We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best holiday ever”
Review of Club Dorado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Dorado Hotel
Ranked #91 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best holiday ever”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend had a simply fantastic stay at club dorado and appreciated how hard the staff work, especially joe who seemed to work 24/7 , location is perfect as your not right in the bustling area of the marina but your within easy reach via the bus which stops outside the hotel every 10 minutes, food was very good although maybe a little repatative but was good enough, the larger was nice and cold rooms where cleaned to a fantastic standard daily even though we gave no tip , air con was if anything too cold! Great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelk1ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, Owner at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear michaelk1ng
It was a pleasure reading you review about your holiday. We are pleased you found our location suited your needs well and that you thought our selection of food was good enough. The lager provided is very nice when chilled on a hot summer day and we are sure you definitely enjoyed the air conditioning when the outside temperature was in the 40C+ region! Pleased to read that you had a happy holiday at Club Dorado this year.
Best regards from all of us in Turkey.

isayar@clubdorado.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    176
    120
    76
    149
See reviews for
224
216
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Had written a review on this hotel previously but it did not fall within the guidelines of trip advisor.The term of you get what you pay for isn't true, the food is ok for 8 days then becomes tedious so we tended to eat out rather than sit through the 10 minutes of free entertainment provided which you are expected to pay for. The dj plays the same music every single night and has no entertaining skills whatsoever, the drinks are the cheapest to be found in Turkey, even Aldi comes up trumps in comparison, as confirmed by Simon, head bar man,If you have any issues do not expect a quick response as we waited nearly a week to see the big boss Ikram regarding an issue where our 12 year old daughter was touched up by a member of staff who is still working there.
We spent two weeks at this hotel, pool is ok but too deep for young non swimmers,sunbeds are usually hard to get if you get up any later than 7am.
Plus points...the staff do as much as they can to entertain and keep the kids happy, which for an all inclusive is going some as they do not include ice cream as part of the deal, although this is cheaper at the supermarket across the road.
The hotel is always very clean yet little things like ripped shower curtains, string to flush toilets are all bearable.
If you do decide to stay, make sure you ask about air con, as we didn't get any the entire time we spent here, due to the receptionist failing to give us a remote which we didn't realise we were entitled too.All in all it was the guests who made the holiday fun and this is one place we shall never be visiting again

Room Tip: pool side rooms have a great view, and the music from downstairs isn't too bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank djdouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, Owner at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Djdouge
We have read this review and consider that it contains allegations that are outwith the terms and conditions of the Trip Advisor website. It begins with a reference to visit another website where libellous comments were posted and have been removed as they were in breach of that sites terms and conditions. An allegation has been repeated in the text of this review about a member of our staff which was never substantiated and despite our suggestion no police investigation was sought. We do not feel it is right to have unsubstantiated claims of serious abuse published by people using a nickname. We would ask that Trip Advisor consider the actions of this contributor and take action to edit the offending allegation or delete the review completely. You will note that we take all reviews seriously and respond to each contributor in a courteous manner but we do not wish to become involved in a public discussion about a misunderstanding between two teenagers that we consider was completely blown out of proportion. We sincerely hope that you will take prompt action to ensure that your site is not abused with false accusations like the one included in this review.
We look forward to your confirmation of our comments regarding the review.

isayar@clubdorado.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I came to this hotel on the 2nd , after reading all bad reviews I made my own mind up and what a great time me my wife teenage son people should concentrate on having a fun holiday not looking at the bad and more of the good , the staff always tries hard they even go to the bookies to put your footy bets on what hotel staff do that for ye GREAT LADS keep up the good work , reception is more than helpfull

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Footyneilhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, Owner at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Footieneilhull
Cheers for the review about your recent stay. We are pleased you found our staff helpful and that you had a ‘great time’ with your wife and son. You arfe right that a holiday is what you make it and we try to provide the right environment with a focus on value for money. Nice picture of your lad with the cat by the pool, that is not the hotel cat but it has made Dorado it’s home because many guests keep feeding and petting it! We are pleased to note that you got good service from our reception and that you got some help with your betting slip! We hope you got a winner!
Hope to see you again in the future. All the best.

isayar@clubdorado.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Hotel nice and clean. Rooms cleaned well everyday. room basic but more than adequate hotel staff were fab very pleasant helpful and friendly. Joe is amazing he makes the stay very pleasant he is so funny. Food ok but needs to be more variety of meat but salad selection amazing. Breakfast was a bit of a let down as as it seemed to be eggs and beans everyday.
Murat our rep was very friendly and welcoming and has great knowledge of marmaris. But would shop around for trips.

Room Tip: third floor great for the sun in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, Owner at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Louise G
We are pleased to read that you found our hotel clean and that the staff were friendly and helpful. We note your comment about the food on offer and we are trying to increase the range on offer each week. We offer cereals, fresh fruit, honey, preserves, cold meats, cheeses and salads at breakfast in addition to the different types of eggs and beans daily. Not quite a Full English we know but that is available for less than £2 from the outdoor snack bar. We are pleased you found Murat’s local knowledge useful, he has been of great assistance to many guests regardless of whether they have bought their holiday from his company or not. Thak-You for such a pleasant and positive review.
Best regards from the owners and staff at Club Dorado.

isayar@clubdorado.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2013

very nice food good variety,very helpful staff and rep ,good place to get around bus runs every 15 mins take to town beach only 2 lira pp,local people nice friendly,only ten min walk from water park on the hill is water park on beach but hill one better .very hot



  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Co-operative Travel

Helpful?
Thank Tannia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, Owner at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Tannia C
Thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you enjoyed the food, staff, location and the assistance of our resident holiday representative. You are right about the heat in Marmaris in summer. It was over 40C many days in July and August so you need plenty of sun cream! Sounds like you had a good time with us and we thank you for your kind comments and four stars.
All the best from all of us at the hotel.

isayar@clubdorado.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at this lovely hotel. Having read some of the reviews we were prepared to expect some disappointments. How wrong were we! I really do not know what people expect for the money. This hotel is well worth a 3*. Extremely clean everywhere. Room cleaned and new towels every day. The cleaning staff are constantly cleaning....whether it be restaurant, windows, outside area.
Food. It is always hard to cater for every ones needs. I feel the chef came "up trumps". There was always a great variety. Plenty of fresh salad, meat dishes, pasta and even chicken nuggets or burgers and chips .......which I don't particularly like to see. Hello? We are in a foreign country and expect to eat their tasty cuisine. But alas I know its for the stereotypical British :-(
Drinks. Well ok, the all inclusive finishes at 10.30pm. But you are able to buy from the bar at very reasonable prices and to be honest come 1am its definitely time for bed!
The entertainment was brill but at the end of the day its what you make it. The staff are very friendly and we made some great friends with them (Joe and Simon) and fellow residents.
We will definitely be revisiting next fingers crossed and taking with us our 3 children aged 17 and 16. They will love it!
Money for value? MOST DEFINITELY. If you want 4/5 * then pay for it!

Room Tip: Top floors have the most amazing views of Marmaris and the Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, Owner at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Justine F
Many thanks for your positive review about your recent holiday at Club Dorado. We are delighted that you have mentioned how clean the hotel is and how well our cleaning staff work every day. Your comments will be passed on to them. Great to know that you liked the range of food on offer. We would like if all guests tried some Turkish dishes but have to play safe with the burgers and chicken nuggets especially for children who don’t always like to be adventurous. You are 100% right about the all-inclusive timing and we do our best to ensure that we offer a range of promotional drinks each night at our pool bar. 4TL for a large beer is very reasonable we think as is our nightly cocktail deal with two for just 8TL (That’s about £1.35 per drink). Pleased to learn that you enjoyed the entertainment and found our staff friendly and helpful. We would be very happy if you come back again and hope you will bring your children as well next time. Cheers for the ‘value for money’ confirmation, that’s what we are all about!
Best regards until next time.

isayar@clubdorado.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Hull
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My 2 kids and I have just returned from 9 nights at the Club Dorado. The reviews I had read prior to going had probably set my expectations just right.

The place is lovely and clean from ground level upwards, however, the basement and pool toilets stunk to high heaven and from what I could see were rarely cleaned.

Our room, even with a 3rd bed shoehorned in, was perfectly sized, and the aircon was a godsend albeit you couldn't leave it on whilst out of the room and had to begin the cooling down process from scratch each time you return. Much more expensive process than leaving on 24/7 I might add.

Only had 3 coat hangers in wardrobe but couldn't be bothered complaining and just lived out of suitcases instead.

Food -
Breakfast, not worth getting out of bed for. Have a lie in and pay £2 at the pool bar for a full English.
Lunch and Dinner were hit and miss from day to day. Kids enjoyed selecting their own choices and had their fill every day, whereas, I was a little more discerning, and on several occasions ended up paying for a la carte at the pool bar, which I was expecting and ok with.
As seen in previous reviews they cant budget 5* food for 3* £££ so as long as you expect to be eating out a little you will be fine.

Drinks - Tolerable. Soft drinks were cheap imitations and tasted as such. Only tried Vodka with Orange and it did what it said on the tin and got me merry. I did try the pay cocktails from pool bar and it didn't look like they put much booze in TBH. I certainly felt that the Fish Bowls were poor value when you see how much Ice/Booze/Juice ratio.

Entertainment - Bill did his DJ thing which was fine and sufficient but each evening at 22:30 this gave way to a pointless 10 minutes of 'ACT' followed by the act then begging for payment from the guests. The only one I was looking forward to was the magic act who got cancelled at the last minute because of a broken finger. The Friday night Turkish night kept getting cancelled because they need 50 people to pay 25TL and this was a struggle at an All Inclusive hotel. They tried rebranding it as a Special Turkish BBQ just before we left. I would be interested to hear if this was a success.

There is a guy called Murat who brands himself as your Hotel Rep. Be aware that he is little more than an excursion sales man. DO NOT rely on him to confirm return transfers or sort out other problems as you will be disappointed and potentially up the proverbial creek.as one couple found themselves when their coach pick up didn't show.

Terry down the road has been reviewed many times regarding trips.
He is only interested in keeping his Trip Advisor review up so if you don't like his service or get a substandard trip from him he'll just throw in a freebie, usually a night dinner cruise providing you praise him on Trip Advisor
Don't expect to get everything that they tell you is included in the price, and expect to get upsold virtually everywhere.

eg. Jeep Safari £10-15. You then have to pay 10tl to hire a water gun and another 5tl for water to put in the gun. If all people in the Jeep refuse you end up getting for free because they don't want their DVD they are filming to be ruined by a boring jeep not participating.

Turkish Bath £8-10. Told by Murat and Terry that I would get 20 min soap massage 30 min oil massage etc. In reality it was 10 mins all together, however, for extra 30TL you could extend the massage to 30 mins or 30TL you could get a face mask or 20TL for Jacuzzi etc etc. you get the idea.

Slight issue with Health and Safety in that light and smoke boxes were put in unsuitable locations on the bar and my inquisitive 3 yr old got her hands into the smoke machine whilst it was passive. She got quite a nasty burn on 3 of her fingers which was compensated by free icecream for the rest of the trip which she was happy with (Thanks Barry). Bill did say that the equipment was new and they were waiting to install is properly elsewhere. They maybe should have done that in the first place.

The big thing I cannot reconcile about most of the reviews on here is the service but after thinking long and hard here is my conclusion.
If you're female, you will get good service, if you're not, you won't get such good service.
The bar staff generally are appear to place a large focus on the ladies, and it is hugely embarrassing to see. I could be waiting at the bar to pay a large bill and they would blank me in favour of flirting with the ladies. Flirting is fine.......after they've done their jobs!

The times we did get attention were when my 2 young girls were with me, 5 and 3. The physical attention paid particularly to my 3 year old made me squirm a bit. I'd heard Turkish similar to Egyptians adore blonde female children so I was prepared a little, but, I wish the barmen, the same barmen that are continually flirting instead of doing the jobs, would not assume it is OK to lay their hands on my kids, and be more respectful of the guests.

The thing that made this holiday were the other guests. The setup around the pool was perfect for interacting with others and I am happy to say we left with so many more wonderful friends than we arrived with.

We overall had an enjoyable time and would absolutely return to the Club Dorado for years to come. Obviously I am a little wiser from the slightly negative aspects of this trip and this will make future trips even better.
There are one or two tricks to getting good service from the bar staff ;-)

Room Tip: We had 402 right by the lift and didn't suffer any noise issues. Balcony overlooks the side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hull-Dingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, Owner at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Hull-Dingle
What a comprehensive review, we are very grateful you have taken so much time to write it. We are pleased you found the room comfortable and sorry you did not have enough hangers. Next time you visit please ask and we will get you as many as you need. Your review of the all-inclusive food is interesting and realistic, we expect most visitors would want to experience some variety outwith the hotel if they stay over a week. Good to know your kids enjoyed what was on offer and that you found a good balace for your own needs between the buffet and the a la carte café. Alcohol in Turkey is more expensive than in the UK but we do try and be a generous as possible when preparing cocktails and fish bowls at the pool bar. As we don’t have optics a lot depends on who makes them though! Sorry the Magic show got cancelled but as you stated the performer had an injury, as did others during the period of your stay and we had some difficulties getting replacements at short notice. It iis quite common in all hotels in Turkey for performers to seek gratuities as they have a short season in which to make a living for the whole year. We did manage to put on a great Turkish night last week and have posted some photos on our Facebook page, as you stated we have to make it viable and need numbers to offer it. Thankfully the hotel has been at capacity lately so we have been able to offer our full entertainment programme. Our smoke machines have now been located properly with guards on them to prevent a repeat of the accident you mentioned. Staff were a little too enthusiastic setting them up to try them when they first arrived! Good to know the youngster fully recovered quickly and found the compensation offered acceptable. Your comments about staff priorities and behaviour have been noted and will be the subject of some discussion at our next staff meeting, thanks for your honest comment. We have been quite happy to read all of your comments and will definitely take aboard what you have stated as we think you have made a very fair and balanced review. It’s great to know that despite a few small issues you would come back again for years to come, we hope you will as you will be very welcome and you now have the lie of the land…..hope to see you and your family again soon.
Best regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.5 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel Marmaris
Blue Lagoon Hotel Marmaris
#162 of 234 in Marmaris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Supreme Hotel Marmaris
Supreme Hotel Marmaris
#44 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aegean Princess
Aegean Princess
#32 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Adonis Hotel Marmaris
Adonis Hotel Marmaris
#53 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Club Viva Hotel
Club Viva Hotel
#39 of 234 in Marmaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Club Turquoise
Club Turquoise
#42 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Dorado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Dorado Hotel

Property: Club Dorado Hotel
Address: Merkez Mahallesi Sehit Ahmet Benler Caddesi Sayar Sokak No 2, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Dorado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Club Dorado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ares Hotel Armutalan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing