We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hot water tiny rooms awful management”
Review of Laberna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Laberna Hotel
barnsley
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“No hot water tiny rooms awful management”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

II first must point out that the English girl traci no longer works at this hotel she had enough and went elsewhere, and to all of you who enjoyed it when she was there you were lucky!
We arrived as a party of four for my wifes Birthday on 23 June for 11 days and were given two of the worst rooms in the hotel overlooking a derelict building with overgrowing trees coming on to the balcony,no sun and no table and chairs for the balcony.
This got worse when i wanted to freshen up and found there was no hot water,despite complaining we had no hot water for 11 Days in the morning and only got it twice in the evening.The receptionist was unhelpful,surly, rude and had a serious personal hygene problem and along with the manager did nothing to rectify this.
It got worse on the second day when i bought some milk to make a early morning cuppa and old sour face on reception said i wasnt allowed to bring it in and instead had to have a cold drink out of the overpriced mini bar in our room(,small water 2.5 tl).
The rooms are very small with just enough room to squeeze around the bed.
Air condioning is £35 per week so budget for this.
The owner of the Hotel is a miserable sod who prowls around putting the fear of god in his staff and spends all his time looking after his turkish friends who gather at the tables in the morning and sit there all day and night and are just as miserable as him.
The food in the hotel is very very basic and the school canteen they call the dining room is a joke,the chef is there on a morning and its his job to serve you with his speciality-toast!
We ate in the hotel one night off the supposedly A La Carte menu and ordered lasagne,it duly arrived and was served in a pool of bisto gravy and layered with bisto gravy,not a sign of tomato or white sauce,unbelievable.
The swimming pool is lovely if you are six foot ten as their is no shallow end and it is six foot four everywhere.
The waiting staff and cleaners do a good job but are constantly looking over their shoulder to see if the boss is watching.
Despite paying all our bills on a daily basis we found we had a 70 Lira bill on checking out which appeared from nowhere,we talked to other people who had been given fictitious bar bills and food bills,my advice pay as you go and ask for your copy of the bill.
Marmaris was lovely ive been there on numerous occasions but this hotel was the worst ive stayed in and rates as a two star at best.
Generallly speaking if you have booked this hotel and its too late to change use it as a base but spend as little time as possible in the place.
If you can cancel or haven't booked yet there are hundreds of hotels in Marmaris better than this and cheaper.

Room Tip: Just avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scamp89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    63
    34
    24
    36
See reviews for
76
98
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The title says it all, the hotel is gorgeous just a shame the management don't know simple service skills and have a lack of English understanding once in the wrong (surprising?) the rooms are all modern and all in all very nice but very small.. Dear god don't bring your own water or Milk in as they hit the roof (but its oke because if your Turkish or are friends with the war lord owner you get am abundance of food free daily) great for couples and older families.. Very deep pool if your under 6ft you won't be able to stand anywhere .. Apart from the 5ftx5ft baby pool :).. But apart from the negatives great modern clean hotel ..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naylor8thwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABERDEENSHIRE
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

just returned on the 21 june 13 after staying at the laberna hotel it rates at 4 stars but i would rate between 2 and 3 stars the girl on reception was very rude and unhelpful and sourly.
i travelled with my 2 friends we are all 50 something !! we had booked a triple room but were given a double with 3 beds crammed together no place to put our clothes let alone our cases when i told them we had booked a triple room they said there are only double or family rooms at the hotel when i asked (hitler on reception) for another room she said they were fully booked along came the calvary TRACY it was then agreed we would pay £90 for an upgrade and move the next day
the family room we got was large but very dark as the bacony was a gray brick wall that you could only see over when standing so you could not enjoy sitting there also the air con unit was on the balcony and got very hot in the balcony when air con was on in the bedroom
there is a fridge in the room but it is filled with there juice and chocolate which is very expensive you are not allowed to bring your own water or anything to eat at poolside as they try!!! to take it off you if ther prices were reasonable you would buy from them there is an asda across the road selling btld water for 1 trl the hotel is charging 4 trl
i would not recomend half board as even though the food was tasty there are only so many times you can eat meatballs and chicken breakfast is a turkish breakfast they did have eggs but kept warm in a heated tray they have english breakfast but you have to pay for it never again!!!!!

Room Tip: rooms facing pool woud be brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Just arrived back from the Laberna hotel , stayed there for 10 days ,and had a fab time . Traci, Ash and and michelle were brill . they couldn,t do enough for you , also the Turkish waiters were lovelyand very helpful. . The hotel itself was so clean and tidy , the maids do a brilliant job and are so lovely . we booked half board and the food was great . would defo stay at this hotel again .nothing was a trouble for any of them . x

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gillian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not on the beach but only a 300m/5 minute walk from a busy strip.

All the staff are really helpful although some don't speak much English (it's not an issue though)

The rooms are nice and clean and aren't too small. Was a bit surprised to see that air-conditioning was an extra especially as its a must in the Turkish summer.

Overall a nice, quiet hotel which is happily recommend and stay at again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed here for 10 night & had a great time.staff are excellent,very friendly,couldn't do more for you & were friends by the time we left.our son didnt want to leave.NO SLEAZY STAFF HERE as stated in a review I just read.hotel is immaculate,very clean.food is brilliant,was cheaper & better than most of the restaurants we did try.will only come back to this hotel when coming to marmaris again.do come here,you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gtgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The Laberna hotel was a brilliant place to stay mainly due to the excellent staff. traci & Michelle and the Turkish boys were excellent, nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms and facilities were very good, pool was brilliant. Food was top class. If you want to see the current photos of this hotel visit their website.http://www.labernahotel.com/english/hakkimizda.html.
Best holiday I have ever had.

çok teşekkür ederim

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.1 mi away
Supreme Hotel Marmaris
Supreme Hotel Marmaris
#43 of 234 in Marmaris
501 reviews
0.6 mi away
Poseidon Hotel
Poseidon Hotel
#28 of 234 in Marmaris
362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Club Anastasia
Club Anastasia
#7 of 234 in Marmaris
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Club Aida
Club Aida
#2 of 234 in Marmaris
1,430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Club Viva Hotel
Club Viva Hotel
#35 of 234 in Marmaris
1,159 reviews
1.1 mi away
SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laberna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laberna Hotel

Property: Laberna Hotel
Address: Cildir Mahallesi 178 Sokak 9, Marmaris 48700, Turkey (Formerly Balci Hotel)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 95 Speciality Lodging in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Laberna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laberna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Superior Gumbet
Hotel Seven Superior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing