We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little village and fabulous home, with all...”
other travellers have booked this property
Poolside at VG, with views down to the village and bay.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Poolside at VG, with views down to the village and bay.
Sunny Villa Gelincik. The pool gets all-day sun - great for working on your tan! Modern couches, Turkish rugs, stone fireplace, free WiFi, TV, DVD's puzzles and board games
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Poolside at VG, with views down to the village and bay.
Sunny Villa Gelincik. The pool gets all-day sun - great for working on your tan!
Modern couches, Turkish rugs, stone fireplace, free WiFi, TV, DVD's puzzles and board games
Light, airy main bedroom with en-suite, balcony and sea views. Bedroom 1 of 4.
Modern, stylish kitchen, fully equipped for your stay. Sharp knives included!
Full ensuite from the double/triple bedroom
Front entrance area to Villa Gelincik - welcome to your holiday!
Shaded pergola over the outside dining table, with views over the pool and valley
Shaded terrace with dining table and couch area
Escape from the summer heat under the pergola and bananas trees
Villa Gelincik infinity pool, with views down to Selimiye Bay and the marina
Sunbathing area and poolside plantings
Beautiful sea views of Selimiye Bay from upstairs double bedroom. Bedroom 2 of 4.
Twin/triple room with full ensuite bathroom, balcony, with valley and pool views. Bedroom 3 of 4.
Ground floor double bedroom, with balcony and shared bathroom. Bedroom 4 of 4
Some of the 300+ books at the villa...get reading!
Early morning, and one of the wonderful local cay (tea) restaurants along the waterfront
The fishing boats and fish restaurants of the lovely Selimiye harbour
The bays, boats and village houses of Selimiye Village. Popular anchorage for yachts
View from the old Greek Monastery - can be visited by daily boat trip (a must do on your holiday!)
Fresh local bread, baked every morning in the village - just add olive oil!
Selimiye Castle - a great morning walk and a superb view of Selimiye Bay
Nearby Ciftlik Beach, great for kids and one of the best beaches in the area. 20 minutes drive.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Marmaris, Marmaris District, Mugla Province, Turkish Aegean Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tootsberr...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great little village and fabulous home, with all mod cons.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in September 2013

We were a group of eight friends staying for the week at the end of a Gullet trip-we loved the little village of Selimiye and environs.
The owner was wonderful to deal with over the months leading up to our stay providing us with loads of local information. Nothing was a problem and he also organised a day trip for our group to Rhodos.
House is well set up and we all enjoyed lounging around the pool, cooking meals and using it as a base for exploring the environs.

One suggestion if staying in Selimiye, you definitely need your own transport! The majority of properties are set up on the hillside overlooking the harbour, there are no taxis and you need to be fit.
Access, via a very step driveway to Villa Gelinik was the only downside to our stay, as we had no transport, especially managing heavy suitcases in and out, but once you get up to it, it has stunning views and is a wonderful place for a holiday.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: idyllic setting overlooking village of Selimiye
Liked least: Access to the house was extremely steep and uneven.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2014
Hello GK, lovely to hear from you after all this time! I'm really glad that you all enjoyed your time at Villa Gelincik and in Selimiye Village. The road up to the villa is still a work in progress..village politics is a wonderful thing :)) Hope to see you back over this side of the world another time. Best regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MataiDuba...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Fabulous ONCE AGAIN”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This review is long overdue. We stayed in Villa Gelincik at the beginning of summer for a week. From the first point of contact Gary was responsive and helped every way he could. We were unfamiliar with this part of Turkey. It was an absolute delight. The bozburun peninsula is a beautiful part of southern Turkey. Traditional, friendly local people. Beautiful scenery, quiet and the makings of a fantastic holiday in a really relaxed environment. The little village of Selimiya was a complete delight. The people in the village were so friendly. The local woman baking fresh Turkish bread down became our routine shopping trip along with the fish shop and the vegetable stand by the beach. The villa itself was simple, quiet and with everything you need to enjoy a lovely time away from home. We cooked in, we enjoy really relaxing on holiday and the bbq was our preferred way to enjoy our evenings. The pool was clean, the views were gorgeous. The running (if you're into it) is challenging but really great for hills......a run to Bozburun village and back is around 11kms and due to those hills works up a good appetite for that Turkish bread at breakfast. All in all, highly recommended. Thank you Gary for a wonderful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, the fact everything including tea light candles were supplied.
Liked least: A few cleaning issues which I believe have been rectified.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2014
Huge thanks for your kind review Natalie (I'm happy you finally found the time!!) Great description of the village and surrounding area - there certainly is a lot to see. I can't vouch for the running, but I'll take your word for it ;)Really glad you both enjoyed your stay, you are welcome back anytime. Please pass on my regards to A. cheers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ekrem G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“if you are looking for a quite and private villa to spend your summer, this is the correct address”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my wife had heard so many recommendations about Selimiye village (close to Marmaris, southwest of Turkey) but did not have time to visit. This year we have decided to visit this village and started to search for a suitable villa.

We have somehow found Villa Gelincik from the internet and loved it by looking at the pictures. I was somehow hesitated before arriving since the pictures could be exaggerated. But after I saw the villa I understood that my hesitation was unnecessary. It was the villa that we were just looking for! Clean, quite, private and in touch with nature. What a perfect combination. We have spent 8 lovely days at this villa without any problems/complaints.

I would like to thank again Gary (owner of this property) for everything especially for his professionalism and his politeness.

Ekrem

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiteness
Liked least: Ramp to entrance of the villa
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2014
Thank you Ekrem for your review. It was lovely to meet you and your family - it's great that you enjoyed the villa and Selimiye Village in particular.
Hope to see you all again, sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion G
Essen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Much better than expected!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We received a warm and friendly from the owner Gary who gave us a very helpful introduction to the villa and facilities as well as the surrounding area. The villa and its garden and pool are fantastic. Everything has been so well planned with an emphasis to detail and comfort. The views from the villa and garden down to the village and bay are breathtaking. The house, grounds and facilities are kept to a high standard of cleanliness and maintenance.
We took advantage of the first-class produce on offer in the village and enjoyed eating our meals on the patio. We got to try 3 of the several village restaurants and all can be highly recommended.
Many thanks to Gary, and of course Fatma, we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and are sure to be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Alles
Liked least: Nichts
Travelling group: Erweitertem Familienkreis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2013
Thank you for your lovely review on Villa Gelincik. Great to hear you supported all the local shops in the village, they do appreciate it. It was a pleasure to meet you all, and I'm happy you enjoyed your holiday in this little part of the world. Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah p
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little slice of Heaven........”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in May 2013

I'd booked a surprise villa stay for my husband for his 50th birthday, and after much research of the area, decided that this villa would be perfect... it didn't disappoint! The surrounding area is utterly breathtaking, and if you wish to get away from the madding crowds, then this is the villa for you.

It has a fabulous outside area, with swimming pool, plenty of sunbeds, bar-b-cue and a wonderful seating area overlooking the little harbour of Selimyie... a fabulous peaceful place to sit outside under the canopy with a good book and watch the world go by. There are almond trees, banana plants and olive trees that surround this secluded garden and pool area.

On our arrival, we were warmly greeted by Gary the owner who could not have been more helpful. The villa itself is so well thought out, with the rooms taking full advantage of the wonderful views over the harbour. Little things that make all the difference... flowers in every bathroom.... spotlessly clean (very important!!) Well equipped kitchen... TV (if you need it), plenty of board games oh and a 300 plus library of books catering for all tastes!!!!

The outside seating area is what makes this villa , with great views and a welcomed breeze under the shaded seating area. Outside lanterns and plenty of potted plants around the terrace create such a wonderful ambiance to sit and enjoy.

The surrounding area is simply stunning and you will definitely need a car, plus a four wheel drive would be useful if you wish to get up the track to the villa!!! Alcohol is expensive in this area as they charge a huge premium, so would strongly advise you get you're provisions in Marmaris. We tried out several restaurants in the little village and the food is simply delicious.... Oh yes they have a local market once a week ( I think it's on a Wednesday), which is worth a visit.

I would highly recommend anyone to stay in this villa, although there were only two of us, it can sleep upto nine, so good for families too....I can honestly say that I have never seen my husband so relaxed!!!!!...

We will be back next year to this " little slice of Heaven"........

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful, warm and descriptive review of Villa Gelincik.
It was a pleasure to host you both and we would love to see you back! Best wishes :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing