We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
D-Resort Grand Azur
Ranked #11 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Grand Azur and had a fabulous holiday. I was worried after reading some of the reviews but needn't have been.
A big thank you to Ali - my boys thought he was brill and they loved playing darts and water polo.
The room comfort was superb, I don't think I've ever slept in such a comfortable hotel bed. The television had English channels (if you like to watch TV whilst you are away).
Everywhere was spotlessly clean and we'll maintained.
All of the waiters were fantastic but we thought Islam the best!
The restaurant was great, plenty of tables available inside and out and the menus were varied - we particularly liked the outside grill and my sons thoroughly enjoyed the freshly made pancakes each morning!! We really enjoyed the savoury pancakes one evening I wish they had been there every night!
The pool was clean and the surrounding area was a pleasure to spend lazy days reading in, the hotel is very well situated between Marmaris and Ichmeler, we walked to both and then caught the local buses back or went back to hotel by taxi.
It was my husband's birthday whilst we were away and he was delivered a cake with candle - a lovely touch, thank you Grand Azur - the evening of his birthday we enjoyed a delicious meal at The Steak Bar - the service was fantastic!
We booked with Jet2.com - our rep was Kubilay - he was very nice and helpful - plenty of reps at the airport to meet and greet and direct us to transfer taxis - we had a private taxi bot ways and all went very well.
The only disappointment was the trips we booked on through MLS - we went to a Turkish night where the food was disgusting and the entertainment mot as good as expected, we went on a boat trip, with no rep present it wasn't easy to know where we were visiting and again the food was not brill! We also booked to go on the Village Tour but the bus didn't call for us (luckily we received a refund with no hassle)
We did however go on a boat taxi from outside the hotel to Ichmeler and thoroughly enjoyed it and also went on a buggy safari which caused a great deal of laughs but beware you get very dirty!!
All of the gentleman on reception were very helpful and friendly, the lady needs to take a leaf out of their book!
All in all a great holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for a fab view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURCU Y, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at D-Resort Grand Azur, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing D-Resort Grand Azur for your stay in Marmaris.

Thank you for taking your time out to post a review about D-Resort Grand Azur, we are very pleased to hear that all our services were to your satisfaction and please be assured that your positive comments have already been shared with all our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris again.

Yours sincerely,
D-Resort Grand Azur / Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    256
    106
    34
    9
See reviews for
380
433
43
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel as their were many positives. However there were also some not so good aspects to the hotel.

The positives was the room decor which was excellent and house cleaning, the breakfast choice, quieter ambience than neighbouring hotels and the staff who were very courteous and friendly.

The negative points for us was the view from the room looking out on to garden waste and rubbish bags, lack of pillow case covers for the smaller pillows and the sometimes lack of organisation in the dining area due to the overwhelming amount of guests.

Marmaris was excellent value for money. Stunning views, cheap food and drinks plus a real lively atmosphere. The main huge negative point is the hassle one gets as a tourist to buy things.

We did eat at the hotel a few times and enjoyed what was on offer but could not have done it every day, as part of enjoying a holiday for us is dining at differing restaurant's. I became very good at dividing everything by 3 and a half to work out the exchange rate.

Iron and ironing board were available on request and there was coffee and tea making facilities. There were more TV channels available than I have been used to on other trips which made the holiday experience even better after a long day out.
I think the hotel was a good choice for our holiday despite some of the aspects written above which I believe should never occur in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archer4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURCU Y, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at D-Resort Grand Azur, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing D-Resort Grand Azur for your stay in Marmaris.

Thank you for taking your time out to post a review about D-Resort Grand Azur, we are very pleased to hear that all our services were to your satisfaction and please be assured that your positive comments have already been shared with all our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris again.

Yours sincerely,
D-Resort Grand Azur / Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We spend a week in Marmaris in April 2014, on half board basis, our first time in Turkey.
This is a first class hotel and we have no major issues - we've experienced the same (see below) in several other countries.
It has its own section of beach at the rear access to the hotel, and the front entrance is right on the main drag into the town with plenty of shops, supermarkets and bars etc. closeby.
There are large sunlounger areas and a fine swimming pool with water chute for the younger brigade. The grounds of the hotel are spotless with plenty of room to sun or shade on the grass areas.
Marmaris centre is an easy 4 km walk in one direction and Icelemer 8 km in the other. The latter was very pleasant as there is a proper wide path through wooded shade.
Rooms were large, clean and comfortable and the dining room was spacious with a wide variety of food.
Service was often slow in the restaurant due to too few waiters, with the same staff doing the drinks service as well as clearing tables - management need to review work practices and employ a few more staff there. It was all buffet meals, so that was only a minor irritation.
High season was just about to start and the entertainment at night was poor - I suspect this is not the type of hotel where you will get normal tourist class hotel evening variety shows.
To be fair there was little or no evening entertainment in the adjacent bars due to it still being in low season.
Free wifi in the main lobby area was useful.
There is also a well appointed health and fitness spa for anybody so inclined.
We would have no hesitation in returning - but maybe a bit later in the season when there is a bit more life around the place at nights.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macalloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURCU Y, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at D-Resort Grand Azur, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing D-Resort Grand Azur for your stay in Marmaris.

Thank you for taking your time out to post a review about D-Resort Grand Azur, we are very pleased to hear that all our services were to your satisfaction and please be assured that your positive comments have already been shared with all our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris again.

Yours sincerely,
D-Resort Grand Azur / Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Well this is the 5th time I have visited this excellent hotel. Everything about it leads to a relaxing break with superb service. Fantastic value for a truly 5 star hotel. The Spa has improved, I recommend "The Sultan Turkish Bath",(Best in Town), at the start of your holiday this will prepare you for that tanning to follow. Poolside you will encounter gentle persuasion by Ali to play darts, a game devised to suit non and casual dart players. Activities through the day are ably handled by Cemal and Ali, right into the evening.However, I must not forget the relaxing atmosphere to read your favourite book or two. The tone and quality will suit everybody with separate activities for families and children. It is noticeable how many people from all over the World revisit here. Right in front of a private beach for those who want to swim in the sea.
I shall be back next year!!

John

Room Tip: Corner and sea/garden rooms are the ones to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURCU Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at D-Resort Grand Azur, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing D-Resort Grand Azur for your stay in Marmaris.

Thank you for taking your time out to post a review about D-Resort Grand Azur, we are very pleased to hear that all our services were to your satisfaction and please be assured that your positive comments have already been shared with all our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris again.

Yours sincerely,

D-Resort Grand Azur / Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I honestly can't believe that some people have given this hotel bad reviews, they must be really negative and fussy people!!
We went for 5 nights half board in May/June for our honeymoon. We booked a normal suite but got upgraded to the king suite when we checked in, it was amazing!! It had a dining room, sitting room, bedroom and 2 bathrooms one with shower and the other with a jacuzzi bath, fantastic!
We booked half board which includes breakfast and evening meal. I love eating out at gorgeous restaurants in England so was thinking that we would probably not eat in the hotel every evening because usually in hotels the food can often be repetitive and not much choice. How wrong could I be! The hotel food was lovely.
Breakfast - there was a choice of fruit, cereal, yogurts, croissants, freshly cooked pancakes, crispy bacon, sausages, fried eggs to order, scrambled eggs, made to order omelettes with choice of ham, mushrooms, peppers, onions.
Dinner - the different options over the 5 nights that I can remember were - beef in black bean sauce, lamb stew, five spice chicken, beef in red wine, lamb kebabs, chicken curry, roast lamb, roast turkey, lamb koftas, Thai red curry. Also chicken and beef steak cooked in front of you. There was a selection of different potatoes (new, homemade chips, sliced potatoes) and rice every evening. Also every evening there was also 2 options of soup, freshly baked bread and lots of different salads. There were a variety of deserts including fresh strawberries and cream, cheesecake, fruit, selection of ice creams ( I can't remember much else because I couldn't fit in a dessert I was too full!)
People who have commented on poor entertainment - not sure what they want really?? The pool staff were great at organising daytime activities including table tennis, water polo, darts and water aerobics. On an evening there was also different themed nights each evening and also a band on at the beach bar. Maybe the people who complained about the entertainment ought to go to Butlins!!
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, please ignore any bad reviews these people obviously are the type that like to moan! I read a few comments before I arrived to the hotel and was dreading it but when I arrived at the hotel I was pleasantly surprised! All staff were very friendly I couldn't of wished for a better honeymoon.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoMoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURCU Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at D-Resort Grand Azur, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing D-Resort Grand Azur for your stay in Marmaris.

Thank you for taking your time out to post a review about D-Resort Grand Azur, we are very pleased to hear that all our services were to your satisfaction and please be assured that your positive comments have already been shared with all our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris again.

Yours sincerely,

D-Resort Grand Azur / Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Where to start with this Hotel, materially its a 5* Hotel without doubt, customer service and food is 2* without a doubt. A highly overrated Hotel, with poor entertainment and food being very repetitive. Throughout the 7 days, I think the Hotel must have got a cracker of a deal on chicken, beef and strawberries!! There were everywhere- in every dessert, pasta, curry etc. I do not eat beef, so was on a chicken diet the whole week! Luckily I didn't lay any eggs by the 7th day! The waiters are the rudest and most unhelpful, I have come across so far. Considering we pay their wages, their attitude needs an immediate change.

The front reception desk, again not very welcoming and hostile. If your 5 minutes over your checkout time, you will get bombarded with calls and threats, stating you have to pay the extra monies to keep your room. We travelled with a 8 month old baby, hence playing by their rules, sometimes things don't go to plan, but the staff did not seem to care.


Many of the other guests whom have been visiting the same Hotel for years felt the same way, the business was going down. I will not be travelling here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricky p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURCU Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at D-Resort Grand Azur, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to review D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission.
We have addressed the mentioned issues and spoken with our team member and also with their Manager in question.
We would like to inform you that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with our guests and we would be pleased if our guests leave D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris with happiness and with a feeling of full satisfaction upon their stay in D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris.
We could also be pleased if you could inform our department about the issues that you were not comfortable, upon your stay in our Hotel. We might help you right away while you stay in D-Resort Grand Azur Hotel Marmaris.

Regarding animation unsatisfaction that you have had, it is also mentioned in our catalogues as well that we do have a SOFT animation which is a policy of the Hotel.

We really look forward to welcoming you back in D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris again. It would be a great pleasure from our side to have a direct communication with you on your next arrival. Because, it would be a great chance for us to renew your expactations in D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris.

Yours sincerely,
D-Resort Grand Azur / Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Me and my fiance stayed here for 2 weeks at the beginning of May. It was our first time to Marmaris and we loved the location and Marmaris itself but felt disapointed by the hotel. We 'splashed' out on this as it's our last holiday before our baby arrives and although the hotel looks lovely certain points really let it down. We were half board so had breakfast and dinner, we weren't impressed with either though as they were trying to cater for too many people you ended up with a dinner plate with cold meats, hot roast beef, pasta, chips etc. nothing seemed to go together. Breakfast was slighter better as they made fresh omlettes and pancakes etc.

Our room was very modern and nicely decorated however our tea and coffee was never replenished - to the point where we went out and bought coffee and milk ourselves. We tried calling housekeeping on 3 different occasions to ask for more and never received them, then in the final week we were only left with one mug between 2 people! Not very 5 star,

Lastly, was the entertainment - or lack of! We never once saw anything happen at the hotel whether it be some water games or a Turkish night. There was a couple of lovely young guys who tried to entertain us with card games etc but other than this there was nothing.

Overall, it's a very nice, clean hotel but it's not worth the 5 star rating. I would come back to Marmaris again but stay in a different hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sausage20101988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURCU Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at D-Resort Grand Azur, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to review D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission.
We have addressed the cold food issue and other issues and spoken with our team member and also with their Manager in question.
We would like to inform you that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with our guests and we would be pleased if our guests leave D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris with happiness and with a feeling of full satisfaction upon their stay in D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris.
We really look forward to welcoming you back in D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris again. It would be a great pleasure from our side to have a direct communication with you on your next arrival. Because, it would be a great chance for us to renew your expactations in D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris.

Yours sincerely,
D-Resort Grand Azur / Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#19 of 234 in Marmaris
2,390 reviews
0.2 mi away
SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
#24 of 234 in Marmaris
1,059 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elegance Hotels International, Marmaris
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D-Resort Grand Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D-Resort Grand Azur

Property: D-Resort Grand Azur
Address: Cumhuriyet Bulv. No:17 Marmaris | Siteler, Marmaris 48700, Turkey (Formerly Maritim Hotel Grand Azur)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#15 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#21 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
#24 Family Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — D-Resort Grand Azur 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive hotel in a balconied, 5-story building. Overlooks a large, free-form pool winding through our tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your D-Resort Grand Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Marmaris
Maritim Grand Azur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing