We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Poor Hotel Only Helped By Decent Location”
Review of Begonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Begonville Hotel
Ranked #154 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Reviewed 11 August 2012

First off, the Customer Service is appalling. For around 10 consecutive nights, there were Dutch kids running around our hotel floor, banging doors at 3:00 in the morning. The reception do nothing, but for a note left in their room. That did not stop the noise. Really poor.

I cannot comment on the food as we only had 2 breakfast meals there and they were mediocre with little choice.

The pool is ok, nothing special. The only thing going for it is that it is a good base and well situated. But, that is it and nowhere good enough to warrant going back there.

Room Tip: If you do end up going, get a room facing the pool. The views are considerably better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scottie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

we stayed at this hotel 13-27 july, what can we say, its not for English people, food just ok, drinks just ok rooms dull and dreary. There is no air con in reception or restaurant which was a nightmare, the electric went of 3 times in our 2 week stay. Didnt get sleeping at nights with the Dutch and Russians partying. would not go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms our dull and dreary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank demibelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

staff good,food ok, bevy good,clean enough. i was there with my partner and two teenage girls and found the place dead on, only down side was the dutch and russians partying on the way back from the dancing, continuing there party in the corridors and there rooms, also very ignorant smoking and drinking in the pool that was supposed to be not happening.

Room Tip: roomfacing the pool on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank football1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Myself and my 2 friends stayed there 6th - 20th July. I cannot fault the hotel for the money we paid. On arrvival we were told we were on 3rd floor, We said we need ground floor as one of us had just had a knee op and could not walk up the stairs comfortably. The receptionist immediately changed us to ground floor which was a huge family room. It was cleaned every day and bedding and towels changed every other day. Air con was also free which was a bonus. The food was not amazing but you get what you pay for and we managed to find something to eat each time we ate there. Ismail and Mustafa in dining room were lovely. Mustafa at the pool bar was funny when you got to know him. I agree that 6 o clock was too nearly to leave the pool when the sun as atill out but it probably did us a favour as it was so hot we had had enough sun by then, We found Ben the rep to be really friendly and helpful, in fact most days he ended up in the pool fully clothed and never complained.
The one and only complaint is that on the second week it was full of young dutch lads, all very nice polite ones but it felt like we were on a 18-30s holiday,

All in all it was a very friendly hotel and I would recommend it for younger people,

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
begonvillemanager, Yönetici at Begonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2015
Google Translation

Değerli Misafirimiz, Begonville Hotel olarak sizi otelimizde ağırlamak ve hizmet vermek bizim için büyük bir zevk ve ayrıcalıktı. Sizleri tekrar otelimizde ağırlamaktan mutluluk duyarız.
Yeni otelimiz olan Begonville Beach Hotel de 2014 Mayıs itibarı ile hizmete açılmıştır. Sizleri yeni otelimizde misafir etmekten memnuniyet duyarız.
Teşekkürler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed in the hotel in 2009 and had a blast. After reading the recent reviews on here i thought surely it isn't that bad as it was excellent when we stayed last time however i was really disappointed . Here is my honest opinion. Although my rating for the hotel is 2 star i rate the holiday 5 star as we met so many lovely people :)

Location - is in a great location only a 5minute walk to the beach front. It has excellent food places near it such as Smileys and La Turka and Aussie bar just round the corner is a really fun night.

Staff- . All the staff seem to have changed and so has management. None of the staff looked like they wanted to be their and were in foul moods all the time. With the exeption of Romeo who did the sales for the Turkish bath within the hotel. Was always friendly and would sit down and have a coversation with us. The security gaurd was ridiculous, always telling people off , you are on holiday for goodness sake and it felt like prison. One night 2 of us was sitting on the balcony QUIETLY having a coversation at around 2am and he told us to get in the room. I also heard of him walking into the Lady who commented below's room without even knocking and telling them to get to bed. He surely should be fired for this as it is invasion of privacy. I would have blew a fuse if he had done that to me. And he brought a lady friend into the hotel one night and gave her free drinks which i think is ridiculous After being so strict with the ones who had paid for a holiday but he though acceptable to take advantage of the bar. I understand that to a certain level the noise has to be kept down but all you had to do was wisper after midnight and he would shout at you.

Reception - Didnt have any problems with the reception guy he eas always happy to help with anything.

Rooms- Rooms were a good size and nice inside. Had a problem with air conditioning to find that it was still in winter mode in July haha spent 3 days sweltering away thinking it was just becasuse it was so hot outside. The only issue i had with the room was the maids didnt actually clean it just emptied the bin, and never really change the towels unless we asked them to.

Pool - The pool itself is lovely and huge. There is also a kiddie pool up next to the pool bar which doesnt really get used by children this is nice to relax in if you dont want to be in the big pool. Issue i had with pool area was the sun was still scorching at 6pm and you had to be off the sunloungers and out of the pool by this time, I think 7pm is a more suitable time for this as the majority of the guests still wanted to stay out.

All Inclusive- Only upside to being all inclusinve was we got free vodka lemon all day long. Only had 4 choices local raki, local gin, beer or vodka. The vodka was ok but the guys found the beer a bit flat. Also one day they said they ran out of beer and it would be th enext day before they got it howver we made a fuss about it and they had more within a couple hours. Never seen breakfast so cant comment on that but the lunch and snack stuff was edible but bland most days. HAd a look at the dinner few nights and it didnt look appealing so just went out but can;t comment on the taste.

Other Guests - Wow we had such a fab time meeting everyone, the Scottish, Dutch and English :) no hassle with any of the guests everyone was just having a fun holiday.

Room Tip: Pool View and make sure air conditioning is in summer mode or you will melt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacque0487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

just got back from this hotel after 2 wks 26/6 till the 11/7 (never again)....only good point was the pool, romeo was always smiling and chatting but for the rest of the staff they couldn't even crack a smile. if u all like a early nite this hotel will def suite you, at 1.07 am the security guard came in the room without knocking and told us all to get to bed its late !!!!! the pool closes at 6pm and they tell u to move of the sun loungers far to early when the sun still out.food not to great! and as for the rep BEN if u got a problem go to a Thomson REP. one of the boys which was on hol wiv us ended up in hospital over nite, all Ben did was put thumbs up to say he was ok and went. Thomson rep got the fone an sorted all his insurance case number, which Ben should av done at the start. i was told by Ben that this hotel was a budget hotel 2 star over 3grand and u get told that. just checked and its 3 STAR. so dont know where he has got this from. my bathroom had not been cleaned for the hole ov the 2 wks apart from the floor been cleaned, i had to clean the sink an loo which didnt av a toilet set on for the full 2 wks !!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracey g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

After spending two weeks at the Begonville Hotel the only complaint I could have is that it wasn't long enough. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food quality and selection was great. The room was fine and the facilities excellent. Add to that the great pool and convenient location to shops and beach, you have it all. Kia Ora to all of the staff.

Baz and Max (New Zealand)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KiaOra_From_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
begonvillemanager, Yönetici at Begonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2015
Google Translation

Değerli Misafirimiz, Begonville Hotel olarak sizi otelimizde ağırlamak ve hizmet vermek bizim için büyük bir zevk ve ayrıcalıktı. Sizleri tekrar otelimizde ağırlamaktan mutluluk duyarız.
Yeni otelimiz olan Begonville Beach Hotel de 2014 Mayıs itibarı ile hizmete açılmıştır. Sizleri yeni otelimizde misafir etmekten memnuniyet duyarız.
Teşekkürler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.0 mi away
Begonville Beach Hotel
Begonville Beach Hotel
#79 of 234 in Marmaris
212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malibu Beach Hotel
Malibu Beach Hotel
#150 of 234 in Marmaris
373 reviews
1.3 mi away
Class Beach Hotel
Class Beach Hotel
#121 of 234 in Marmaris
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cle Beach Boutique Hotel
Cle Beach Boutique Hotel
#48 of 234 in Marmaris
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hawaii Hotel
Hawaii Hotel
#98 of 234 in Marmaris
204 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Palmea
Hotel Palmea
#87 of 234 in Marmaris
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Begonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Begonville Hotel

Address: Kemal Elgin BulvarI 170. Sokak No.4, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range: £20 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Begonville Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Begonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Begonville Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing