We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Birmar Victim”
Review of Hotel Birmar

Hotel Birmar
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marmaris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Birmar
Ranked #145 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Reviewed 22 September 2007

I went to stay at the Birmar Hotel with my boyfriend, I was a little concerned as had read some bad reviews but as it was holidays 4 U recommended I wasn't too worried as having used H4U twice before I have never been disappointed.

When we arrived it looked ok from the front although it is very noisy as it is on the main road, checked in to the room which was very basic and wasn't the cleanest and quite tired looking but it was ok, so we were quite content.

On the third morning of our stay we woke up to find that there was no power which meant no water so you couldn't flush the loo never mind have a shower. We had a Turkish bath booked that day and we were getting picked up from reception. There were a number of people waiting in reception to speak to the rep as apparantly the power had been off 3 times the day before (we had been out for most the day and it was on when we were in so we hadn't noticed) On returning from out Turkish bath we decided to relax next to the very small dirty pool when the H4U rep came and asked us if we would like to move to another hotel due to the lack of power.

We ended up moving to a hotel called The Imren along with nearly all the other guests from The Birmar. The Imren was much nicer, the rooms were much cleaner and brighter, the pool was much cleaner and bigger. We loved it there, It was a lot more personal.

The Imren is a small family run hotel just round the corner from the Birmar much better location as it is not so noisy but still very close to the main bars and beach, you couldn't fault the staff especially Fes the general dogs body, he didn't speak much English but he seemed genuinely happy in his work and always had a smile on his face. The staff did not hassle us at all and soon became our friends.

It became a running joke with all the other Birmar guests that we were all the "Birmar Victims" We all became quite good friends and had some really good nights at the hotel's Turkish nights.

After talking to the other "Birmar victims" We found we had it easy at the Birmar compared to other people. One couple had to move rooms 3 times!! A young girl didn't feel she could wear her bikini as she felt all the staff were staring at her. She did not have that problem at the Imren.

On a whole I would say the Birmar was ok but wouldn't advise staying there as everyone I spoke to at the Imren absolutely hated it!!
The fact that the pool and bar are a separate business (The Adam and Eve) from the hotel there is not really anywhere for guests to chill out as the pool bar is a restaurant. There is no personal touch to the hotel it is just somewhere to sleep.
At the Imren it was so relaxed and easy going that I was happy to go down to breakfast on my own if my boyfriend wasn't ready to get up.

I think we would have still had a nice holiday if we stayed at the Birmar (if the power stayed on) but it was a blessing in disguise to be moved to the Imren as the staff and other guests made our holiday alot more memorable and it is by far a much nicer place. The staff told us that they have guests that go back there every year which I can quite believe because I would definately go back. I have also stayed at Swans 1 and the Elegant both very nice but the Imren is by far the best.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JKT_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2007

just got back from staying in the birmar.before i went i read all the reviews and wasnt looking forward to going,but i loved it!it is basic but the location is perfect and adam and eves is great.all the staff are brill...steve stifler...jimmy...jack...friday...henry...sexjohn...tommy and evry1 else.guna miss them all!had so much fun with them....if anyone has any contact details for any of them please email them to me...iklerach@hotmail.com!!! would recomend you to stay at birmar and cant wait to go back myself!

rachael x

Stayed: August 2007
Thank iklerach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2007

as i say we didnt stay at birmar but visited arif and the other staff members at adam and eves numerous times.
we have been coming toturkey now for 4 years twice a year sometimes thats how much we enjoy ourselves
each time we visit the staff bend over backwards to make us happy.
this year we have met some new staff members in birmar and they are a credit to Elvis the owner of the business but im afraid none of them compare to the fantastic Arif who has been there since i first went over to turkey
i hope they carry on with the service they give in adam and eves and continue to bring the custum to turkey cos i no thats one of the main reasons i go over

if any staff members from birmar read this its Safinaz xxxx

Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
1  Thank safinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2007

The Hotel Birmar was YUK the bathroom was filthy it wanted demolishing the sanitation in Turkey is bad enough without having to put up with dirty conditions. Paid for bed and breakfast but it only included turkish breakfast which is an acquired taste olives, cheese and tomatoes. We caught the waiters covered up asleep on the sun beds one day , on awakening they promptly put the covers back on the tables because they were the tablecloths!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burnleysoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2007

I thought this hotel was not cleaned very well. I thought this because one day the cleaner gave my girlfriend the mop to clean our own room and gave us the bin bag to put in ourselves. Also in the two weeks we were there we had maybe two hot showers and also the shower door was broke.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thorny1324256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2007

the best hotel we ever stayed in it was clean and all the staff are so friendly especially hasan we miss you. the rooms and entertaiment very good for turkey it is still a 3rd world country if people want the rits they should go to a posher country i would give it 5/5

Stayed: April 2006
Thank hotstuffSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2006

I am just back from staying in the Birmar for a week - if i had read the reviews on this site before going i think i would have cancelled - thank goodness i didnt! The Birmar is a lovely hotel - very basic but most importantly it is very clean and our rooms were cleaned everyday. Even the toilet paper was replaced which isnt standard in Turkey, normally you replace yourself after the initial roll.

The ajoining restaurant Adam & Eve had food to die for. We have been to Turkey so often we dont normally eat at our hotel but in a week we ate here 3 times it was that good! The staff are all really friendly and like to have a laugh. Many nights we'd come home from the clubs and have a drink with the staff in the restuarant.
For the price you pay for the Birmar you are getting an excellent location for the front bars, center shops and only 2 seconds away from Gima the supermarket.

I cant understand how anyone could complain?

Heather x

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ufuks_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
2.2 mi away
Ideal Prime Beach
Ideal Prime Beach
#16 of 234 in Marmaris
2,801 reviews
2.1 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#20 of 234 in Marmaris
2,811 reviews
2 mi away
Apart Green Park
Apart Green Park
#26 of 234 in Marmaris
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,351 reviews
1.9 mi away
Club Aida
Club Aida
#2 of 234 in Marmaris
1,527 reviews
2.1 mi away
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
#24 of 234 in Marmaris
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Birmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birmar

Address: Kemal Elgin Bulvari No:59 Uzunyali, Marmaris 47800, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range: £6 - £8 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Birmar Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing