We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Club Ako Apartments
Ranked #45 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Club Ako couldn't have been any better, central location, amazing food (we were half board) the food was made individually not buffet, hotel staff couldn't have been more welcoming, rooms were clean and spacious, pool was the perfect temperature,if I went back to turkey I would stay here!!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank MissELG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

soon as we met Mehmet the manager he was lovely everyone couldn't do enough. we had a great holiday August 2013 met lovely people (Elaine and George). the apartments are in a quiet location but close to harbour dolmish only 5 min walk to go anywhere. going back again this year cant wait talking grand kids this time with us.

Room Tip: if you dont like steps choose room on 1st 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Club Ako has to be the friendliest place I have ever stayed abroad. Frankie, Mehmet, Jez, Michael and every member of staff here made us feel like princesses. we had never been to Turkey before, and really didn't know any other words but Merhaba. This caused a great mishap and funny story about milk...so when we were in despair, Mehmet did not hesitate in the slightest to provide us with anything we needed and just charged it to our room. this was the same through the day, I was spotted getting up to go to the shop for cigarettes; I was told to relax and don't worry. Within a minute I had been given a cigarette and within ten minutes I had a pack plonked on my table. We were only here a week, and we didn't want for anything. we ate daily from their restraint area, and were never disappointed. This one is a re-assurer for all the parents out there, who have daughters going away alone; We went to bar street one night, and were with two older women as well. Mehmet insisted we let him know what bars we were visiting, so we did. at 2am, Mehmet had sent two staff to come meet us, to ensure we got back safe instead of walking! We have never had that kind of care anywhere before! We loved Ako and its staff soo much, that we have booked for two weeks in September. I truly cant wait to see everyone again, as I know its going to be amazing! (We are a 25 year old female couple, just to give an idea of age range)

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are really small, but good enough as long as you purchase air con...other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank frankieok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

After reading the great reviews on this Hotel, my husband and I Booked for a two week break over New year. We chose this hotel because it was central to Marmaris town centre. In fact the only thing that was accurate with the description was the central location. But they should not be open to travellers in the winter. The rooms were freezing, there was no food, No bar, the staff were less than useless. We arrived on Friday as booked,threre was no one to be found, the security was asleep in one of the rooms. He gave us our key, and showed us to our room. It was freezing, he turned on the air on to hot air and left. The next morning was raining so my husband asked the receptionist if there was anywhere to eat, he could not understand a word we said. So he telephoned some one and gave the phone to my husband. The chap on the other end said there was no food at hotel but they would get us a taxi to take us somewhere!! Our son in law arrived The beds were damp so we had the air con on full blast to air them, we continually asked to speak to someone as we were not happy at all. But as I say we could not make the fella understand and we saw no one else. The first two days we left the key with him but we noticed he would line up the keys on the top of counter and sleep at night, so in essence anyone could walk in and take our key and let themselves into our apartment. So we then kept our key with us. We arrived in the Friday night but had no one to empty our bins change our towels or beds until the Wednesday which is when I had to ask for clean towels, we tied our own beds and emptied the bins ourself. By the Thursday I was feeling so unwell as it was so damp in the room I contracted a cough. Oh sorry the only thing the fella did say in English was £5 a day for air con. We had no choice but to have it as we would have froze without it. We did hear from someone that the owners of the hotel took in students in the Winter, so that was the only other residents. We went to The Selen hotel in Marmaris and book our final week with them. I could not stand to be in this hotel any longer. We moved on the Friday, our son in law came for our cases and the chap on the desk looked so bewildered when we told him we wanted to leave, he took the £35 air con payment and just stood staring at us. It was a dreadful experience all together. We were so glad we moved for the second week it was making our holiday unbearable. Like I say in the summer the hotel is properly all it states in the holiday reviews and the websites, but it is not meant to be opened in the winter.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank mindymitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We visited Club Ako in May 2013 – before we got there we were quite dubious about the quality of the hotel after booking a 17 night holiday (including flights, transfers and insurance) for under £350 per person. However, when the transfer bus got to the hotel we were shocked that we were the people staying there; it was a clean hotel with a decent sized outside pool with a bar all lit up, with a few people having a late night drink on the patio and an overall great atmosphere. Even though it was past midnight, friendly staff greeted us, carried our suitcases to our room, and offered us food or drinks from the bar.

Our studio room was very basic, but extremely clean (the maids came every day and changed beds every other day – but they gave us a spare towel when we asked) and had basic amenities (hob, pots, pans, small fridge/freezer cutlery etc.). New televisions were installed as we were leaving. There were some reviews on here complaining about the price of the air conditioning: yes it is an added cost, but you’re paying so little for this hotel, and the staff work really hard to keep it nice. It’s better to pay them directly than for it to be added on to the price through travel providers!

From then on these impressions got better. Every member of staff was extremely friendly and helpful, with very few problems with language barriers (even though my partner and I speak little/no Turkish). A couple of the staff were a bit overly friendly at first, but if you make it clear that you’re not interested in that, they do mostly back off, and you can get to know some fantastic guys!

We went not only as two females, but as a lesbian couple. This does not reflect on Club Ako, but we would not recommend Marmaris as a whole. We got a lot of hassle from men, and when we went to restaurants it was often men would come and sit at our table and try to “woo” us; it was noted that heterosexual couples did not often experience this. If you are female (particularly two/more females) in Turkey, you will get a lot of hassle; be prepared to go with a fly swat, because some of the guys struggle to take a hint. However on the plus, very little homophobia!

On a similar note, all the boat sellers will tell you their day long boat tour is best: the best one is the Mega Diana. The hotel staff at Club Ako will be able to book it for you. £25 per person, but it is all day, delicious food, a stopover in a beautiful little beach and lots of places to jump into the sea, unlimited drinks (I can’t remember getting home the first time) and some of the funniest staff members! If you take my advice, tell Captain the lesbians say hi.

The food at Club Ako is quite nice, and the portions are extremely reasonable for the price. Cocktails are around 6 lera, which is the average price around Turkey. There is a handy convenience store a minutes’ walk away from Club Ako. However the BBQ night that was on at Club Ako was delicious – would recommend.

Overall we couldn’t recommend this hotel enough. It was clean, the staff were friendly, prices in and around were reasonable, and it was only a 10/15 minute walk from the beach /marina. Brilliant holiday!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LouisaJane00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We booked a 3 weeks stay at Club Ako in September 2013. Off course we took a look at the reviews on Tripadvisor before we went. For us it was really strange there were (almost) only possitive reviews for this appartment so we became a bit sceptic about it. Nevertheless we went with an open mind, all we need is a clean room, good bed and a proper shower.

When we arrived ( 23:00h) the staff was really helpfull, took our bags to take them to our room before we had the chance. The checkin went really smooth and friendly, within 30 minutes we were already drinking our first Effes at the bar. In the next 4 hours we got to know the staff, and felt really at home. The beds were great, we had a perfect sleep (not only because of the alcohol) and had a nice shower. The next day we couldn't think of anything negative, and we weren't sceptic anymore.

We had 3 wonderfull weeks, and spent a lot of time at the bar and pool of the appartment. We will come back next year in september/oktober for sure, and we are even trying to go in may/june as well!

A lot of thanks to Mehmet and his staff for a lovely stay, and making us feel at home. We'll see you all next year!

Desi and Ray

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ray79_Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Clean family run hotel. After a one week stay I couldn't fault the place. The staff make the hotel a great success due to their very friendly nature, they are all extremely friendly and make you feel like part of their family. The location is good, 5 minutes walk to centre but far enough out to be nice and peaceful. Nice pool, bar and good food with hospitality second to none.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms have the sun all day, rooms to the rear I imagine will be cooler in the height of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cooperman4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.3 mi away
Rosy Hotel
Rosy Hotel
#97 of 234 in Marmaris
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pasabey Hotel
Pasabey Hotel
#38 of 234 in Marmaris
448 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apart Green Park
Apart Green Park
#25 of 234 in Marmaris
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Supreme Hotel Marmaris
Supreme Hotel Marmaris
#63 of 234 in Marmaris
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ozturk Apart
Ozturk Apart
#34 of 234 in Marmaris
362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosy Apart Hotel
Rosy Apart Hotel
#101 of 234 in Marmaris
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Ako Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Ako Apartments

Address: Eski Datca Yolu 89./ 1 Sok | Kemeralti Mah, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
#22 Best Value Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range: £18 - £461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Ako Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Club Ako Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Ako Apartments Hotel Marmaris
Hotel Ako Apartments
Ako Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing