We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time this year...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
Ranked #16 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Second time this year...”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

So firstly, this was our second two week visit this year, the first being in June.
As always we had a fabulous time, we were in a group of four friends and then some other family members travelled out for the second week.
Excellent service from the reception staff, I asked to be moved room from the 5th floor to be closer to my friends, not a problem, was done promptly the next morning. One thing I would say about my first room though, it was very small, and although it was just for me, the bathroom was tiny and very tired with nowhere to store toiletries etc. The room in general was quite dark and not a welcoming prospect for a two week stay. But like I say, this was dealt with quickly without any problems.
Food as before, was excellent, in the choices available both at lunch and dinner, always a fantastic choice, all well cooked with something for everyone, even fussy vegetarians like myself!
The main restaurant was very busy during our stay and unfortunately there was not enough staff to cope with the demand, I realise now this was due to a lot of staff being seasonal and having to return to their home towns for Winter jobs. Even though there weren't many, the staff that were there did anything they could to help, with a lot of the managers lending a hand when required, nice to see when you realise how hard the staff work all the time.
The entertainment team were great, as before, with Uzzy being the star of the show, a real asset to the hotel who will hopefully return next year. There were two 12 year olds in our party and they were always included and keen to join in whatever was going on.
The bar service again struggled with a lack of staff, often during the day there was only one person serving which led to queues at the bar (I have never seen this queuing before) putting the staff under pressure to get through to the end. Its just like a normal bar at home, you don't queue at those so you shouldn't there!
Sultans as usual, is very sociable in the evening and a great place to have a drink before and after dinner, however, I feel this really is in need of an upgrade, the counter top should be replaced as its very old, and just an overhaul in general would really benefit it. Its the hub of the whole hotel and deserves to look the part.
The onsite shops are great, the hairdressers, the jewellers, the photo shop and the convenience store were all made use of on several occasions and the staff are all excellent.
I would recommend this hotel with absolutely no doubt whatsoever, we are booking again for 2 holidays next year.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the 5th floor for the time being
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melihbas, Public Relations Manager at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
Thank you for sharing your Ideal holiday experience with others on the tripadvisor website.
As returning guests I am very happy to read that you have once again experienced the hospitality of the Hotel from accommodating your room change at Reception when friends arrived to the service received, variety of food served and of the interaction with the animation team by all in your party. I would like to thank you for your recommendation and for choosing Grand Ideal Premium once again for your holidays, we look forward to welcoming you again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,367
    510
    229
    87
    49
See reviews for
942
765
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bridgwater
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

just got back from marmaris after spending a week there. 90 mins transfer, stop off on way, arrive to be allocated dreaded 5th floor room! we not mind as not planned to spend too much time in the room, standing room only on the balcony but sea and pool view-take earplugs very noisy some nights altough all stops at midnight. the food was well presented and plentiful heard some people moan about only chips, where were they staying!! drinks we good too, lots of rum in my rum and coke dont bother with the wine at dinner though. get the bus to icmeler (80p) hop on/off but even better for aprox £3 each ride from marmaris to icmeler every half hour on the taxi boats. recommend the cleoptra castaway (£32 each for 9am til aprox 6pm) jeep safari then time on a beach lunch and a boat worth it! we did not like the trip to Epheses though-£49 each for 3 hour trip to get there, rushed round by the rep (2 hours top) then 3 hours all the way back, dont waste your money spend it instead on all the clothes shoes watches u can get. all in all well enjoyable trip, had fun and we not worried about being on the fifth floor as out most of day, take comfy shoes and earplugs!

Room Tip: dont worry abt fifth floor unless u have kids - not enough room sloping roof, standing room only on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicky p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melihbas, Public Relations Manager at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
Thank you for your review posted on the tripadvisor website.
I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your holiday stay with us from the variety of food served within the Hotel to the beverages served at the bars. Thank you also for your comments regarding the sea views from your room, I do hope that we will be able to welcome you again to our Hotel and on behalf of the Ideal Team, thank you for choosing Grand Ideal Premium Hotel for your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chadderton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Had a lovely break at the Gand Ideal, the hotel was extremely clean and well presented it was a pleasure to walk around. We had a room on the fifth floor which although not spacious was plenty big enough, had everything you could want, kept immaculate and as we were not there to spend a week in a hotel room more than adequate. The food was plentiful and varied if you took your time and looked there was a wide variety and it was presented well The service was excellent until the end of our week when it seemed as if half the restaurant staff had left so those left couldn't keep up the original standard even though it was still good. The pool was lovely and though not all to our taste the entertainment was there if you wanted it. Some people seemed to want to find fault with everything but we had a wonderful relaxing time and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Fifth floor rooms smaller, pool view would be nice and if poor mobility lower floor may be better as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melihbas, Public Relations Manager at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
Thank you for sharing your holiday experience with others on the tripadvisor website.
I would like to thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness of the Hotel and of the room maid service that you have received. I am also happy to read that you have enjoyed the variety of food served within the Hotel and that you have been able to achieve a relaxing holiday around the pool. I do hope that we will be welcoming you again in the future and on behalf of the Ideal Team, would like to thank you for choosing Grand Ideal Premium for your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed at this lovely hotel at the end of July.
Pool.... 330 sunbeds but only 54 parasols! ( yes I did count them!) Pool staff are brilliant,You watch a military operation every night when they are scrubbing everywhere down.entertainment is good till about 3.30pm when the team packs up. Music is on repeat and there is a communal shed for lilo's and inflatables. You need to be down by 7am to get a parasol and 2 decently located beds.
Rooms.... Rooms are allocated before you arrive, so asking does'nt work!!!!! We were given a room on the fifth floor, great we thought, high floor, nice views. Wrong ! nearly all the rooms on the 5th floor are attic rooms, If you are tall you have no chance. We are both 5ft 5" and we both bumped our heads twice within 5 mins of being in the room. We phoned reception and they moved us next day to the 3rd floor. What a difference it was.. Massive room and a big balcony overlooking the pool area. Maids are really good, clean towels daily for the pool and bathroom.
Food..... Breakfast is ok. Lunch inside is great. lunch outside is burgers and salad, chips etc. Dinner is good, potato station located outside is very good, and the pasta station is fine too.
Drinks. pool bar opens at 10am, Lager is not too bad but ask for twice what you want cos there only small glasses. If you ask for your gin and tonic separately, you get a lot more gin!!!
Night entertainment is OK 3 times per week. and ends nightly at 11pm sharp. Head of Entertainment is not very good at all.
Water taxis are 10 lira pp one way, lots of buses pass regularly. Orange go to Ichmeler. Green go to Marmaris.
Day Trips....Cleopatra and Safari is very good. Dalyman River is worth the money. Quad bikes are for one hour around a track. Not very good,and they literally turn a big hose pipe on you to cool you down. Not good if you have a £650 camera!!!!! Bobby Kent night was OK but the food was awful and not enough.
Nearly done !!! This was certainly not a quiet holiday. Very clean and tidy. They had a health man in regularly doing swab checks and water checks. Excellent idea.
Going Home.....Arrival at Dalaman airport was very good.Baggage is 15kgs and 5kgs for your hand luggage. They are very strict on this and will charge you. Drinks at the airport are very dear. £8.50 for a large beer. £1.80 for a 500ml water. and, £9.50 for a Big Mac
All in all a good holiday and would go back there again. If this review helps at least one family then I've not wasted my time. Any questions you may have please email me and I'll try to help. Cheers and ENJOY..

Room Tip: NOT the 5th floor, and definitely pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank alan.lawlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melihbas, Public Relations Manager at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your holiday review on the tripadvisor website.
I would like to thank you for your comments regarding the housekeeping staff who ensure the pool area is cleaned every evening and of the reception staff in being able to accommodate you on your room change request. ı am also happy to read that you have enjoyed the variety of food served in our restaurants and snack bar and that you would be able to recommend our Hotel to friends and family. Thank you for choosing Grand Ideal Premium for your holiday and I hope that we will be able to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

couldnt of asked for a better hotel, location and staff!

stayed at the ideal premium from the 20th-27th october 2012 for 1 week.

firstly the staff in the resturaunt can not do enough for you always filling up your wine glass with ice cold water always on hand to order drinks, the food in the hotel is ok, but your in a foreign country so dont expect bacon and sausage for breakfast!! i am a very fussy eater and i could always find something to eat.

the entertainment team in the hotel are fantastic, always lots to do such as darts, snooker and water polo, they will come around and chat to you and make you feel at home, they can not do enough for you

the rooms in the hotel are well furnished but if you are a light sleeper i suggest you take ear plugs as you will hear people coming in and out in the middle of the night.

club black out inside the hotel is fantastic! kareoke most nights inside good music and your all inclusive still counts inside the club!

the staff around the pool could smile a little more but if you make conversation they will make it back, they work very hard and will always fill your glass to the top!

lastly the hotel overall is fantastic not to sure about marmaris its self but would go back just because the hotel is fantastic, would go back tomorrow!

thankyou grand ideal for making our stay so fantastic!!

Room Tip: ask for a pool view or attick room to stop noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melihbas, Public Relations Manager at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
Thank you for sharing your holiday experience with others on the tripadvisor website.
I am very happy to read that you have enjpyed your holiday with and experienced the friendliness of the staff and have been happy with the service that you have received from them, that you have also enjoyed the time spent with the animation team joining in the activities and using the Black Out Club in the evening. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you again in the future and on behalf of the Ideal Team, would like to thank you for choosing Grand Ideal Premium for your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2012

just returned from a great week spent at the grand ideal. the weather was superb until the last day when there was a thunder storm... we were spoilt for choice with meals and im sure we piled on the pounds with over eating ....... all the hotel staff were all very friendly , always happy and smiling .. so if you want to chill relax and enjoy some turkish hospitality then the Grand ideal is the place to go.. see you all next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melihbas, Public Relations Manager at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Thank you for submitting your holiday review on the tripadvisor website.
I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed the friendliness of the staff, the variety of food served within the restaurants and snack bar and that you have also enjoyed the fine weather that we have been experiencing this October. I do hope that we will be welcoming you again in the future and on behalf of the Ideal Team, would like to thank you for choosing Grand Ideal Premium for your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

just got back from the grand ideal what a fantastic hotel cant wait to go back the hotel was lovely,The staff are very welcoming and met some great people :) rooms are very nice and clean, dont no why people moan about the food and say its the same food all the time i ate different every night, the entertainment was good. I was sat at the bar 1 night and its unreal how many holiday makers leave there manners at home a please and thank you would not go amiss these people work hard a little respect wont hurt. I have no complaints about this hotel and i would recommend it to anyone some of the nicest people i have met and cant wait till i go back next year :)

Room Tip: pool side great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah12906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melihbas, Public Relations Manager at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Thankyou for your holiday review posted on the tripadvisor website.
I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and have experienced our hospitality from the welcoming and friendly staff to the cleanliness of the rooms provided by the housekeeping team. I would like to thank you for your recommendation to holiday with us and for choosing Grand Ideal Premium for your holiday. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.2 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#19 of 234 in Marmaris
2,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Pasa Hotel
Grand Pasa Hotel
#17 of 234 in Marmaris
1,995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
#26 of 234 in Marmaris
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium

Property: SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
Address: Cumhuriyet Bulvari No:15, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#11 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#18 Family Hotel in Marmaris
#24 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished for the 2015 season, SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium provides a relaxing atmosphere for the whole family. Guests will enjoy stylish rooms, new digital features of Touch Screen TV's and free Internet points throughout the hotel as well as experiencing the more traditional holiday. Children can enjoy activities in the Lollo & Bernie Kids Club and for teenagers there is the ConnectTeen Lounge (a cool place to hang out). The hotel offers Free Wifi throughout enabling all guests to stay connected to family and friends home and abroad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ideal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing