We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice , but lacking atmosphere”
Review of Flamingo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flamingo Hotel
Ranked #74 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed here in Jul/Aug 2010. In general the the hotel was very nice - the rooms being exactly what you would expect for the price and class of hotel. The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice for even the pickiest guest (that includes both me and my daughter who was 7 years old at the time). The pool area was very nice with plenty of room for everyone and we didn't struggle at all for sunbeds. Food can be ordered at the pool bar and is reasonable in price and choice. The hotel attracts a wide mix of nationalities and seemed to prefer the Russian guests when it came to building rapport but that may have been down to the staff at the time. This was not a problem as the other guests in the hotel - of all nationalities - were very friendly, especially some of the Turkish guests. The hotel has its own beach area at the rear although we only went on the beach a couple of times during our stay preferring instead to stay around the pool. This hotel is on quite a busy dual carriagway but that didn't affect sleep conditions at all, although our room was closer to the beach side than the road side. The way the hotel is built, all the hotel rooms offer a good view of the sea.

This hotel sits in the middle of Marmaris and Icmeler and both are reachable on foot but be prepared for a good walk in either direction. Alternatively you can catch a Dolmus to either for a small fee. These are quite frequent so you wont be waiting long for one to come along. We ate out every night at a different restaurants and always seemed to end up at the "No Name Bar" over the road from the hotel. This place offered lively entertainment with all the staff taking part and encouraging everyone to join in. If you went every night the routine could become a bit tedious after seeing the eigth Michael Jackson dance-a-like. The reason we always seemed to end up in this bar was beacause it was the last stop before getting back to the hotel after a night out, and because of the lack of alternative entertainment at the hotel itself. And unfortunately this is the area where the hotel let itself down as there was nothing to entice you back to the bar. No entertainment, no music. This was explained as being a problem with having a performance licence so I'm not sure whether this has been resolved.

We booked all our trips at the "No Name" Travel outlet - again opposite the hotel. We booked 5 items with them and all were reliable and very good value for money. We booked a Turkish bath which I would highly recommend for the start of your holiday, the pony trekking, the jeep safari, a boat trip (not sure which one but very good) and the trip to Pamukkale - Cotton Castle (which has to be done in this part of Turkey).

All in all, this hotel is very good for the price you pay and serves as a very good base to enjoy everything else that this area has to offer. If they can address the problem with the entertainment then there would be little to fault this hotel. Having said that I probably wouldn't return as I prefer to visit different areas.

Room Tip: Get room as close to beach side of hotel as you can (Better view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2011

The idea to book this hotel was based on Tripadvisor members' reviews and in result we were not dissapointed at all. The only funny thing was that the hotel was opened only on the fifth day after our arrival to Marmaris. Our travel agent offered us to stay some first days at neighboring Tropikal hotel. That was why we spent at Flamingo two nights only instead of seven ones as it was planned. However that was enough to realize that Flamingo was a good deal.

The hotel is located right between the centre of Marmaris and Icmeler - about 3 km to each. So you can walk down the promenade in both directions: go left from the hotel and you will come to the noisy centre with its shops, restourants and bars or go right and you will find yourself in the green forest area on the way to Icmeler as soon as in 10 min.

Flamingo has its own area on the beach with free sunbeds. The pool is quite big for the hotel of that category.

On checking in we were offered a quite spacy room with both french and ordinary balconies with sea view. The room was cozy and seemed to have been renovated recently.
I noticed that most of the rooms in the hotel had if not direct but at least side sea view. I think it is a good advantage.
The hotel worked on HB basis. The choise of food was not too wide (I think it is because there were only... four guests in the hotel) but the food was really delicious.
Friendly English speaking staff.

I think Flamingo is good for active travellers looking for comfortable stay but not willing to overpay for so called luxury hotels. We would surely go back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxx_smart_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

A wonderful recommendation by other friends. A small, friendly hotel. The staff were well trained and made everyone feel special. We were half board and the food was excellent and varied and plenty of it, if you enjoy trying the food of the locality - which we do. The situation of the hotel could not have been better - on the promenade. The pool was a good size and extremely clean - pool service was also good. The rooms were simple, but very clean with bedding and towels changed daily. The views from our balcony were spectacular. The only down side was the noise from a neighbouring hotel but even that stopped at 11pm. Perhaps some hotel evening entertainment would have further enhanced our stay. We will certainly go again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hinchliffepeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Stayed at the Flamingo Hotel in mid July 2010. The location of the hotel is excellent. It is a stone throw away from the beach, local shop's nearby, overlooking the sea, 20 minutes walk from the main supermarket, and just in the middle of Icmeler. The bus stop is less than 2 minutes walk from the hotel - great advantage. The reception area of the hotel is really eye catching, the lift is illuminated with lights that change to various colours. The hotel has a pool; small (for kids) and large (for adults). Sunbeds are provided (not sure if there is a charge). There is also a bar by the pool.The staff are helpful and knowledge about what is happening in the area. I stayed half board, the food was great, good selection if you are vegetarian. Note that drinks are a additional cost. The hotel room is clean. Fridge and TV including air conditioner are provided without any additional charge - great. The rooms are cleaned everyday - including towel change if required. At night the hotel is very quite.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Princess002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We have stayed in this area for many years.Usually at tha Karacan Beach. As we were unable this time to go there we stayed at the Flamingo Hotel. It was a very similar hotel.Small and good value for money. We also enjoyed the breakfast, large selection to choose from. The rooms were large and very clean .We ate out every evening. Would recommend Oscar's and the Infinity Bar. Mehmet and brothers still doing an excellent job .
We met Marie and her husband from Litchfield (who have written next review).We agree with everything they have said and will be going back again next year with our friends from West Brom and North Devon.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kentishbelle56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Just got back yesterday from a wonderful first visit to Marmaris. We were a little unsure what to expect but we needn't have worried. The hotel is in a great location right on the beach front with shops, bars and restaurants in the immediate vicinity. The walkway alongside the beach was lovely and we often enjoyed a stroll in the evening before deciding where to eat. Marmaris does have a very lively area but this is not right by the hotel so is ideal if you don't want too much hustle and bustle. The views from the hotel are amazing. You get a sea view from your room and from the restaurant as well. The rooms are a little dated in terms of decor but were always very clean and the air con worked a treat. You also have the added bonus of a fridge - perfect for a cold beer to drink on the balcony! We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis which we found ideal. There was lots of choice at breakfast - mainly of the continental variety - but they did do omelettes, eggs or pancakes as well. We always found plenty to eat and it was really fresh food. However if you do get the craving for an English breakfast you can get them from £1.50! We often had lunch at the pool bar which was well priced and always tasted good. There is so much choice in terms of restaurants for the evening and we did not have one bad meal. The costs are really good as well - could get cocktails for 5 lira and a large beer for 3.50 lira. We can definitely recommend the Infinity bar and restaurant which is on the way to Icmeler on the beach front or the O Yes restaurant which is on the beach front towards the marina. We ate in both twice and felt we had excellent meals and got excellent value for money. We really enjoyed our holiday and wished we could have stayed longer. We would recommend Marmaris to everyone - there really is something that would suit any visitor. We will definitely be back and hope to stay at the Flamingo hotel again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie_derry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

My partner and I (28 and 29) stayed at the Flamingo for 2 weeks at the end of August. We were a bit worried before we went after reading the mixed bag of reviews on this site, however I could not fault any aspect of the hotel of staff - we had a fantastic holiday.
We arrived at the hotel at 5am and were shown straight to our rooms and shown how to use the air con etc.
The room was very clean and everything worked as it should. I do agree with some of the other comments on here about the rooms being a little out of date, however we did pay for a 3 start hotel not a 5 so this is perhaps to be expected! Our room was cleaned daily and towels changed every day too. The cleaning staff were very friendly - I even got a hug from our cleaner when we left!
The pool area of the hotel is great - loads of sunbeds and very quiet. The swiming pool is large compared to other pools we saw and much needed in 45 degree heat!
We used the pool bar for drinks every day and for food several times. The food was lovely - and yes, it is slightly more expensive than some of the local bars but this is the case in any hotel, home or abroad. We stayed half board and the breakfast and evening meals were delicious (which is why I'm now on a diet!) and the restaurant staff are very friendly and helpful and they work SO hard!
The location of the hotel was brilliant - 40 minute walk into the centre of Marmaris but you don't really notice this as the whole walk is lined with bars and shops to pop into!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing holiday in a quieter area of Marmaris and would definately consider returning in the future.
The Apple Bar (opposite the Hotel - main entrance side) is fantastic and is worth a visit!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank em_j100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
1.4 mi away
Yunus Hotel
Yunus Hotel
#55 of 234 in Marmaris
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropikal Hotel
Tropikal Hotel
#54 of 234 in Marmaris
216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amos Hotel
Amos Hotel
#99 of 234 in Marmaris
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Poseidon Hotel
Poseidon Hotel
#36 of 234 in Marmaris
395 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cle Beach Boutique Hotel
Cle Beach Boutique Hotel
#48 of 234 in Marmaris
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orsmaris Boutique Hotel
Orsmaris Boutique Hotel
#51 of 234 in Marmaris
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel

Address: Siteler Mah., Cumhuriyet Bulvari, No:45, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range: £26 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Flamingo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing