We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad little hotel”
Review of Club Dorado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Dorado Hotel
Ranked #92 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just home from a 2 week stay with my adult son. All the staff friendly & helpful. Our room was very clean & comfortable, we even had a bath, which was a pleasant bonus as only every had wet rooms in Turkey before. Rooms were cleaned and towels and bed linen changed daily. The pool was spotless, as were all areas of the hotel. The choice of food at breakfast and lunch was plentiful, with a wide variety of salads & puddings. I can't comment on the dinners as we always ate out. The staff were pleasant and helpful and all in all the hotel was a great base.

I can't believe the negative reviews & in defence of the hotel I would say:

- Food - chicken was served daily & I didn't see anyone complaining when they were eating it. As most omnivores eat chicken, this is a safe bet for the hotel to serve. Obviously no pork as Turkey is a Muslim country.
- Rudeness of staff - just because some of the younger men didn't converse, does no-one seem to realise they don't all speak fluent English. It's not rudeness, it's a lack of understanding, especially by the diversity of UK accents (how many of those that complained could speak fluent Turkish).
- Coldness of pool??? No pools are heated due to the excessive heat. The whole point is to cool down, not float in a sauna.
- All inclusive drinks. The hotel is a business & of course, unless you pay 5* star prices, you will only be served local drinks (all Inc hotels always do this).
- Broken sockets/wires hanging from walls. Address the issue with the staff straight away and I'm sure something would do something about it. Don't sit moaning about it, be proactive.

It doesn't matter where you go or what you pay, people will always find something to complain about.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, Owner at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear jane s
Great to read the title of your review and your positive comments. Sounds like you had a very good time with us and we would like to thank-you for your comments regarding the cleanliness of the property. Good too learn you found the selection at breakfast tasty and that there was enough variety for your party. We enjoyed reading your comments about the food, staff and the ‘heated pool’, you got it in one when you made the statement that holidays are what people make of them. We are always happy to help with problems whether they be related to the hotel directly or with tourist advice. The old saying applies ‘there’s no harm in asking’. We aim to put technical issues right within a few hours and usually solve problems within a day at most. We are pleased you took the time to post your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.
All the best from all of us at Club Dorado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 790 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at Club Dorado in June, So this is my thoughts

Clean, the maids did a great job and cleaned the room every day (better than some 4* i have stayed at) clean towels sheets and map round each day.

Reception, Depends who you get, one young guy obviously dosent want to be there and should just leave, waste of space and would be as unhelpful as possible, the other two i saw were great and helpful very friendly and spoke great English.

Food, Well its a subject up for debate so here is my opinion, i am a fussy eater and i didnt go hungry, every thing was well cooked and tasted good, the down side is choice so keep in mind this is a small hotel and i dont expect to have a banquet hall full of food but some days it was hard to find some thing you would "Like" to eat worst meal was breakfast but if i was that bothered i could have eaten down the road for less than £2 each for a full breakfast but cheese and ham for breakfast looses its appeal very quickly but again the quality was fine and every thing was cooked well simply alack of choice

Staff so i have covered reception and maids already above so bar staff work the longest shifts i have ever seen, i saw the guys setting up for break fast around 7am and cleaning the pool down at around 3am still serving all day i dont know when they sleep?? again most are friendly and love kids (if this is your first time to turkey with children they love kids dont be scared if they pick babys up )

Drinks so 1 bar, one pump for beer (Troy not effes) 1 other bar that is paid for, Troy is good and not gassy. Drinks are served in small plastic cups that is reasonably normal round pools to save peoples feet getting cut to bits on broken glass restricted to two drinks at a time from the bar so most of the night you are back and forth to the bar and so 15 minutes before the end of all inclusive there is a big queue, wine might as well be vinegar but is for some reason expensive in general over there so guess they dont want people to drink it.

Location, on a strip with a few shops restaurants etc but a reasonable walk to the beach (we had a young child that wanted carrying so maybe it seemed longer than it was)

Pool nice, clean, not many in it, no chance of a sun bed unless your up early with your towels and im not sad enough to bother so we had a walk to the beach instead

Overall this is a good value for money hotel as long as you get it cheap and take extra spending money to eat out in case you don't like what's on the buffet. no good if you cant walk far unless you get the dolmus at a very reasonable 2l each (55p ish)

Room Tip: if the ac dont work open the cover and press the mode button till the green light comes on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank craigsb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, Owner at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear craigsb69
Thanks for your review, we are happy to know you found the accommodation clean and well serviced during your stay. We are pleased you found food to suit your needs most of the time. We have been expanding the range as the season has progressed but as you appreciate we have strict budgets to stick to being a 3 star hotel so all we can hope is that most find something from the selection freshly prepared each mealtime. Great to know you found the staff hardworking and friendly and that the drinks suited your needs. Next time try a little lemonade in the wine! Thanks for the comment re value for money. We think most get a good deal especially those who book direct with us as agents often have high mark ups in high season. A word of warning re the air-conditioning tip. We consider unauthorised and unpaid for use of facilities as theft and take action if our equipment is interfered with. We now have security labels on air con units and if seals are found to be broken we will make a charge for using the facility. Seals will be checked when guest check-in and daily by cleaning staff. We have a zero tolerance for theft and think it is irresponsible encouraging others to make unauthorised use of our property. All things considered a fair review but the room tip might cause future visitors issues which is a shame.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have just returned from a two week stay with my partner in club dorado.
The dorado is a good base hotel but thats about it.
FIRSTLY there is NO entertainment in this hotel. They cheekily put on entertainment one night and expected the guests to pay 10pounds each for it when the guests refused to pay they cancelled it .

SECONDLY the all inc only runs until 10pm to which you can only have vodka,gun,raki,or lager . These drinks are served very small plastic tumblers and the mixers are out of plastic bottles which if have been open for more than five mins are flat. You are only allowed two drinks per person so if your party ir table consists of more than two people you have to make several trips to the bar.

THIRDLY there is no snack bar as stated by hotel when booking.

FOURTH the selection of food is TERRIBLE . Every night there was only two choices of main course one being vegetarian the other chicken and the only things to go with it was chips or rice . I complained to the owner about the food and his reply was " you need to expect turkish food in turkey i wouldnt come to britain andvexpect turkush food " poor attitude to have when the majority of your business is british people. All in all this hotel is good if u get it EXTREMLY cheap and wantto just lie by the pool.....if not then go somewhere else because dorado is a poor all inc hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rubsterreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, Guest Relations Manager at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear rubsterreid
Many thanks for your review. Sadly we have had licencing issues this season but we are happy to report that we have been providing some shows, bingo and top class music nightly for the last week and hope to continue the programme for the rest of the season. The hotel makes no charge for entertainment but we do offer a Turkish Night which includes a special buffet which costs £10 and is only run when there is sufficient demand. Guests are welcome to attend the Turkish Night whether they buy the buffet or not. Sadly the week you stayed there was insufficient demand to make the Turkish Night viable and all who paid for the buffet had their money refunded. The rules regarding the all inclusive bar are common in most Turkish Hotels and for the benefit of all. Who wants to wait at the bar whilst one person orders drinks for a party of 12? As for the drinks, local as advertised and along with what was mentioned we serve white and red wine, a selection of cordials, teas, coffees and mineral water. The plastic containers are for health and safety reasons as drinks are normally consumed around the pool area. Our snack bar has not been open this season but the same selection is available from Sarah’s just next door. The description of the evening food selection is totally inaccurate. We serve two meat selections every evening and include fish, chicken, beef, processed meats and lamb during each week. We serve curries, kebabs, stews, grilled meats, chilli con carne and as well as all of those we offer a large range of fresh salads plus soups and sweets every lunch and dinner time. Your final comment perhaps sheds light on the real issue, expectation. We are a 3 star hotel catering to those seeking value for money, if luxury is the top priority we would recommend choosing a 5 star property although we doubt if any are as friendly an experience as our family owned hotel.
Cheers for the 3 stars – that’s just what we advertise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed at Club Dorado for one week July 2014 with my partener and found it to be a nice friendly hotel.
The hotal is in a nice location about 20 minutes walk from Marmaris town centre. there are plenty of shops and resturants right on the door step of the hotel.
The rooms are small but clean.
We went all inclusive but we think bed and breakfast would be better as you need to sample the night life and to do that you need to eat in the resturants as the food and the turkish People are so nice and can not do enough for you.
The food in the hotel is nice but basic. but we did not expect anything more as it is not a all inclusive complex.
The pool is very clean and ther eare plenty of sun loungers.
We found the staff in the hotel great they were realy friendly and entertaining.
Towry on the night reception was really friendly and helpful. Joe, Pablo, Engi and Simon were all great and make the hotel what it is. There are other but i cant remember all the names.
They dont have an entertainment licence so other than playing music and the Bar staff there is no form of entertainment.
The pool shuts at 6pm which i think is a little early.
The all inclusive bar is not great and shut a 10pm.
I would definatly go back to Club Dorado.

Room Tip: Can't really comment as we only saw our room. We were on the side of the hotel and found it to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, Owner at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear james b
Thanks for posting your review about your stay at Club Dorado we are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable holiday with us. Good to learn you got on well and found the staff friendly. We are glad you liked the rooms and found them clean and comfortable. We are very happy that you found the food served nice and we believe the difference in cost between our 3 star all inclusive and bed and breakfast makes the latter option far better value for money, even if you only consume daytime refreshments by the pool. Thanks for your kind mention of our staff and the comment that you would be happy to return, we’d be pleased to see you again. PS We now have some entertainment….. but don’t tell the local council!!!
All the best from all of us in sunny Marmaris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My first impression was not great of this place, however "Simon" plus the other staff made our holiday for us!! The hotel is very clean and the food was delicious. I was disappointed that all inclusive ended at 10pm! Out of 8 nights only on one night was there entertainment at the hotel- it's a good job they have the team of staff that they do because they work long hard hours to keep the guests happy! Some people have written bad reviews about Simon but he is great and harmless. This may seem like a mixed review however I would definately return next year as I had a greAt time.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julieb1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, Owner at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Julieb1988
Many thanks for you review about your 8 nights with us. Great to hear confirmation that our food selection and quality was good and that you found the hotel clean. We are pleased your holiday was made more enjoyable with our staff input and you will appreciate our current issue with the local authorities re entertainment. We now have some entertainment on selected nights and we are doing our best to offer great music and staff shows almost every night. Great to learn you would return and we hope you do.
Looking forward to welcoming you back next year. All the best from the whole team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Got back from dorado a week ago, and I went with my partner for 9 nights. I was abit sceptical staying here due to the mixed reviews. The hotel itself was quaint, quiet and the pool was nice. The rooms were basic but didn't expect much more. The food was ok at first, but after a while I was dreading eating it. And we did eat out a lot as we were hardly ever at the hotel. But it was bland an boring. The lunch was the best option as they had stuff that most people like eg chips. But the breakfast was disgusting. I recommend to go next door to Sarah's bar as there breakfast is awesome! Also go to cousins which is a short distance as there steak is to die for! One thing that annoyed me the most about this hotel was one of the staff members he was vile can't remember his name but all he would say was rude remarks to me and my boyfriend like bang bang all night? Bang bang! All te time? It was very annoying. The most important thing to do if staying at this hotel is when booking excursions go to Azun travel and speak to boxer. Do not go opposite the road because the owner David is a utter rip off. We got our excursions for pretty much half the price with boxer. But all in all the hotel was ok I wouldn't go back. But can't complain as was very cheap!! enjoy!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, Owner at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Emma D
Thanks for your review. We are pleased to read that you liked the style of the hotel and found the rooms, location and pool comfortable. Our food is comparable with many other similar hotels and even some top rated properties get the same comments. We provide a good breakfast and can’t understand why fresh fruit, yoghurt, preserves, honey, cereals, cold meats, fresh eggs, salads and a selection of fresh bread can be described as ‘disgusting’. We always provide foods suitable for children at lunchtime and have found that our adult guests also enjoy those options at that time of day. The ‘bang bang’ issue has been raised in many recent reviews and has been dealt with in recent days. We apologise if that behaviour caused offense. Good to know you felt you got a good deal for the price you paid for your holiday. Like we always say a holiday is what you make it..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I love dorado, definitely coming back :-) staff are so nice and very helpful... The hotel is very nice and tidy. It is in a nice area and not too far away from the shops, food is very good. Love this hotel :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LivieObrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibrahim s, Owner at Club Dorado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear LivieObrien
Great to read the title of your review and your positive comments. Sounds like you had a very good time with us and we thank-you for your comments regarding the cleanliness of the property. Thanks for taking the time to post your short review from your mobile. We hope you will visit again soon.
All the best from all of us at Club Dorado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.8 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#47 of 234 in Marmaris
750 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adonis Hotel Marmaris
Adonis Hotel Marmaris
#65 of 234 in Marmaris
50 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ekin Hotel
Ekin Hotel
#70 of 234 in Marmaris
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sinem Hotel
Sinem Hotel
#75 of 234 in Marmaris
318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#77 of 234 in Marmaris
74 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aegean Princess
Aegean Princess
#45 of 234 in Marmaris
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Dorado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Dorado Hotel

Address: Merkez Mahallesi Sehit Ahmet Benler Caddesi Sayar Sokak No 2, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Price Range: £12 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Dorado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Club Dorado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ares Hotel Armutalan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing