaris, based on its position, outlook, availability of a "window" table in the upstairs area and, most importantly, the friendly attitude of the staff.

The staff certainly looked-after their guests from first meeting, to serving and to sending them off with a thank-you afterwards. We chose simple foods (Pizzas, Pasta with salad) which were all enjoyed very much, while watching the passers-by along the marina walkway and also watching the staff in the restaurant entertain their guests and passers-by (many of whom decided to become guests).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FairCityFrasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Steak ”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Randomly chose this restaurant, after strolling around Marmaris marina one evening .. What a great choice. Best meal of the week, The steak was cooked to perfection And with complimentary bread & dips to start & a fruit board to finish.. Fabulous setting looking out at the marina & with a very friendly & polite set of people looking after you.Will definitely be visiting this restaurant again next year when back in Marmaris

Helpful?
Thank Dmerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Pagnell, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Moonlight dinner by the marina.”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We visited Jan de Wit last Thursday, having walked through the marina in the heat of the day, we stopped for drinks, the position of this fine restaurant is perfect. It sits on the corner of the marina giving you a view down both sides. Hassan made us feel very welcome and without being pushy invited us to view the menu's. They were a little more expensive than some of the others but having seen the cleanliness of the restaurant and quality of the food we promised to call in later for dinner. The evening at the marina was lovely, the yachts, the people, the moonlight everything was delightful. We sat at the top of the restaurant where Hassan poured on the charm, he is a lovely man, I opted for the mushroom soup, and I must say it was rather good, plenty of flavour, my husband went for the tomato soup and he was very happy. Hassan recommended the Mona Lisa Steak, Steak with Gorgonzola and mushroom sauce, with mashed potato piped around the platter, with veg on the side.......it was cooked to perfection and the taste was fantastic...by far the best meal all week. My husband chose the lamb chops, they came with chips and veg, his plate was clean after he'd finished.... A complimentary platter of fruit was brought to our table which was appreciated..we both enjoyed dining there and would recommend anyone visiting Marmaris to pay them a visit. The cost including drinks was 140 Turkish Lira ...... about £45

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Jan de Wit also viewed

Marmaris, Mugla Province
Marmaris, Mugla Province
 
Marmaris, Mugla Province
Marmaris, Mugla Province
 
Marmaris, Mugla Province
Marmaris, Mugla Province
 

Been to Restaurant Jan de Wit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing