We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so much have charged....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elegance Hotels International, Marmaris
Ranked #31 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2009

We have travelled to Marmaris / Elegance Hotel 13-14 times - have always loved the hotel/city - but have noted from other travellers that things have changed - one thing have changed Sare from reservation is no longer working in the hotel (she have always made our trips a pleasure) - have within last 4 weeks tried to contact Elegance Hotel - because we intended to take out some leisure trip to Elegance - but all messages have sofar been un-attended. Even tried to call - but difficult to talk/understand people in the hotel reception - Sare could communicate - but she is no longer at Elegance...why???
We have actually booked vacation for next year 15th May for one week ahead - but now I wonder why....
We have always been happy - not always 100 pct happy about our stay at Elegance - but folks remember - you are not home - but in a five star hotel/but look at the money you pay for a five star hotel - remember what you would pay for 5 star in London or Brighton - but would be nice if Elegance 'changed gear' - turn down the loud music - be nice - it is not at youth hotel - remember that (management - man with (no hair) in white shirt and tie - walking around every day - doing nothing/drinking coffee - change this man into somebody who can make a change - and who is nice - and minded to run a hotel.
We have received nice service and poor service - but belive me - have travelled around the world 'livedf' in 3-6 star hotels - some poor some nice / Elegance is not that bad folks - but they just have to wake up and look at the present situation and people staying - it is not a youth hotel - no need for loud music and poor service... signed / almost 50....

Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nyborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2009

We had booked at the Elegance Hotel , Marmaris for our silver wedding anniversary. Our flight was delayed, so didnt reach the hotel until the next day, only to be told they had given us a standard room (we had booked a king size suite!) we were too tired to argue so unpaacked and thought we would rasie the issue in the morning. That night there was no air con in the room, my husband had to sleep near the pool area, he complained numerous times that night but the receptionist said the hotel heating was set overall on 22oc!, it was boiling. the next day we complained so they put us in another room, no air con again, we complained but go nowhere, so we had to go and buy a fan, BEARING IN MIND THIS IS A 5 STAR HOTEL, WHAT WITH NO AIR CONDITIONING!! The food was unbearable, cold, same thing every night and mostly turkish food. The staff very miserable! IF YOU WANT A NICE HOLIDAY DONT GO TOTHE ELEGANCE HOTEL!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rumours69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

On arrival the lobby was definitely 5 star but that’s where it ended.
The rooms were not only dated but the duvets were badly stained with no covers and very little space for clothes.
The Air Con is switched off every night, the heat meat no sleep and we could not leave the balcony door open as our ‘Garden View’ room was actually 1st floor overlooking the main road and the noise from the hotels opposite and the constant traffic was unbearable not to mention the mosquito bites.
This caused a constant battle with the guy on reception at night who when informed it wasn’t working just shrugged his shoulders and walked away. This proved to be the attitude of all the staff, very rude and unfriendly.
We had paid for half board and ate breakfast once and dinner once out of our 10 night stay as the food was cold and inedible. As for drinks DO NOT BUY ANY IN THE HOTEL we got stung both in the dining room and at the pool bar where the prices of our friends drinks and ours were both expensive and inconsistent and was demanded for payment before even getting the last drink ordered or being told how much it was.
I am in the trade myself and have stayed at many hotels and hostels across Europe and have never felt the need to write a review before.
Marmaris is a lovely place with very friendly people and will not let our bad experience at this hotel stop us from returning to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mhairi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We visited Marmaris from 28th September - 5th October 2009 and stayed at the Hotel Elegance. The holiday was booked via Olympic Holidays as a Daily Telegraph Special Travel Promotion and promoted as a 5* hotel. The hotel calls itself a 5* boutique hotel. We are no strangers to 5* hotels but this was no 5*hotel by any stretch of the imagination.

The hotel is set on the very noisy seafront area of Marmaris. It has its own piece of beach which is jammed full of sunbeds plus a pier/sundeck. It also has a fresh water pool and bar facing the sea. There is a sign claiming that the beach is a Blue Flag beach, but all the way along the Marmaris promenade there are open drains running into the sea and some that were flowing did not look too savoury. Some beaches were awash with cigarette ends. If you were hoping to relax and enjoy the sound of the sea then you were in for a nasty shock. Ghastly music blared forth all day and nearly all hours of the night. The promenade is lined with cafes, bars restaurants and hotels. The louder the music is in one place, the louder it is in another, all competing with one another for custom. Very much pump up the volume.

Hotel Elegance also boasts a silent pool at the back of the hotel. Silent it is not as it cannot escape the loud music from surrounding establishments. Whilst the pool was pleasant the poolside area was in need of a proper clean. It was hosed down each day, but not swept at all during our stay. Cigarette ends, dirty plasters nutshells, leaves and other detritus remained. One afternoon despite there being a number of people using the pool, they started to clear away the sunbeds at 4.15pm.

The public areas of the hotel were clean but shabby and tired plastic flowers were dotted around. There was a large stain on the carpet in front the lift area by the restaurant. The stairs and walkway from the sea front pool to the reception area were in need of a good scrub.

The bedroom was clean but was in need of refreshing. The settee and easy chair were shabby. The pillows were of cheap lumpy foam. The air conditioning was centrally controlled for the entire hotel and only on from between 2 or 3pm and 10pm and set at 22ºC. On the first night the air conditioning did not work at all. We complained to the hotel but they insisted there was nothing wrong. After taking the matter up with the reps, the air conditioning was turned on. The air conditioning to the room only worked with the insertion of the room card to activate the electricity supply to your room and whilst you were in the room. Thus when you were away from the room the air conditioning stopped. With temperatures daily in the high twenties, the room was unbearably hot. You could not open the windows for fresh air because of the loud music from the bar area day and night. At night the music was even louder and the thump, thump thump of the tasteless music from the hotel beach bar and surrounding establishments even more deafening. You couldn’t sleep, or listen to the TV as the noise drowned out everything. When we complained to the rep, he said that in Marmaris the music goes on till 4 am. In the UK the Noise Pollution and Monitoring Unit of the Council would have taken action.

The bathroom; the grouting at the base of the bath and floor needed thorough cleaning and the bath tiles needed descaling.

The food. At breakfast you had to pay for fresh orange juice 7TL. We were told fresh oranges were at rock bottom prices, so why charge? This is the first time we have ever encountered being charged for fresh juice which should have been part and parcel of the half board. The juice that was served was synthetic and had never been near any fruit. Tea and coffee were served from machines and the coffee was undrinkable. Turkish coffee was not on offer! The hot table was always tepid and had nothing to do with a Turkish breakfast. Despite fresh seasonal fruit being in abundance in the shops, only melons and chopped oranges were served. The so called dinner was no better, with the same style salads and deserts being served daily. The main courses were tepid and overcooked. In summary the food was canteen food at it’s worst. Food should excite and thrill. This did not. It was ingredients thrown together by a bunch of amateurs.

One evening there were no desert spoons. When I asked a member of staff for a spoon he told me it was not his job and was extremely rude to me. I subsequently complained the Head Waiter. Two days later there were no teaspoons and only plastic stirrers were available.

The some staff were surly and did not seem interested in the wellbeing of their guests. One local told us that friends had stayed at the Elegance for the past eight years however this year, they found that the place had gone down so much; it was not clean and the food was awful; they would not be staying there again. This is a hotel that has clearly lost it’s way. It doesn’t know whether it is a nightclub or a hotel. It doesn’t know who it’s customers are or seemingly care about retaining it’s customer base.

Five star it is not and it is misrepresentation to suggest otherwise.

Marmaris the resort. The bay is beautiful, the sea is only crystal clear miles from the main town. In their eagerness to promote the resort, the area has been defiled. The new development on the beach front consists of bars, nightspots, restaurants offering steak and chips, fish and chips pizza and other fast food. Music blares from all from 10am. You cannot walk along the promenade without being hassled. The shops are filled with fake goods and the place is heaving with tattooed, overweight, smoking, drinkers and their offspring. The names of the bars say it all; Blackpool Bar and Restaurant, Manchester United Pub, Everton Bar etc……... OFSTED and DWP might find Marmaris of interest. The traders in the markets and souks were crying out ‘genuine fake watches’ etc. This sums up the kind of resort Marmaris is. If you fancy a week on the set of ‘Shameless’ then this is the holiday resort for you.

Marmaris marina and old town area are the places to visit.. Narrow streets and alleyways, old houses and the Castle. Visit the Panorama Bar and sit on the roof terrace and admire the view whilst enjoying a delicious meze. Binoculars provided. For the best food visit Nil Restaurant Yat Limani No 101 478700 Marmaris tel [--] on the marina front frequented by the locals and run by the diminutive, charming and genial Thomas who is Turkish. The waiting staff speak excellent English and will guide you through the menu. They would do any top class restaurant in the UK proud. Choose your fresh fish which is caught daily and is cooked to your taste. Enjoy the lavas bread and the excellent Sarafina Sauvignon Blanc. Decent wines are expensive. To end try the delightful sweet, zesty orange cake. A memorable meal. I t is essential to book at weekends.

We did meet some delightful Turkish people, however Marmaris is not a resort for those wishing to experience the real Turkey.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelvoiceuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

On arrival at six in the morning we were greeted by a rude, uncooperative and sullen receptionist. Our past experience of the Turkish people had always been completely the opposite. We were then shown to a room with a ' garden' view. This overlooked the storage buildings and the roofs of the walkways joining the various parts of the hotel as well as looking out at the aparthotel next door( about 40 feet away ). Just about see the horizon and sea between buildings if you hung over the balcony.

We then had a walk down to breakfast. As expected it was a full Turkish one. Should you wish to have 12 different types of olives and bread and jam and cheese, then you were in seventh heaven. I do realise that we were in Turkey and this is their traditional breakfast but just yards from the hotel 'full english' is available for 5YTL. Would it be impossible to offer a fried or scrambled egg or a sausage or bacon ? The supposedly hot section was either 4 or 6 minute boiled eggs and cold cheese omelettes. All buffet and all uniformly cold and poorly cooked. Hot drinks were from machines. One or sometimes two ' waiters ' clearing tables but not waiting. If for no other reason this disbars this hotel from association with any five star hotel at which I have stayed. Again all staff were surly and uncommunicative, something which was consistant throughout our stay. Unbelievably the only personable people that we encountered were two Russian girls who worked in reception during the day.

We spoke to several guests who were in rooms overlooking the pool and with direct sea views. Apparently the incessant loud music from around the pool made them a torment. They, like us, left the hotel each morning to go to other locations to get away from the place. We went by dolmus to Icmeler. There we consistently met the Turkish people we were expecting. Of course we were also meeting them everywhere else we went in Marmaris. This hotel was like an unfriendly, unwelcoming 'oasis'.

Our room was cleaned very poorly. I know this sounds petty but there was pistacchio shell on the floor by the bed that was there when we arrived and remained there when we left. On one occasion prescription tablets left on the table were just thrown away. Speaking to reception ( a turk ) was met with a shrug and a 'what can you do' look. Again asked for manager with no success. The air conditioning switches off if you open the door to the balcony. You have to switch it back on each time. Informed of this by the pleasant Russian girl on the third day, after continually phoning reception to say the air con was not working and being told it was being fixed. Lies.

I must say the parts of the hotel you see in the brochure; the reception areas and corridors, are very well kept and attractive and just like the photographs. However these do not make a holiday. I asked to speak with the manager several times but gave up as I was completely ignored.

If I was on a business trip for a couple of days then the place would have been acceptable but for a holiday where atmosphere and hospitality are of paramount importance I would never return to this place. I would certainly not recommend it to any one that I liked.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salgoud123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

This is the first time I have added a complaint to a web site but I feel the need to say something. When we first booked Elegance Hotel Marmaris we then unfortunately we later looked at trip advisor, then thinking at that stage well we have booked it now so we will go and it probably wont be as bad as people say it is on this site. I would also like to add before i go on, that me and my wife both in our late twentys and have been in the hotel trade for years and are very very easy to please, easy going non complainers. Well, when we finally got to elegance hotel we were the only couple to check in, in my years of travelling the world when you check in there is always people same as you to check in but no,.........we got to lobby to check in, yes the lobby was 5 star stuff then it went from bad to worse, as we got to room it was just ok...not a 5 star i can tell you, we then got breakfast and me as a chef, it was bog standard. From there we went to the "good old pool bar" for a wee cool off drink. I got two small beers and a scotch and coke the bar man said that will be 45 lira wtich he shouted everywere,now 45 lira is 22 euro very expensive,when i asked him for receipt he wondered why????when i got it, i said why so expensive, he said" what do you want yourrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr in elegance hotel" .
To the lucky people who read this please book elegance at your own risk, the people we met will have said some things on this web site as there were a lot more complaints about this hotel...Marmaris as a place is brill, bars good, food great, people fantastic just to warn you elegance hotel ISN'T!!! you so.good luck people.Gary...Donagal....Ireland..OH FORGOT TO SAY THE SAME DRINK IS ABOUT TWELVE EURO ANYWHERE ELSE.......

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank gaz51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

we found hotel and rooms to a four star rating staff and food not as good location ok if you are up soon enough to grab a sunbed drinks over priced and the food in farroes next to hotel a much better deal nice hotel but some how i do not think they cater for the english its ashame for such a nice hotel but we feel we had to make a point

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nellywashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#20 of 234 in Marmaris
2,811 reviews
0.4 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
#24 of 234 in Marmaris
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Romance Hotel Marmaris
Romance Hotel Marmaris
#67 of 234 in Marmaris
309 reviews
1 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.9 mi away
Orsmaris Boutique Hotel
Orsmaris Boutique Hotel
#52 of 234 in Marmaris
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elegance Hotels International, Marmaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegance Hotels International, Marmaris

Address: Siteler Mah. 209 Sk. No:4, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#18 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#18 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#30 Family Hotel in Marmaris
#32 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range: £26 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elegance Hotels International, Marmaris 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turkey's Elegance hospitality welcome. Elegance holiday in Marmaris... Think how much you are special and how you deserve the best of everything... And then imagine an unique nature wrapping you with a warm sun, taking you from wide green areas embellished with palm trees towards the lap of a deep blue sea. Welcome to marmaris, a paradise on earth, where the blue meets with green... The unique sensations at Elegance International, Marmaris... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elegance Hotels International, Marmaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elegance Marmaris
Elegance Hotel Marmaris
Elegance Hotel Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing