We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“could be lovely with more effort”
Review of Club Dorado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Dorado Hotel
Ranked #91 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“could be lovely with more effort”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Just back from 10 days at Club Dorado. Noisest hotel ive been to,as it is open plan so the noise echos, so didnt get a lot of sleep. Hotel and rooms clean. The maid was the only person to say morning, Was made to feel like second class because you were AI. (they forget we already paid for the holiday) AI people had to use a certain bar for drinks with plastic cups, as the other bar was for paying customers only. First day beer was ok, but then after going out for a real beer, we couldnt drink the beer in the hotel, as it started to taste like toilet cleaner and the plastic cups still had lipstick marks on them. Food was basic, my breakfast consisted of toast. Butter was even disgusting (think it had melted then hardened then melted again several times), beans were cold. never saw any yoghurt or cereal. Very rarely any coffee cups (saw that people was buying their own cups). Food was basic. We was rarely there for lunch as we went to the beach during the day, as not much room round the pool. Evening meals were basic, my partner was struggling to stomach the food so we ventured out and found some lovely places to eat . Would definitely recommend Apex restaurant on corner by hotel, and Pina in Marmaris town - lovely food.
Overall - clean hotel, noisy (could do with false ceiling putting in to stop noise from echoing). Food and drink needs improving. Staff could be more pleasant instead of just smiling after 10.30pm when you have to pay for your drinks. (I did make the excuse that they were probably exhausted as it was the end of season but the odd smile wouldnt have gone amiss).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jwaburtonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, General Manager at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Dear jwaburtonn

Many thanks for you review posted here. Sorry you found the hotel noisy during your stay but short of completely rebuilding it with solid floors between each level the best we are able to do is to ask our guests to be considerate to others. We have placed notices on all floors requesting this and our reception staff regularly ask guests to reduce noise made in the stairways and corridors. The atrium provides a great feature which most guests like and we really don’t get many complaints about guests losing sleep due to disturbance.
We were disappointed to learn that you were unhappy with our breakfast provision. We provide the same selection daily and try to cater for the tastes of all of our guests within the budget we have available. We are concerned that you did not find yoghurt or breakfast cereal as these are generally always available. If these or other food issues had been brought to the attention of the management we would have made special effort to cater for your needs. We regularly provide foods to guests that are not on the buffet menu as some have confirmed in previous reviews. Our drinks for the all-inclusive concept are local brands which are commonly provided in most 3 and 4 star hotels. The beer served during the period of your stay was Tuborg Gold which is a premium priced lager introduced this season at extra cost. We use plastic glasses for safety reasons around the pool area although guests are welcome to ask for glass containers when sitting away from the pool. We have a very good supply of cups and saucers so it’s surprising you did not manage to use them. Some guests choose to use novelty and souvenir mugs because the larger capacity means they don’t have to get so many refills!
We are pleased to learn that your party enjoyed their holiday in Marmaris despite the minor issues you mentioned in the review. We will be introducing a new customer care training programme for the 2013 season and we hope that along with the staff changes intimated in previous responses that these will result in further improvements for our guests, many of whom return regularly.

Best Regards

İbrahim Sayar
Club Dorado

isayar@clubdorado.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    176
    120
    76
    149
See reviews for
224
216
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Third time in Marmaris and only hotel I would never go back to. Cleaners are a credit but most of the other staff are ignorant. Never seen Barmen walk away when they see you approaching for a drink and no matter how many times you said please and thankyou, they just blanked you without even making eye contact.

The food was cold and very repetitive but so cheap elsewhere that you have to eat out.

Alex was very chatty when we arrived on the Monday repeatedly saying Turkish night Friday 25 Lira. On the Thursday he gave up speaking to us as we were not paying 25 lira each on an Ai holiday for something that is free at most hotels(even though the food would`ve been better than the hotel restaurant). It was quite strange sitting in the foyer as part of the restaurant also.

The pool is on the wrong side of the hotel for a day of sun,even half a day of sun and it`d be good if the staff threw the towels in the pool of the ignorant Brits that put towels on the few sunbeds out at 7am and didn`t use them until the shade came at 12ish.

The free bus to Icemeler was bumpy due to the back roads but nice to get away for a day. The walk to the beach in Marmaris is pleasant but hard going with the heat when returning with a smile on your face until you reach the hotel. Then your Ai band feels like a TAG with the staff ignorant again unless you`re a young single girl and then they are like flies round pooh hoping to get their ends away.

The wife and I watched the staff washing the pool area with buckets of water......from the pool and not once did we see the pool itself being cleaned, whether it was morning or evening.

The highlight of our stay here was a 10 year old girl who was holidaying with her family but was alllowed to serve drinks at the Ai bar and smiled,talked and was polite to all the customers. Even though I told the barman she was better than him and he should be like her, nothing changed.

Even on our last day the male receptionist was still telling us not to panic when our pick-up back to the airport was nearly 2 hours late. He finally ordered us a taxi that looked like we would have to push it on the hills but it got us there just in time.

Overall it was a nightmare of a holiday in the hotel with fights,doord banging and shouting till the early hours. Our room was 406 with a pool view but very noisy with the music from the pool area.

Room Tip: Take a room furthest from the pool area if you HAVE to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, General Manager at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Jeff A
Thanks for your review of our hotel. Your comments re staff have been addressed (see responses below) and we will be introducing an extended customer care training programme for our new team in 2013. Our food selection is comparable to other 3 star hotels as is the optional Turkish Night BBQ which would be impossible to provide as part of the AI concept at the rate the hotel receives from tour operators. The hotel location is fixed and short of installing a huge turntable to rotate the property during the last month of the season, there is not much we can do about our exposure to the sun! We do have some sun and for those who want to sunbathe all day we have a free pickup and return shuttle service to a well maintained private beach nearby in Icmeler. Our poolside tiles and café areas are cleaned nightly with water from a hosepipe and the pool itself is tested and chemically treated every day around 6AM in compliance with local council health and safety laws. We always try to make our guests comfortable and even allow some who choose to volunteer to lend a hand. Our hotel is a lively place although we comply with the strict licencing laws locally which prohibit the playing of music after midnight. We have notices on all floors asking guests to consider other guests and our receptionists regularly speak to those who might cause disturbance in the evenings but there is not much more any business can do regarding the noise of doors opening and closing in a shared facility.
We have noted your comments and suggestions and will continue to improve Club Dorado for the 2013 season.

Best Regards


İbrahim Sayar

isayar@clubdorado.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marmaris hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Me and my sister arrived at around 1am on 7th oct 2012, checked in at reception and was asked to leave our passports at reception, which didnt sit to comfortably with me, which i am glad i never as during our week stay 2 girls passports were given to other guest by mistake and they almost missed their flight! we were put on 5th floor which we used the lift for, if thats what u call it, me, my sister and out two suitcases just about fit in this smallest lift i have ever seen, which we got stuck in about twice during our stay.
Room was ok, clean and tidy which is all you can ask for, bathroom not fab and no hot water till around 10am when i asked why? the staff member told me it runs on solar power, but after this happened on the first morning of our stay, it was fine from then on, brekkie= loaf bread, cold meats and cheese olives ect ect! lunch was ok always had chips avilable and dinner was ok also, can always find something to eat. staff are really good at this hotel, friendly, helpful and work really hard, only downside was no enterainment come evening time, which was boring. pool area is quite small and by 8am beds are full up with towels alreday, hotel directly opposite is a real sun trap. purchase a drink from there and they are happy to let you use their beds and pool. location of hotel is good, about a 10min walk down the road and you in the heart of it, catch dolmus either way to icemeler, or marmaris town. did some excursions lazy boat day which was fab, but boat get swamed by annoying wasp when ever it stops, i am not talking abot 10 wasps i am talking about 200 angry annoying wasp.and we did quad safari which was good, dont get your excursions from the induction man, just outside hotel to your right is a excursion shop, ask for man called september! yep thats his name september.
had a turkish night at hotel which we were charged for 25tl which pissed me of, not so much the price but the fact we had to pay! most hotels do this for free.
maids are a real assest to this hotel, clean rooms every ay and bedding towels changed.
good hotel, good staff, good fun.

Room Tip: ask for pool view, it looks out onto main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paichaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, General Manager at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear paichaB

Thanks for your review. Your initial point about passports has been answered in a previous response to those affected. The hotel swiftly replaced the passports in question at considerable expense to ensure our guests travel arrangements were not disrupted. The replacements were organised within 90 minutes (with more than three hours to spare before the guests were due to be picked up at the hotel) and our administration procedures at reception have now been revised to ensure that this error cannot be repeated.
We are pleased you liked our rooms and found the food offered to your taste. The Turkish Night BBQ is an optional extra and very good value at 25TL (£8.60), cheaper than some local competitors and only free in much more expensive 4 and 5 star hotels. Your holiday was around the end of the season and many of our popular evening entertainment acts finish due to education commitments etc. We offer poolside entertainment every evening from May until September and an exciting new programme is being planned for next year, come and enjoy!

Best Regards

İbrahim Sayar

isayar@clubdorado.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Well......where do I start!! I thought I would go with a positive first....and perhaps if I can end in a positive as I like to be fair, but the middle will be negative negative negative!!!

The actual hotel is fine, rooms ok size, clean and maid service daily.

However!!!

We arrived to be fronted by sexually inappropriate comments and actions (namely Alex) and highly ignorant staff (Reggit) who ignored us, made snappy personal comments (commenting on how much 1 of our party drank, saying she would die early and could she leave the hotel early and go to the airport the day before the flight) He shouted at some of us, left the bar area when he saw us approaching and generally made us feel uncomfy. Alex was drunk most of the time and was even caught with staff shovelling food down him in an attempt at sobering him up. He was seen drinking vodka at 7am.

On the first night, the evening meal was inedible as mainly slop and cold chips and everything had tomato in it, of which I am allergic. As we had gone down to dinner at 7.30 there was barely anything left anyway so after travelling from UK for many hours, we couldnt even eat anything so were left really hungry. On 1 day there was a chicken kebab spit which was lush and a couple of outher days it was ok, but was barely 20% of the meals of the whole holiday.

the next morning I was straight in the hotel owners office complaining and he promised me he would speak to staff and have a word with the chef......not sure if he did as there were still lots of meals with tomato in (even in the baked beans), so I was hungry to the point of me complaining a few more times so the owner actually got the chef to cook me a chicken breast so I could actually eat!! As it was we discovered a nice place to eat 2 mins down the road called Apex where the food was reasonably priced and tasted good. Sarahs (across the road) is OK but slow...we waited about an hour for a full english) The supermarket a few doors down is ran by Alex's family.....but they think he is off the wall too!

I think I spent more time in the owners office than at the pool side.....my friend had been brought to tears by such rude staff and we really wanted to change hotel. Our rep Ray was helpful and his manager rang to try and help us out but our holiday company didnt get back in touch so the move never happened, and as we met some lovely folk around the pool it would have been a double edged sword to move.

A 5th member of our party came out on a later flight and was put in honeymoon suite but was told she would have to move at a later time. the air con unit leaked water in her bags. We also noted lots of arrivals were shipped off to other hotels due to over booking....whats that all about?

The whole pool set up was a bit odd as where they had the sunbeds, there was limited sun and where they had bar tables....had sun all day. Staff seemed more interested in playing pool and watching football. If you were young girlies they seemed to bend over backwards but if you were not interested in what they had to offer (keeping it clean here), they made it clear they werent happy and treated you very differently. Reggit had an epi by 10.20 pm as folk would be at the bar to get their last AI drinks in and he would shout at them or slam drinks down infront of them....we later found that he had to get off to his other job in bar st....but no excuse to be a grumpy so and so!

Saying that there were some members who were lovely: Mehmet, Ozgun, Emrah (we called Bruno Marrs), and Ibo (the hotel owner) and his mother, Sarah. They were chatty, even though may not have been fluent in English, but they made the effort.....even came to see us off when we left (but we think it was to see us definitely leave!!)

I wouldnt want Ibo to feel we are slating his hotel for no reason but the main problems there was his staff and food.......he did assure us that the staff would not be staying there but after telling us Alex was sacked on so many occasions....his leaving day never seemed to materialise.

I think this hotel has so much potential....its not too far from the main beach and shops, its a size which means it facilitates folk getting to know each other round the pool....which was an absolute saver for this holiday as we met some cracking folk. I just think things need jigging around rather than the staff being after giggy giggy!! The entertainment needs serious review as break dancers every night for 2 weeks is mind numbing and the humour comedy stuff is pretty lame!!

Im sure that if these points are taken on board and things are monitored and dealt with effectively, this could be a popular little hotel. I hope reviews are listened to by hotel staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank sassyTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, Guest Relations Manager at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear SassyTT

Thanks for your review, we are pleased you liked your rooms and the cleanliness of the hotel. We have made some changes to our staffing in light of comments made both here and to the hotel management which we hope resolve the experience you detailed. We offer a wide range of food and tomatoes feature in lots of dishes, not all though, as it is a popular staple food (baked beans are normally served in tomato sauce!). Dinner is served between 7PM and 9PM and it is puzzling to read that there was a shortage of food at 7:30PM! With soup, three main courses, extensive salad range, breads and a sweet selection daily it’s hard to believe that anyone could not find something to make a meal. I am pleased to read that we went out of our way and were able to satisfy you with a specially prepared meal after management were made aware of your requirements, a little unfair to expect the hotel to cater for special dietary requests on the first night unless they were notified in advance.
Our computer booking system suffered a major crash with the loss of some booking information and that resulted in some over bookings which we dealt with by providing similar or upgraded hotel accommodation for those affected. Over bookings result in additional expense and the deployment of valuable staff resources and we make every effort to prevent them but when they happen we accept responsibility and do our best to make any relocation as seamless as possible for our customers.
We are pleased you had a good time with the other guests around the pool and we have taken note of your comments for our 2013 season. We always read reviews and we will do our upmost to deliver a high quality experience for our customers within the limits of our 3 star price range.

Best Regards

Club Dorado
isayar@clubdorado.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Best holiday I've ever had!
Staff are all lovely and will go out of there way to help you.
Alex is a very funny man, he helped me make a few friends so thanks Alex!
he had me working behind the all inclusive bar on my last day, and i enjoyed helping out i have a t-shirt for memories of it

the only bad thing i can say about this hotel is the beds are a little uncomfortable
i'm a fussy eater and the food was fine for me.

Going to start saving now so i can come back next year!

Thanks guys!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, Owner at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Joel M

Many thanks for your review, we are pleased to learn that you had a good time with us. Thanks for your help at the bar and keep wearing the tee-shirt! We will be making some renovations in 2013 and your comments regarding the beds have been noted. Glad you enjoyed the food selection and look forward to serving you again next year.

Best Regards

isayar@clubdorado.net

Club Dorado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I would like to take the opportunity to say that the holiday I went on August this year was absolutely amazing, the best holiday I have ever been on! I spent the holiday with my girls, we had an absolute amazing time, a special shout out to Alex He made us feel very welcome at all times nothing was ever to much bother for him :) many thanks, cardiff girls x

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky-ccfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, Owner at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Becky-ccfc

Thanks for taking time to write a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Club Dorado in August. Best wishes from all of us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

All the best from Sunny Marmaris :)

isayar@clubdorado.net

Club Dorado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

from1st october to 16th october the hotel room was clean and freah towels maids did more for us then the staff in thehotel.the food was disgusting and same everyday except chicken in different sauces terrible.never saw a bacon slice or sausage.for their turkish night they wanted you to pay 25lira for exactly same food absolutely would not reccomend this hotel to anyone.everyone we spoke to said the same.location 10min walk which was good as we were out of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank janet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, General Manager at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear janet m,

Thank you for your kind comments about the rooms and the cleaning. We are disappointed that we did not find the food selection to your taste. Firstly, bacon does not feature in muslim countries!! Our breakfast selection includes cereals, yoghurt,, eggs,(scrambled, boiled, fried) sausage, baked beans, cheese variety, salads, jam, honey, olives, chocolate and a variety of bread. Lunch and dinner always include three main courses including beef, lamb, chicken, pasta, pizza, salads, chips, rice, wedges, mashed potato. grilled or boiled vegetables, soups, sweets including pudding, cakes and fresh fruit. We are surprised that you felt unable to find an acceptable meal from the selection detailed.
Turkish night buffet is an optional extra and the food prepared is quite different from that served as part of our all inclusive package. Turkish night (BBQ) buffet has chicken doner kebap, shish kebap, lamb steak, grilled chicken, special Turkish salads and sweets. Our Turkish night provides guests with 6 or more live acts whether they choose to buy the otional BBQ or not.
Thank you for the kind words regarding our location, we are indeed fairly close to not only the beach but all of the major places that visitors enjoy in Marmaris.

Best Regards

İbrahim Sayar

Club Dorado

isayar@clubdorado.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.5 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel Marmaris
Blue Lagoon Hotel Marmaris
#161 of 234 in Marmaris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Supreme Hotel Marmaris
Supreme Hotel Marmaris
#43 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aegean Princess
Aegean Princess
#32 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Adonis Hotel Marmaris
Adonis Hotel Marmaris
#54 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Club Viva Hotel
Club Viva Hotel
#37 of 234 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Club Turquoise
Club Turquoise
#42 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Dorado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Dorado Hotel

Property: Club Dorado Hotel
Address: Merkez Mahallesi Sehit Ahmet Benler Caddesi Sayar Sokak No 2, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Dorado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Club Dorado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ares Hotel Armutalan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing