We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will be our home in Marmaris :-)”
Review of Flamingo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flamingo Hotel
Ranked #72 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Reviewed 1 August 2010

This is a 3 star hotel, but deserves more. We stayed there 3 nights and enjoyed it really. The breakfast was great, with a huge variety of food, cheese, cereals, herbal tea, cake a.s.o. The dinner was also great, with options of fish, chicken/lamb, meat as main course, lots of salad, pasta/rice, dessert a.s.o. The room was spacey. The bathtoom was clean and well ventilated (no smell/humidity) The balcony was small but enough for 2-3. All the rooms have sea-view. There is a market just at the other side of the road, so if you are bored you may go out and take a walk or take the Dolmuş to the City Center. We travelled with our own car so, it was not a problem. We usually use the hotels to eat and sleep so we even did not notice if the was animation or music. The hotel has a nice beach with free sunbeds. So fo next time at Marmaris, I will not search for any hotel alse to stay, and I would definitely advise my family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank estella2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Flamingo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2010

I give an honest opinion & hope you read the review as that. The hotel was great, we booked last minute, although I'd be happy if I'd paid full price - It is a Thomas Cook and Thomson hotel with all facilaties and was 3-4*.
We arrived with a less than acceptable hospitality, a bar near advised it wasn't an English hotel, although we had plenty of English there and made some great friends by the pool (even people from the US) , however, when your working front of desk your job is to be friendly and to be shown a hand and 'It isn't my problem' isn't forthcoming - I'd paid my money and have to say decided we'd walk past reception which for me isn't normal - I'd like to familiarise myself with the staff and say hello, leave a tip & basically make a friend or two to perhaps come back next year. That wasn't the approach here unfortunately, it was a international hotel, we had issues during our stay that could have been resolved with less hassle and a more than laid back attitude on front of house. We were woken on arrival at 4am by the phone in our room asking for passports (rather than wait till the morning - we obviously weren't going anywhere) we reported the mini bar broken for 4 days and in the end thought why bother with a smirk on reception asking why we wanted it!! - we had a bottle of champagne to chill and they asked if they should swap?? - all were out of the ordinary. When stood at reception the Russian guests were given more priority - which is fine if that is what they base the Hotel on, however, they still have paying customers and should treat them all the same. We booked with a less known company and they made that very clear to us?? - why? and while I wanted to say Hi as I walked past and feel relaxed didn't with front of house - except one guy who although wasn't there regular had an excellent customer service. Other than that, the food was brilliant, the pool was good. The bar staff and kitchen staff were an absolute credit to the hotel - and I'd like to say a big thank you.
The cleaners, although cleaned the room each day, one day left our towels in the bath wet and dirty so had to wash them ourselves as front of house asked us why our towels were dirty?.
The restaurant staff & pool bar staff were second to none and while I normally book B&B as HB or AI isn't a good enough variety, this was great - we ate there almost every night. They were friendly, helpful and more importantly a part of making your holiday enjoyable.
On arrival first impresions last and I wish we'd arrived at the pool bar rather than reception. All in all an enjoyable holiday - thanks to all that made it.
As for keeping your room on and other things, expect to be given the run around and then a 'YES' at the last minute just to add to the pleasure you will pay even though there are people who have left and rooms empty. We're all human at the end of the day and treat others as we expect to be - we paid for our holiday and in that job at front of desk, I'd make sure all my guests enjoyed there stay - no questions asked.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetsetters05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We have just returned from Marmaris and it was a great holiday.
Sorry to hear about your ruined one. We didn't have any problem at the hotel.
It was even better than we expected. The room was large, with nice balcony, the air was very efficient, actually it was so strong that we had to turn it off during the night.
The food was very good- we had breakfast and dinner, the pool was nice, good size, and the beach even better, with sunbeds for everyone, anytime.
Actually the beach , the scenery - with the mountains and the beautiful bays , better seen from the boat , were for us the best part of the holiday.
The only bad thing I can remember- they don't have any animation , not even some music at the pool, not even in the evening. Fortunately you can choose from a great variety of places for spending a great evening.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marrussia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I booked this holiday for two weeks with my mum and it was the holiday from hell.so many things happened.first of the room we had was really really hot the air con blew out very little air in one part of the room the the other side had nothing it was like a oven we asked for a fan but didnt have one.we went onto the balcony for air and there was a machine blowing out hot air so we could not find any air to cool us down it was awful.one day we was sat by the pool and one of the other guests told us that a pair of her daughters shoes had been stolen she had reported it at reception and the maid had brought them back the next day.we became worried by this so my mum said go and get my phone from the room so when i went to check the phone had also been stolen from the bed side draw i went back to the pool to tell my mum the next minute the same guest daughter had her camera stolen from the bed side draw.we went to the reception to report this and demanded to see the manager.the staff at reception was very unhelpfull to us and said speak to your rep which we waited 3 hours for the rep to turn up and the manager,The rep said you must phone the police which we did the police turned up and checked our room and the other guest room to find the missing item they were no where to be found.both familys had to go to the police station to fill out statments whilst doing this the other lady daughter calls her and says the camera had been put back into the room so she went back to the hotel me and my mum was at the station for 4 hours.when we went back to the hotel and we entered the room the phone had been thrown on the bed just like the ladys camera.The manager of the hotel she was the most unhelpful rude didnt care attitude i have ever come across and should not be allowed to be in this job.It seems to me that we were targets because we were english women on our own.After this the staff behind the days were giving us evil looks as if we did some thing wrong.the lift kept breaking down every two minutes we were stood at the bottom waiting for the lift and the staff would not tell us it was broke .My mum got stuck int he lift for 10 minutes.there was power cuts all time and all the eletric would go off.The hotel has no air con in any part of the building so you were always hot.one ocasion my mum went to the room to look for me as she got to the door it was open she found the cleaner going threw my clothes im not sure what she would of done if my mum had not have caught her the cleaner was shocked that my mum has seen what she was doing.When the rep told the manager about this she asked the cleaner what she was doing she said she thought we were checking out when it was quite clear that we wasnt as all our items were still in the room.There was 2 nice staff at this hotel the rest was rude and arrogant.no music at the pool which felt morbid and depressing.AS soon as you get a mattress for the sunbed they would run at you straight away for your 2 lira.we hated this hotel and we could not wait to get home the staff the manager the cleaners who steal from you never again.

Stayed: July 2010
2  Thank dinaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Just returned from a week at the Flamingo Hotel, Bed and Breakfast. We were two couples in our twenties looking for somewhere relaxing and close to the beach, and the Flamingo Hotel more than met our needs.

Rooms: We had two rooms which we expected to be double but were actually twin, we pushed the beds together and the next day the cleaners made the beds up with double sheets and blankets which was both convenient and thoughtful of them. One room had TWO balconies and both had air conditioning (free!) however one of the air conditioning units was noisy and leaked. Although the staff were quick to fix the problem with very little fuss. The rooms were spacious and the showers were powerful and always hot.

Food: We found that the Breakfast was one of the best parts of the stay. There was a huge selection and as one of our party has allergies we were always cautious about what was on offer, however we didn’t need to worry as everything was clearly laid out and the selection was brilliant. Every day the chef cooked something different fresh. Omelettes, Pancakes, Eggs, Fried tomatoes were amongst the selection. There was a lot of fresh fruit, pastries, cereals, yoghurts, teas and coffees and the staff were quick to clear the tables and provide clean cutlery after every visit up to the buffet.
We ate at the restaurant on our last night and wished that we had done it earlier as the selection was just as good (if not better) than the breakfast buffet, especially for vegetarians and those wishing to try dishes that were both traditional and ‘safe’. We would definitely consider going half board.
The food and drink by the pool was a little expensive and we would perhaps suggest that you leave the pool to have lunch (if you have room for lunch after breakfast!!)

Pool: The Pool is big by Marmaris standards (huge in fact!) the pool area was large and we didn’t ever have trouble finding a sun lounger since the beach was so close. However, we would advise that you pay 1lira for cushions on the sun loungers as we didn’t realise they were there on the first day and the sun loungers are VERY uncomfortable without them!
There is also a table tennis table and a pool table by the pool, however be careful when using these. We used them for 2 days without a problem and on the 3rd day they suddenly decided to start charging us. The barman was very rude in demanding that we pay 5 lira an hour which isn’t a ridiculous amount however it just seemed odd that we weren’t asked before. We refused to pay for our first few days and after speaking to the manager he said he would have a word with the staff to be clear with people about the terms of use. So just ask at the bar when you collect the balls or bats.

Location: The location is brilliant in relation to bars and restaurants and obviously the beach. For reasonably priced food that is good quality try the Greasy Spoon and Restaurant No Name on the main strip...and on the beach front walk to the left towards Icmeler and try restaurant Infinity, the food was good quality, the staff were no hassle and the whole atmosphere was lovely, we even stayed for drinks and dancing after the meal.

Overall: Overall we found that the Flamingo hotel was great value for money, the breakfast was very good, the evening meals were good quality also. The location is perfect for those wanting to have a peaceful holiday but within walking distance of the action. There are a lot of shops and restaurants close by offering good deals and the hotel itself is spacious and has good facilities. Just be aware that the staff can be a little greedy and that they tend to favour the Russian guests, although there was a fair balance between Brits, Germans and Russians we found that some of the staff gave priority to the Russian guests. However, all the staff were good humoured if you were willing to interact with them and be polite. Overall this hotel had more than we ever expected :)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Me and a friend had stayed at the Flamingo hotel in Sept 09 and were very pleased with the hotel choice. Its along the beachfront promenade so your a few steps from the pool to a small stretch of shingle beach. The pool is small and there are sunloungers lining the terrace area, the hotel was quiet during our stay so we didn't feel it was crammed but this could be the case during July/August. Although as mentioned there is a stretch of beach opposite the back of the hotel with an area for its guests too. The hotel has a pool side bar where myself and my friend did eat a few times for lunch, the food is very nice and reasonably priced.

The hotel location is at the far end of Marmaris heading towards Icmeler, it took around 30 minutes to walk the whole stretch of the resort down to the harbour area. This was a great walk down you pass many shops and restaurants on the way. As always with the Turkish they are persistant and are always trying to get your attension so you would go to their restaurant or look in the shops but with a friendly smile and NO and they would just turn their attension to the next person. If this would not suit you then try walking along the beachfront area its quiter with a few restaurants, also alot on the front aren't aloud to hassle you so up until the crossroad area on the beachside front it is quiet but it does get bussier passed here as this is where all the beach bars and cabaret shows are located.

The rooms at the Flamingo are clean and spacious with a good sized balcony for two people to sit on an evening. The decor is a little dated but not shabby, plenty of storage space which was great for two girls who had massive amounts of lugagge. Cleaners came daily to empty the bins and tidy the beds, the rooms are carpeted so that was a little different to usual hotel rooms abroad. Bathroom was a good size and there was free air conditioning. The are no in roof safety deposit boxes but they are located in reception which I didn't realise until the last day.

Although the location was a little further than I would usually opt for it wasn't a problem and it was nice to wander the resort and see the different restaurants and bars that were on offer.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannna1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We spent two weeks at the Flamingo Hotel in Marmaris, and had a fantastic time. The hotel was lovely, well equiped and peaceful. Entatainment was provided twice a week and if you needed more you only had to walk along the beach path to neighbouring hotels. Very friendly and attentive staff throughout our stay, The waiters and pool staff are a credit to the hotel. The food was plentiful and varied, we stayed half board and had no complaints, there was always plenty to choose from. Good pizzas, pasta, salads and burgers with chips available at the pool bar at lunchtimes for very cheap prices too. The swimming pool was relaxed and there were always lots of sunbeds. Lots to see and do in Marmaris, yes the shop keepers are a little enthusiastic, but if you banter with them they are friendly and up for a laugh. We had a great time and the sun shone every day. We would definately return and recommend this hotel. The only negative was the long coach transfer to the hotel from the airport, (the driver not the distance!), book a private transfer if you are going with Cosmos.

Jenny
West Sussex

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
1.6 mi away
Club Viva Hotel
Club Viva Hotel
#38 of 234 in Marmaris
1,202 reviews
0.8 mi away
Poseidon Hotel
Poseidon Hotel
#32 of 234 in Marmaris
388 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cle Beach Boutique Hotel
Cle Beach Boutique Hotel
#46 of 234 in Marmaris
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Yunus Hotel
Yunus Hotel
#55 of 234 in Marmaris
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pasa Beach Hotel
Pasa Beach Hotel
#22 of 234 in Marmaris
561 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropikal Hotel
Tropikal Hotel
#49 of 234 in Marmaris
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hotel

Address: Siteler Mah., Cumhuriyet Bulvari, No:45, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range: £33 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Flamingo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing