We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten free glory days...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Club Adakoy Resort Hotel
Ranked #27 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Travelling with a family with different ideas about a perfect holiday and coeliac disease can be rather tricky and it was with some trepidation that we booked this holiday as those on the Neilson helpline were rather vague about the food choices for gluten free. As it turned out the gluten free stuff we took with us should have been left at home as the restaurant there was brilliant and the food and beverages manager and chefs all made it remarkably easy. After the first night when I identified myself as gluten-free they ensured all food was gluten free where possible (so just things like pasta, pastry and noodle dishes were not) and where things were not gluten free I was able to request almost everything as a gluten free version. Gluten free pancakes for breakfast, gluten free pizza for dinner, nothing was too much trouble.
The location is just beautiful and delightfully hidden away from the busy Marmaris coast which is still an easy river taxi ride away. The staff of the hotel were thoughtful and the little details like the maid making the towels into hearts with flower petals scattered in them were really sweet. There was some noise from the beach bar at night, but we were all so worn out it didn't have any effect on us.
The equipment was all in good condition, although sometimes various ropes on dingys had been left in odd locations by previous guests. Not much staff can do about that. The wind was rather flukey, making it tough for beginners to get the hang of stuff and even I was rather bemused by going across the bay close hauled, doing a 180 degree turn and going across the bay close hauled.
The kids clubs were very well run by the nannies and mannies, giving a vast variety of different activities and my youngest absolutely adored them. If she could have packed Laura into a suitcase and brought her home with us she would have. I wish they had sent out club information in advance, though, as it changed between booking and arriving and so she didn't have any evening socials which she was expecting. My oldest we paid extra for to go into Hot Shots to get some qualifications as he was really keen to do so and he also had great tuitition, despite some rather grotty children with him. I think a more advertised bullying policy may have helped, but even the manager was rather aghast at the behaviour so I don't think it is too common. Even those staff not on kiddy duty were great with them, and they all went the extra mile to make sure it was a really amazing holiday for them.
The Spa was a haven of tranquility and I was left ready to have a quiet nap after my chilled out afternoon, and the princess sparkle package (toenails and finger nails painted) for my little girl is still being talked about now as she felt very special!
Overall the activities available were amazing and as a family we sampled the cycling (easy level only!), Stand Up Paddleboarding (lots of fun for all), dingy/cat sailing, windsurfing, sit on kayaking, snorkelling, tennis, waterskiing and pontoon jumping. Need a holiday to recover...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cjs_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

As a keen sportsman and subather this holiday was suggested by my girlfriend who had been on similar watersports/activity holidays growing up, and wanted a relatively cheap and care-free week-long holiday abroad.

Adakoy is a beautiful small resort, within an 20minute taxi boat ride to the main town of Marmaris. The complex is a nice size, with roughly 200 people at maximum capacity staying on the island, making it feel secluded but also sociable. Our room was clean and spacious, and a very short walk to the beach, activity centre and pool area.

There is a staggering array of activities available to guests; from sailing, windsurfing, gym classes and tennis, and guests are encouraged to take part as much or as little as they desire. The beach club is well staffed, with excellent equipment, and the enthusiasm of the staff could not be faulted.

We were concerned regarding the evenings being too quiet in Adakoy, however the entertainment put on by the team at Neilson was very good, and the beach bar is a very sociable area where people are keen to chat and share a drink or two! In fact the two nights we ventured to Marmaris we found it quite loud and brash.

In summary a fantastic holiday in a lovely location, ideal for the more active holiday maker, and far more competitively priced than companies like Marc Warner. Would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oliver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We arrived in the dead of night at club Adakoy by boat. The candlelit walk along the pontoon into the resort was amazing. Little did we know, this would just be the start of one of the most fun weeks of our lives!

Everything was amazing, couldn't fault the food, the sheer range of things to eat left you quivering and worrying you wouldn't be able to try everything in a week. The equipment was all immaculate, the sea was blue and the sun shone.

I would recommend this holiday to absolutely everyone, there was a completely blind lady there the week we were there and the staff all went out of their way to ensure she could get involved in everything on offer!

Absolutely fantastic all round (the bed could have been a touch softer though)

Room Tip: The restricted view rooms are further away from the bar and therefore a bit quieter if you like catc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Lovely small resort, thoroughly enjoyed our week with Neilson here. Starting with the BA flights, then arriving by boat into the pretty village like beachclub, everything went smoothly. Our room was clean and spacious with a tiny balcony overlooking the pool and out to sea. Huge range of activities included in the price - my husband loved the sailing and instruction every day, while I loved lounging around the pool which was quiet and large.
The beachclub is very well staffed - the Neilson staff can't be faulted. We found them all to be tremendously helpful and friendly - not just the "professional friendliness" you expect, but genuinely warm, open and cheerful. They seemed to be having fun and genuinely enjoying their jobs and it permeated throughout the beachclub.
It was notable how wide the age range of guests was at the club - from toddlers to pensioners and everyone in between! All seemed to be thoroughly enjoying themselves - I honestly didn't hear a moan or complaint all week. We headed over to Marmaris a couple of times, once on the organised 'Sunset cruise' which was really enjoyable, and once on the water taxi under our own steam. Marmaris is loud and brash - the complete antithesis of Adakoy - glad we went and saw it but even gladder to get back to Adakoy!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lou_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just returned from Neilson Adakoy Beachclub which was our first Neilson Holiday and we can now understand why so many people return year after year. There was nothing we could fault and we had an amazing time. The resort was picturesque, clean and quiet. Every member of staff was helpful and polite. The array of activities kept us active all week, but the opportunity to relax in a very pretty location is also available. As a beginner in some of the water sport activities, the instruction that we received was very good, which enabled us to progress over the week. The food was of excellent quality, with plenty of choice. We would definitely holiday with Neilson in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bunceness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have travelled with Neilson for 11 years, and after a mediocre experience in Lemnos last year, where the friendly and unique feel of these holidays was being seriously undermined, as the Thomas Cook profit making machine began to bite, we were a little nervous to say the least !!

The introduction of BA fights, is a positive joy and gets the holiday off to a great start. With a 6'4" husband, standard good leg room a big plus and happy cabin crew. More please.

The 20 minute boat crossing is lovely. Sipping ice-cold beer, lying on a sun bed watching the night sky..... idyllic.

Adakoy did not disappoint and this is the best Neilson resort we have experienced by some way.

It is a in a beautiful setting and the hotel build and layout gives the feeling of a Turkish village, even including a kitchen garden and free-range chickens !!

The food is of a consistantly high standard, plentiful, and good variety.

Rooms are airy, spotlessly clean, quiet and well maintained, although the shabby-chic decor may not be to everyones' taste.

There is a huge range of activities for all ages and abilities. Just too many to pack into one week !! As a bit of a fitness freak, I had a fun, but exhausting time, trying lots of different classes offered by the excellent Maryann. Boy, does that girl know her stuff !!! There were also plenty of sun beds dotted around to rest my aching body.

There were some challenging wind conditions during our stay, which my husband absolutely loved. You can teach an old dog new tricks. Thank you Beach Team.

Aesthetics apart, what really makes Adakoy special is the staff, a high proportion of them Turkish. All are friendly, knowledgable, enthusiastic and couldn't do enough for you.

If there is one minor grumble, it was the execution of the final Party Night. This has always been the pinnacle of a Neilson holiday, where everyone comes together to celebrate their brilliant holiday. Unfortunately, this didn't happen. There was an influx of Flotilla guests who had a large reserved table in a prime position and no other provision was made for the hotel guests who had enjoyed this facility all week. This could have easily been achieved as there was plenty of space, but no tables. The restaurant staff were run ragged and it was all a bit of a shambles. The party atmosphere was totally lost and most people went to bed !!! Just tweak this Neilson. Thank all the back room staff during dinner, when they are present, and make sure the beach bar is rocking as people arrive after dinner, not an hour afterwards !!!

All-in-all, thank you guys. The move away from Thomas Cook , has returned you to the holiday company we absolutely love, and the nervousness has totally dissipated !!! Brilliant.

Room Tip: Top floor, non-interconnecting sea view room very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tarbie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We took our 6 year old for half term week. Have been on several nielson holidays previously and this one did not disappoint. Room fine, cleaned every day to a high standard and towels replaced when required. Any maintenance issues were dealt with very promptly. Resort lovely. No problem with noise at night apart from the booming music from party boats which came quite close most nights. Wore earplugs so ok. Didn't seem to bother other people and didn't go on too long. Food lovely, staff very helpful. Enjoyed the beginners tennis with Ed and Brad, and intermediate windsurfing with the amazing instructor Koray. He is the most enthusiastic guy I have been taught by and he really cared about how we all did on the water! Only problem with this resort is the lack of wind, we only had 2 decent days, and my husband only got onto the water in his beginners sailing once as no wind on other days.
The only improvement I could suggest is a bit more clarity on the water taxis at reception as some of them go to the area where staff accom is rather than the port in marmaris and this isn't terribly clear.
We had a great holiday and would go again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
2.7 mi away
Elegance Hotels International, Marmaris
2.8 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,348 reviews
2.8 mi away
JDW Design Hotel
JDW Design Hotel
#60 of 234 in Marmaris
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Club Aida
Club Aida
#2 of 234 in Marmaris
1,527 reviews
2.9 mi away
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
#24 of 234 in Marmaris
1,385 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Adakoy Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Adakoy Resort Hotel

Address: Adakoy Mah. Kizilkum Mevkii No: 76 | Cennet Adasi, Marmaris 48700, Turkey (Formerly Neilson Adakoy Beachclub)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Marmaris
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#16 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#17 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range: £49 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Adakoy Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Adakoy Resort Hotel is set in Marmaris, 2.8 km from Marmaris Yacht Marina. The resort has a seasonal outdoor pool and fitness centre, and guests can enjoy a meal at the restaurant. Free WiFi is offered and free private parking is available on site. Rooms are fitted with a TV. Views of the sea, pool or river are featured in certain rooms. Extras include slippers and free toiletries. There is a 24-hour front desk at the property. This resort has water sports facilities and car hire is available. The area is popular for windsurfing and diving. Bar Street Marmaris is 12 km from Club Adakoy Resort Hotel, while Karacan Point Center is 5 km from the property. The nearest airport is Dalaman Airport, 100 km from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Club Adakoy Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neilson Club Adakoy Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing