We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Ideal in any way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
Ranked #16 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Not Ideal in any way”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Arrived at this Hotel to find the reception staff completely confused as to why we where there,the girl just photo copied all our paperwork and handed them back and walk away, leaving us puzzled too! eventually we got our horrible room, after being told the girl misunderstood as we didn't have enough cases! Our Room on first floor just above reception was noisy the whole building seemed to act as an echo chamber with people laughing by the lifts right outside our door and at the bottom of the stairs, the walls where paper thin and the room next door played music and some very bad singing most nights until 4am. The Food was bad lots of re heated slop and the same food choices every night. The hotel is in a poor area, it's the worse beach I have ever seem, if you like litter and fag ends and sitting on builders gravel then you would love it, we didn't. The 2 trips we booked were both cancelled due to lack of numbers and the only thing to do was walk to Icemeler which was a lovely 45 mins walk along the coast. The entertainment was lacking, we had some poor weather and nothing was done to raise anyone's spirits, darts and one very half hearted dance round the pool where most of the staff looked embarrassed to be there. After 3 days of no sleep we asked to change rooms the surly manager refused and said we had to wait, eventually we got on the 4th floor, screaming kids playing football in the hallway!!! think he did it on purpose as there was a queue of people to change rooms all complaining about noise, we just got swapped around. This hotel is that bad we looked at flights to come home early but stuck it out with the help of a few glasses of what they call wine. This Hotel is suppose to be 5 star but even their customer relations lady told us it was more like a 3 star, she was the only member of staff who spoke any sense.

Room Tip: A Room in a different Hotel would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charmron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iphotels, Ideal Team at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your recent holiday review posted on the Tripadvisor website.
I am sorry to read that the Hotel has not met with your expectatıons and I would like to take this opportunity to comment on your review. Firstly, the Hotel is brochured as a 4* Hotel in the Thomas Cook brochure which also states that services and facilities may be affected throughout the months of April and October due to weather conditions. The Hotel hosts guests of many nations and therefore the animation programme that is provided endeavours to cater for all nationalities, ages and sense of humours. The food menu's provided incorporate many European dishes as well as those traditionally from Turkey and is tried and tested on a daily basis by our Quality Manager also eating in the restaurants on a daily basis are the Hotel Management and the resort rep, food served is not slop as you so describe. Again as brochured, the all-inclusive alcohol is of local wines and spirits with International brand Tuborg Gold, Pepsi, Pepsi-light and 7Up being served. All reports of noise disturbance are taken seriously when reported as offending rooms are contacted and Agencies informed, wherever possible, room change requests are actioned however not guaranteed. I do hope your review is satisfied with this information. Thank you for choosing our Hotel for your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,367
    510
    229
    87
    49
See reviews for
942
765
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I took our daughter and grand daughter to this hotel. The only positive comment I can make is that the hotel was clean and the lovely lady who cleaned our rooms was wonderful. The downside of the hotel is that the food was very boring and predictable, you could eat it but you would be after a few days quite bored of what they offer for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We was all inclusive but after 3 days of hotel food we went to the 'Greasy Spoon' restaurant across the road from hotel for our breakfast's and dinners and I was quite worried about how adults with young children were feeding them at this hotel because apart from lunch at the pool side snack bar there was not a 'child menu' on offer. Now let's deal with the entertainment which was absolutely terrible. This hotel has the worst entertainment that my husband and I have ever seen. One of their routines was 'two of them holding a washing line and hanging washing on it' haven't got a clue what that was all about. The rest of their entertainment was just has bad. So if you are hoping to get a good variety menu and to be entertained then choose somewhere to stay in Marmaris. My husband and I go abroad on holiday at least twice a year but we will NOT be going back to this hotel. One last comment is that the bar staff are absolutely useless .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iphotels, Ideal Team at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review posted on the Tripadvisor website.
I would like to take this opportunity to comment on review.
The Hotel is International and whilst the food menu's which are on a 14 day plan incorporate many dishes from Europe of which the UK is part of, the Hotel also serves traditional Turkish Cuisine, we do not have a specific childrens menü due to the many choices of dishes already on offer in the restaurants and snack bar. The animation team provide daily activities of morning gym, boccia, children games,darts, aqua gym, pool games (water), water polo aqua fit,daily competitions and dance classes as well as zumba, the evening programme endeavours to incorporate sketches to süit all nationalities and ages, as well as Turkish night and Live music.
I hope your review is satisfied with this information. Thank you for choosing our Hotel for your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

When we arrived we were amazed by the beauty of this hotel, hotel staff all friendly and will do anything to help you. Food was good and there was always something to eat for all 6 of us 1 of us being very fussy! The rooms were very nice, just what you need. Nice balcony's to relax on to. Pool amazing and always plenty on sun loungers. Met some amazing people here and can't wait to return next year,

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iphotels, Ideal Team at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your recent holiday review posted on the Tripadvisor website.
I would like to thak you for your comments regarding the Hotel hospitality and your enjoyment of the services and facilities provided. I do hope that we will be welcoming you again in the future and on behalf of the Team here at Ideal Premium, thank you for your recommendation and for choosing our Hotel for your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Returned home after a fantastic 2 week stay at this hotel on the 9th may brill hotel rooms fantastic very clean with a great view to pool area clean towels every day and are housekeepervwas very nice and done a fantastic job . Food was great with plentyfull choice Turkish night was great . Animation team fab and worked hard big hello to akin and Lionel always very happy and good at their job all shows great . Plenty of drinks to choose from nightclub also good at hotel big thank you to tania who took my worry away of buying to many shoes and very helpful made some long life friends hear please don't listen to bad reviews as find some unfair cart wait to come back next year thanks to all at grand ideal that made mine and my hubby's holiday fantasic this year xxx

Room Tip: Fantasic place cart praise enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iphotels, Ideal Team at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your recent holiday review posted on the Tripadvisor website.
I would like to thank you for your many kind comments regarding the hospitality that you have experienced during your holiday stay with us. I do hope that we will be welcoming you again in the future and on behalf of the Team here at Ideal Premium, thank you for your recommendation and for choosing our Hotel for your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was my 2nd visit to this hotel we arrived 25/04/14 till 09/05/14 and we had a great time.

Hotel is spotless and very grand always cleaners around, fantastic location walking distance to Marmaris an the bus stops right outside.

Entertainment this year was AMAZING so much better than last year Serdar Duran the entertainment manager is fantastic an has a great team Tania, Tania, Atkin and the DJ they made are holiday so good so a BIG thanks to you all my Daughter Mercedes misses you all!!

Food is fine we never went hungary day time food at the outside snackbar is great for the kids you can get pizza, chips, pasta, chicken nuggets, salad an lots more.

Tania the Guest Relation Manager is fantastic and was lovley to see her again and as returning guests on are arrival in to are room we had a bottle of wine, big fruit plate and a letter thanking us for coming back which was very nice.

Right the only bad thing we found is on the 1st May the only inside bar was stopped from serving alcohol before the 1st may because the weather was so bad (we had lots and lots of rain the 2 weeks we was there) we would come in and get a drink out the cold and rain and even the entertainment would be in the nightclub so it saved the kids being outside cold and we could stay in there till 11 with kids. Then with no notice just stopped it all no inside bar exept the night club which children were now not allowed in, The only bar for the whole hotel was the pool bar. If the weather was warm and sunny its fine but when its thunder and rain outside you want to drink indoors the only way to do this was go and get your drinks from the pool bar and carry them up a flight of stairs to sit in the now non alcoholic bar. As i say if the weather was nice then it wouldnt be a problem just with such bad weather to not have a indoor bar in the whole hotel and just a pool bar seemed a bit strange.

Having said all that we will be booking for next year for are 3rd year great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicci6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iphotels, Ideal Team at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank yo for your review posted on the Tripadvisor website.
As a returning guest I am happy to read that you have once again experienced the hospitality of the Hotel, its staff and services especially those provided by the animation team.The Hotel does not advertise an Indoor bar however provision was made for alcohol to be served for a short period of time inside, this is due to the fact that the Hotel opens in the winter season, however the resort of Marmaris opens on May 1st and therefore all winter facilities are withdrawn. I do hope that you will visit us again in the future and on behalf of the Team here at Ideal Premium, thank you for you recommendation and for choosing our Hotel once again for your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

And we still wouldn't go back if they offered
5**** slum
Rude staff rooms like prison cells
food unfit for humans
They call it a restaurant more like a workers canteen
Sheets made my skin feel if it was crawling
nasty nasty place

Room Tip: go to butlins
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UlsterBrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iphotels, Ideal Team at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your recent holiday review posted on the tripadvisor website.
I am sorry to read that you have not been satisfied by our Hotel and I would like to take this opportunity to comment on your review. I would firstly like to begin by saying that the Hotel has a fully manned 24 hour reception, a 12 hour daily guest relation service and daily visits from the resort rep, all personnel working together to resolve any concerns that guests may have, of course this can only be done if notified by the guests. Questions such as laundry service, service issues can be dealt with immediately. You have booked to stay at Grand Ideal Premium through Thomas Cook who sell the Hotel as a 4* and the Hotel has never been referred to as a `slum`. You have commented on rooms being like prison camps when we offer our guests free air-conditioning, mini-bars, free safe, flat screen HD satellite televisons and provide pool towels and daily room maid service, I am sorry that I do not understand the reference to a `prison camp`. All food served within the snack bar and restaurants is of the highest quality and is tested daily by our Food Engineer under the Hotel HACCP Policy which is controlled and monitored by National Britannia Food Safety (who carry out adhoc monthly inspections), National Britannia have awarded the Hotel its Gold Certificate for maintained standards. The Hotel also pays for a Government contracted Laboratory to test food samples on a monthly basis. Dinner service is over a two hour period and of course can at times become busy , this is usually when the restaurant first opens or when guests are queuing for freshly cooked items from the showgrill. I do hope that the information provided has satisfied your review and on behalf of the Team here at Ideal Premium, thank you for choosing our Hotel for your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Visited the Grand Ideal Premium on 09/04/14 for one week and had a fantastic, relaxing and pleasant holiday. It was my first visit to Turkey and, after reading slightly mixed reviews about the hotel, I didn't quite know what to expect on arrival. I needn't have feared; the staff, facilities and food were all excellent!

On check in, my boyfriend and I were given a warm welcome and shown to our room (which was large, clean and well equipped). Despite a late arrival, we headed downstairs to check out the hotel facilities and found we could get drinks and food (sandwiches) from the late night snack bar. I was very impressed by the prompt service by all staff members and the cleanliness of the bar/food areas.

I'm not sure what other reviews are talking about when they say they ate chips for breakfast, lunch and dinner! There were lots of fresh salads, soups, breads, meats, cheeses and local dishes to choose from and I had a varied breakfast, lunch and dinner every day; I didn't find anything about the selection of food that I didn't like. The desserts were amazing...

Staff were friendly, personable and on hand to get you anything you wanted. The entertainment, although not always to my personal taste, was great for kids and there was a show/some form of entertainment on every evening. The entertainment staff were lovely, always ready with a smile and a real credit to the hotel.

All in all - I booked a 'budget' holiday and didn't expect much when I turned up at the hotel...safe to say I highly recommend the hotel to others as I can't fault it for the price we paid. I would definitely book again. Thanks to the staff for a great holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iphotels, Ideal Team at SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your recent holiday review posted on the Tripadvisor website.
I am very happy to read that you have experienced our hospitality, services and facilities and that you have achieved your aim of a relaxing holiday. I do hope that you will visit us again in the future and on behalf of the team here at Ideal Premium, thank you for your recommendation and for choosing our Hotel for your first holiday to Turkey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.2 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#19 of 234 in Marmaris
2,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Pasa Hotel
Grand Pasa Hotel
#17 of 234 in Marmaris
1,995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
#26 of 234 in Marmaris
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium

Property: SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
Address: Cumhuriyet Bulvari No:15, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#11 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#18 Family Hotel in Marmaris
#24 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished for the 2015 season, SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium provides a relaxing atmosphere for the whole family. Guests will enjoy stylish rooms, new digital features of Touch Screen TV's and free Internet points throughout the hotel as well as experiencing the more traditional holiday. Children can enjoy activities in the Lollo & Bernie Kids Club and for teenagers there is the ConnectTeen Lounge (a cool place to hang out). The hotel offers Free Wifi throughout enabling all guests to stay connected to family and friends home and abroad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ideal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing