We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Adakoy very last week of the season - end October 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Club Adakoy Resort Hotel
Ranked #27 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This was a last minute booking my partner and I not really sure where we wanted to go - were thinking about the Canaries mainly for the weather but did not fancy 'Brits Abroad' and suggested to the travel agent "something different". The travel agent suggested we consider the deal on offer from Neilson for Club Adakoy, Marmaris, Turkey. I was slightly apprehensive as had stayed in Icmeler some 28 years ago visiting Marmaris on a day trip and not really enjoying the hustle and bustle. I was assured, however, that Club Adakoy was a 20 minute water taxi ride from Marmaris, on its own secluded island and a holiday with a 'difference' involving opportunity to partake in a variety of watersports and other activities - we decided to give it a go and booked for the very last week of the 2013 season.

On arrival at the Adakoy resort we were greeted by friendly and professional Neilson staff. Throughout our week's stay we learned that nothing really was too much trouble for either the Neilson staff or for the Turkish waiters, bar and catering staff. The holiday was a great success and we took part in activities and sporting events that we would never have dreamed of engaging in back home. We enjoyed tennis lessons, sailing lessons, kayaking, mountain biking, a multitude of keep fit classes and gym sessions as well as relaxing by the pool (on the odd occasion when we weren't involved in other activities) as well as enjoying a couple of treatments including an Indian Head Massage and a back massage in the resort Spa.
The food served in the restaurant was of a very high standard and the variety immense. We really enjoyed the selection of wonderful salads as well as the fresh meat and fish. Not once did we find any reason to complain about any of the meals.
The accommodation was clean and well equipped. The rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed each day. Our only small 'niggle' was that some noise travelled from adjoining apartments and, being on a ground floor, the noise from those above us although not really to an extent to complain about
So, do we recommend Neilson activity holidays? - yes most definitely.
Do we recommend Club Adakoy, Marmaris, Turkey - yes most certainly
Would we return - yes - we had a wonderful holiday, met some wonderful people and enjoyed a week in one of the most beautiful places we have ever visited.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Had first week here on stay and sail fortnight in 2nd half of August.
Good points:
Neilson staff friendly and efficient as usual
Very good food although by the end of the week we were glad we'd be eating simpler on flotilla on week2.
Nice room - spacious with good AC
Excellent activities
We had decent wind most days (too much sometimes)

Not so good:
The place was just a bit too busy for my liking - and lots of teenagers. Though I guess we should expect that in August.
A bit remote - and the boat taxi into Marmaris is expensive. Having said that one evening in Marmaris was sufficient.

All-in all we had a very good holiday especially week 2 on flotilla. We'd go back again but would try to avoid August.

Room Tip: We had a room with balcony overlooking the pool. Very spacious and nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidSnellUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Not the first time we've been on a Neilson holiday, but this was the best. Lovely resort a world apart from Marmaris and always something to do. Staff were great and got to try most activities.

One point of note is that the mountain biking is ridiculous. I'm not very fit and know it, though I do ride regularly, but the hill to leave the hotel is relentless and then the trail is again constantly uphill without any plateaus. Only other option is taking the bikes by boat to marmaris where it is flat ( so pointless).

We didn't pay the extra for full board, as I wanted to try elsewhere, but its an annoyance that the day you arrive the food isn't included. So after check in shower, its back on the boat to the mainland for dinner. Would much rather have found a lounger and a beer and eaten what they had on adakoy

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank s22urf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have just spent half term on Adakoy Island with Neilsons. We arrived at Marmaris harbour at around 3pm, and our holiday started on board the boat to the island. Warm sunshine, reclining seats, beautiful mountain scenery, and a cold Efes beer. What better way to start a holiday at the end of October! The holiday was very successful for teenagers who were able to dip in and out of kids' club activities whenever they wanted. There is plenty for the parents to do, if they are interested in water sports and/or tennis, but a bit limiting for people who do not want to do these activities. However, we knew that before we went. I was only able to do one of the cycle rides - to a market on the mainland, accessed via the staff boat - as all the others required a high level of fitness to get up the hill outside of the resort.

The food was very good indeed, and I really enjoyed the endless varieties of salad and fish, whilst the children loved the kebabs and chips. The only criticisms on the food front were that we were unable to have the club board dinner on the Saturday evening which was when we were all too exhausted to travel back to the mainland so ended up eating in the restaurant, which was a buffet similar to what we were to eat for most other meals. The reason for this was that it wasn't fair on the late arrivals who would miss this meal (they did, however, receive lunch on the final day due to their late departure, whereas we left at 9.30am). On the Tuesday when we were too late to book the early evening ferry to Marmaris, we ended up having to eat in the restaurant again. This was an a la carte meal, and my chicken dish was not as described, poorly cooked and not a patch on the club board meals, neither were the boys' burgers.

That aside, we loved the accommodation - our rooms were huge, comfortable and very clean. we had no problems with noise at all.

It is an extremely beautiful place to spend a week at the end of the season and to be able to swim in the sea every day was just wonderful.

Room Tip: We had rooms opposite the tennis court right at the rear of the resort - upside, very quiet, downsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Fantastic holiday...
Kids (5 +7yrs) were well looked after everywhere in the resort, which we also felt was very safe. They had great fun in club trying out lots of activities including tennis/sailing/canoeing/paddle boarding and even water skiing out of club!.. thanks Charlie and Lisa.
Kids happy.. meant we involved ourselves in many of the same activities above, where we found the staff very helpful and good fun.
Resort entertainer (Jonny Lewis).. was very talented and accommodating.. creating a very social environment.
Hopefully will return again next year

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook
1  Thank NickH0lmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have just returned from Adakoy after a great week, the weather was exceptional while the UK was "battered" by wind and rain, The resort is quite isolated as access is via the water taxi at 25TL (return trip) or via the road up a great hill via taxi. The staff, as always, make the holiday and were on top form, with the only problem being the airport pick up. There was no Neilson presentation when we arrived and we had to ask around the other tour operators to find our bus. After a while the Neilson guy arrived from over the car park to check off our names then returned to where he had come from. We were waiting around for about 45 minutes until the bus drive drove off (with us inside) looking for the Neilson guy. Once we found the Neilson guy we were on our way and the trip was OK to the resort.

The resort is good for water skiing, tennis, fitness classes, biking (if you are a keen bean and can make the hill out) and paddle boarding. The resort is not the place to go for sailing or windsurfing as there was no wind while we were there and it looks difficult to imagine any decent wind being available due to the geological arrangement of the area, it is not like most of the other Turkish resorts where wind is in abundance.

As there was no wind we got into the tennis and had a great laugh (in the red group) and learned some new skills due to the excellent coaching of John and Emma, not to mention the "booze and balls" skills night!!

The accommodation is basic and as we were the last week of the season our room was starting to smell very damp. There is also an issue about noise from adjoining rooms, we were fortunate to have good neighbours, however, you could hear "all" that was said and took place around you. This problem appears to be a combination of the rooms having adjoining doors and the space above the suspended ceilings in the shower rooms sounded open to each other, therefore allowing the sound to travel. Some of the guests had quite an issue with this, which raised some questions from the children as to what was taking place next door!!

The food and restaurant staff were very good, with the food being varied and ranged from many salads to fish, meat and the occasional chips for those who wanted a treat.

Overall, it was another great week at Neilson, however, although a very picturesque resort I do not think I would go here again due to its location and lack of wind.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank handyspanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was our fourth Neilson holiday at October half-term, (following several years with Sunsail (RIP) and one unhappy experience of Mark Warner), and our first at Adakoy.

The resort is situated on an “island” (actually joined to the mainland by a shingle bank on which in recent years a road and a marina have been constructed) and so arrival for most guests is by boat from a marina just outside the nearby city of Marmaris. I gather the guests travelling from Birmingham came by road, but this was only possible because they travelled in a mini-coach – the road to the resort is extremely steep in places and has some very tight bends along the shoreline which a full sized coach could never manage. The island is a nature reserve and is beautiful and unspoilt. Apart from a handful of private houses and a marina, the club is the only built-up part of the entire island. Adakoy is also one of Neilson’s smallest resorts – a little over 200 guest capacity – so the overall effect is of tranquillity.

Good features of the resort include:

• A very compact site, with a short walk from one side to the other and all facilities within 50 yards of your room. It is also substantially level, with very few steps. So it would make a good resort for families who are planning to take granny and gramps with them
• Sheltered sea area which makes an ideal site for water-skiing, kayaking and paddle boarding. There are plenty of secluded coves to explore, on guided kayak safaris
• Some good mountain biking routes, although all start either with the very steep cobbled road out of the island, or a trip across to Marmaris by boat. Two good, easy trips for amateur cyclists looking for a leisurely promenade involve taking the water taxi to and from Marmaris and cycling the sea front and promenades there around the town or out to the Wednesday market at Icmeler (a very pleasant run along the sea front but the market itself is best avoided – a real tourist trap specialising in knock-off football strips)

In my view, less appealing features were:

• The sheltered sea area makes for very dull dinghy sailing and in fact we had no usable wind all week – the wind has to come from a quite specific direction not to be shielded entirely by the steep and high slopes of the terrain all around. I gather that this in fact the prevailing wind direction, but this wasn’t much consolation to me. To be fair, Neilson do not bill Adakoy as among their leading sailing venues!
• The sailing area, ditto the area for kayaks and paddle-boarding without a staff guide, is very small, the smallest I have seen anywhere. This is constrained by the topography – Adakoy Island rises steeply out of the sea and the bay in which the resort sits forms a sort of wall around three sides, with a long, narrow islet facing the beach, only a short distance offshore. These limit the available sight-lines for the safety patrol in the look-out tower on the beach
• The rooms were too small. Bathrooms are tiny and lack adequate provision for hanging damp towels or shelves or surfaces to place your toiletries on. The water pressure did not deliver a functional shower.

All the generic comments about Neilson still apply: the organisation is competent if sprinkled with small eccentricities, the food is excellent, although the eastern Mediterranean cuisine does pall towards the end of the week, the staff are young, relentlessly cheerful and engaging, and Neilson is very conscientious, and very effective, at bringing native Turks into front-line customer service functions such as water-ski tuition, and not just leaving them in the kitchen or Housekeeping.

Would I go again? Probably. As a dinghy sailor I found that aspect really quite disappointing, but the family’s preferences for waterskiing and tennis were well served, and the daily kayak safaris allowed me to see a lot more of the area and at the same time to get the tuition to handle a kayak properly, and so much more efficiently. We also prefer smaller, more intimate resorts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GroovyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
2.7 mi away
Elegance Hotels International, Marmaris
2.8 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,351 reviews
2.9 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Club Aida
Club Aida
#2 of 234 in Marmaris
1,527 reviews
2.8 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#20 of 234 in Marmaris
2,811 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Adakoy Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Adakoy Resort Hotel

Address: Adakoy Mah. Kizilkum Mevkii No: 76 | Cennet Adasi, Marmaris 48700, Turkey (Formerly Neilson Adakoy Beachclub)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Marmaris
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#16 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#17 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range: £67 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Adakoy Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Adakoy Resort Hotel is set in Marmaris, 2.8 km from Marmaris Yacht Marina. The resort has a seasonal outdoor pool and fitness centre, and guests can enjoy a meal at the restaurant. Free WiFi is offered and free private parking is available on site. Rooms are fitted with a TV. Views of the sea, pool or river are featured in certain rooms. Extras include slippers and free toiletries. There is a 24-hour front desk at the property. This resort has water sports facilities and car hire is available. The area is popular for windsurfing and diving. Bar Street Marmaris is 12 km from Club Adakoy Resort Hotel, while Karacan Point Center is 5 km from the property. The nearest airport is Dalaman Airport, 100 km from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Club Adakoy Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neilson Club Adakoy Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing