We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel in Marmaris, Turkey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
Ranked #17 of 234 Hotels in Marmaris
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
1 review
“Outstanding hotel in Marmaris, Turkey”
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Just returned from an all inclusive package holiday with Thomas Cook staying at the Grand Ideal Premium Hotel in Marmaris, Turkey. Having never visited Turkey before and with two young children we were concerned as to the standard of accommodation we were to expect. Our fears were totally unfounded, this hotel was exceptional in its cleanliness, provided a high standard of service, and its friendly staff made for a great holiday.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiltshire01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,351
    504
    225
    85
    47
See reviews for
928
753
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sunderland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

i went on 21st may for 12 nights with me boyfriend we are only 21 so our 1st holiday together without parents and we were so pleased we picked the grand ideal hotel. on arrival at 1am the man carried our luggage up to our room, 1st impressions were great we felt to common to be in such a posh looking hotel. we had a top floor room was small but cosy and romantic with great views of the pool. sunbeds go quick but we just got up at half 7 put our towels down and went back to bed. breakfast is at 7.30 till 10.30 but food is always hot and doesnt matter what time u go down. snacks at 12 till 4 we used this as our dinner instead of going to the dinner place as it had chips, pizza, kebab, burgers, salad all yummy. me and my partner both gained weight lol. tea is at 7.30.till 9.20 also yummy they make it look so amazing u wnt to take pictures of the food b4 eating it. hotel is spotless and clean. staff are friendly and new exactly what we drank. i miss them all and the hotel so much i will def be goin back as soon as i can. for my 1st time in turkey i loved it. you dont even have to leave the hotel to have a good time. eric who takes photos is really funny and took some lovely pictures of us. thank you. the entertainers are also lovely and loved trying to get my boyfriend adam involved in all the daily activities. the hotel is def for couples, families everyone really. was surprizes how many couples were there. pool is amazing and big. i could sit and praise the hotel all day and would say dont hesitate staying here.
thanks for an amazing holiday grand ideal
miss you from georgina and adam

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgieandAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Grand Ideal is one of the best hotels I have stayed in, this being the 2nd year I have been back now. Everything from the actual hotel to the staff is just amazing. On arrival the reception staff are so welcoming and friendly, you get an immediate feeling that it's going to be a lovely place to stay. The hotel is extremely clean and well kept, and the decor is beautiful. The staff in the hotel are just lovely, I've made a lot of good friends in them! They're just so fun to be around, and they make such an effort with all guests to ensure you are having a great holiday. The hotel itself is situated in a good place, with the beach just a 2 minute walk away, and lots of bars and restaurants around. The food in the hotel is also good, you can tell a lot of care and preparation goes into it. Also there is a spa on site, which is fabulous! I had a turkish bath and massage both years and it is just a fantastic experience, so relaxing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasha_0924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Couldn't fault this hotel exceptional cleanliness throughout, accommodation cleaned daily, friendly staff throughout.
Amazing experience with the deluxe Turkish bath package fully recommend.
Entertainment staff worked really hard as did all the restaurant staff - this hotel offers large pool area for all age groups and then the tranquility of the spa area and indoor pool.
If you give this hotel a try definately treat yourself to the Spa package it will relax you for the entire holiday.
Excellent holiday ref always available if not in the hotel at the end of the phone.
Went on a couple of trips Rhodes and Cleopatra can recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julee_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Well i have to say when we were booking Turkey (my first time) i was abit dubious about going there as ive always gone to Greece/Lanzarote etc. But i need not have worried because the whole experience was amazng! we arrived on the 22nd May early hours in the morning (after 2 hours nad having to change buses) to be greeted with a friendly security man and the Receptioninst who checked us in with ease, safety deposit box is very experience 70TL for 10days. he took us up to our room which was on the 5th floor about 14 flights off stairs but thankfully theres a lift, becareful with the security man though as he tells you you can smoke on your balcony and then the rep tells you if you get caught it will be 5,000 lira so be very careful as we saw a lady who got caught! it was raining on the 1st day we got there so me n my fiance had a turkish bath in the hotel followed by a body mask, massage, facial it was so relaxing and we both fell asleep it was def worth £45 each for roughly 2 hours. the beach is very nice and there alots of stray dogs/cats everywhere! it warmed up after the 1st day to nearly 40degrees, was really nice the only problem we found was we had no air-conditioning as the security man told us it wasnt working. the hotel pool is big with lots of sunbeds outside but they do get cleared away quite early. the photographer in the hotel is very good and the sunset pictures are gorg, breakfast, lunch and dinner was very nice and alot of variety for saying im vegetarian i found alot of things to eat, lunch was my favourite though, it was the same everyday but it was so fresh and the pizzas cooked fresh in the oven are gorg. there is a variety of drinks, i found the lager to be quite nice with abit of lemonade in. we didnt go on any trips because we like just to relax and lie around but i would def recommend going to Icemeler, its so pretty and only 5 minutes on a dolmus. its so expensive to eat or drink outside the hotel so if ur planning on going out alot take enough money. would def recommend talk of the town along the beach had a fantastic dance group. we went out with the entertainment team from the hotel to bar street at 11pm then get back about 4am free shuttle service. they only go to 1 place "Crazy Daisy" which was good but if you girls on ur own becareful! the entertainment team were so friendly and really try hard to entertain people but sadly dont always manage it throughout the night time neverless there easily watchable. there is alot of nationalities that go to this hotel, so if you like english hotels with only english in this isnt the hotel for you but if you just ignore the pushing in etc youl be fine!

One last thing on the way home - be warned the airport is so expensive (like the rest of Marmaris really) £5 for a snickers bar!!!! Unreal!!!

All in all the hotel is fantastic, clean, friendly and excellent service.
The resort of Marmaris is ok, harbour is nice, the place is so big and you do get hassled from shops etc.

We will be returning, may even book for Sept! if you can find fault with this hotel you must be really fussy!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luc999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Went for 12 days with my girlfriend, the hotel was fantastic, staff were really helpful and friendly, the building was the cleanest hotel i've ever stayed in and the hotel is situated just off the sea front and only a quick bus ride into marmaris.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholidayer093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk, Grimsby
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Myself 19 and my boyfriend returned home from Turkey, Marmaris last week. Staying in the Grand Ideal Premium.
Firstly, the hotel has to be one of the most cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. The hotel like most is set on a main road which we were not too keen on as it was not at all easy to cross on to the other side. However from the outside the hotel was one of the best looking by far and when you get inside you are not disappointed either. The reception staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms which we stayed in I have to say was probably one of the smallest, but we weren't planning to spend the holiday in it anyway. The room was cleaned regularly, if not on a daily basis, with the bins emptied, beds made and towels changed.
On our first day at the hotel we used the wellness and health spa, where we had a Turkish bath for a very good price although the massage afterwards could have been better. But we still really enjoyed it.
There are two pools, one indoor, which doesnt seem to get much use, and the outdoor pool, very big but very cold (which is good for when the temperatures were up to 39 degrees) and complete with a small waterslide. There are lots of sun loungers however you must get to them quite earlier if you want to use them for the day. and towels on sun loungers which are not being used will be taken off by hotel staff.
We found there was plenty of choice of food at breakfast and dinner, however not so much at lunch, but there are snacks including pizza, salad etc between 12 and 4. The waiting staff in the restaurants couldn't do enough for you, dirty plates were taken within seconds of you finishing and drinks were brought to the table straight away.
Within the hotel there is also a photographer (Eric) who does professional photographs, and is extemely good at giving you decent, well thought about photos. We got two large ones of us both.
We booked with Thomas cook and there was plenty of trips to choose from, however in our ten days we only booked one, as we also wanted time to go to the beach and the town etc. This trip being Cleopatra's castaway - a good choice at that.

In a nutshell we had a brilliant time, although the night time entertainment wasn't exactly up to scratch, you could always go in to town to the bars etc - although quite expensive.
Extremely, friendly, helpful staff. A really nice hotel, however I would more recommend it for couples as oppose to families with children. Marmaris itself is also a fair distance from the hotel (around 2 hours on the coach).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovebug11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marmaris hotels
0.2 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#15 of 234 in Marmaris
1,214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
Blue Bay Platinum Hotel
#19 of 234 in Marmaris
2,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cettia Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Grand Pasa Hotel
Grand Pasa Hotel
#18 of 234 in Marmaris
1,972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
Green Nature Diamond Hotel
#25 of 234 in Marmaris
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium

Property: SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium
Address: Cumhuriyet Bulvari No:15, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Marmaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Marmaris
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marmaris
#11 Spa Hotel in Marmaris
#18 Family Hotel in Marmaris
#24 Romantic Hotel in Marmaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished for the 2015 season, SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium provides a relaxing atmosphere for the whole family. Guests will enjoy stylish rooms, new digital features of Touch Screen TV's and free Internet points throughout the hotel as well as experiencing the more traditional holiday. Children can enjoy activities in the Lollo & Bernie Kids Club and for teenagers there is the ConnectTeen Lounge (a cool place to hang out). The hotel offers Free Wifi throughout enabling all guests to stay connected to family and friends home and abroad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your SunConnect Grand Ideal Premium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ideal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing