We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand hotel but rooms not so great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
Ranked #16 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed here for 10 nights and overall the hotel was lovely. However the attic rooms on 5th floor do not warrant those of a 5 or 4 star hotel unfortunately. As my husband and I knew we were going to be out and about most of the time we didn't bother to complain but room standard was no better than a 3 star aparthotel we stayed in in Armatulan 3 years ago. I wouldn't say the staff were as friendly as anywhere else you would visit in Turkey- perhaps because they aren't trying to sell you anything because you have already bought it being all inclusive?! Hotel entertainment wasn't great but didnt really matter as location of hotel is so good you can just go out into Marmaris or to the Marina.

Food was good lots of variety but does taste a bit samey however you are never going to please everyone on AI! All in all a great holiday and would stay again would just ask for a better room next time :)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smod83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melihbas, Public Relations Manager at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments with others on the Tripadvisor website, we as the Ideal Team welcome guest feedback as a way of improving the Ideal experience for our future guests. We look forward to welcoming you once again to our Hotel. Thank you for choosing Grand Ideal Premium for your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,611 - 1,617 of 2,351 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

This was the best holiday we've ever had. From start to finish the holiday was great which was made by the hotel. It was truly 5* quality:
- Porters to carry luggage
- Excellent, wide range of fresh food ideal for any diet/fussy eater.
- Fantastic presentation of food, well kept.
- Clean
- Fantastic staff who were on hand all the time to make your meal/stay better.
- Good spa with reasonable priced packaged to give an experience of Turkey.
- Plenty of places to sit, eat and relax.
- Good entertainment.

I really have no complaints about this hotel. Please ignore negative comments as I'm a very fussy traveller and I am more than happy. I just wish those who visit the hotel remember that they are staying in a 5* hotel and treat it and staff with respect.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank natjam1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melihbas, Public Relations Manager at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for sharing your Ideal experience on the Tripadvisor website, we, as part of the Ideal Team are very happy that you have enjoyed the Hotel, its facilities and Services we offer. We appreciate the kind comments and honest opinions you have made and look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel again in the future. Thank you for choosing Grand Ideal premium for your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Been to turkey loads of times, but grand ideal hotel best one we have stayed in staff very freindly and helpfull, food fantastic got a fussy 13year old but she managed to find somethig to eat everyday which was great. Defenatley go back to this hotel.Very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melihbas, Public Relations Manager at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Firstly, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with others on the Tripadvisor Website.
We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed the services and facilities provided by our Hotel and Staff and on behalf of the Ideal Team look forward to welcoming you to our Hotel once again in the future.
Thank you for choosing Grand Ideal Premium for your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Me and my partner went here just the 2 of us, it was the first holiday we'd been on just the 2 of us, it was brilliant! ALL the staff were really friendly, the hotel was spotless and the rooms were cleaned everyday! The food was good for an all inclusive, I especially liked the snack bar in the afternoon as it was easy and saved the fuss of going to the main restaurant. Whilst there me and my partner did a lot of things in the day including the water park, seven island boat trip, marmaris market, Ichmeler market and if you walk along the beach towards Ichmeler you come across a Dolphin sanctuary which was really good, and you watch the dolphin show and get to touch the dolphins too. We didn't really go out of the resort at night unless we went for a meal! I hear the nightlife is good with bars and clubs but we didn't venture out! It really was perfect for a nice relaxing holiday! I would recommend to anyone and I'm shocked that people found things to moan about!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Seansgirl-x-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melihbas, Public Relations Manager at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the Hotel facilities and Staff, we appreciate you taking the time to share your holiday experience with others on the Tripadvisor Website and look forward to welcoming you once again to our Hotel.
Thank you for choosing Grand Ideal Premium for your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Hi all Myself and my family stayed here in August 2011, my 2 children said and keep saying it was the best holiday they had ever had. Do not listen to all the moaning people on here it really is a fantastic hotel, as soon as you pull up outside the hotel you get a wow factor and it continue`s through out your stay. The staff are very friendly especially Scott and Ibrahim.
Food is first class and never ending !! Very close to beach which has free sunbeds and drinks.
Get To Turkey>>> Go To Hotel Grand Ideal Premium >> And have a brill holiday......

Room Tip: All noise stops at 12pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Yug5858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melihbas, Public Relations Manager at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your Ideal experience with others on the Tripadvisor Website. We would also like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the Hotel, its staff and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you once again in the future.
Thank you for choosing Grand Ideal Premium for your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I'm afraid to say our experience at this hotel wasn't good.
Me and my boyfriend were looking for a nice relaxing holiday in April to a country with good weather that wasn't too expensive. We looked on Thomas Cook's website and came across Grand Ideal Premium and were very excited as it looked so 'grand'. Unfortunately it isn't what the name says.
Admittedly, the entrance to the hotel was very striking and made us feel safe with security men on the doors. Reception staff were lovely and welcoming- a great start until we had spent some time and a night in our room!
In the bathroom, the shower didn't let the water out of the plug hole, the taps dripped constantly, the toilet didn't feel stable to sit on and when next door showered- our shower started too!! The beds were extremely hard and the pillows had no give in them so made for 7 very uncomfortable nights! The balcony rails had mould on them resulting in a lot of my wardrobe having to be binned after hanging them to dry!!
The food was very repetitive with the same meals every lunchtime and not much variation for breakfast and dinner!
Very decent size out door pool, however the indoor pool was not in an acceptable state!! Working at a leisure centre, I know how a pool should be maintained and we would be shut down if our pool was a grimy and highly chlorinated as this one!!
I would highly recommend a trip to the spa- we got a great package on a turkish bath, bronzing massage & face mask.
Overall for us, Turkey was more terrifying than relaxing with horrendous road works being carried out on the only main road into Marmaris, being constantly hassled by con men and a disappointing stay at the Grand Ideal Premium.
Perhaps we came at the wrong time but we have definitely been put off Turkey (and this hotel!) for good!!
Tip: McDonalds is a short walk away- fantastic to get a change of food!!

Room Tip: Avoid staying here!! Pay the extra for a better hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Em-J92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melihbas, Public Relations Manager at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Firstly I would like to thank you for your review.



In your review you have mentioned that you experienced several maintenance issues in the room. The Hotel offers a fully manned 24 hour Reception and a 12 hour Guest Relation service, alternatively there are daily visits from the Tour Operator Representative, had these issues been reported to them, they would have been dealt with immediately by our Technical Team as guest comfort is a priority to us. The Hotel also prides itself on its Housekeeping Team and are constantly complimented on the attention to detail shown, therefore, again, if any issues had been raised with Reception or Guest Relations or the Rep, they would have been dealt with immediately.

We have guests of varying nationalities in the Hotel and look to cater for all, therefore our Breakfast Buffet consists of various breads for toasting, a variety of jams and marmalades, fresh fruit and cheeses, yoghurts and cereals as well as eggs (scrambled, boiled or fried) beans, grilled tomatoes, potato wedges,toasted sandwiches, danish pastries, freshly cooked pancakes and waffles. The lunch time snack bar offers freshly coked pizzas, burgers, kebabs, chips, potato croquettes, pasta and sauce as well as a range of salads and fresh fruit. Alternatively, the Four Seasons lunch restaurant offers hot soup, varying meat and vegetable dishes, a full range of salads and fresh fruit and desserts. The evening Diva Restaurant then offers various hot soups, meat dishes such as chicken, turkey, lamb and beef and a range of fresh fish dishes, with a different dish being presented on the show grill each evening, vegetables, potatoes and chips, a full salad range, fresh fruit and various desserts. We also pride ourselves on presenting some Turkish cuisine for guests to enjoy.

The water in the indoor pool is cleaned using an advanced water filration system. The Ozone Water Purification System, it is then chlorinated using an automatic dosage system. The water in the pool is then checked and recorded three times per day by our Technical Team and also once per day by the consultant from Johnson & Diversay which forms part of the monthly HACCP inspection, controlled and monitored by National Britannia of which we are proud to have been awrded a Gold certificate due to our standards.

I hope the above information satifies your review and we, as the Ideal Team look forward to welcoming you to our Hotel once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

It was mine and my partners first time in Turkey, on arrival the trip into marmaris was daunting, and i prejudged and decided from the moment i got onto the bus i hated it. However we stopped off at a sort of layby with toilets, food and soups. OMG food was amazing, things started to look up, the place was in the middle of nowhere and served so promptly, enough time to eat and get back on the bus. When we arrived at our hotel we were shocked, some reviews had slated it and others were very welcoming. The reception is grand and luxurious and the staff were their to greet us and take our luggage to our rooms. The room was simple and modern but didnt lack the 4* standard. Although our view wasnt great, we didnt bother, as you do not go on holiday to sit in a room! The buffet restaurant was good for those who are not fussy eaters, however for fussy eaters like myself you wouldnt starve! The service caught me by surprise, working in 4* hotels in Scotland, these people put us to shame, they were right their to bring you a refill or take your plate. I saw one guy running with a tray of drinks and didnt spill a bit. Its hard to get people over hear just to take your order never mind run for you. Staff were just simply all round lovely. Always happy to help. Maids were great too, everyday at the same time they were there and couldnt have done a better job. Entertainment at night was just your average shows but nevertheless it was still good for relaxing too and having a good laugh. One tip i would give is try out the spa, we went met up with a turkish couple that we knew and they had told us about the baths, i was put off by sharing with different people and paying through the roof, so we opted for the spas own. AMAZING, service was amazing, me and my partner both had massages at the same time and had the whole turkish bath experience, a little boy working for the hotel kindly took photos of us the whole time, you would not get that anywhere else, and its something i now have on camera and not just a memory!
So all round the hotel was perfect, clean, lovely, great food, great staff. Couldnt have asked for anything more.

One tip if your going to do any of the sights, go on the dolphin trip, i was totaly shocked, i thought we were just going on a boat ride (lovely boat, not an old one you see docked, totaly modern speed boat). Complimentary drink too, not draft but cans. Anyway, after an hour or so seeing the sights and caves, we arrived at the dolphin park. I have been to florida and still didnt see dolphin so up close without paying through the roof. We sat and were allowed to watch other couples swim with. Best deal for getting to see dolphins up close. If you decide to go back and swim with dolphins not as dear as anywhere else and would totaly recommend it, people looked like they had a great time and we had a great time watching from a metre away and no less.

Food
I came back home and refused to go out for dinner because the food and quality would match up. We ate out every night and lunch time and i can honestly say everywhere we ate was worth it and underpriced for what you get. At the marina, lovely restaurant called Amigos.
Food was superb, went twice, and on our last night we were treated like kings. It had been raining that day so was slightly cold the Matree d' came and gave me a shawl, walked by our table randomly picked up my camera and took a picture of us - so refreshing not having to ask anyone. And the filet steak - a standard - was perfection.
Dont be put off by the guys trying to get you into their restaurants, its their job at the end of the day like we have ours, dont feel pressured, but time and manners cost nothing.

Overall a fantastic holiday made even better by the friendliness of the people/staff.

Room Tip: If you want anything in particular ask, we asked for a double bed and got one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melihbas, Public Relations Manager at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Firstly, I would like to thank you for posting your holiday review on the tripadvisor website.
I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your first visit to Turkey and have chosen our Hotel. It pleases me to read that you have enjoyed the hospitality of the Hotel from the welcome at check-in and the bell-boy and reception service to the maid service and house-keeping. I am also happy to read to read that you have enjoyed the service received in the restaurants and have also enjoyed the variety of food served in them. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you once again to our Hotel and on behalf of the Ideal team, would like to thank you for choosing Grand Ideal Premium for your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.2 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Pasa Hotel
Grand Pasa Hotel
#22 of 234 in Marmaris
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#23 of 234 in Marmaris
2,774 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pasa Beach Hotel
Pasa Beach Hotel
#21 of 234 in Marmaris
604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium

Address: Cumhuriyet Bulvari No:15, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#10 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#18 Family Hotel in Marmaris
#24 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range: £52 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished for the 2015 season, SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium provides a relaxing atmosphere for the whole family. Guests will enjoy stylish rooms, new digital features of Touch Screen TV's and free Internet points throughout the hotel as well as experiencing the more traditional holiday. Children can enjoy activities in the Lollo & Bernie Kids Club and for teenagers there is the ConnectTeen Lounge (a cool place to hang out). The hotel offers Free Wifi throughout enabling all guests to stay connected to family and friends home and abroad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ideal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing