We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, perfect location but poor food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Ranked #20 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week from 14th September with my partner. It was our first time to turkey and we couldn't have picked a better hotel, which allows you to get to know the area better! It was situated perfectly, just a two minute walk from the beach and pubs and restaurants and literally in the middle of all the shops. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean, the rooms were lovely even though you don't tend to spend much time there. The staff were all friendly, chatty and worked super hard!! The food was the biggest let down. It was aimed towards eastern eupoeran tourists so fine if you like that sort of food but for British not the best at all! We ate out literally every day so as we paid for all inclusive for a week, we were disappointed as we had wasted quite a bit of money!! It is quite a busy hotel and u have to be up at about six in the morning to secure the best sunbeds, otherwise be prepared to sit in the shade for half the day!!On the whole though a lovely hotel, beautifully presented with lovely staff and the absolute perfect location!! Would 100% go back if a self catering option was available

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,542 - 1,548 of 2,813 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

I came back from my holidays in BlueBay Platinum two days ago. If you know Turkish city hotels, you wouldn't be surprised with its location or the size of the pool. The hotel is located approx. 5 mnutes walk from the sea (and the hotel beach). The beach is not very nice and there is no all inclusive there. However, if you want to sunbathe all day long, you will need to change the venue through the day as the sun is not present on the pool side for all day.
We were 5 girls and the booked two rooms. When we arrived it turned out that we will get one family room (with two bedrooms). We got free internet in the room and we could use BlueBay Classic (which we never did) in recompense for that inconvenience.
There were no problems with sunbeds, we could easily get 4-5 sunbeds and an umbrella around 10 a.m.
The food was really good with some Turkish traditional dishes. Where were snacks around the pool from 11.30 till 18 (with late brakefast till 11). Practically you could eat something anytime.

The animation team was really good as well. The only issue is that some of them do not speak good English. They are nice and not irritating. We especially liked Milana (who came three days before we left), Georgian George and of course the famous Cihco. As for the activities we enjoyed morning gym, step (with animation Manager) and coctail games. Evening shows were quiet good as well. We liked fire show (prepared by animators) and dancing shows (given by dancer from the outside). Also the rodeo was amazing! I have never tried it before. All in all Marmaris is a really nice resort and BlueBay Platinum is one of the best choices in town. Hope to come back there some time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylwia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Just back from a week at this very stylish and clean hotel. I read all previous reviews and was looking forward to our stay. Some issues however didnt arise with us.

The long ride to the hotel after a horrendous flight was roughly 1hr 40 minutes, the outside of the hotel is one of the best looking hotels ive seen. Check in was about 6am (Turkey time) the receptionist was very welcoming and made short polite conversation, giving us a sheet on how their AI works, times etc. We were taken to our room on the forth floor (1208) over looking the next hotel and part of the main road. The heavy doors knocked out any noise from the street and the lights from bars and cars are blocked by the drapes.
There were twin beds with separate blankets and throws, this has been an issue for some people but my husband and i didnt mind sleeping like this at all, however the beds do come apart easily. The room was small but quite adequate for us and really wasnt a problem.
The bathroom hosted a walk in shower, with room for two!
The room door has a LED do not disturb/make my room up light and door bell.
Having slept for a few hours we ventured out for food, all of the hotel is spotless and bright the lobby has free wifi (code on reception) this is only available in the lobby but i did pick up the range by the relax pool.
Breakfast is typical but with a huge range of just about everything, as we always find wherever we go there was yet an issue with the toaster!
Some people mentioned on here that the food isnt labelled, this is correct,but not everything is guess work and there is always kitchen staff around to ask. This is my only problem with the hotel and that it doesnt have outside eating, obviously nothing major but i love to eat outside so i missed that with this holiday. We always had lunch from the snack bar, where burgers, chicken wraps, chips and nuggets were always available.
Evening meals did feel a bit canteen like, maybe a table cloth and tea lights would set the mood a bit but again not a problem
Drinks were strong, not at all watered down, the orange squash was awful though, and my best friend was the slush machines!!
I think there were only half an hour of each day when there was no food being served!
I was dreading the entertainment as most reviews slated them, i however thought it was fab, no hassle to join in and Chicco is hilarious with different acts every night, the fire act was fantastic.
It took us 3 days to figure out the sunbed and line of sun situation. Yes people are there early but there are plenty of stacked beds to take and find a suitable place, again no issue with us we just got on with it.
The sun is on the main pool (by the snack bar) for the first half of the day then it moves around to the entertainment stage for the pm, however the relax pool gets the sun most of the day so make sure you get a bed by the left hand side of the relax pool!!
We did go on a Thomas Cook excursion and would recommend the jeep safari, the guide was nuts and thoroughly entertaining, you can buy this cheaper outside but i felt safer going with TC.
The beach is a short walk away and we walked up to the marina and we got hassled a bit to go have food etc but just a polite no thanks stopped most of them in their tracks. I did find a man on the main strip a bit creepy when we were shopping but that was all. We walked in both directions out of the hotel and found it to be a fab location.
We had food out one night and ventured left to Samdans bar as id read reviews on here.
I would recommend this hotel and would certainly go back after we have travelled around a bit, there is nothing to worry about regarding this hotel so go enjoy yourselves.

Room Tip: Go to the relax pool to get sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelly281702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

this is our fourth time to this hotel all i can say is its like staying in a palace all services provided from staff kitchen , ie chefs waiters bar staff reception entertainment team all ***** 1st class such an amazing holiday and it only gets better every year we return they all work well with each as great effort in team building great rapore with all guests cant ask for anything more a huge thankyou again to nicola kaytankas.. chico from entertainment team amazing chico you gave our holiday this year an extra buzz great for all ages see you all next year oops and john paul too and to sonny at spa amazing and chris scooba diving experience x x x

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Loved Turkey but unfortunately not the blue bay platinum.

This was our first trip to turkey and the country I lovely. Marmaris I definitely a place I would visit again.

The blue bay platinum however was not a great experience. Our room had a terrible balcony that had a massive air conditioning unit right next to it. So sunbathing on the balcony was not possible. The room was clean as was the bathroom and the maid came daily however the room was so minimalistic there was no where to keep anything there wasn't even a bedside table.

You had to be up at the crack of dawn for the chance to get a sunbed and relaxing around the pool with the noisey and irritating animation team was impossible.

The food hall was hectic and the food wasn't great. We ate out most nights. However the snack bar by the pool was ok for through the day.

All in all this hotel isn't a place is recommend for a couple looking for a relaxing holiday the hotel is very much aimed at families which I don't feel the hotel website makes clear.

On the plus marmaris is a lovely place and definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

people need to stop finding the need to moan for the sake of it! this hotel was excellent! it was very sleek and modern yet very plain. the bar staff were lovely!! and do not get enough credit! they especially went out of their way to help the young children and older guests, which was nice to see! the food was good! after a while it did start to get repetitive but what do you expect.. they can't have something new everyday! im also a fussy eater so didn't try anything new, so im sure to many the food would be up to standards! i didnt think too much of our rep.. john, he seemed fake and wasnt concerned really with any issues you had.. but this is more a fault of him id say, rather than the hotel, i stayed here for ten nights with my boyfriend and did not want to leave! overall this holiday is superb! and caters for all sorts, families, couples and friends! this is probarly one of the best or the best looking hotel ive seen in marmaris!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebeccajcouttsxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Actually I am writin my review now from the hotel, it's really a v.good hotel..staff is great..entertainment team..even for night life they get u to the bus at 11pm and stay with you..and collect u at 3am and drive u back to hotel to make sure everyone is safe..the beach just 2 min walking..food is great..it's on the city..I love it and I will come back next June for sure :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hasan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.1 mi away
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
#24 of 234 in Marmaris
1,389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elegance Hotels International, Marmaris
0.3 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Club Aida
Club Aida
#2 of 234 in Marmaris
1,527 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Platinum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Platinum Hotel

Address: Cumhuriyet Blv. No:1, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#13 Family Hotel in Marmaris
#14 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#18 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range: £41 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Bay Platinum Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Marmaris, newly-refurbished Blue Bay Platinum goes the extra mile for guests. Its new sleek exterior, with violet lighting and curvy lines, makes an instant impression. This lively and very popular hotel is well suited for families and all ages alike. Tranquil sea-themed rooms feel like oases despite being in the center of the city. A great collection of facilities at the hotel, 4 outdoor pools, one of which comes with water slides, and it continues with a spa, where you can take your pick from a range of treatments and therapies. The main restaurant brings buffet dining into the 21st century. You can sit in comfy settees to eat, and food choices are presented artistically, think amuse bouche in shot glasses and prawn cocktails in highball glasses. Only 70 m to the main beach and 1.9 km to the cosmopolitan centre, with Marmaris famous shopping bazaar, amazing nightlight and multi-million dollar marinas. Travel only 2.5 kilometers or 10 minutes by local transport to the idyllic neighboring resort of Icmeler boasting magnificent scenery and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Bay Platinum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bays Marmaris
Hotel Blue Bays
Blue Bays Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing