We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Animation team made the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
D-Resort Grand Azur
Ranked #15 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Spent two enjoyable weeks at Grand Azur made possible by the staff and guests we met there. Check in was pretty quick and efficient but staff need to smile more. We upgraded to sea view rooms which was definitely worth it and Aytekin was very helpful at arranging this for us.

Rooms are clean and comfortable but would definitely be helpful if they all had iron and ironing boards in them.

The food and service was okay in the restaurant but in all honesty is poorly managed by both Front of House and Head Chefs. You shouldn't have to find your own tables and then wait quite along time for drinks or tables to be cleared. They need to introduce a system where guests are greeted and shown to available empty tables so things run more efficiently.

The food was okay for a few days but then became very repetitive. Turkish cuisine is so varied, but unfortunately little thought is put in to changing things. Meze and salads were nice but they need to vary the mains. And no kebabs apart from a mediocre Turkish Night where they provided Doner. Pool bar food was okay for lunch but expensive and eventually most guest were going over the road for lamb doner or chicken donner for 5 or 7 lira. Come on Grand Azur, put a Lamb or Chicken Donner in your pool bar kitchen and give your guests a quick, tasty and value for money lunch !! Try Aliba restaurant next to Migros Supermarket for quality Turkish Food.

The pool was nice and didn't have a problem finding sun beds even if it was in the gardens rather than by the pool itself. However, the pool area is really slippery and definitely needs to be addressed.

The staff were great considering these guys work there socks off for around 300 - 500 pounds a month. A tip goes a long way and the suggestion that they only look after the Turkish clientele is completely wrong. A huge thank you goes out to Metin, Ramazan and Mustafacik, who were very welcoming, respectful and hospitable.

And last but certainly not least, our brothers and sisters from another mother. The animation team.
Amac, Cemal the Chief, Yasin, Sinem and the rest of you guys were bloody great. You brought friends and families together with your sense of humour and fun. You guys made the holiday and made the hotel. And it would be for this reason that we would come back. We wish you guys the very best and hope to see you soon. Hade, take care till we meet again.

Lots of love Tez, Ayca, and the kids xxxxxx

Room Tip: Choose a suite or sea view
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tastetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeynep T, Guest Relations Manager at D-Resort Grand Azur, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing D-Resort Grand Azur for your stay in Marmaris.

Thank you for taking your time out to post a review about D-Resort Grand Azur, we are very pleased to hear that our services were to your satisfaction and please be assured that your comments have already been shared with all our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris again.

Yours sincerely,
D-Resort Grand Azur / Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,318)
There are newer reviews for D-Resort Grand Azur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

I would start by stating that this is not what I would expect from a 5 star hotel. I also notice that many of the really positive reviews have been left by first-time reviewers (are they genuine?). We have stayed at a good variety of hotels over the years and when comparing them with this hotel, I would not consider the Grand Azur Hotel to represent good value for the price we paid.
This was our first visit to Turkey. Marmaris is a lovely resort and we would not hesitate to return - we left with a really positive impression of the resort and would recommend visiting. The Turkish people are lovely and friendly and the resort is clean and well maintained overall. Prices in the surrounding bars and restaurants are pretty reasonable (roadside bars are better value and quality than beach front bars) and you can purchase an EFES beer or glass of house wine for 7.50-8 TL (about £2.20) just over the road from the hotel (Purple Gardens was the cheapest place and Greasyspoon also reasonable and friendly).
However no one seems to have mentioned the heat - it was pretty unbearable some days! We visited for 10 days in August as family of 2 adults and 1 10-year old child. The walkways and streets are pretty deserted in the daytime as it's far too hot to walk around and the shade gives little respite (hottest day was last Friday - sweltering 53 degrees). Evening temperature was still pretty warm at 28-33 degrees but it's a bit more bearable for taking a stroll. The hotel is in a very good location on the beach front next to many other 5-star hotels and is approx. 45 minute stroll into Marmaris town. There are regular buses to Ishmeler (2.5 TL each one way) and Marmaris (2 TL each) - stopping right outside hotel. You can also use water taxis costing 10 TL each.
Back to the hotel..... Good points: clean rooms, well furnished, pretty modern with very very comfortable beds.Free wifi in reception area. Towels changed everyday. Hairdryer in bathroom. Basic toiletries provided on arrival (but not re-stocked). Nice hot showers and good water pressure. Free safe in room. Staff were not unfriendly and regularly smiled and greeted us and were generally pleasant. Food in the restaurant was good and varied at dinner time, hot and good quality - something for every taste and it was nice to sit outdoors after the sun had gone down. The pool is clean and a nice temperature. Aircon in the room is excellent and a must! Fridge is handy for storing cool drinks - first bottle of water in room is complimentary (other drinks in minibar must be paid for and they are not cheap - but you should be able to find room for a bottle of wine, water and cans of soft drink purchased from supermarket). For those concerned about TV in room - it's a good size flat screen and has many channels including ITV, BBC, channel 4, MTV, nickleodeon etc. We managed to get a sunbed everyday close to the pool (waking at 7.30 to do so - people reserve beds but it wasn't a problem when we stayed). Beach towels are provided free of charge and can be changed whenever needed and no deposit required. The Spa has showers and a changing area to use after check out - we had a late night flight and were provided with fresh towels and could also keep beach towels on after check out. The Lifeguard and pool team dealt with accidents very well - our child was immediately bandaged up and whisked away to a nurse to be checked over in the hotel when she hurt her arm - I must say they were very professional, attentive and caring!
Negative points: if you get a room with a road view (and waterpark directly opposite) like we had it is quite noisy and the call to prayer could be heard quite clearly across the way at 5am every morning (on the positive side we were able to use Greasyspoon's free wifi on the balcony - definitely worth a visit as they are very friendly and accommodating and prices are much more reasonable than the hotel. The lamb casserole is definitely worth trying too!). This isn't the hotel for a romantic getaway and is more geared for younger families - there were lots of younger kids in this hotel - many were left to run around the restaurant spinning round, standing on chairs, dropping food over the floor near the buffet area etc. and screaming all day long (it was difficult to escape the screaming and crying without leaving the hotel - if you want peace and tranquility don't stay here). Breakfast was pretty basic and same everyday and flies buzzing around food. Baked beans had little taste and bacon was a weird colour - more like chicken. Fresh fruit was quite limited and stayed the same everyday (melon, apricots, grapes, peaches, figs - no oranges/apples as these are reserved for the expensive freshly squeeze juice that can be purchased). Bar prices in the hotel were very expensive - hence we didn't spend a penny here. We didn't make use of the entertainment team as there wasn't much going on and we preferred to walk out at night time. When entering the restaurant a breakfast/dinner there is no host or staff member to greet and seat guests - each evening we struggled to find a clean table and had to lay our own cutlery and napkins - drinks were offered after 30 minutes but we declined. Also, we noticed that staff don't ask for the room number - so there's no stopping strangers from outside hotel coming to eat here for free either! The pool area wasn't washed down and cleaned thoroughly like I've seen at other hotels - the beds were straightened and nothing more and flat/abandoned lilos were occasionally cleared away. The entertainment team didn't appear to do very much from my perspective - they half-heartily asked if you wanted to play darts or do aqua gym - I saw aqua gym take place once in 10 days and 3 people participated. They also liked to play thumping music at top volume which could get irritating and didn't seem to fit with the family-oriented theme.
I would return to the hotel if a really good deal was available but at its current price I would look elsewhere in Marmaris as this is 5-star prices at 3-4 star quality. It's definitely worth doing the boat trip to the kings tombs/mud bath and turtle beach - £10 per person with taxis and lunch included was an absolute bargain and a great day out!

Room Tip: doubt its worth paying extra for a sea view room. benefit of road view is access on balcony to free...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Sdr2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeynep T, Guest Relations Manager at D-Resort Grand Azur, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Dear Guest;

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen the D-Resort Grand Azur for your stay in Marmaris.
Thank you for taking the time out to post a review about our hotel, I am very pleased to hear that our services were to your satisfaction, and please be assured that all your comments have already been shared with all team members.
I look forward to welcome you back in not a too distant future to the D-Resort Grand Azur.

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations / D-Resort Grand Azur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

It is place that you can enjoy the summer.animators are trying so many different methods to entertain you.foods are incredible too.lovely vacation you can easily trust.hygen is also fine.one thing is the hours of the food and especially alcohol but it is still fine.finally i enjoyed my time here

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ata93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeynep T, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at D-Resort Grand Azur, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing D-Resort Grand Azur for your stay in Marmaris.

Thank you for taking your time out to post a review about D-Resort Grand Azur, we are very pleased to hear that all our services were to your satisfaction and please be assured that your positive comments have already been shared with all our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris again.

Yours sincerely,
D-Resort Grand Azur / Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We booked this hotel at short notice and were really not sure what to expect due to mixed reviews.
However, from our very first interaction with hotel staff we felt reassured we had booked a good hotel.
The rooms are of a good size and kept very clean, the beds are probably the most comfortable we have slept in whilst on holiday bearing in mind we had two single beds (twin room).
The pool area is kept clean and we had no trouble finding a lounger after breakfast (we were early risers though)
The activities and entertainment around the pool during the day provide an excellent opportunity to meet other holidaymakers and we have met some wonderful friends who we will be returning to meet next year. The animation team work tirelessly to ensure that holidaymakers are enjoying themselves whilst providing various activities throughout the day to partake in. A special thank you to Cemal & Amac for their hospitality.
The evening entertainment shows are generally good and worth a watch.
The food was great with plenty of choice to suit all tastes. We always went to dinner near beginning of evening service and never had a problem with obtaining a table and ordering beverages.
The little shop in the arcade is great for changing money and the owner will match local rates if his is lower.
We were very happy with location of hotel as it sits between Marmaris & Ichmeler which is ideal for walking along promenade for a night out in either direction, with the added bonus of not being directly on top of bars/nightclubs.
There are a lot of negative reviews which are sad to read as we do believe that the staff are striving to do their best, we shall definitely be retuning next year for a longer duration to this great hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Theydongurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeynep T, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at D-Resort Grand Azur, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing D-Resort Grand Azur for your stay in Marmaris.

Thank you for taking your time out to post a review about D-Resort Grand Azur, we are very pleased to hear that all our services were to your satisfaction and please be assured that your positive comments have already been shared with all our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris again.

Yours sincerely,
D-Resort Grand Azur / Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is located in the coastal line at an area called Siteler between Marmaris town center amd icmeler bay. The hotel is a part of a chain and very professional management. Rooms are large, clean, new and very comfortable. Views are great at the sea side rooms with a nice balcony. Shower and bathroom are great. Minibar should be more efficient i had difficulty in keeping baby products cold.
We did not use the pool but people seemed to have fun with kids. We checked the beach of the hotel but i was dissappointed with it. If you are a beach person the sea here is not good. It smells and there is a lot of grass in the sea. However the hotel has a beach front cafe bar and each night there is life music and nice ambiance. The food in this beach cafe unfortunately not good.
We stayed half board and there is open buffet breakfast and dinner. Except for one night which was a "Turkish Night" organised, the food wad not the best. There is variety but not very tasty and a lit of repetitions. For the price and class of the hotel, the buffet should be more sofisticated and tasty. The bf and dining area is comfortable not crowded like usual hotels. However i found the ambiance a bit canteen like. It does not provide an ambiance where you want to stay, drink and enjoy.
The best side of the hotel is the personnel. They are very hardworking, kind and attentive. I made some critics to them and they took it well and they showed personal interest.
The hotel also has a nice spa.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Zeynbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeynep T, Guest Relations Manager at D-Resort Grand Azur, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing D-Resort Grand Azur for your stay in Marmaris.

Thank you for taking your time out to post a review about D-Resort Grand Azur, we are very pleased to hear that our services were to your satisfaction and please be assured that your comments have already been shared with all our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris again.

Yours sincerely,
D-Resort Grand Azur / Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Our family has just returned from 11 days at the Grand Azur; these are our thoughts:

Rooms - spacious for a couple (not sure if I would like to share the room as a family) modern furnishings, good air conditioning, very large and comfortable beds. We managed to get two rooms adjacent to each other. View from balcony was just a neighbouring hotel, as we didn't pay the extra for a view. Some of those that did got a good sea view, but also the downside of noise from late night entertainment.

What you see in the photographs is pretty much what you can expect. However, we were on the first floor and in our part of the hotel the corridors were heavily used by staff and consequently, the carpets and walls were quite badly marked. We don't believe this is the case in other parts of the hotel, but the hotel will need to work hard to maintain standards of decor.

Food - delicious. A wide selection of food both at breakfast and in the evening beautifully presented. We tended to eat at 9 am and 7 pm, before the restaurant got very busy. Plenty of choice for the health-conscious, kids and the gluttonous!

Drink - five star hotels regrettably charge five star prices, we tended to drink elsewhere at half the price! We'd recommend the Greasy Spoon across the road - outstanding service, don't be put of by the name. They also have reasonably priced meals if you are not full board.

Spa and gym - this part of the hotel is outstanding. The hotel boosts a very well equipped gym, spinning room, sauna, relaxation room, steam room and a very large indoor pool, all of which are under used, which is strange as there is no charge for these facilities.

Outdoor pool - is small and unless you have a reserved a bed very early in the morning, you won't get a spot. Not to worry, the garden and private beach (a stones throw away) is far more civilised. The garden is a feature which stands the hotel apart from the the vast majority of other hotels in Marmaris. Lots of cats around too, but only sought attention if you had food!

Entertainment - personally we don't go on holiday to be entertained, so didn't participate in this. However, there was a nice pianist at dinner one evening and on another evening, a string trio.

Staff - service was mixed - some staff friendly and helpful, others were quite cold/disinterested, but we weren't going to let this aspect spoil our holiday.

Out and about - local shops opposite hotel to purchase supplies (5 litre bottles of water essential!). There is a large supermarket about 5 minutes from the hotel, turn right - it's next door to McDonald's. To get to Marmaris, there is a minibus that leaves outside the front of the hotel which costs 2L. From the gardens, turn left and there is a taxi boat to Icelmar which costs 10l. There is a water sports business located on the private beach with many reasonably priced activities such as banana boats, jet skis, para-sailing etc.

Whilst there were families with children at the hotel who clearly were enjoying themselves, we think this is a good hotel for couples and older teenagers who appreciate the facilities this hotel offers, such as the health spa and gym. The outdoor pool and lazy river were pleasant, but many kids would get bored of it quite quickly. However, there are water parks within close proximity of the hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank RamblingAroundAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeynep T, Guest Relations Manager at D-Resort Grand Azur, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing D-Resort Grand Azur for your stay in Marmaris.

Thank you for taking your time out to post a review about D-Resort Grand Azur, we are very pleased to hear that our services were to your satisfaction and please be assured that your comments have already been shared with all our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris again.

Yours sincerely,
D-Resort Grand Azur / Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from 10 days at the Grand Azur.

The hotel is in a great location right on the beach with stunning sea and mountain views.

All along the promenade were lovely restaurants and bars with great sea views, our favourite was Dora Beach where you can chill out on bean bags whilst drinking great cocktails.

Marmaris didn't appeal as it is full of tacky bars and restaurants with neon lights every where.

About 40 minutes walk (15 minutes if you hire a bike) from the hotel along the promenade is Icmeler which is absolutely beautiful. Very green and lush with an amazing coastline. I would definitely recommend heading that way as opposed to Marmaris.

The rooms were average and lacking some of the things you would expect from a 5* hotel like branded toiletries, dressing glens, slippers etc.

The swimming pools were nice with good quality loungers, parasols and towels.

On one of the days we were given an iced flannel around the pool which was much needed as it was so hot. These should be provided every day. Again, this is the little touches that you expect from a 5* hotel that were lacking.

Drinks were over priced with a vodka and coke costing nearly £9. Metin and Ramazan make great mojitos!

The food in the main restaurant was ok if you are a meat eater. Being a vegetarian the choice was limited to salad and chips. More thought should be given to the vegetarian menu.

The children enjoyed the ice cream bar and certainly got their monies worth!

With full board plus I would expect to be able to eat in the pool bar or beach bar at no extra cost rather then being limited to the main restaurant.

Staff throughout the hotel were welcoming, polite and eager to please.

For us, the entertainment team made our holiday. They are all full of energy and fun and make a real effort to include everyone to ensure a good time is had by all. Cemal, Amac, Cinam, Esra, Ozlem and Shelley are a real asset to the hotel and certainly made our holiday an enjoyable one and one to remember.

Jo, Alexander and Amelia

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Josalisbury740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeynep T, Guest Relations Manager at D-Resort Grand Azur, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing D-Resort Grand Azur for your stay in Marmaris.

Thank you for taking your time out to post a review about D-Resort Grand Azur, we are very pleased to hear that our services were to your satisfaction and please be assured that your comments have already been shared with all our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to D-Resort Grand Azur Marmaris again.

Yours sincerely,
D-Resort Grand Azur / Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Pasa Hotel
Grand Pasa Hotel
#20 of 234 in Marmaris
2,065 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#23 of 234 in Marmaris
2,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Club Aida
Club Aida
#2 of 234 in Marmaris
1,489 reviews
0.2 mi away
SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
0.2 mi away
Pasa Beach Hotel
Pasa Beach Hotel
#22 of 234 in Marmaris
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D-Resort Grand Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D-Resort Grand Azur

Address: Cumhuriyet Bulv. No:17 Marmaris | Siteler, Marmaris 48700, Turkey (Formerly Maritim Hotel Grand Azur)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#9 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#21 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
#24 Family Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range: £84 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — D-Resort Grand Azur 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive hotel in a balconied, 5-story building. Overlooks a large, free-form pool winding through our tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your D-Resort Grand Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Marmaris
Maritim Grand Azur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing