We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
Ranked #16 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I took our daughter and grand daughter to this hotel. The only positive comment I can make is that the hotel was clean and the lovely lady who cleaned our rooms was wonderful. The downside of the hotel is that the food was very boring and predictable, you could eat it but you would be after a few days quite bored of what they offer for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We was all inclusive but after 3 days of hotel food we went to the 'Greasy Spoon' restaurant across the road from hotel for our breakfast's and dinners and I was quite worried about how adults with young children were feeding them at this hotel because apart from lunch at the pool side snack bar there was not a 'child menu' on offer. Now let's deal with the entertainment which was absolutely terrible. This hotel has the worst entertainment that my husband and I have ever seen. One of their routines was 'two of them holding a washing line and hanging washing on it' haven't got a clue what that was all about. The rest of their entertainment was just has bad. So if you are hoping to get a good variety menu and to be entertained then choose somewhere to stay in Marmaris. My husband and I go abroad on holiday at least twice a year but we will NOT be going back to this hotel. One last comment is that the bar staff are absolutely useless .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iphotels, Ideal Team at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your review posted on the Tripadvisor website.
I would like to take this opportunity to comment on review.
The Hotel is International and whilst the food menu's which are on a 14 day plan incorporate many dishes from Europe of which the UK is part of, the Hotel also serves traditional Turkish Cuisine, we do not have a specific childrens menü due to the many choices of dishes already on offer in the restaurants and snack bar. The animation team provide daily activities of morning gym, boccia, children games,darts, aqua gym, pool games (water), water polo aqua fit,daily competitions and dance classes as well as zumba, the evening programme endeavours to incorporate sketches to süit all nationalities and ages, as well as Turkish night and Live music.
I hope your review is satisfied with this information. Thank you for choosing our Hotel for your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,330)
There are newer reviews for SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,126 - 1,132 of 2,330 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

When we arrived we were amazed by the beauty of this hotel, hotel staff all friendly and will do anything to help you. Food was good and there was always something to eat for all 6 of us 1 of us being very fussy! The rooms were very nice, just what you need. Nice balcony's to relax on to. Pool amazing and always plenty on sun loungers. Met some amazing people here and can't wait to return next year,

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iphotels, Ideal Team at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your recent holiday review posted on the Tripadvisor website.
I would like to thak you for your comments regarding the Hotel hospitality and your enjoyment of the services and facilities provided. I do hope that we will be welcoming you again in the future and on behalf of the Team here at Ideal Premium, thank you for your recommendation and for choosing our Hotel for your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Returned home after a fantastic 2 week stay at this hotel on the 9th may brill hotel rooms fantastic very clean with a great view to pool area clean towels every day and are housekeepervwas very nice and done a fantastic job . Food was great with plentyfull choice Turkish night was great . Animation team fab and worked hard big hello to akin and Lionel always very happy and good at their job all shows great . Plenty of drinks to choose from nightclub also good at hotel big thank you to tania who took my worry away of buying to many shoes and very helpful made some long life friends hear please don't listen to bad reviews as find some unfair cart wait to come back next year thanks to all at grand ideal that made mine and my hubby's holiday fantasic this year xxx

Room Tip: Fantasic place cart praise enough
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iphotels, Ideal Team at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your recent holiday review posted on the Tripadvisor website.
I would like to thank you for your many kind comments regarding the hospitality that you have experienced during your holiday stay with us. I do hope that we will be welcoming you again in the future and on behalf of the Team here at Ideal Premium, thank you for your recommendation and for choosing our Hotel for your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was my 2nd visit to this hotel we arrived 25/04/14 till 09/05/14 and we had a great time.

Hotel is spotless and very grand always cleaners around, fantastic location walking distance to Marmaris an the bus stops right outside.

Entertainment this year was AMAZING so much better than last year Serdar Duran the entertainment manager is fantastic an has a great team Tania, Tania, Atkin and the DJ they made are holiday so good so a BIG thanks to you all my Daughter Mercedes misses you all!!

Food is fine we never went hungary day time food at the outside snackbar is great for the kids you can get pizza, chips, pasta, chicken nuggets, salad an lots more.

Tania the Guest Relation Manager is fantastic and was lovley to see her again and as returning guests on are arrival in to are room we had a bottle of wine, big fruit plate and a letter thanking us for coming back which was very nice.

Right the only bad thing we found is on the 1st May the only inside bar was stopped from serving alcohol before the 1st may because the weather was so bad (we had lots and lots of rain the 2 weeks we was there) we would come in and get a drink out the cold and rain and even the entertainment would be in the nightclub so it saved the kids being outside cold and we could stay in there till 11 with kids. Then with no notice just stopped it all no inside bar exept the night club which children were now not allowed in, The only bar for the whole hotel was the pool bar. If the weather was warm and sunny its fine but when its thunder and rain outside you want to drink indoors the only way to do this was go and get your drinks from the pool bar and carry them up a flight of stairs to sit in the now non alcoholic bar. As i say if the weather was nice then it wouldnt be a problem just with such bad weather to not have a indoor bar in the whole hotel and just a pool bar seemed a bit strange.

Having said all that we will be booking for next year for are 3rd year great hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vicci6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iphotels, Ideal Team at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank yo for your review posted on the Tripadvisor website.
As a returning guest I am happy to read that you have once again experienced the hospitality of the Hotel, its staff and services especially those provided by the animation team.The Hotel does not advertise an Indoor bar however provision was made for alcohol to be served for a short period of time inside, this is due to the fact that the Hotel opens in the winter season, however the resort of Marmaris opens on May 1st and therefore all winter facilities are withdrawn. I do hope that you will visit us again in the future and on behalf of the Team here at Ideal Premium, thank you for you recommendation and for choosing our Hotel once again for your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

And we still wouldn't go back if they offered
5**** slum
Rude staff rooms like prison cells
food unfit for humans
They call it a restaurant more like a workers canteen
Sheets made my skin feel if it was crawling
nasty nasty place

Room Tip: go to butlins
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UlsterBrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iphotels, Ideal Team at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for your recent holiday review posted on the tripadvisor website.
I am sorry to read that you have not been satisfied by our Hotel and I would like to take this opportunity to comment on your review. I would firstly like to begin by saying that the Hotel has a fully manned 24 hour reception, a 12 hour daily guest relation service and daily visits from the resort rep, all personnel working together to resolve any concerns that guests may have, of course this can only be done if notified by the guests. Questions such as laundry service, service issues can be dealt with immediately. You have booked to stay at Grand Ideal Premium through Thomas Cook who sell the Hotel as a 4* and the Hotel has never been referred to as a `slum`. You have commented on rooms being like prison camps when we offer our guests free air-conditioning, mini-bars, free safe, flat screen HD satellite televisons and provide pool towels and daily room maid service, I am sorry that I do not understand the reference to a `prison camp`. All food served within the snack bar and restaurants is of the highest quality and is tested daily by our Food Engineer under the Hotel HACCP Policy which is controlled and monitored by National Britannia Food Safety (who carry out adhoc monthly inspections), National Britannia have awarded the Hotel its Gold Certificate for maintained standards. The Hotel also pays for a Government contracted Laboratory to test food samples on a monthly basis. Dinner service is over a two hour period and of course can at times become busy , this is usually when the restaurant first opens or when guests are queuing for freshly cooked items from the showgrill. I do hope that the information provided has satisfied your review and on behalf of the Team here at Ideal Premium, thank you for choosing our Hotel for your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Visited the Grand Ideal Premium on 09/04/14 for one week and had a fantastic, relaxing and pleasant holiday. It was my first visit to Turkey and, after reading slightly mixed reviews about the hotel, I didn't quite know what to expect on arrival. I needn't have feared; the staff, facilities and food were all excellent!

On check in, my boyfriend and I were given a warm welcome and shown to our room (which was large, clean and well equipped). Despite a late arrival, we headed downstairs to check out the hotel facilities and found we could get drinks and food (sandwiches) from the late night snack bar. I was very impressed by the prompt service by all staff members and the cleanliness of the bar/food areas.

I'm not sure what other reviews are talking about when they say they ate chips for breakfast, lunch and dinner! There were lots of fresh salads, soups, breads, meats, cheeses and local dishes to choose from and I had a varied breakfast, lunch and dinner every day; I didn't find anything about the selection of food that I didn't like. The desserts were amazing...

Staff were friendly, personable and on hand to get you anything you wanted. The entertainment, although not always to my personal taste, was great for kids and there was a show/some form of entertainment on every evening. The entertainment staff were lovely, always ready with a smile and a real credit to the hotel.

All in all - I booked a 'budget' holiday and didn't expect much when I turned up at the hotel...safe to say I highly recommend the hotel to others as I can't fault it for the price we paid. I would definitely book again. Thanks to the staff for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iphotels, Ideal Team at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your recent holiday review posted on the Tripadvisor website.
I am very happy to read that you have experienced our hospitality, services and facilities and that you have achieved your aim of a relaxing holiday. I do hope that you will visit us again in the future and on behalf of the team here at Ideal Premium, thank you for your recommendation and for choosing our Hotel for your first holiday to Turkey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Visited this hotel 25/4/2014-10/5/2014.
Went for our 30th Wedding Anniversary. Told two weeks before departure by Thomas Cook that a new hotel was being built near to our hotel but that the management of the hotel would be moving as many guests away from the works as possible. They said we could change our accommodation without having to pay the admin fee. We tried. It was too expensive to change at this late stage so we wrote to them to let them know that we weren't happy and why. On arrival at hotel we liked the look of it. The reception/checking in was super speedy.
Room: On opening our balcony we were faced with the building works. Given that we had written to Thomas Cook before departure, making our feelings perfectly clear, we were a bit upset to say the least. We didn't bother talking to their rep in the hotel because by that time we had unpacked etc. and hoped we wouldn't be too disturbed by them. As it turned out we did hear banging and clattering on many occasions but since we weren't in the room that often we let it lie. The hotel was larger than we thought. We were in room 220 which overlooks the back of other hotels and the new hotel being built so not great! The room itself was large enough. There were two wardrobes and a set of two drawers each. There is also a surface with a mirror above and socket. Also a TV on the wall with some satellite channels (however we didn't really watch much TV so couldn't comment on how good the reception etc. was). There was a mini fridge. It had 4 packs of juice and two bottles of water in there on arrival (we had another 4 and water at the beginning of the second week). You take the bottle down to the bar area where there is a machine where you help yourself to juice and water. The bathroom contained a new shower unit and sink unit with plenty of space for all of your toiletries. There is a hairdryer in the bathroom. You have to keep your finger on the button for it to work and it only had one heat and one speed (i.e. typical of hotel hairdryers). Towels and shower mat were changed every day. Blue towels for use by the pool are obtained by contacting reception. We had left two used ones in our room and these were replaced by the domestic staff the next day. We also left towels by the pool but getting fresh ones was never a problem you just had to contact reception. There is also a free safe in your room. You are allowed one room key and one safe key. If you loose them there is a replacement cost. The beds were on the firm side for me (we have a memory foam at home) so my sleep wasn't great the whole time I was there.
Pool: Large (and felt a bit cold when jumping in but OK once in). There were a couple of steps into it that were near to the shallower end where there is a slide. Animation staff were there to ensure safety. There is a shed there with inflatables to use - presumably left by other guests. There were lots of sunbeds and as usual the problem of towels and no bottoms persists and, as usual, nothing is done.
The pool area is also where the bar is and the stage for entertainment. The bar staff Ozzie, Engin and others are very friendly and drinks are readily available. All drinks were served in strong plastic glasses for obvious reasons (some people were not happy about this - goodness knows why)
It is also where the stage is and where the animation team were to be found playing games, table tennis, boules, darts etc. in the day together with aqua gym and water polo. In the evening there were different shows each night, apart from Sundays which is the animation teams day off. We thought it was OK in the main and they did their best. We joined in with what we wanted and didn't feel pressurised to join in anything. Titannia, Aken, Tania, Lionel and Elize all worked hard and from what we could tell the kids loved them and their mini disco.
This is also where the snack bar is located. This serves food from 12 until about 6. From 12 - 4 (ish) Salads were always available together with fresh bread in the form of rolls and sliced from uncut loaves. Spaghetti was also available every day together with either bolognaise or Neapolitan sauce. Chips were also available together with handmade pizza, little Turkish breads (like chapatti's) filled with cheese or mince and veg and other days there would be pastry based snacks. There were also burgers and similar available. Fresh fruit and small pastries were also available. After 4 and until around six O'clock cakes and pastries were available.
There is also a coffee/tea machine with both paper cups and proper cups and saucers (can seriously recommend the cappuccino - in fact I am surprised there is any left!!)
Beside the pool area is a small general shop where the owner speaks excellent English.
There is a beauty parlour where you can get a pedicure for 4 quid and a Turkish shave for the same. Threading is also done here for very little and most of the things on offer seemed extremely reasonable.
There is also a photographer on site who will take shots down by the beach at sunset or around the pool area.
The Spa!!!!! What can we say. OMG it is a wonderful experience and if you can do it then go for it. We had the Buddha deluxe and last day package. Buddha deluxe is in the marble spa room. Exfoliated, mud bath, bubble massage etc. etc. etc. This was followed by massages and reflexology - WOW how good did we feel. We also booked a series of medical massages. Taneer did my hubbies. He found the problem straight away and treated him over the course of 5 massages. His shoulder and back are so much better now we can't thank Taneer enough. My Masseur who's name I have forgotten was truly wonderful too. I'd go back to this hotel just for those massages. Typhoon and team a big thumbs up from us. Talk to Speedy or Jenny for the best deals.
Café de Paris - only visited this a couple of times really. It was, at the time, the indoor bar. Small area really. This is where you could get coffee/tea/juice etc through the night. Served Sandwiches from 12 until 1 am. We did have some of these and they were adequate. I believe that now you can no longer get alcohol at this bar but since we didn't have any there anyway couldn't comment.
A la Carte restaurant. Can't comment other than to say folks were rushing there at 12.30 in order to get a seat. This may have been because the weather wasn't too great and the seating area inside is quite small. Only went once because I fancied a bowl of soup - soup was great but as I didn't try anything else can't really comment. Apparantly you can make a reservation for this restaurant but we didn't know this, the rep didn't tell us this either. It may have been that I missed that in the bumpf somewhere but since we were happy in the main restaurant it isn't a problem.
Main restaurant: buffet style as has been said by others before.
Typical offerings for breakfast included - fresh bread - rolls, Turkish bread and sliced bread for toast. Toast brigade I am sure will offer comments as to the speed etc. of the toasters. There were cheeses, salads, boiled eggs, fried eggs, chips, omelettes, baked beans, sausages, porridge, cereals, fruit and fruit juices, coffee/tea.
Evening meal menu (this was what was on offer on one of the nights) : again fresh breads of varying types, cheeses, lots of canapés, lots of salads, boiled rice, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, chicken baked in the oven with cheese, minced beef with peas/onions/mushroom, cheese pastries, grilled fish, grilled liver, chips, roast potatoes, spaghetti with either bolognaise or Neapolitan sauce and numerous puddings. There were different things each night and only one dish was repeated - much to my delight - sautéed liver - yummy with a capital Y!
We heard that some people were complaining about the food. I honestly do not know why. These people must have been extremely picky. To be fair we are quite happy to try things out and do not expect fish and chips or a Sunday dinner - if we did we would stay at home!
The resort: The grand Ideal is nearly a two mile walk into Marmaris. You can walk along the promenade or the road outside the hotel. The promenade is pretty flat into Marmaris so suitable for most (trying to avoid the mopeds and cyclists can be a bit tricky though). You are hawked to go into the restaurants, bars and shops but the Turkish are very friendly and don't push too hard. Be prepared to bargain, and bargain hard in order not to get ripped off. We bought a converter from the Thomas Cook air crew (£1 each) which proved invaluable for quickly working out what they wanted to charge you for goods etc.. The bazaar is wonderful and we spent happy hours wandering and getting lost through it. We also visited the outside shops and little lanes - thoroughly charming.
You can also walk into Icmeler along the promenade about 3 1/2 miles fairly flat walking. Icmeler is lovely to visit too.
Along the promenade there are various offers of trips and water sports. Going towards Icmeler is the swim with dolphins experience. We didn't actually do this but it cost £85 for a couple to play with the dolphins.
There are lots of restaurants shops and bars to visit. Lots of cheap (albeit fake) shopping to be had if that's your thing.
Would recommend this hotel as we had a terrific time. We thought it was a four star and some people seem to think it was a five star. We would say 4

Room Tip: The lower rooms facing the pools I would imagine would be quite noisy as this is where the bar and e...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank cazonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iphotels, Ideal Team at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for posting your recent holiday review on the Tripadvisor website.
I would like to thank you for your many comments regarding your holiday stay with us and I am very happy to read that you have experienced the hospitality of the Hotel, its service and facilities from the ease of check-in, your free room facilities of satellite television, free pool towels, mini-bar, free safe and air-conditioning and of course, your Budha Spa experience. I do hope that you will visit us again in the future and on behalf of the Team here at Ideal Premium, thank you for your recommendation and for choosing our Hotel for your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.2 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,321 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Pasa Hotel
Grand Pasa Hotel
#20 of 234 in Marmaris
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#23 of 234 in Marmaris
2,720 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pasa Beach Hotel
Pasa Beach Hotel
#22 of 234 in Marmaris
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium

Address: Cumhuriyet Bulvari No:15, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#10 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#18 Family Hotel in Marmaris
#24 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range: £61 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished for the 2015 season, SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium provides a relaxing atmosphere for the whole family. Guests will enjoy stylish rooms, new digital features of Touch Screen TV's and free Internet points throughout the hotel as well as experiencing the more traditional holiday. Children can enjoy activities in the Lollo & Bernie Kids Club and for teenagers there is the ConnectTeen Lounge (a cool place to hang out). The hotel offers Free Wifi throughout enabling all guests to stay connected to family and friends home and abroad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ideal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing