We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stand out restaurant”
Review of Drunken Crab - CLOSED

Drunken Crab
Price range: US$12 - US$31
Cuisines: Seafood, Turkish, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stand out restaurant”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Cosy warm atmosphere, faultless outstanding food and a personal service straight from the owners.

My fiancee and I have just gotten back from a 2 week all inclusive holiday in Marmaris. Our hotel had lackluster food and on a number of nights we went looking to eat in town. Marmaris is filled of samey looking restaurants which try to cater to everyone, selling similar looking meals and trying to be a bar at the same time. Drunken Crab seems to be one of the only places in the area that looks and acts like a restaurant.

We popped by one night to look at the menu - and decided to come back another night for the seafood paella (you need 24h notice)

A few days later we turned up and had our meal. Both my fiancee and I agreed it was the best fish dish we'd ever eaten, I refilled my plate 5 times - my fiancee 3 times ... there was still some left! Side dishes were great too. Dessert was an orange brownie with vanilla ice cream and fruit - another culinary delight.

Credit must be given to the owners, their warm chatty helpful nature leaves you with an even greater experience. The food was superb value for money, we gave a healthy tip - had we'd not been on a budget I'd have happily tipped even more.

Five star.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LiamFMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I had been planning on visiting the Drunken Crab whilst on holiday in Marmaris as it sounded intriguing. I thought however I was going to be disappointed as I forgot to book and also thought I had missed the opportunity as I knew they were closed some evenings and didn't think they would re-open until we had returned to the UK.so it was a great surprise on a visit to Bar Street with my wife to find then open and also able to accommodate us. The restaurant is small with some 20 t 24 covers and is located in an old fishermen's cottage. We had a selection of mezze to start followed by mussels for my wife and beautifully fresh Sea Bream for myself which I was shown in the chiller cabinet when asking what the fish of the day was (there was also the option of Sea Bass and Salmon). We weren't sure which wine to have so were offered a taste of one as there was a little left in a bottle but decided that we wanted something drier. Kim suggested an alternative and said that if we didn't like it she would find something else but it was delicious. We were offered a complimentary dessert of fresh fruit and chocolate brownie which neither my wife or I are fans of but I think we have probably been converted as they were delicious. Don't be put off by the address in Bar Street as it is ht at the start (or end depending on which way you are walking) and is definitely worth a visit for great service and beautifully fresh fish (meat dishes are also available).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DJWindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
“Drunken Crab”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

the most delicious place in Marmaris. Kim and Mustafa are so kind and friendly,foods are amazing and very fresh. You should try!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank veDioMergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“absolute delight”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had a wonderful meal in this beautiful restaurant. freshly cooked food served with an abundance of bread and salad.a complimentary dessert of warm chocolate brownies with ice cream and fresh fruit finished the meal perfectly.at 150 TL for four people with drinks it was an absolute bargain and we will definitely be returning. Fabulous food and friendly welcoming hosts what more do you need ?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank socksy5199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful rescue”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A charming place. An example of the restaurant, as it should be. You will not pull the sleeve and does not shout you in broken Russian or English come on, come on. Absolutely fresh food and tasty dishes. Kim and Mustafa are amazingly friendly and caring restaurateurs. The other restaurants in Marmaris can not be compared. Drunken Crab best.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PashaVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Drunken Crab also viewed

Marmaris, Mugla Province
Marmaris, Mugla Province
 
Marmaris, Mugla Province
Marmaris, Mugla Province
 
Marmaris, Mugla Province
Marmaris, Mugla Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing