We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second time, no surprise..”
Review of Flamingo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flamingo Hotel
Ranked #78 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Bursa, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“second time, no surprise..”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

we went there for the second time this summer. the hotel and staff everything is still the same.. rooms are spacious and clean
the open buffet for breakfast and dinner is really rich.
room 201 or 301 or 401 is definitely advised..!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank estella2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    50
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
25
45
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have just returned from our first holiday in Turkey, the Flamingo hotel staff were very helpfull and very friendly, the hotel location is great and there are many restaurants to choose from. I went to the Flamingo after my friend told me about how good it was, they have been going there for some years now and highly recommended it, after our family 2 week holiday, I would definitely recommend this hotel and we will be going back in the future. My families view about our stay was this, We would say that it would have been nice to have seen more British people at this hotel, it was 98% Russian and boy were they ignorant, not a smile for anyone, looked like they had just won the lottery but had lost their ticket. At breakfast they would load up their bags with food for the day, then fill as many plates with as much food as possible, then they would leave more than half of it at the table to be thrown away. The pool bar area was used by a couple of British families and was not used by the Russians, hey which wasn't a bad thing, who wants to be around miserable people while having a great time, this is a great hotel with great facilities and fantastic friendly accommodating staff, it's a shame they have to put up with bad behaviour and manners from the Russians, come on you Brits fill up the Flamingo with happy friendly faces, it really is a great place for a family holiday.
Andrew, Hilary, James, Hayley and Aaron ( Bromley, Kent.)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew007007007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

we again returned here for 2 weeks and nothing has changed really , 14 days bed and breakfast but have been told hotel is going half board next year, i really hope not as we love to go out for a wander in the evening out to eat in marmaris,if you read the 2 previous reviews form this hotel i still stand by what i said fingers crossed they stay b and b next year

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank frankietheturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

just returned after a lovely week in marmaris at the flamingo hotel, it makes a pleasent change to get up late and find there is plenty sun beds for use, We just went bed and breakfast but it was very nice choice hams, fresh bread, cheeses, tomatoes,fried eggs, pancakes, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs and also a choice of cereals which is good.Rooms are as clean as they were the last time we were here and staff helpful too, also poolside snacks available also ice cream and freezing cold drinks served at good prices.We will be returning here in july 2013 for 2 weeks as it has everything we need in a great area in marmaris.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank frankietheturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We have just returned from the Flamingo Hotel, and think we must have been the among the first visitors this year.
We arrived about 11pm and as the hotel wasn't busy they kindly obliged my request to check out our room before settling in, as I wanted to be closer to the beach end of the hotel. We had a bit of friendly banter with reception and we were given a nice room on the odd number side of the hotel. For us this was just right, as we had the lovely evening sun and a lovely view out across the bay towards the islands, the dolphin centre and Icemelar.
The hotel has been built very cleverly to allow every visitor a side sea view. All the hallways and rooms are carpeted which is strange in a hot climate but is great as you don't hear the people above moving about or us girls in heeled shoes walking along bare floors.
The rooms are furnished with a double and a single bed, wardrobe, tv and fridge. Bathroom has both bath and shower and a hairdryer. There are toiletries, which are ok, but preferred our own. Balcony had 2 chairs and table. Our room didn't have any tea of coffee making facilities so if you like a morning and evening cuppa..take a kettle etc with you. My only criticism of the room was the beds, we found ours to be rather uncomfortable and very squeaky. But ok ish once we got used to them.

Breakfast was, since my last visit over 20 years ago to Turkey much better than before, choice of cereals, cheese, cold meats, eggs, salad, cakes, preserves including diet ones and of course the delicious Turkish bread. Chef also made a lovely cheese omelette upon request.

All the staff at the hotel we found to be pleasant, helpful and polite.

The pool area was clean and tidy, every 2 beds had a brolly, as did the beds on the hotels private beach. You have to pay 1TL for a mattress. There was a bar area which I would imagine would get busy during the peak season, but at this time of the year it was very quiet as was all of the hotel.

The hotel for us was perfectly placed, right on the beach front with the lovely promenade between Marmaris town and Icemelar passing between it and the beach, and at the quieter end of Marmaris in the Sitelar area, but in my opinion this was a bonus for us as it was away from a lot of the partying and disco's. If you don't fancy walking hail a dolmus and go into town that way. At the moment its 2TL per person.

This is a 3 star hotel and it met our expectations and we enjoyed our stay and would seriously consider staying here again at the same time of year. The hotel also has free wi-fi in the reception area, just ask at reception for the code.

Across the road from the hotel is the Magic Garden restaurant and bar, which is well worth a visit as the staff are very friendly, food is good and drinks are well priced.

Its worth walking to both Marmaris and Icemelar along the promenade stopping at the friendly bars and cafe's along the way, the 3 Brothers Restaurant on the way to Marmaris is well worth visiting for both food and drinks. Icemelar is the quieter more upmarket end of the bay.

Marmaris harbour is a must if you love boats, the Gulets are beautiful, go and sit in a bar in bar street, with a freshly squeezed OJ and enjoy. Then after refreshments go round the covered market and grab some bargains.

I visited Marmaris first about 20 years ago and the area in my opinion has certainly improved.

Room tip- ask for an odd number room if you like evening sunshine, eg 205,207, 209 etc

We also decided not to use our tour operators transfer to the resort and chose instead to book private transfers with www.Marmaris.org direct. What a pleasant surprise, we were met by a lovely gentleman with a luxurious mercedes MPV, we were in the resort within 90 minutes in comfort. We were so impressed that we went online in resort and booked our return with them, just so we could travel in extra comfort. - Thank you Marmaris.org and your staff for an excellent and very affordable transfer in our opinion.

I hope you enjoy your visit if you stay at the Flamingo, and enjoy Marmaris and the people.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mosel_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Firstly,
My wife and I stayed at the Flamingo on our first ever visit to Turkey in June 2011.
We loved it. The people, the food, the value for money and of course the fantastic weather and scenery. We didn't think it would be anywhere near as nice as our regular trips to the Greek Islands or Cyprus. We were wrong, it is a fantastic place with fantastic people.
I could go on forever about Marmaris and Icmeler. Just go, you will not regret it. I would advise a taxi transfer to and from the airport as it only took us 1 hour 15 mins as opposed to up to 4 hours for people travelling by coach or shuttle bus.
The location of the Flamingo could not be better. Equal distant to both Marmaris Centre and Icmeler. Both were a nice 45 minute Walk or 10mins on the Dolmus which you can get outside the Hotel. It is at the Quiet end of Marmaris but still with hundreds of quieter Bars and Restaurants within a 5 minute walk. We ate out every single night of our 14 night stay and every meal was superb and great value. Breakfast at the Hotel is very good.
Rooms are OK and Air-Con more than adequate. The Hotel has its own private stretch of beach and the pool area is large as is the pool.
The ONLY thing that would make us think twice about going back to this particular hotel unfortunately is the influx of Russian guests. We found them to be the most ignorant and anti-social people we have EVER met. They never smile or acknowledge you, they constantly look miserable. At breakfast we continually saw them filling their bags with food and drink to last them the rest of the day, even though it was included in the price and there was loads of choice. They would never buy anything from the poolside bar or socialise with any other nationalities but their own. It is true what the other reviewer says in that they look at you as if you are second class citizens (hey its you lot who steal the food not us!).
We enjoy meeting all nationalities and learning about their culture but you have no chance with these people, they are awful!
We would have given this hotel 5 stars had it not been for them.
We notice the price for the hotel has almost doubled for next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank terrysharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

stayed at the flamingo hotel 4/11 october 2011.room was a home from home and really felt comfortable.it is clean and staff are friendly and courteous without being overbearing.food was tasty and wholesome with lots of choice. hotel is at the quiter end of marmaris towards icmeler but only a few minutes in the regular dolmus bus shutttle to the harbour and bazaar.highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimnirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
1.3 mi away
Yunus Hotel
Yunus Hotel
#45 of 234 in Marmaris
197 reviews
1.6 mi away
Club Viva Hotel
Club Viva Hotel
#38 of 234 in Marmaris
1,182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Poseidon Hotel
Poseidon Hotel
#33 of 234 in Marmaris
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Malibu Beach Hotel
Malibu Beach Hotel
#115 of 234 in Marmaris
365 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cihanturk Hotel
Cihanturk Hotel
#96 of 234 in Marmaris
149 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cle Beach Boutique Hotel
Cle Beach Boutique Hotel
#47 of 234 in Marmaris
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel

Property: Flamingo Hotel
Address: Siteler Mah., Cumhuriyet Bulvari, No:45, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Flamingo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing