We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Soulless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
D-Resort Grand Azur
Ranked #15 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

If you like your hotels full of character and quiet sophistication, then the Grand Azur isn't for you. It's big and glitzy with little individuality; but to be fair it calls itself a Resort and that's what you get. It's situated on something of a hotel strip which is a bit of a way out of the mainstream part of town.

We arrived for a two night stay just before the start of the season, so preparation for the onslaught of summer was in full swing. We had a nice room on the second floor overlooking the pool below and sea beyond, but had to complain to the manager as noisy work renovating the ground floor restaurant went on until midnight.

The breakfast was uninspiring. We were on half board, which was just as well because ahead of the summer season there are few alternative eating places within walking distance, in spite of the fact that the hotel is open to a picturesque beachfront boardwalk. The bad news however was the hotel's unimaginative set dinner menu that managed to serve up one of the worst pieces of beef I've ever experienced. For all that, the staff were very attentive and tried hard to make amends for any wrongs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulhZ9321KR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeynep T, Guest Relations Manager at D-Resort Grand Azur, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2015

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of our guests and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations completely. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We have addressed the issues, and spoken with the staff and the department in question. We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with visitors and want you to walk out the door feeling refreshed. If you come back to our hotel, I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.
Kind Regards,
Guest Relations
D-Resort Grand Azur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

Great hotel,very impressive. Excellent location in a quieter area of Marmaris but easy to walk into or get the dolmus which is really cheap. Easy enough to walk into Icemeler as well. Walk through the grounds and you are right on the promenade and hotels private beach directly off. Had a room on the top floor which was new, clean and modern. Food plentiful and good choice. Would definatly return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURCU Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at D-Resort Grand Azur, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing D-Resort Grand Azur for your stay in Marmaris.

Thank you for taking your time out to post a review about D-Resort Grand Azur, we are very pleased to hear that all our services were to your satisfaction and please be assured that your positive comments have already been shared with all our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris again.

Yours sincerely,

D-Resort Grand Azur / Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The manager of this shop always give me and my family good service ever time we visit his two shops in the hotel grand azur marmaras and the hotel aqua in icmeler Turkey. You can take as much time looking at his fine hand made silver and gold jewellery in the knowledge to know what is selling is real unlike other shops I have visited in the past in my meny travels around the world. If you do not find whot you are looking for he can make in his workshop in very little time and be ready for you to take home not wait for the postman.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view its worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dkebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURCU Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at D-Resort Grand Azur, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing D-Resort Grand Azur for your stay in Marmaris.

Thank you for taking your time out to post a review about D-Resort Grand Azur, we are very pleased to hear that all our services were to your satisfaction and please be assured that your positive comments have already been shared with all our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris again.

Yours sincerely,

D-Resort Grand Azur / Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to Turkey & we feel the Grand Azur definitely made the holiday. The hotel is set back from the promenade with pleasant relaxing gardens, it's approx a 20 min walk along the prom to Icelemir or the harbour of Marmaris, with lots of places to stop for a drink or lunch along the way. Facilities, entertainment & the restaurant ( excellent choice)in the evening were very good. The staff from reception, restaurant & entertainment team couldn't have been more helpful. Our sea view suite was fabulous- waking up to an amazing sunrise & panorama of the bay & mountains every day. The Grand Azur is a must if you're visiting Marmaris.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cherrybeeIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURCU Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at D-Resort Grand Azur, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing D-Resort Grand Azur for your stay in Marmaris.

Thank you for taking your time out to post a review about D-Resort Grand Azur, we are very pleased to hear that all our services were to your satisfaction and please be assured that your positive comments have already been shared with all our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris again.

Yours sincerely,

D-Resort Grand Azur / Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We chose the Grand Azure because we thought it was a good price for a 5* and we weren't disappointed. We had a lovely holiday in August 2013 with our 3 children 10, 12 and 15 years. My husband and I loved the beachside location so that we could hop from the pool to the beach on a whim.The hotel was spotlessly clean, gorgeous shady gardens (a godsend in August, and the annoying dawn sunbed baggers didn't spoil our holiday because we could always find sunbeds in the garden).The food was lovely with plenty of choice.The only thing that would have improved our holiday would have a been a bit more for teenagers to do (eg a games room, disco nearby). However, there is a ping pong table, tennis courts (at a charge), organised pool voleyball and some (slightly cheesy) evening ents. To be honest, the kids loved the 'posh' hotel so much (we normally do a caravan in France!) they didn't mind. My teenage son spend most of his evenings hanging out with other teens in the lobby area using the free Wifi. The only problem is my kids are so spoilt now we can only consider 5* hotels for future holidays!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaimesommers42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURCU Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at D-Resort Grand Azur, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing D-Resort Grand Azur for your stay in Marmaris.

Thank you for taking your time out to post a review about D-Resort Grand Azur, we are very pleased to hear that all our services were to your satisfaction and please be assured that your positive comments have already been shared with all our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris again.

Yours sincerely,

D-Resort Grand Azur / Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed at the hotel back in 2004 with my mother and sister, I'm sure it changed a great deal since then, but I would like to share with you my experience.
We arrived late (around 3 am) and had a mix up with the rooms so we had to wait for another hour or so, but once everything got sorted out, our stay wasn't that bad.
The Hotel's facilities are up to the standards, and the food was awsome, it had theme night which we enjoyed.
It's location being straight on the beach made it easy for us to hit the beach bars accross the bay.
Overall it was a nice experience and the staff was welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cynthia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeynep T, Guest Relations Manager at D-Resort Grand Azur, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2015

Dear Valued Guest;

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen the D-Resort Grand Azur for your stay in Marmaris.
Thank you for taking the time out to post a review about our hotel, I am very pleased to hear that our services were to your satisfaction, and please be assured that all your comments have already been shared with all team members.
I look forward to welcome you back in not a too distant future to the D-Resort Grand Azur.

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations
D-Resort Grand Azur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We returned to this excellent hotel for a forth visit in September this year set in a prime location with lovely views from the gardens,it has had a much needed refurbishment since our last visit the rooms are now definitely five star, the staff are friendly, food is great.we will return for a fifth time for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a sea/side sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURCU Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at D-Resort Grand Azur, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing D-Resort Grand Azur for your stay in Marmaris.

Thank you for taking your time out to post a review about D-Resort Grand Azur, we are very pleased to hear that all our services were to your satisfaction and please be assured that your positive comments have already been shared with all our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris again.

Yours sincerely,

D-Resort Grand Azur / Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Pasa Hotel
Grand Pasa Hotel
#22 of 234 in Marmaris
2,097 reviews
0.2 mi away
SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#21 of 234 in Marmaris
2,796 reviews
0.6 mi away
Club Aida
Club Aida
#2 of 234 in Marmaris
1,522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
#25 of 234 in Marmaris
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D-Resort Grand Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D-Resort Grand Azur

Address: Cumhuriyet Bulv. No:17 Marmaris | Siteler, Marmaris 48700, Turkey (Formerly Maritim Hotel Grand Azur)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#9 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#21 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
#24 Family Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range: £105 - £690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — D-Resort Grand Azur 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive hotel in a balconied, 5-story building. Overlooks a large, free-form pool winding through our tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your D-Resort Grand Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Marmaris
Maritim Grand Azur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing