We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Club Dorado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Club Dorado Hotel
Ranked #100 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just came back from staying at this hotel. Yes it's advertised as a 3 star hotel and that's exactly what it is, don't expect 5 star treatment and luxury when your not paying a 5 star price. Both my son and myself enjoyed our stay, the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Plastic children's breakers should only be for the children, not for everybody's drinks, I think this should be changed, were not children we can handle a bigger proper glass,

Food on the whole was pretty ok, certainly breakfast could do with more variety, even yogurt would b a plus. Friday night is Turkish night, ... BBQ this was really nice and the best entertainment of the week. Well worth £8

Sun beds, this was a bone of contention unless your up at the crack of dawn or like some people bribed the staff to put your towel out for you, you had no chance of getting a sunbed,
They should move the tables back and put another row of sunbeds out, this getting rid of the fight for sunbeds.

This hotel caters for all, whether its a family, couples or solo's just watch out for the big muscled rep, bit of a smooth talking ladies man,

Our trip was spoilt on the last night when a fight broke out between the locals, pretty violent and disturbing,

Room Tip: Bring an alarm clock to get you up early to put your towel out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, Owner at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Debbie W
Thanks for your review, we are pleased you and your son enjoyed your holiday and found our rating accurate. We always listen to feedback and we did change the type of plastic glasses during the summer but the replacements were not dishwasher safe and we had to revert to the beakers that you mentioned. We will keep trying to find an alternative but for safety reasons they have to be plastic for use around the pool. Glad you liked the food and the Turkish barbecue night, we like to think it’s a bit special and that it is great value for money. Sorry you did not find yoghurt but we do offer it each breakfast time. It’s not in individual pots but in a large bowl for serving next to the preserves so you can mix it with fruit, jam, honey or cereals. Your suggestion about additional sunbed provision has been noted along with comments from others and we will look at ways to increase the number available for next season. It’s a pity your last day was disturbed by the serious incident that took place close to the hotel. Sadly we don’t have control of the streets around the premises but that was particularly rare and will result in a lengthy criminal court case.
Best regards form all at Club Dorado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

myself an 2 children (ages 14 and 17) stayed here 9th until 16th august and loved it.looking at prices for next year.2 weeks next time.its hard to find fault with this hotel.yes its basic but its clean.the food was lovely.home made soup everyday,lovely salads ect. breakfast was ok,plenty to eat.the staff were always friendly and fun.joe made the holiday.so funny.loved the music by the pool.even though it was a bit crackly at times.we really enjoyed the night time entertainment.they try so hard to please everyone.ive read reviews about favouritsm towards women.i never saw that from any of the staff.getting a sunlounger was a problem,but theres not much space for anymore.the rooms were cleaned most mornings,although at least 2 days the bathroom wasnt cleaned at all.air con excellent.we were really sad to leave.well done all of you.i am i single parent and save hard all year for our summer holiday.worth every penny.thank you.we will definately be back!!!

Room Tip: we had a garden room on 3rd floor.slight noise from kids in and out of lifts but not really a proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, Owner at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Sharon K
Many thanks for your review, we are delighted to learn that you plan on returning next year for longer! Great to know you enjoyed the food provided and that you found the hotel clean and the staff friendly. We will have to get that speaker system by the pool replaced as soon as possible as we have had a few guests mention the distortion. Sunbeds are limited by space as in most hotels but we usually have sufficient for our capacity. Your comment and others on trip advisor have made us think how we can add additional sunbeds in the space available for next season. Sorry your bathroom was not serviced on two of your days, this is unusual and must have been an oversight when cleaning staff were interrupted. Next time you visit please let our reception know if the standard of room servicing is not met and we will ensure the cleaning is carried out to your satisfaction. Great to learn that you thought your savings were well spent on your hotel. We appreciate that times are tough now and that everyone is trying to get the most value for their money, so your final comments are highly valued.
Look forward to welcoming you and your family back in 2014.
Regards from all the staff at Club Dorado

isayar@clubdorado.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I have recently come back from staying at Club Dorado with my husband for 10 days. I had read reviews on here before hand & they were very mixed so we went with an open mind, some people love it and some people didn't enjoy their stay, I can only give our honest opinion and experiences of our time there.

Pros:
1. The rooms were basic but cleaned daily and were very neat & tidy
2. Free WiFi in the hotel however the signal strength was poor around the pool
3. Hotel provides inflatables for the pool
4. The young boys work really hard and are always pleasant
5. Good location for the bus, beach, shopping etc
6. Even though the pool area isn't big this helps to socialise and chat to other guests
7. Murat (hotel rep) arranged both our excursions and transfers to the airport with no problem and was very helpful with information too.
8. During our stay I think one of the managers families were visiting so they put on a chicken kebab for lunch time which was really nice and a big hit with the guests.
9. Turkish BBQ night was one of the best nights for entertainment, we didn't eat the BBQ as we were all inclusive and they wanted people to pay 25Lira each for food so we just ate in the hotel restaurant instead.
10. Late check out available which we used however they will look after your suitcases if not.
11. We also enjoyed the snake act that was shown one night.

Cons:
1. Stray cats and dogs roam around the hotel, drink from the pool and the cat was seen up at the breakfast buffet eating the ham.
2. There is a bit of a fight for sunbeds, you have to get up early to get one and some people were getting up at 3am to put towels out to reserve one. If you go out for the morning then there was no chance there would be a free sunbed come dinner time and people would have to sunbathe using the chairs from the tables.
3. Reception staff aren't very helpful
4. Food becomes repetitive
5. Ice-creams aren't included in the all-inclusive which usually wouldn't be a problem but they charge 3x the price of the supermarket over the road.
6. Pool was seen being cleaned twice using chemicals but none of the flitters were ever cleaned.
7. The same CD was played all day and night, the staff also turn the music up to high and the speakers cant handle it making it annoying to listen to.
8. Very close to a main road and no gates etc to stop small children wondering off.
9. Childrens pool was always full of adults so the children couldn't use it
10. Entertainment was advertised daily on chalk boards and there was a couple of times when it never happened (Simon couldn't get the England vs Scotland football match on the tv which they had promised they would be showing)
11. When the entertainment did show up it was only 5-10mins long and this was repeated each week.
12. We found that the hotel probably isn't the best for couples as the staff don't give you much attention, they were more bothered with families with children or young groups of girls that they could flirt with.
13. The all-inclusive drinks were served in small beakers so people would have to visit the bar more often which then caused big queues.
14. Lift door doesn't close properly which is very dangerous, they have put a warning sign inside the lift but no effort to get the problem fixed.
15. Plug socket in our room had live lose wires hanging out of it which was directly inline with the bed (head level).

Overall we didn't have a terrible time however it wasn't fantastic either, we enjoyed our holiday but this was mainly due to making friends with other guests that were in the hotel, we had some lovely trips to the beach which is worth visiting and I would defiantly visit Turkey again just probably not this hotel. I am aware that Club Darodo is a 3* all-inclusive hotel so we didn't go with high expectations but there is room for improvement.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, Owner at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear sarah m
Thanks for your comprehensive review which seems to repeat a lot of what was stated in a previous review below by nkki k. We are glad you liked the location and the standard of cleanliness but we find some of the ‘pros and cons’ contradictory. For example Pro 4 states “The young boys work really hard and are always pleasant” (waiting staff), yet Con 12 states “the staff don't give you much attention, they were more bothered with families with children or young groups of girls that they could flirt with”. We are not quite sure which one is the true opinion. We have already explained many of the points made in the long list of cons but will address the ones which we consider most important. We can’t do much about stray animals which guests regularly befriend and feed and we don’t serve ham other than with full English breakfasts. If food is contaminated by stray animals we would expect to be notified promptly so that the damaged items can be withdrawn and replaced. We have a reasonable number of sun beds available plus a large sun area with comfortable seating and a shaded area. The number of beds provided is the maximum allowable in the space available. It may be the case that your impression of the reception staff was unfavourable but it is not true to state that they are unhelpful as a fact. In all hotels menus are repeated and we have a very wide range of offerings over the course of a week. It is not true that a special lunch was arranged because of a visitor, we offer an outdoor chicken kebab lunch once every week. Of course ice creams are cheaper in a supermarket! 3TL for a Callipo in the market compared with 3.5TL at the hotel (a difference of 50 Kurus or about 15p), worth walking across the street to save? Our pool meets the standard required for health and safety and is inspected and tested regularly by pool hygiene specialists. The children’s pool is definitely not always full of adults although some do accompany very small children using it. We have not been made aware of any parental dissatisfaction relating to the use of the small pool this season. Our location is next to a main road and we expect parents to supervise their children to keep them safe. Each year hundreds of children of all ages enjoy an incident free holiday at the hotel and we don’t feel it’s appropriate to put barriers around the entrances as that would make access extremely difficult for everyone. We don’t use a CD for daytime music playback (we use a Turkish music TV channel that plays current hits, similar to Capital FM) and we have already noted the distortion comment which will be addressed. Entertainment is never only 5 minutes long, it’s always at least 10 minutes of live performance and can be up to 30 minutes (on Turkish night it several acts appear from 9:30PM until midnight), plus we have a DJ every night from 9:30PM until midnight including staff shows nightly. Entertainment like the menu is on a weekly rotation and has been designed to cater for the vast majority of guests who stay only one week. The small glasses we use are the same as in most local all-inclusive hotels and we have tried different types lately but found them not to be dishwasher suitable. The only time we experience queues at our all-inclusive bar is just before it closes as guests stock up for the rest of the evening at 10:20PM. The lift door is not dangerous although there is a small gap in the internal doors which would require major works to completely rectify. We have placed a warning notice in the lift to advise guests to take extra care, therefore we are aware of the issue and have not had any incidents or complaints regarding it. We will hopefully have the lift refurbished after the season has ended as the work involved would make life very difficult for elderly or disabled people who need the use of the lift. Looking at the photo posted it would appear your telephone socket was damaged. We are disappointed that we did not receive notification about this as we have a full time technician who could have easily rectified the issue promptly. We appreciate some of your comments but found many of them exaggerated and don’t know why it was necessary to repeat the same things that were stated in a previous review. We are pleased you found the place had the right atmosphere to make some new friends and that your stay was reasonably enjoyable.

Best Regards

isayar@clubdorado.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is my 4th time in Marmaris and my 4th hotel, and so far this has been the best hotel.
I went with my fiancé for 10 days and had a very enjoyable stay.
After reading some of the reviews I was a bit apprehensive though I am aware tht people do exaggerate.
Firstly the room itself was perfect, cleaned everyday and fresh towels everyday. The only recommendation I would make would be to add a fridge but that's not a necessity. The air con was fantastic, I actually ended up wearing a blanket most nights.
The food was basic enough but there is always at least one thing you can eat, however if you can't the food in marmaris is unbelievably cheap so you may as well eat out.
The all inclusive drinks were fantastic, the fact is for all the amount you pay for all inclusive it is worth it for the soft drinks, juice and water you drink during the day alone! Imagine paying 3-5 lira a pop!
The staff (bar staff in particular) worked their socks off, constantly working, cleaning and trying to please guests. Jo-jo in particular was very good with the kids, Simon was very gd with all guests and the 2 young lads behind the bar were very friendly. I have to say this has been the first hotel in marmaris I've stayed at where the staff haven't been sleazy, and taking girls out after shifts and toppin up their drinks. Everyone is treated the same.
Murat the rep gets a bad name on here, yes he is pushy but he is only doing his job. He is actually very helpful, even if you don't buy any excursions from him.
My only complaint would be the receptionist, the youngish one with the moustache. He is the most unfriendly/unhelpful receptionist I have seen, if you ever had a probl
His response was 'its broken' without even looking or attempting to fix it. Apart from him all other staff members are fantastic.
So if you want a nice, clean hotel with excellent value for money, stay at dorado.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sherwood89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, Owner at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Sherwood89
Many thanks for your review. We greatly appreciate and respect the opinions of someone who has had experience of Marmaris previously. Thanks for your appreciation of our room standards, we try very hard to ensure our guests have clean and fresh facilities daily. Fridges are on the agenda but it may be another year before we have enough to invest in that improvement but we are keen to upgrade as soon as possible. We are glad you found we had something you found attractive on our buffet daily and as you rightly state eating out is very reasonable locally if you fancy something special. How right you are about the drinks, most simply don’t consider the cost of buying soft drinks by the pool all day when the heat is 40C+. Your 3-5TL a pop for daily soft drinks is right and that can add up to a substantial amount over the course of a holiday. Thanks for your comments about the staff, they have been trained to treat guests with respect and whilst they have to be friendly not to become too familiar or intrusive. Your recognition of this is appreciated as far too often holiday venues suffer spurious allegations about inappropriate staff behaviour. Your comments about Murat are 100% correct, the guy provides assistance regardless to everyone whether they are his customers or not and he helps out those who don’t book his excursions often. Sorry you had a poor experience with reception, we will investigate that to make sure others don’t get that also. We are very pleased with your last comment about our ‘clean hotel with excellent value for money’, because that is exactly what we want to be known for.
Many thanks for your recommendation to others. Please choose us for your next visit to Marmaris.
Best Regards.

isayar@clubdorado.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend had a simply fantastic stay at club dorado and appreciated how hard the staff work, especially joe who seemed to work 24/7 , location is perfect as your not right in the bustling area of the marina but your within easy reach via the bus which stops outside the hotel every 10 minutes, food was very good although maybe a little repatative but was good enough, the larger was nice and cold rooms where cleaned to a fantastic standard daily even though we gave no tip , air con was if anything too cold! Great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelk1ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, Owner at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear michaelk1ng
It was a pleasure reading you review about your holiday. We are pleased you found our location suited your needs well and that you thought our selection of food was good enough. The lager provided is very nice when chilled on a hot summer day and we are sure you definitely enjoyed the air conditioning when the outside temperature was in the 40C+ region! Pleased to read that you had a happy holiday at Club Dorado this year.
Best regards from all of us in Turkey.

isayar@clubdorado.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Had written a review on this hotel previously but it did not fall within the guidelines of trip advisor.The term of you get what you pay for isn't true, the food is ok for 8 days then becomes tedious so we tended to eat out rather than sit through the 10 minutes of free entertainment provided which you are expected to pay for. The dj plays the same music every single night and has no entertaining skills whatsoever, the drinks are the cheapest to be found in Turkey, even Aldi comes up trumps in comparison, as confirmed by Simon, head bar man,If you have any issues do not expect a quick response as we waited nearly a week to see the big boss Ikram regarding an issue where our 12 year old daughter was touched up by a member of staff who is still working there.
We spent two weeks at this hotel, pool is ok but too deep for young non swimmers,sunbeds are usually hard to get if you get up any later than 7am.
Plus points...the staff do as much as they can to entertain and keep the kids happy, which for an all inclusive is going some as they do not include ice cream as part of the deal, although this is cheaper at the supermarket across the road.
The hotel is always very clean yet little things like ripped shower curtains, string to flush toilets are all bearable.
If you do decide to stay, make sure you ask about air con, as we didn't get any the entire time we spent here, due to the receptionist failing to give us a remote which we didn't realise we were entitled too.All in all it was the guests who made the holiday fun and this is one place we shall never be visiting again

Room Tip: pool side rooms have a great view, and the music from downstairs isn't too bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank djdouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, Owner at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Djdouge
We have read this review and consider that it contains allegations that are outwith the terms and conditions of the Trip Advisor website. It begins with a reference to visit another website where libellous comments were posted and have been removed as they were in breach of that sites terms and conditions. An allegation has been repeated in the text of this review about a member of our staff which was never substantiated and despite our suggestion no police investigation was sought. We do not feel it is right to have unsubstantiated claims of serious abuse published by people using a nickname. We would ask that Trip Advisor consider the actions of this contributor and take action to edit the offending allegation or delete the review completely. You will note that we take all reviews seriously and respond to each contributor in a courteous manner but we do not wish to become involved in a public discussion about a misunderstanding between two teenagers that we consider was completely blown out of proportion. We sincerely hope that you will take prompt action to ensure that your site is not abused with false accusations like the one included in this review.
We look forward to your confirmation of our comments regarding the review.

isayar@clubdorado.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I came to this hotel on the 2nd , after reading all bad reviews I made my own mind up and what a great time me my wife teenage son people should concentrate on having a fun holiday not looking at the bad and more of the good , the staff always tries hard they even go to the bookies to put your footy bets on what hotel staff do that for ye GREAT LADS keep up the good work , reception is more than helpfull

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Footyneilhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, Owner at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Footieneilhull
Cheers for the review about your recent stay. We are pleased you found our staff helpful and that you had a ‘great time’ with your wife and son. You arfe right that a holiday is what you make it and we try to provide the right environment with a focus on value for money. Nice picture of your lad with the cat by the pool, that is not the hotel cat but it has made Dorado it’s home because many guests keep feeding and petting it! We are pleased to note that you got good service from our reception and that you got some help with your betting slip! We hope you got a winner!
Hope to see you again in the future. All the best.

isayar@clubdorado.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.3 mi away
Club Turquoise
Club Turquoise
#46 of 234 in Marmaris
516 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aegean Princess
Aegean Princess
#43 of 234 in Marmaris
472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apart Green Park
Apart Green Park
#26 of 234 in Marmaris
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Mar Apart
Park Mar Apart
#151 of 234 in Marmaris
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Aida
Club Aida
#2 of 234 in Marmaris
1,527 reviews
0.5 mi away
Myra Hotel
Myra Hotel
#65 of 234 in Marmaris
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Dorado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Dorado Hotel

Address: Merkez Mahallesi Sehit Ahmet Benler Caddesi Sayar Sokak No 2, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range: £26 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Dorado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Club Dorado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ares Hotel Armutalan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing